DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt of the Amendment, filed on August 31, 2023, is acknowledged.
Cancellation of claims 8, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24-25, 27 and 32 has been entered.
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 15, 19-20, 23-26 and 28-31 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 10, 19, 20 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (KR 2015-0075188 A).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (110), at least comprising a first display region; a plurality of sub-pixels (¶[0037]), located in the first display region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element (¶[0037]), the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (170) and a first electrode (130) and a second electrode (180) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer (170) along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode (130) is located between the light-emitting functional layer (170) and the base substrate (110), and the light-emitting functional layer (170) comprises a plurality of film layers (¶[0036]), wherein the display substrate further comprises an isolation portion (150/160), the isolation portion comprises a first sub-isolation portion (150) and a second sub-isolation portion (160) which are stacked (Fig. 2), the first sub-isolation portion (150) is located between the second sub-isolation portion (160) and the base substrate (110), a material of the first sub-isolation portion comprises an inorganic material (¶[0051], first sub-isolation layer is made of metal), and a material of the second sub-isolation portion comprises an organic material (¶[0051]); the second sub-isolation portion (160) comprises a protrusion protruding relative to an edge of the first sub-isolation portion (Fig. 2), the protrusion is located between adjacent sub-pixels (Fig. 2), a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the first sub-isolation portion (150) facing one of the adjacent sub-pixels and a plane parallel to a contact surface of the first sub-isolation portion and the second sub-isolation portion (160) is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (Fig. 2), and/or a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the second sub-isolation portion (160) facing one of the adjacent sub-pixels and the plane parallel to the contact surface of the first sub-isolation portion and the second sub-isolation portion is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (Fig. 2); at least one film layer (170) among the plurality of film layers is disconnected at the isolation portion (¶[0054]).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses a display substrate at least the part of the second sub-isolation portion (160) facing one of the adjacent sub-pixels has a different slope angle from at least the part of the second sub-isolation portion (160) facing the other of the adjacent sub-pixels (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses a display substrate wherein at least in a part of the isolation portion (160) where the protrusion is located, an orthographic projection of the first sub-isolation portion (150) on the base substrate completely falls within an orthographic projection of the second sub-isolation portion (160) on the base substrate.
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses a display substrate wherein the first sub-isolation portion (150) comprises at least two film layers (150, 135, Fig. 4), the protrusion protrudes relative to an edge of one film layer (150), closest to the second sub-isolation portion, among the at least two film layers, the at least two film layers (150, 135) comprise two film layers with different patterns (Fig. 4), and/or the at least two film layers comprise two film layers with different thicknesses (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses a display substrate wherein the light-emitting functional layer (170) comprises at least one light-emitting layer, and at least one light-emitting layer and at least one other film layer are included in film layers of the light-emitting functional layer disconnected at the isolation portion (¶[0037]); an area of an orthographic projection of the at least one other film layer which is disconnected on the base substrate is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the at least one light-emitting layer which is disconnected on the base substrate (Fig. 2, the stacked layers of the light-emitting functional layer are tapered, thus, at least one of the films deposited prior the light emitting layer has an orthographic projection area greater than that of the light emitting layer).
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses a display substrate wherein the second electrode (180) and at least one film layer (170) among the plurality of film layers included in the light-emitting functional layer overlap in projection on the base substrate with the isolation portion (160, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 29, Park discloses a display device, comprising the display substrate.
Regarding claim 30, Park discloses a manufacturing method of a display substrate, comprising: forming a plurality of sub-pixels on a base substrate, wherein forming the plurality of sub-pixels comprises sequentially forming a first electrode (130), a light-emitting functional layer (170) and a second electrode (180) which are stacked in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate (110); forming an inorganic layer (250’) pattern by patterning on the base substrate (Figs. 5b-5d); forming an organic layer (260’) on the inorganic layer pattern, and patterning the organic layer (260’) to form an opening pattern (Fig. 5c); etching the inorganic layer (250’) pattern to form a first sub-isolation portion (150, Fig. 5d), wherein an edge of the opening pattern comprises a second sub-isolation portion (160) stacked with the first sub-isolation portion, an edge of the first sub-isolation portion (150) extends outward relative to an edge of the second sub-isolation portion so that the second sub-isolation portion (160) comprises a protrusion protruding relative to the edge of the first sub-isolation portion (Fig. 5d), and the protrusion is located between adjacent sub-pixels, or a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the first sub-isolation portion and a plane parallel to a contact surface of the first sub-isolation portion and the second sub- isolation portion is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (Fig. 5d), and/or a slope angle between at least part of a side surface of the second sub-isolation portion (160) and the plane parallel to the contact surface of the first sub-isolation portion (150) and the second sub-isolation portion is greater than 60 degrees and less than 120 degrees (Fig. 5d); wherein the light-emitting functional layer (170) is formed after the first sub-isolation portion is formed (Fig. 5e), the light-emitting functional layer comprises a plurality of film layers (¶[0037]), and at least one film layer among the plurality of film layers is disconnected at the isolation portion (Fig. 5e).
Regarding claim 31, Park discloses a manufacturing method wherein the inorganic layer (150) pattern is located between adjacent sub-pixels, and the opening pattern which is formed exposes a part of the inorganic layer pattern; etching the inorganic layer pattern so that an edge of a retained part of the inorganic layer pattern extends outward relative to an edge of the opening pattern, wherein the retained part of the inorganic layer is the first sub-isolation portion (150, Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11, 15, 20, 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 2019/0326372 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (110), at least comprising a first display region; a plurality of sub-pixels (104), located in the first display region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel (104) in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element (OLED), the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (130) and a first electrode (118) and a second electrode (128) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode (118) is located between the light-emitting functional layer (130) and the base substrate (110), and the light-emitting functional layer (130) comprises a plurality of film layers (¶[0046]), wherein the display substrate further comprises an isolation portion, the isolation portion comprises a first sub-isolation portion (150) and a second sub-isolation portion (115d) which are stacked, the first sub-isolation portion (150) is located between the second sub-isolation portion (115d) and the base substrate (110), a material of the first sub-isolation portion comprises an inorganic material (¶[0104]), and a material of the second sub-isolation portion (115d) comprises an organic material (¶[0175]); the second sub-isolation portion (115d) comprises a protrusion protruding relative to an edge of the first sub-isolation portion (Fig. 5), the protrusion is located between adjacent sub-pixels, at least a part of the second sub-isolation portion facing one of the adjacent sub-pixels is different in shape from at least a part of the second sub-isolation portion facing the other of the adjacent sub-pixels (Fig. 7); at least one film layer (130) among the plurality of film layers is disconnected at the isolation portion (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, Han discloses a display substrate wherein at least one film layer (130) among the plurality of film layers is disconnected at an edge of the isolation portion facing one of the adjacent sub-pixels, and is not disconnected at an edge of the isolation portion facing the other of the adjacent sub-pixels (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Han discloses a display substrate at least the part of the second sub-isolation portion (115d) facing one of the adjacent sub-pixels has a different slope angle from at least the part of the second sub-isolation portion (115d) facing the other of the adjacent sub-pixels (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Han discloses a display substrate wherein at least in a part of the isolation portion (115d) where the protrusion is located, an orthographic projection of the first sub-isolation portion (150) on the base substrate completely falls within an orthographic projection of the second sub-isolation portion (115d) on the base substrate.
Regarding claim 7, Han discloses a display substrate wherein, in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate, a maximum thickness of the second sub-isolation portion (115d) is greater than a maximum thickness of the first sub-isolation portion (150, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Han discloses a display substrate further comprising: a pixel defining pattern (115d), wherein at least the pixel defining pattern located in the first display region comprises a plurality of first openings (OP), one sub-pixel corresponds to at least one first opening, and the light emitting element (OLED) of the sub-pixel is at least partially located in the at least one first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel, and the at least one first opening is configured to expose the first electrode (118); wherein at least part of a pixel defining portion (115d) of the pixel defining pattern is also used as the second sub-isolation portion (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Han discloses a display substrate wherein, in each sub-pixel, the light-emitting functional layer comprises a first light-emitting layer (130a), a charge generation layer (140) and a second light-emitting layer (130b) which are stacked, the charge generation layer (140) is located between the first light-emitting layer (130a) and the second light-emitting layer (130b), and the charge generation layer is disconnected at the isolation portion (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20, Han discloses a display substrate wherein the second electrode (128) and at least one film layer (130) among the plurality of film layers included in the light-emitting functional layer overlap in projection on the base substrate with the isolation portion (115d, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 28, Han discloses a display substrate wherein the pixel defining pattern (115d) comprises a pixel defining portion located between the first opening (OP) and a second opening which are arranged adjacent to each other (Fig. 7), one end of the pixel defining portion (115d) is configured to form the first opening (left opening, Fig. 7), the other end of the pixel defining portion (115d) comprises the second sub-isolation portion (115d, Fig. 7), and an included angle between a sidewall of the pixel defining portion formed as a sidewall of the first opening and a plane parallel to the base substrate is different from an included angle between a sidewall of the second sub-isolation portion and the plane parallel to the base substrate (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 29, Han discloses a display device, comprising the display substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 2019/0326372 A1) in view of Shim (US 2022/0181399 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Han fails to exemplify wherein a surface of the protrusion away from the base substrate comprises a curved surface, the curved surface is bent towards the first sub-isolation portion, and a slope angle of the curved surface of the protrusion is in a range of 15-70 degrees. Shim discloses a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (110), at least comprising a first display region; a plurality of sub-pixels (SPA1-SPA2), located in the first display region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel (SPAn) in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element (200), the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (230) and a first electrode (210) and a second electrode (250) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode (210) is located between the light-emitting functional layer (230) and the base substrate (110), and the light-emitting functional layer (230) comprises a plurality of film layers (¶[0087]), wherein the display substrate further comprises an isolation portion, the isolation portion comprises a first sub-isolation portion (273, Fig. 3) and a second sub-isolation portion (180, Fig. 3) which are stacked, the first sub-isolation portion (273) is located between the second sub-isolation portion (180) and the base substrate (110), a material of the first sub-isolation portion (273) comprises an inorganic material (¶[0103]), and a material of the second sub-isolation portion (180) comprises an organic material (¶[0081]); the second sub-isolation portion (180) comprises a protrusion (UC) protruding relative to an edge of the first sub-isolation portion (Fig. 3), the protrusion is located between adjacent sub-pixels; at least one film layer (230) among the plurality of film layers is disconnected at the isolation portion (Fig. 2), and wherein a surface of the protrusion away from the base substrate comprises a curved surface (Fig. 2). One skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate changing the outline shape of the protrusion surface away from the base substrate to have a curved surface and a slope angle range of 15-70 degrees in order to provide a provide a gradual tapering of the isolation portion, as an obvious matter of design engineering. It has been held that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to a surface of the protrusion away from the base substrate comprises a curved surface, the curved surface is bent towards the first sub-isolation portion, and a slope angle of the curved surface of the protrusion is in a range of 15-70 degrees, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 12, 23 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim(s) 5, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 5, and specifically comprising the limitation of at least one group of isolation portions arranged at interval are disposed between adjacent sub-pixels, each group of isolation portions comprises two isolation portions, the two isolation portions are arranged along an arrangement direction of the adjacent sub-pixels, and the protrusions of the two isolation portions are close to each other.
Regarding claim(s) 6 and 26, claims(s) 6 and 26 is/are allowable for the reasons given in claim(s) 5 because of its/their dependency status from claim(s) 5.
Regarding claim(s) 12, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 12, and specifically comprising the limitation of the first electrode comprises at least one electrode layer, the first sub-isolation portion comprises at least one film layer, one film layer of the first sub-isolation portion is arranged in the same layer as one electrode layer of the first electrode, and the pixel defining portion is configured to separate the first sub- isolation portion from the first electrode.
Regarding claim(s) 23, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 23, and specifically comprising the limitation of a ratio of a thickness of the first sub-isolation portion to a thickness of the light-emitting functional layer is in a range of 0.7-1.5, the second electrode is continuous at the protrusion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho et al. (US 2021/0202655 A1) discloses a display apparatus includes: a base substrate; a thin film transistor and a power supply wire on the base substrate; a first electrode on the base substrate, and electrically connected to the thin film transistor; a light emitting layer and a common layer on the first electrode; and a second electrode on the common layer. The power supply wire includes: a first conductive layer; a second conductive layer on the first conductive layer; and a third conductive layer on the second conductive layer.
Han et al. (US 2020/0135838 A1) discloses an organic light-emitting display device comprising a substrate comprising a plurality of sub-pixels, each of the sub-pixels having an emission area and a non-emission area provided to surround the emission area; an auxiliary line disposed in the non-emission area; at least one bump disposed on the auxiliary line; and a bank having a hole to expose the protruding portion of the auxiliary line connection.
Heo et al. (US 9,570,471 B2) discloses an organic light emitting display device including: a substrate; a first anode and a second anode formed on the substrate; a first auxiliary electrode formed between the first anode and the second anode; a first organic light emitting layer and a second organic light emitting layer; a first bank including an undercut formed on an upper part of a first edge of the first auxiliary electrode; a second bank including an undercut formed on an upper part of a second edge of the first auxiliary electrode.
Tanada et al. (US 2013/0223342 A1) discloses a light-emitting device having a contact structure which includes a separation layer having a shape typified by a reverse tapered shape in which an outline of the bottom portion is inside an outline of an upper portion and which utilizes the difference between an amount of a light-emitting layer extending inside the outline and that of an upper electrode extending inside the outline.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879