DETAILED ACTION
I. This office action is in response to the correspondence filed August 31, 2023. Claims 1-5, 8-15, 19, 34-36, and 40-42 are being examined.
II. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Allowable Subject Matter
III. Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
IV. Claims 1, 3-4, 8-9, 15, 34-35, and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kedalagudde et al. (US 2021/0058784 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Kedalagudde teaches a method for remotely configuring a User Equipment (UE) (see paragraphs [0008] & [0011], UE onboarding and remote provisioning for NPN reads on a method for remotely configuring a User Equipment (UE), comprising: sending, by the UE, a registration request to a first core network device of a first network (see paragraph [0115] and Fig. 2 & Fig. 3, UE initial registration reads on sending, by the UE, a registration request to a first core network device of a first network); receiving, by the UE, an available remote configuration mode sent by the first core network device (see paragraphs [0011] & [0115], Remotely provisioning required new or updated information to the UE for enabling the UE to access the NPN using 5GS. The PCF initiates UE policy delivery using URSP. This reads on receiving, by the UE, an available remote configuration mode sent by the first core network device), wherein the available remote configuration mode is determined by a remote configuration mode supported by the first network and/or a remote configuration mode supported by a second network (see paragraphs [0011] & [0115], The AMF indicates to PCF that UE has requested restricted/provisioning registration. The PCF initiates UE policy delivery to trigger UE provisioning (see paragraph [0011]). This reads on wherein the available remote configuration mode is determined by a remote configuration mode supported by the first network and/or a remote configuration mode supported by a second network); and performing, by the UE, remote configuration according to the available remote configuration mode (see paragraphs [0011] & [0115] and Fig. 3, The PCF initiates UE policy delivery to trigger UE provisioning. The remote provisioning triggers procedures used to initiate the provisioning procedure to the UE. This reads on performing, by the UE, remote configuration according to the available remote configuration mode).
Regarding claim 3 Kedalagudde teaches receiving, by the UE, a policy message sent through a Policy Control Function (PCF) by the first core network device, wherein the available remote configuration mode is carried in the policy message (see paragraph [0115], As part of initial registration, AMF of the O-SNPN (ON) indicates to PCF that UE has requested provisioning registration. The PCF may initiate UE policy delivery. This reads on receiving, by the UE, a policy message sent through a Policy Control Function (PCF) by the first core network device, wherein the available remote configuration mode is carried in the policy message).
Regarding claim 4 Kedalagudde teaches obtaining, by the UE, a remote configuration mode supported by the UE; selecting, by the UE, a target remote configuration mode according to the remote configuration mode supported by the UE and the available remote configuration mode; and performing, by the UE, the remote configuration according to the target remote configuration mode (see paragraph [0086], Upon establishment of connectivity to the PS, the UE is provisioned with the subscription credentials for the SO-SNPN (e.g., SNPN that will own the UE's subscription) and additional configuration data. Then the UE de-registers from the O-SNPN, performs a new network selection, and registers the SO-SNPN using the provisioned subscription credentials and configuration data. This reads on obtaining, by the UE, a remote configuration mode supported by the UE; selecting, by the UE, a target remote configuration mode according to the remote configuration mode supported by the UE and the available remote configuration mode; and performing, by the UE, the remote configuration according to the target remote configuration mode).
Regarding claim 8 Kedalagudde teaches determining a remote configuration mode (see paragraphs [0008] & [0011], UE onboarding and remote provisioning for NPN reads on determining a remote configuration mode), comprising: receiving, by a first core network device of a first network, a registration request of a User Equipment (UE) (see paragraph [0115] and Fig. 2 & Fig. 3, UE initial registration reads on receiving, by a first core network device of a first network, a registration request of a User Equipment (UE)); determining, by the first core network device, an available remote configuration mode according to a remote configuration mode supported by the first network and/or a remote configuration mode supported by a second network (see paragraphs [0011] & [0115], The AMF indicates to PCF that UE has requested restricted/provisioning registration. The PCF initiates UE policy delivery to trigger UE provisioning (see paragraph [0011]). This reads on determining, by the first core network device, an available remote configuration mode according to a remote configuration mode supported by the first network and/or a remote configuration mode supported by a second network); and sending, by the first core network device, the available remote configuration mode to the UE (see paragraphs [0011] & [0115] and Fig. 3, The PCF initiates UE policy delivery to trigger UE provisioning. The remote provisioning triggers procedures used to initiate the provisioning procedure to the UE. This reads on sending, by the first core network device, the available remote configuration mode to the UE).
Regarding claim 9 Kedalagudde teaches wherein before the determining, by the first core network device, the available remote configuration mode according to the remote configuration mode supported by the first network and the remote configuration mode supported by the second network, the method further comprises: preconfiguring, by the first core network device, the remote configuration mode supported by the second network to the first core network device (see paragraph [0090], The O-SNPN may discover and connect the DCS for the UE by checking the realm part of the unique UE identifier. If the authentication is successful, the DCS optionally sends the identity of the selected SO-SNPN and the information (e.g., address of PS, identity of PS, etc) of the selected PS which are selected based on the information sent by the UE.. This reads on wherein before the determining, by the first core network device, the available remote configuration mode according to the remote configuration mode supported by the first network and the remote configuration mode supported by the second network, the method further comprises: preconfiguring, by the first core network device, the remote configuration mode supported by the second network to the first core network device).
Regarding claim 15 Kedalagudde teaches limitations as recited in claim 3 and therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 34 Kedalagudde teaches a User Equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver (1130, Fig. 11); a memory (1120, Fig. 11); and a processor (1110, Fig. 11), respectively connected to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to, by executing computer-executable instructions in the memory, implement the method for remotely configuring the UE according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0194] – [0197] and Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 35 Kedalagudde teaches a first core network device, comprising: a transceiver (1130, Fig. 11); a memory (1120, Fig. 11); and a processor (1110, Fig. 11), respectively connected to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to, by executing computer-executable instructions in the memory, implement the method for remotely configuring the UE according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0194] – [0197] and Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 41 Kedalagudde teaches limitations as recited in claim 3 and therefore claim 41 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 42 Kedalagudde teaches limitations as recited in claim 4 and therefore claim 42 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
V. Claims 2, 5, 10, 14, 19, 36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kedalagudde et al. (US 2021/0058784 A1) in view of Huawei Sol #27: update the UP or CP decision (3GPP TSG-WG SA2 Meeting (#140E e-meeting))
Regarding claim 2 Kedalagudde teaches receiving, by the UE, the available remote configuration mode sent by the first core network device (see paragraph [0085] & {0115], During connectivity to PS via O-SNPN (ON) as part of initial registration, the PCF initiates UE Policy delivery. This reads on receiving, by the UE, the available remote configuration mode sent by the first core network device) and except for
receiving, by the UE, a registration response message sent by the first core network device, wherein in response to a successful registration, the available remote configuration mode is carried in the registration response message by the first core network device.
Huawei Sol #27: update the UP or CP decision teaches receiving, by the UE, a registration response message sent by the first core network device, wherein in response to a successful registration, the available remote configuration mode is carried in the registration response message by the first core network device (see pages 6-8 and Figure 6.27.3.2.1-1, Step 22, The PS of the SNPN sends an authorization response to the AMF of the ON containing UE provisioning data and authorization. The AMF of the ON sends a registration accept with the SNPN onboarding info. This reads on receiving, by the UE, a registration response message sent by the first core network device, wherein in response to a successful registration, the available remote configuration mode is carried in the registration response message by the first core network device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the determining a remote configuration mode in Kedalagudde adapt to include receiving, by the UE, a registration response message sent by the first core network device, wherein in response to a successful registration, the available remote configuration mode is carried in the registration response message by the first core network device because it would allow for an efficient and well known mechanism for remote provisioning the UE in the second network.
Regarding claim 5 Kedalagudde teaches the method according to claim 1 except for wherein the available remote configuration mode comprises a User Plane (UP) remote configuration mode and/or a Control Plane (CP) remote configuration mode.
Huawei Sol #27: update the UP or CP decision teaches wherein the available remote configuration mode comprises a User Plane (UP) remote configuration mode and/or a Control Plane (CP) remote configuration mode page 1, 6.27.1.1, Onboarding solutions that addresses both UP and CP UE provisioning procedures reads on wherein the available remote configuration mode comprises a User Plane (UP) remote configuration mode and/or a Control Plane (CP) remote configuration mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the determining a remote configuration mode in Kedalagudde adapt to include wherein the available remote configuration mode comprises a User Plane (UP) remote configuration mode and/or a Control Plane (CP) remote configuration mode because it would allow for the provisioning of data to the UE either via CP or UP which can provide flexibility and/efficiencies.
Regarding claim 10 Kedalagudde teaches a method according to claim 8 except for wherein before the determining, by the first core network device, the available remote configuration mode according to the remote configuration mode supported by the first network and the remote configuration mode supported by the second network, the method further comprises: sending, by the first core network device, a UE registration success message to a second core network device of the second network; and receiving, by the first core network device, the remote configuration mode supported by the second network that is sent by the second core network device.
Huawei Sol #27: update the UP or CP decision teaches sending, by the first core network device, a UE registration success message to a second core network device of the second network (see pages 6-7 and Figure 6.27.3.2.1-1, Step 16, The AMF of the ON selects an SNPN. The AMF of the ON requests authorization to that selected SNPN for proceeding with the Onboarding of the UE. Initial registration and authentication with the ON was accepted in Step 12. This reads on sending, by the first core network device, a UE registration success message to a second core network device of the second network); and receiving, by the first core network device, the remote configuration mode supported by the second network that is sent by the second core network device (see pages 6-8 and Figure 6.27.3.2.1-1, Step 19, The PS of the SNPN sends an authorization response to the AMF of the ON containing UE provisioning data and authorization. This reads on receiving, by the first core network device, the remote configuration mode supported by the second network that is sent by the second core network device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the determining a remote configuration mode in Kedalagudde adapt to include before the determining, by the first core network device, the available remote configuration mode according to the remote configuration mode supported by the first network and the remote configuration mode supported by the second network, the method further comprises: sending, by the first core network device, a UE registration success message to a second core network device of the second network; and receiving, by the first core network device, the remote configuration mode supported by the second network that is sent by the second core network device because it would allow for an efficient and well known mechanism for remote provisioning the UE in the second network.
Regarding claim 14 Kedalagudde and Huawei Sol #27: update the UP or CP decision teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 19 Kedalagudde teaches a method for determining a remote configuration mode (see paragraphs [0008] & [0011], UE onboarding and remote provisioning for NPN reads on determining a remote configuration mode).
Kedalagudde does not specifically teach receiving, by a second core network device of a second network, a User Equipment (UE) registration success message sent by a first core network device of a first network; and sending, by the second core network device, a remote configuration mode supported by the second network to the first core network device.
Huawei Sol #27: update the UP or CP decision teaches receiving, by a second core network device of a second network, a User Equipment (UE) registration success message sent by a first core network device of a first network (see pages 6-7 and Figure 6.27.3.2.1-1, Step 16, The AMF of the ON selects an SNPN. The AMF of the ON requests authorization to that selected SNPN for proceeding with the Onboarding of the UE. Initial registration and authentication with the ON was accepted in Step 12. This reads on receiving, by a second core network device of a second network, a User Equipment (UE) registration success message sent by a first core network device of a first network); and sending, by the second core network device, a remote configuration mode supported by the second network to the first core network device (see pages 6-8 and Figure 6.27.3.2.1-1, Step 19, The PS of the SNPN sends an authorization response to the AMF of the ON containing UE provisioning data and authorization. This reads on sending, by the second core network device, a remote configuration mode supported by the second network to the first core network device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the determining a remote configuration mode in Kedalagudde adapt to include receiving, by a second core network device of a second network, a User Equipment (UE) registration success message sent by a first core network device of a first network; and sending, by the second core network device, a remote configuration mode supported by the second network to the first core network device because it would allow for an efficient and well known mechanism for remote provisioning the UE in the second network.
Regarding claim 36 Kedalagudde teaches a second core network device, comprising: a transceiver (1130, Fig. 11); a memory (1120, Fig. 11); and a processor (1110, Fig. 11), respectively connected to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to, by executing computer-executable instructions in the memory, implement the method for remotely configuring the UE according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0194] – [0197] and Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 40 Kedalagudde and Huawei Sol #27: update the UP or CP decision teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 40 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
VI. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ganesan et al. Pub. No.: US 2021/0352472 A1 discloses zero-touch deployment (ZTD) of cellular IOT devices associated trust model discloses registering end point devices, wherein the endpoint device may execute an onboarding agent that causes the device to send the request to a private APN (see paragraphs [0070] – [0071]).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
March 7, 2026