DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant has filed an amended Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) on 31 August 2023 with incorrect information on U.S. Patent Application Publication #2 regarding the corresponding WO document and Non-Patent Literature Document #1 regarding the title and these references have accordingly been struck through as not considered. The supplemental IDS filed 13 October 2023 corrects these informalities.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 9-14, and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,569,917. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a cutting tool of a base and coating layer of hard particles including Ti, Si, C, and N where in the hard particles the concentration of Si periodically changes in a first direction set, and the hard particle layer is a (220) orientation. This is patentably indistinct of claim 1 of the ‘917 patent which recites a cutting tool of a base and a coating of a hard particle layer including Ti, Si, C, and N where in the hard particles the concentration of Si periodically changes in a first direction set, and the hard particle layer is a (311) orientation being larger than orientations including a (220) plane, etc. (e.g. having a (220) orientation). The instant claims and those of the ‘917 patent recite overlapping contents and (220) orientations and this overlap establishes a prima facie case of obviousness.
Instant claim 2 recites an ASi content overlapping claim 2 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claim 9 recites an ASi content overlapping claim 3 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claims 10-11 recite an average period width overlapping claims 4-5 of the ‘917 patent, respectively. Instant claim 12 recites a thickness overlapping claim 6 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claim 13 recites a composition overlapping claim 7 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claim 14 recites a difference of ASi values overlapping claim 8 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claim 16 recites a base layer overlapping claim 10 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claim 17 recites an outer layer overlapping claim 11 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claim 18 recites a thickness overlapping claim 12 of the ‘917 patent. Instant claims 19-20 recite Si/Ti ratios overlapping claims 13-14 of the ‘917 patent.
Claims 1-2, 9-14, and 16-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 9-14, and 16-21 of copending Application No. 18/279,600 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a cutting tool of a base and coating layer of hard particles including Ti, Si, C, and N where in the hard particles the concentration of Si periodically changes in a first direction set, and the hard particle layer is a (220) orientation. This is patentably indistinct of claim 21 of the ‘600 application which recites a cutting tool of a base and a coating of a hard particle layer including Ti, Si, C, and N where in the hard particles the concentration of Si periodically changes in a first direction set, and the hard particle layer is a (422) orientation being larger than orientations including a (220) plane, etc. (e.g. having a (220) orientation). The instant claims and those of the ‘600 application recite overlapping contents and (220) orientations and this overlap establishes a prima facie case of obviousness.
Instant claim 2 recites an ASi content overlapping claim 2 of the ‘600 application. Instant claim 9 recites an ASi content overlapping claim 9 of the ‘600 application. Instant claims 10-11 recite an average period width overlapping claims 10-11 of the ‘600 application, respectively. Instant claim 12 recites a thickness overlapping claim 12 of the ‘600 application. Instant claim 13 recites a composition overlapping claim 13 of the ‘600 application. Instant claim 14 recites a difference of ASi values overlapping claim 14 of the ‘600 application. Instant claim 16 recites a base layer overlapping claim 16 of the ‘600 application. Instant claim 17 recites an outer layer overlapping claim 17 of the ‘600 application. Instant claim 18 recites a thickness overlapping claim 18 of the ‘600 application. Instant claims 19-20 recite Si/Ti ratios overlapping claims 19-20 of the ‘600 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlgren (US 2011/0188950) in view of Matsuzawa (US 2011/0058909).
Considering claim 1, Ahlgren teaches a cutting tool with a Ti-Si-C-N layer having a gradient (abstract). The tool comprises a substrate of cemented carbide, cubic boron nitride, etc. (Paragraph 9) and the coating comprises a compositional gradient where the Si/(Si+Ti) atomic ratio incrementally increases or decreases in the layer (Paragraph 22). As the deposited coating is a solid it is considered comprised of particles of Ti, Si, C, and N as claimed. However, Ahlgren does not teach the claimed (220) orientation.
In a related field of endeavor, Matsuzawa teaches a cutting tool with a coating of a carbonitride (abstract) where the coating may be formed of Ti1-a-bAlaMb(CxN1-x) where M is one or more of Si, etc. where 0≤a≤ 1, 0≤ b≤ 1, and 0≤ x≤ 1 (Paragraph 64) (e.g. optionally Ti-Si-C-N). The coating has a I(220)/(I(111)+I(200)+I(220)+I(222)+I(440)) where the ratio is greater on the cutting edge than the rake face which is greater than that of the flank face (Paragraphs 20-21) which affords a high abrasion resistance without flaking and a long tool life (Paragraph 30).
As both Ahlgren and Matsuzawa teach coated cutting tools they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Ahlgren with the (220) orientation taught by Matsuzawa as this is known to afford high abrasion resistance without flaking and a long tool life and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claims 2 and 9, Ahlgren teaches where the average Si/(Si+Ti) content ranges from 0.03-0.20 (Paragraph 15) overlapping that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 10-11, Ahlgren teaches where the coating may comprise alternating sublayers successively increasing or decreasing the Si content with thicknesses of the sublayers being 1-100 nm (Paragraph 23). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 12, Ahlgren teaches where the thickness of the coating is 1-10 µm (Paragraph 11). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 13, Ahlgren teaches an example of a base material of WC with 10 wt.% Co (Paragraphs 44 and 52). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 14, Ahlgren teaches an embodiment of a first sub layer with a Si/(Si+Ti) from greater than zero to 0.07 followed by a second sublayer of greater than 0.07-0.20 (Paragraph 43). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 16, Ahlgren teaches an adhesive layer between the substrate and TiSCN layer (Paragraph 52).
Considering claim 17, Ahlgren teaches an outermost coating of TiN, etc. (Paragraph 13).
Considering claim 18, Ahlgren teaches where the thickness of the coating is 1-10 µm (Paragraph 11). MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 19-20, Ahlgren teaches an embodiment of a first sub layer with a Si/(Si+Ti) from greater than zero to 0.07 (e.g. a minimum) followed by a second sublayer of greater than 0.07-0.20 (e.g. a maximum) (Paragraph 43). See MPEP 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art to the instant claims is that of Ahlgren and Matsuzawa as outlined above. The prior art of Matsuzawa does not adequately teach the (220) orientation value or the (220) orientation being larger than the other planes according to expression (1) and this would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hofmann et al. (US 5,330,853) teaches a TiAlN coating with an optional (220) orientation. Yamamoto et al. (US 2002/0168552) teaches a hard film with optionally of a TiAlCrSiCN coating where a (200) orientation is greater than a (220) orientation and where a (111) orientation is greater than a (220) orientation. Sjolen et al. (US 2006/0292399) teaches a (Me,Si)X where M may be Ti, etc. and X may be C and N where a (200) peak is greater than a (220) peak.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784