DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 9-14, and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,569,917. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a cutting tool of a base and coating layer of hard particles including Ti, Si, C, and N where in the hard particles the concentration of Si periodically changes in a first direction set, and the hard particle layer is a (422) orientation. This is patentably indistinct of claim 1 of the ‘917 patent which recites a cutting tool of a base and coating of a hard particle layer including Ti, Si, C, and N where the concentration of Si periodically changes in a first direction set, and the hard particle layer is a (311) orientation being larger than orientations including a (422) plane, etc. (e.g. having a (422) orientation). The instant claims and those of the ‘917 patent recite overlapping contents and (422) orientations and this overlap establishes a prima facie case of obviousness.
Instant claim 2 recites a ASi content overlapping claim 2 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claim 9 recites the ASi content overlapping claim 3 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claims 10-11 recite an average period width overlapping claims 4-5 of the ‘917 patent, respectively. Instant claim 12 recites a thickness overlapping claim 6 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claim 13 recites a composition overlapping claim 7 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claim 14 recites a difference of ASi values overlapping claim 8 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claim 16 recites a base layer overlapping claim 10 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claim 17 recites an outer layer overlapping claim 11 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claim 18 recites a thickness overlapping claim 12 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claims 19-20 recites a Si/Ti ratios overlapping claims 13-14 of the ’917 patent.
Claims 1-2, 9-14, and 16-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 9-14, and 16-20 of copending Application No. 18/279,617 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a cutting tool of a base and coating layer of hard particles including Ti, Si, C, and N where in the hard particles the concentration of Si periodically changes in a first direction set, and the hard particle layer is a (422) orientation. This is patentably indistinct of claim 21 of the ‘617 application which recites instant claim 1 recites a cutting tool of a base and coating layer of hard particles including Ti, Si, C, and N where in the hard particles the concentration of Si periodically changes in a first direction set, and the hard particle layer is a (220) orientation being larger than orientations including a (422) plane, etc. (e.g. having a (422) orientation). The instant claims and those of the ‘617 application recite overlapping contents and (422) orientations and this overlap establishes a prima facie case of obviousness.
Instant claim 2 recites a ASi content overlapping claim 2 of the ‘617 application. Instant claim 9 recites the ASi content overlapping claim 9 of the ‘617 application. Instant claims 10-11 recite an average period width overlapping claims 10-11 of the ‘617 application, respectively. Instant claim 12 recites a thickness overlapping claim 12 of the ‘617 application. Instant claim 13 recites a composition overlapping claim 13 of the ‘617 application. Instant claim 14 recites a difference of ASi values overlapping claim 14 of the ‘617 application. Instant claim 16 recites a base layer overlapping claim 16 of the ‘617 application. Instant claim 17 recites an outer layer overlapping claim 17 of the ‘617 application. Instant claim 18 recites a thickness overlapping claim 18 of the ‘617 application. Instant claims 19-20 recites a Si/Ti ratios overlapping claims 19-20 of the ‘617 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlgren (US 2011/0188950) in view of Sjolen et al. (US 2006/0292399).
Considering claim 1, Ahlgren teaches a cutting tool with a Ti-Si-C-N layer having a gradient (abstract). The tool comprises a substrate of cemented carbide, cubic boron nitride, etc. (Paragraph 9) and the coating comprises a compositional gradient where the Si/(Si+Ti) atomic ratio incrementally increases or decreases in the layer (Paragraph 22). As the deposited coating is a solid it is considered comprised of particles of Ti, Si, C, and N as claimed. However, Ahlgren does not teach the claimed (422) orientation.
In a related field of endeavor, Sjolen teaches cutting tools with at least one layer of a (Me,Si)X phase where Me is one or more of Ti, etc. and X is one or more of N, C, O, or B (abstract). The coating is applied to a base of cubic boron nitride (Paragraph 13) and the (Me,Si)X phase may be mixed with grains of other phases (Paragraph 15). The coating comprises phases having orientations of (200), (422), etc. (Paragraph 60). The coating has excellent adhesive strength for machining hardened steel or cast iron (Paragraph 13).
As both Ahlgren and Sjolen teach coated cutting tools they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Ahlgren with the coating phases and orientations taught by Sjolen as this is known to afford a coating with improved adhesion and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claims 2 and 9, Ahlgren teaches where the average Si/(Si+Ti) content ranges from 0.03-0.20 (Paragraph 15) overlapping that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 10-11, Ahlgren teaches where the coating may comprise alternating sublayers successively increasing or decreasing the Si content with thickness of the sublayers being 1-100 nm (Paragraph 23). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 12, Ahlgren teaches where the thickness of the coating is 1-10 µm (Paragraph 11). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 13, Ahlgren teaches an example of a base material of WC with 10 wt.% Co (Paragraphs 44 and 52). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 14, Ahlgren teaches an embodiment of a first sub layer with a Si/(Si+Ti) from greater than zero to 0.07 followed by a second sublayer of greater than 0.07-0.20 (Paragraph 43). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 16, Ahlgren teaches a TiN adhesive layer between the substrate and TiSiCN layer (Paragraph 52).
Considering claim 17, Ahlgren teaches an outermost coating of TiN, etc. (Paragraph 13).
Considering claim 18, Ahlgren teaches where the thickness of the coating is 1-10 µm (Paragraph 11). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 19-20, Ahlgren teaches an embodiment of a first sub layer with a Si/(Si+Ti) from greater than zero to 0.07 (e.g. a minimum) followed by a second sublayer of greater than 0.07-0.20 (e.g. a maximum) (Paragraph 43). See MPEP 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art to the instant claims is that of Ahlgren and Sjolen as outlined above. The prior art does not adequately teach the (422) orientation value or the (422) orientation being larger than the other planes according to expression (1) and this would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Inspecktor et al. (US 2012/0237792), Endler et al. US 2014/0370309), and Sakamoto (US 2015/0343535) teach coated cutting tools demonstrating the level of ordinary skill in the art.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784