DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF THE CLAIMS: Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species in the reply, filed on August 18, 2026, is acknowledged. All claims were examined in its entirety.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 (including claims dependent thereon) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teikoku et al., (WO2013/008909) in view of Usuda et al., (WO2019/160067).
Applicants claims a patch comprising the following:
Teikoku teaches a similar patch comprising loxoprofen, hydrate, hydroxy acid in a pasty preparation. (See paragraphs [0009] and [0029]-[0030], Examples and page 16.
Teikoku does not disclose the patch comprising a metal oxide.
Usuda teaches an external patch for medicinal use comprising a metal oxide. (See Abstract, paragraph [0002], Examples and claims 1-15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Teikoku and Usuda to design a patch comprising metal oxide to improve its stability and formulation compatibility, and for the purpose of further improving the stability of the principal agent-loxoprofen. It is well known in the art that metal oxides are incorporated into external patches for medicine use because they combine antimicrobial, anti-inflammatory and regenerative properties with the ability to deliver active agents in a controlled manner and are stable in air and in solution with good solubility in water and common organic solvents. Additionally, it is well known in the art that metal oxides improve bioavailability, has sustained action and versatility in formulation, and has a well-established safety profile, making them suitable for various dosage forms in patches. All of the moieties are taught in the art. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, would be motivated to combine the teachings of Teikoku and Usuda when confronted with an alternate patch a patch comprising metal oxide to improve its stability and formulation compatibility, and for the purpose of further improving the stability of the principal agent, and thus is an obvious alternative. See In re Payne, 203 USPQ 245(CCPA 1979).
Since Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of Teikoku and Usuda, Applicant’s claims are obvious, and therefore, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claims 1-15 (including claims dependent thereon) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita et al., (JP2011-20997) in view of Usuda et al., (WO2019/160067).
Applicants claims a patch comprising the following:
Morita teaches a similar patch comprising loxoprofen, hydrate, hydroxy acid in a pasty preparation. (See paragraphs [0009] and [0029]-[0030], Examples and page 16.
Morita does not disclose the patch comprising a metal oxide.
Usuda teaches an external patch for medicinal use comprising a metal oxide. (See Abstract, paragraph [0002], Examples and claims 1-15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Morita and Usuda to design a patch comprising metal oxide to improve its stability and formulation compatibility, and for the purpose of further improving the stability of the principal agent--loxoprofen. It is well known in the art that metal oxides are incorporated into external patches for medicine use because they combine antimicrobial, anti-inflammatory and regenerative properties with the ability to deliver active agents in a controlled manner and are stable in air and in solution with good solubility in water and common organic solvents. Additionally, it is well known in the art that metal oxides improve bioavailability, has sustained action and versatility in formulation, and has a well-established safety profile, making them suitable for various dosage forms in patches. All of the moieties are taught in the art. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, would be motivated to combine the teachings of Morita and Usuda when confronted with an alternate patch a patch comprising metal oxide to improve its stability and formulation compatibility, and for the purpose of further improving the stability of the principal agent, and thus is an obvious alternative. See In re Payne, 203 USPQ 245(CCPA 1979).
Since Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of Morita and Usuda, Applicant’s claims are obvious, and therefore, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claims 1-15 (including claims dependent thereon) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teikoku et al., (WO2013/008909) in view of Tsujimoto et al., (JP2002-226336).
Applicants claims a patch comprising the following:
Teikoku teaches a similar patch comprising loxoprofen, hydrate, hydroxy acid in a pasty preparation. (See paragraphs [0009] and [0029]-[0030], Examples and page 16.
Teikoku does not disclose the patch comprising a metal oxide.
Tsujimoto teaches an external patch for medicinal use comprising metal oxides. (See Abstract, paragraphs [0001]- [0002], [0005]-[0008], Examples and claims 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Teikoku and Tsujimoto to design a patch comprising metal oxides to improve its stability and formulation compatibility, and for the purpose of further improving the stability of the principal agent-loxoprofen. It is well known in the art that metal oxides are incorporated into external patches for medicine use because they combine antimicrobial, anti-inflammatory and regenerative properties with the ability to deliver active agents in a controlled manner and are stable in air and in solution with good solubility in water and common organic solvents. Additionally, it is well known in the art that metal oxides improve bioavailability, has sustained action and versatility in formulation, and has a well-established safety profile, making them suitable for various dosage forms in patches. All of the moieties are taught in the art. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, would be motivated to combine the teachings of Teikoku and Tsujimoto when confronted with an alternate patch a patch comprising metal oxide to improve its stability and formulation compatibility, and for the purpose of further improving the stability of the principal agent, and thus is an obvious alternative. See In re Payne, 203 USPQ 245(CCPA 1979).
Since Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of Teikoku and Tsujimoto, Applicant’s claims are obvious, and therefore, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claims 1-15 (including claims dependent thereon) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita et al., (WO2013/008909) in view of Tsujimoto et al., (JP2002-226336).
Applicants claims a patch comprising the following:
Morita teaches a similar patch comprising loxoprofen, hydrate, hydroxy acid in a pasty preparation. (See paragraphs [0009] and [0029]-[0030], Examples and page 16.
Morita does not disclose the patch comprising a metal oxide.
Tsujimoto teaches an external patch for medicinal use comprising metal oxides. (See Abstract, paragraphs [0001]- [0002], [0005]-[0008], Examples and claims 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to be motivated to combine the teachings of Morita and Tsujimoto to design a patch comprising metal oxides to improve its stability and formulation compatibility, and for the purpose of further improving the stability of the principal agent-loxoprofen. It is well known in the art that metal oxides are incorporated into external patches for medicine use because they combine antimicrobial, anti-inflammatory and regenerative properties with the ability to deliver active agents in a controlled manner and are stable in air and in solution with good solubility in water and common organic solvents. Additionally, it is well known in the art that metal oxides improve bioavailability, has sustained action and versatility in formulation, and has a well-established safety profile, making them suitable for various dosage forms in patches. All of the moieties are taught in the art. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, would be motivated to combine the teachings of Morita and Tsujimoto when confronted with an alternate patch a patch comprising metal oxide to improve its stability and formulation compatibility, and for the purpose of further improving the stability of the principal agent, and thus is an obvious alternative. See In re Payne, 203 USPQ 245(CCPA 1979).
Since Applicant’s claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of Morita and Tsujimoto, Applicant’s claims are obvious, and therefore, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 are pending in this application. Claims 1-15 are rejected. No claims allowed.
/PAUL V WARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622