DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 11 depend to claims 1, 9 respectively. Claims 5, 11 require a “third heat exchanger”. A “third heat exchanger” may imply or suggest that there is a “first heat exchanger” and a “second heat exchanger” relative to the claimed third heat exchanger. However, claims 1, 9 only recite a “first heat exchanger” and claims 5, 11 do not recite a “second heat exchanger”. Therefore, it’s unclear if the scope of claims 5, 11 require three heat exchangers or just two heat exchangers (i.e. the claimed first heat exchanger in claims 1, 9 and the claimed “third heat exchanger” in claims 5, 11). For the purpose of examination, it’s presumed that claims 5, 11 only requires two heat exchangers, and one of any two heat exchangers met by the prior art can be considered a “third heat exchanger”. This is especially evident based on the fact that claim 4, introduces a “second heat exchanger”.
Claims 7, 13 depends to claims 5, 11 respectively which in turn depends to claims 1, 9 respectively. Claims 7, 13 require a “fourth heat exchanger”. A “fourth heat exchanger” may imply or suggest that there is a “first heat exchanger” and a “second heat exchanger” and “a third heat exchanger” relative to the claimed fourth heat exchanger. However, claims 1, 9 only recite a “first heat exchanger” and claims 7 and 13 do not recite a “second heat exchanger”. Therefore, it’s unclear if the scope of claims 7 and 13 require four heat exchangers or just three heat exchangers (i.e. the claimed first heat exchanger in claims 1, 9 and the claimed “third heat exchanger” in claims 5, 11 and claimed “fourth heat exchanger in claims 7, 13). For the purpose of examination, it’s presumed that claims 7, 13 only requires three heat exchangers, and one of any three heat exchangers met by the prior art can be considered a “fourth heat exchanger”. This is especially evident based on the fact that claim 4 introduces a “second heat exchanger”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-9, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hosomi et al. (JP 2010054064 A).
Hosomi et al. discloses a freeze dryer (Fig. 2, paragraphs [0018] – [0028]) comprising a product chamber 1 configured to accommodate products to be freeze- dried, a condenser 2 connected to the product chamber 1 and configured to trap water during a freeze-drying process, a product chamber cooling circuit (a) configured to cool the product chamber 1, the product chamber cooling circuit (a) comprising a first heat transfer fluid, a condenser cooling circuit (b) configured to cool the condenser 2, the condenser cooling circuit (b) comprising a second heat transfer fluid and being separate from the product chamber cooling circuit (a),characterized by a first additional cooling circuit (c) comprising carbon dioxide or ammonia or liquid nitrogen as refrigerant (paragraph [0025]), and a first heat exchanger (9a) configured to transfer heat between the condenser cooling circuit (b) and the first additional cooling circuit (c).
With regard to claim 2, Hosomi et al. discloses wherein the first additional cooling circuit (c) comprises a valve 11 for adjusting refrigerant flow through the first heat exchanger 9a (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 5, Hosomi et al. discloses the freeze dryer comprises a third heat exchanger 8 configured to transfer heat between the product chamber cooling circuit (a) and the condenser cooling circuit (b) (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 7, Hosomi et al. discloses a fourth heat exchanger 17 configured to transfer heat between the product chamber cooling circuit (a) and the first additional cooling circuit (c) (Fig. 12).
With regard to claim 8, Hosomi et al. discloses wherein the freeze dryer comprises one or more heaters 7 configured to selectively heat the first heat transfer fluid of the product chamber cooling circuit (a) (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 9, Hosomi et al. discloses a method of operating a freeze dryer (1) comprising a product chamber 1 configured to accommodate products to be freeze-dried, a condenser 2 connected to the product chamber 1 and configured to trap water during a freeze-drying process, a product chamber cooling circuit (a) configured to cool the product chamber 1, the product chamber cooling circuit (a) comprising a first heat transfer fluid, a condenser cooling circuit (b) configured to cool the condenser 2, the condenser cooling circuit (b) comprising a second heat transfer fluid and being separate from the product chamber cooling circuit(a) (Fig. 2) ,wherein the method comprises: comprising the following method step: in a condenser cooling step, where heat is transferred from the condenser cooling circuit (b) to a first additional cooling circuit (c) comprising carbon dioxide or ammonia or liquid nitrogen as refrigerant via a first heat exchanger 9a.
With regard to claim 11, Hosomi et al. discloses a product cooling step, performed simultaneously with or following the condenser cooling step,where heat is transferred from the product chamber cooling circuit (a) to the condenser cooling circuit (b) via a third heat exchanger 8 (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 12, Hosomi et al. discloses a temperature of the product chamber is set by adjusting a proportional valve 11 of the condenser cooling circuit (b) (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 13, Hosomi et al. discloses wherein in the product cooling step, heat is transferred from the product chamber cooling circuit (a) to the first additional cooling circuit (c) via a fourth heat exchanger 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosomi et al. (JP 2010054064 A) in view of Alston (US 2011/0265506 A1)).
The freeze dryer of Hosomi et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 3 except for the freeze dryer comprises an air cycle cooling system configured to cool the second heat transfer fluid of the condenser cooling circuit . Alston teaches an air cycle cooling system 4 configured to cool the second heat transfer fluid of the condenser cooling circuit 3 (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the freeze dryer of Hosomi et al. to include an air cycle cooling system as taught Alston in order to cool the heat transfer fluid of the condenser cooling circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the primary reason for allowance of claims 4, 6, 14-15 is the inclusion of the limitations “a second heat exchanger configured to couple the air cycle cooling system and the condenser cooling circuit” in claim 4, “a valve or a three-way valve configured to selectively couple the third heat exchanger to the condenser cooling circuit or decouple the third heat exchanger from the condenser cooling circuit” in claim 6, “in a freeze drying step, performed following the condenser cooling and product cooling steps, where the third heat exchanger is decoupled from a flow of second heat transfer fluid in the condenser cooling circuit to reduce heat transfer from the product chamber cooling circuit to the condenser cooling circuit, wherein the first heat transfer fluid of the product chamber cooling circuit is heated by one or more heaters” in claim 14 in combination with the remaining claimed elements.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY