DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-13 in the reply filed on April 15, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Claim 1 differs from Lywood (US,4985,231) at least by virtue of the following recitation: "said system being arranged to provide a temperature of the heated partially- reformed process stream at an inlet at a top of the bayonet tube steam methane
reformer of at least 600oC". This is not found persuasive because Lywood reference discloses the claimed system of reforming hydrocarbon feedstock. This system is capable of performing the claimed intended use of at least 600oC at an inlet at a top of the bayonet steam methane. The evidence can be shown in another system (Catchpole (US 2021/0039794A1)) which discloses the claimed system (Abstract, Figures 1 and 2 and Paragraph [0024] – the hydrocarbon/steam mixture is heated, typically to a temperature in the range of 400-650oC and Paragraph [0030] – steam reforming reactions take place in the tubes over the steam reforming catalyst at temperature above 350oC and typically the process fluid exiting the tubes is at a temperature in the range 650-950oC).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "to provide heat to said first, second and additional preheating units" in Claim 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 11 directly depends on Claim 1 and recite “an additional preheating unit”. Claim 1 recites “a first preheating unit”. Neither Claim 1 nor Claim 11 recites “a second preheating unit”. Examiner examines Claim 12 as it recites “"to provide heat to said first
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Catchpole (US 2012/0039794 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Catchpole reference discloses a system for reforming a hydrocarbon feedstock, said system comprising:
a first prereformer unit, arranged to receive a hydrocarbon feedstock and a first steam feed and convert them to a first partially-reformed process stream (Figure 2, numerals 22 – first pre-rerformer, 72 – hydrocarbon feedstock, 10 – steam),
a first preheating unit arranged to heat at least a portion of the first partially-reformed process stream (Figure 2, numeral 12 – heat exchanger downstream of the first pre-reformer),
a bayonet tube steam methane reformer, arranged to receive a heated partially-reformed process stream from the first preheating unit and convert it to a syngas stream (Figure 2, numeral 104 – steam reformer, 101 – steam);
said system being arranged to provide a temperature of the heated partially-reformed process stream at an inlet of at a top of the bayonet tube steam methane reformer of at least 600°C; said system also being arranged to provide a temperature of the gas at the bottom of the bayonet tube steam methane reformer of at least 800°C (process limitations and do not add additional structures to the system of Catchpole; the system of Catchpole is capable of performing the claimed intended uses (Paragraphs [0024] and [0030]).
Regarding Claim 2, Catchpole reference discloses the system according to claim 1, said system being arranged to provide a temperature of the heated partially-reformed process stream at the inlet of at the top of the bayonet tube steam methane reformer of at least 650° C (process limitations and do not add additional structures to the system of Catchpole; the system of Catchpole is capable of performing the claimed intended uses (Paragraphs [0024] and [0030]).
Regarding Claim 3, Catchpole reference discloses the system according to claim 1, said system being arranged to provide a temperature of the gas at a bottom of the bayonet tube steam methane reformer of at least 880° C (process limitations and do not add additional structures to the system of Catchpole; the system of Catchpole is capable of performing the claimed intended uses (Paragraphs [0024] and [0030]).
Regarding Claim 7, Catchpole reference discloses the system according to claim 1, further comprising a shift unit downstream the bayonet tube steam methane reformer, said shift unit being arranged to receive the syngas stream and convert it to a hydrogen-rich stream (Figures 1 and 2, numeral 36 – shift vessel and CO2 selective membrane shift reactor).
Regarding Claim 8, Catchpole reference discloses the system according to claim 7, further comprising a hydrogen purification unit downstream the shift unit, said hydrogen purification unit being arranged to receive the hydrogen-rich stream and convert it to a purified hydrogen stream (Figures 1 and 2, numeral 64 – PSA) .
Regarding Claim 9, Catchpole reference discloses the system according to claim 8, further comprising at least one purification unit, upstream the first prereformer unit, said purification unit being arranged to provide said hydrocarbon feedstock from a raw hydrocarbon feedstock (Figures 1 and 2, numerals 16 and 18).
Regarding Claim 10, Catchpole reference discloses the system according to claim 9, further comprising a hydrogen recycle unit downstream the hydrogen purification unit, said hydrogen recycle unit being arranged to receive part of the hydrogen-rich stream and recycle it to said purification unit (Figures 1 and 2, numerals 72 – purge stream, 16 and 18 – purification units).
Regarding Claim 11, Catchpole reference discloses the system according to claim 1, further comprising an additional preheating unit located upstream the first prereformer unit and arranged to heat the hydrocarbon feedstock and said first steam feed (Figures 1 and 2, numeral 12 – heat exchanger upstream of pre-reformer (22)).
Regarding Claim 13, Catchpole reference discloses the system according to claim 1, further comprising a hydrogen feed arranged upstream the first prereformer unit (Figures 1 and 2, numeral 72 and Paragraph [0041] – 7 vol % of hydrogen).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catchpole (US 2012/0039794 A1) in view of Vauk et al. (US 2013/0156686 A1)
Regarding Claim 4, Catchpole reference discloses the system according to claim 1, said system except for a second prereformer unit, arranged to receive the heated first partially-reformed process stream from the first preheating unit and convert it to a second partially-reformed process stream, and
a second preheating unit arranged to heat at least a portion of the second partially-reformed process stream; wherein the bayonet tube steam methane reformer is arranged to receive the heated, second partially-reformed process stream from the second preheating unit and convert it to a syngas stream. Vauk et al. reference discloses hydrogen production system comprising a first stream comprising hydrocarbons 101, steam 102, a PSA offgas stream 144 is heated to a first temperature in first heat exchanger 103 thereby producing first pre-reformer inlet stream 104, first pre-reformer inlet stream 104 is then introduced into first pre-reforming chamber 105, thereby producing first pre-reformed stream 106, first pre-reformed stream 106 is heated to a second temperature in second heat exchanger 107, by indirect heat exchange with hot gas stream 116, thereby producing second pre-reformer inlet stream 108, second pre-reformer inlet stream 108 is then introduced into second pre-reforming chamber 109, thereby producing second pre-reformed stream 110, second pre-reformed stream 110 is heated to a third temperature in third heat exchanger 111, by indirect heat exchange with hot gas stream 115, thereby producing third pre-reformer inlet stream 112, third pre-reformer inlet stream 112 is then introduced into third pre-reforming chamber 113, thereby producing third pre-reformed stream 114, third pre-reformed stream 114 may then be heated once again in a fourth heat exchanger (not shown) prior to usage downstream, third pre-reformed stream 114 is introduced to a novel primary reformer 119, wherein a syngas stream 130 comprising at least carbon dioxide and hydrogen (Figures 1 and 2, numerals 101 – hydrocarbon, 102 – steam, 103 – 1st preheating unit, 105 – 1st pre-reformer unit, 107 – 2nd preheating unit, 109- 2nd re-former unit, 111- 3rd preheating unit, 119 – reformer unit, 120 – waste heat recovery unit). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Catchpole with the second pre-reformer unit and 2nd pre-heating unit as taught by Vauk et al., since Vauk et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would minimize the emissions of carbon dioxide from a reformer furnace flue gas to the high pressure syngas exit water gas shift reaction unit.
Regarding Claim 5, Catchpole reference discloses a system for reforming a hydrocarbon feedstock, said system comprising:
Catchpole reference discloses a system for reforming a hydrocarbon feedstock, said system comprising:
a first prereformer unit, arranged to receive a hydrocarbon feedstock and a first steam feed and convert them to a first partially-reformed process stream (Figure 2, numerals 22 – first pre-rerformer, 72 – hydrocarbon feedstock, 10 – steam),
a first preheating unit arranged to heat at least a portion of the first partially-reformed process stream (Figure 2, numeral 12 – heat exchanger downstream of the first pre-reformer),
a bayonet tube steam methane reformer, arranged to receive a heated partially-reformed process stream from the first preheating unit and convert it to a syngas stream (Figure 2, numeral 104 – steam reformer, 101 – steam);
said system being arranged to provide a temperature of the heated partially-reformed process stream at an inlet of at a top of the bayonet tube steam methane reformer of at least 600°C; said system also being arranged to provide a temperature of the gas at the bottom of the bayonet tube steam methane reformer of at least 800°C (process limitations and do not add additional structures to the system of Catchpole; the system of Catchpole is capable of performing the claimed intended uses (Paragraphs [0024] and [0030]).
However, Catchpole reference does not disclose a second prereformer unit, arranged to receive the heated first partially-reformed process stream from the first preheating unit and convert it to a second partially-reformed process stream, a second preheating unit arranged to heat at least a portion of the second partially-reformed process stream; and a bayonet tube steam methane reformer arranged to receive the heated, second partially-reformed process stream from the second preheating unit and convert it to a syngas stream.
Vauk et al. reference discloses hydrogen production system comprising a first stream comprising hydrocarbons 101, steam 102, a PSA offgas stream 144 is heated to a first temperature in first heat exchanger 103 thereby producing first pre-reformer inlet stream 104, first pre-reformer inlet stream 104 is then introduced into first pre-reforming chamber 105, thereby producing first pre-reformed stream 106, first pre-reformed stream 106 is heated to a second temperature in second heat exchanger 107, by indirect heat exchange with hot gas stream 116, thereby producing second pre-reformer inlet stream 108, second pre-reformer inlet stream 108 is then introduced into second pre-reforming chamber 109, thereby producing second pre-reformed stream 110, second pre-reformed stream 110 is heated to a third temperature in third heat exchanger 111, by indirect heat exchange with hot gas stream 115, thereby producing third pre-reformer inlet stream 112, third pre-reformer inlet stream 112 is then introduced into third pre-reforming chamber 113, thereby producing third pre-reformed stream 114, third pre-reformed stream 114 may then be heated once again in a fourth heat exchanger (not shown) prior to usage downstream, third pre-reformed stream 114 is introduced to a novel primary reformer 119, wherein a syngas stream 130 comprising at least carbon dioxide and hydrogen (Figures 1 and 2, numerals 101 – hydrocarbon, 102 – steam, 103 – 1st preheating unit, 105 – 1st pre-reformer unit, 107 – 2nd preheating unit, 109- 2nd re-former unit, 111- 3rd preheating unit, 119 – reformer unit, 120 – waste heat recovery unit). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Catchpole with the second pre-reformer unit and 2nd pre-heating unit as taught by Vauk et al., since Vauk et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would minimize the emissions of carbon dioxide from a reformer furnace flue gas to the high pressure syngas exit water gas shift reaction unit.
Regarding Claim 6, Catchpole and Vauk et al. references disclose the system according to claim 4, wherein the second preheating unit is adapted to heat said portion of the second partially-reformed process stream to a temperature of at least 600° C (process limitations and do not add additional structures to the system of Catchpole; the system of Catchpole is capable of performing the claimed intended uses – Catchpole - (Paragraphs [0024] and [0030]).
Regarding Claim 12, Catchpole reference discloses the system according to claim 11 except for flue gas from the bayonet steam methane reformer, is arranged to provide heat to said firstadditional preheating units. Vauk et al. reference discloses a similar reformer system having first, second and additional preheating unit wherein the hot gas from the reformer furnace being direct to the reformer as hot gas streams for first, second, third heating units (Paragraph [0031]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the flue gas from the reformer furnace as the heat source for the preheating units as taught by Vauk et al., since Vauk et al. states at Paragraph [0031] that such a modification would provide the flue gas from the reformer furnace to the preheating units as hot gas stream.
Conclusion
/HUY TRAM NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1774