DETAILED ACTION
Status
Claims(s) 19,21-26 and 39, is/are filed on 12/1/2025 are currently pending. Claim(s) 39 is/are withdrawn, 19, 21-26 is/are rejected.
Election-Restrictions
Applicant has elected to prosecute the Species A.A1 (Fig. 6) and B.B1 (Fig. 8). Corresponding to claims 19, 21-26, and 39 on 12/1/2025. Upon review and examination, dependent claim 39 is understood to be directed to a “a filter device”. The instant elected group I of invention is towards a method of forming a filter and not a filter device. Accordingly claim 39 will be withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected species. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed. However, applicant has failed to provide any arguments on the traversal. Therefore, this restriction is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 19, 22, 24, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GM (GB 880,812 A) in view of Delbag (GB 1,408,194) and Michaelis (US 5,167,740).
Regarding Claim 19, GM from figures 1-6 teaches a method for forming a filter medium, which is suitable for filtering fluids, for a filter element (GM, p. 1: filter element for a fluid filter), the method comprising: applying at least one discrete sealing agent onto a fluid-permeable media web in a direction: GM teaches: "Along each longitudinal edge of the strip [10] there is applied a strip of adhesive 11" (GM, p. 3, ll. 3–4). The adhesive strip (11) is a discrete sealing agent applied onto the fluid-permeable filter paper strip (10) in the longitudinal direction of the strip. Under BRI, the adhesive strip (11) reads on a "discrete sealing agent" applied onto a "fluid-permeable media web" (strip 10) "in a direction" (longitudinal direction).
producing a permanent bond at least between parts of the sealing agent and the media web: GM teaches: the adhesive strips (11) bond to the filter paper strip (10), producing a permanent bond. The adhesive (11) seals the end portions of each pleat (20) by "bringing into apposition, and if necessary applying pressure to, the end portions of each part of a pleat 20 coated with the adhesive 11" (GM, p. 3, ll. 8–12). This produces a permanent bond between the adhesive strip (11) and the media web (10).
pleating the composite, thereby forming individual filter pleats perpendicular to the direction": GM teaches: "the strip 10 is then folded in zig-zag fashion about the fold lines 12... to form a series of accordion pleats 20" (GM, p. 3, ll. 6–8). The fold lines (12) are transverse to the longitudinal direction of the strip (10), and the pleats (20) are formed perpendicular to the direction in which the adhesive strips (11) extend;
producing a hollow body by joining together two lateral edges of the media web, adjoining each other, opposing each other and extending transverse to the direction, such that at least one sealing region on the media web is obtained: GM teaches: "The two ends of the strip 10 are then joined so as to form the pleated strip 10 into a hollow filter element 21" (GM, p. 3, ll. 13–15). The two ends (lateral edges) of the strip (10), which extend transverse to the longitudinal direction, are joined to each other to form the hollow filter element (21). A sealing region is obtained where the ends are joined and where the adhesive strips (11) provide sealing at the inner periphery;
wherein the respective sealing agent is arranged on the inside of the hollow body, a seal is produced for each filter pleat, and an end-face seal of the media web is provided: GM teaches: The adhesive strips (11) are along the longitudinal edges of the strip (10), which correspond to the end faces when the hollow element (21) is formed. The adhesive (11) seals the ends of each pleat (20) — "the ends of [each pleat 20] are sealed by bringing into apposition... the end portions of each part of a pleat 20 coated with the adhesive 11" (GM, p. 3, ll. 8–12). When the hollow element (21) is formed, the sealed pleat ends at the inner periphery face inward, placing the sealing agent on the inside of the hollow body. The adhesive (11) provides an end-face seal of the media web.
GM does not teach a sealing agent consisting of a weldable plastic material that is welded onto the media web. However, Delbag teaches that the spacing/sealing strips (2, 3, 4) on a filter paper web (1) are joined together "such as by cold or hot welding" (Delbag, p. 2, paragraph describing production). Delbag teaches that the wider strips (4) at the longitudinal edges serve as "sealing elements" (Delbag, p. 1). The strips may consist of "polyester paste" or "polyurethane" (Delbag, p. 2). While Delbag teaches welding of the strip material, Delbag’s strips are formed from pasty material applied by nozzles, rather than pre-formed strips of weldable plastic.
Michaelis teaches a thermoplastic film strip (5) that is welded onto both butt ends (end faces) of a pleated pack of thermally weldable nonwoven material (Michaelis, Col. 4, ll. 1–18). The thermoplastic film strip (5) is a pre-formed strip of weldable plastic material that, after being applied to the filter pack, is welded on using a welding process (including ultrasonic sonotrodes as pressers (11)) to produce a permanent bond. Michaelis states: "a thermoplastic film strip 5 [is] welded onto both butt ends of the pleated pack" (Michaelis, Col. 4, ll. 1–2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of GM by substituting the adhesive strips (11) of GM with thermoplastic film strips welded to the media web as taught by Michaelis. Delbag already establishes that welding ("cold or hot welding") is a known technique for joining sealing/spacing strips to folded filter paper in the same field of filter pack manufacture (Delbag, p. 2). Michaelis further demonstrates that welding a pre-formed thermoplastic film strip to a filter medium provides a permanent bond without adhesive, yielding "advantages in connection with recycling, for it consists essentially of only one material" (Michaelis, Col. 3, ll. 63–67). A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to replace adhesive bonding with welding to reduce material costs, improve recyclability, and simplify manufacturing, with a reasonable expectation of success because both Delbag and Michaelis confirm that welding is a viable bonding method for sealing strips on filter media.
Regarding Claim 22, GM teaches dividing the pleated media web into web sections transverse to the feed direction in predefined lengths before the hollow body is produced: "The pleated strips can then be cut off into the lengths required to form hollow filter elements with a desired inner peripheral length, each element then being collapsed into a compact pack" (GM, p. 3, ll. 31–34). This explicitly teaches dividing the pleated media web into sections of predefined lengths before the hollow body is produced (i.e., before the ends are joined to form the hollow element 21).
Regarding claim 24, GM teaches the sealing agent is arranged along the two end faces opposing each other, in the associated end regions of the hollow body-like media web: "Along each longitudinal edge of the strip [10] there is applied a strip of adhesive 11" (GM, p. 3, ll. 3–4). The adhesive strips (11) are along both longitudinal edges, which become the two opposing end faces when the strip (10) is formed into the hollow element (21). Michaelis further teaches that a thermoplastic film strip (5) is welded onto both butt ends of the pleated pack (Michaelis, Col. 4, ll. 1–2). Therefore, the prior art teaches the sealing agent arranged along two opposing end faces.
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of GM, Delbag, and Michaelis teaches the method of claim 19. Claim 26 further requires that thermoplastic synthetics are used for the strip-shaped sealing agent to be welded on. Michaelis teaches that the sealing strip is a thermoplastic film strip (5) welded onto the pleated pack (Michaelis, Col. 4, ll. 1–5). The filter insert itself consists of thermally weldable nonwoven (Michaelis, Col. 1, ll. 15–20), which is a thermoplastic synthetic material. Fath teaches that the planar reinforcing structure may comprise a film of thermoplastic material and that nonwoven mat strips are amenable to welding (Fath, Col. 3–4). Delbag teaches that the strips may consist of polyester paste (Delbag, p. 2), which is a synthetic material. Under BRI, "thermoplastic synthetics" encompasses the thermoplastic film strip of Michaelis and the thermoplastic nonwoven mat material of Fath.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used thermoplastic synthetics for the sealing strip because Michaelis and Fath demonstrate that thermoplastic materials are standard choices for weldable sealing strips in filter manufacture, and the selection of a known material (thermoplastic synthetic) for its known purpose (weldable sealing) is within the ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GM (GB 880,812 A) in view of Delbag (GB 1,408,194), Michaelis (US 5,167,740), and Clarcor (WO 2018/152090 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of GM, Delbag, and Michaelis teaches the method of claim 19, as set forth above. Claim 21 further requires: "feeding the respective sealing strip in the direction as transport direction for pleating the composite of media web": GM teaches that the adhesive strip (11) is applied along the longitudinal edge (i.e., in the longitudinal direction), and the strip (10) is subsequently pleated along transverse fold lines (12). The strip (10) with adhesive (11) is thus fed in the longitudinal direction as the transport direction for pleating. Delbag similarly teaches that the spacing/sealing strips (2, 3, 4) are applied "simultaneously and in precise mutual alignment throughout the length of both sides of the paper" (Delbag, p. 2), i.e., in the transport direction, before refolding.
"welding the sealing strip to the media web along a weld line in such a manner that, at least in the direction of the media web, a longitudinal strip of the sealing agent rests freely on the media web": Michaelis teaches welding a thermoplastic film strip (5) to the filter medium. Under BRI, when a strip of material having a width greater than the weld zone is welded along a linear weld line, a portion of the strip laterally adjacent to the weld line would remain unbonded (i.e., rest freely) on the media web. GM teaches that the adhesive strips (11) are applied along the longitudinal edges with a width sufficient to seal the pleat ends — when such strips are instead welded along a weld line per Michaelis, the portion of the strip between the weld line and the free edge of the media web would rest freely on the media web.
"subsequently cutting the media web along the weld line in such a manner as to obtain a waste strip or a further media web, so that the remaining welding line seals the media web and that the longitudinal strip lying freely on the media web seals the filter pleats after pleating": GM teaches: "three or more widths of filter element can be formed at the same time by applying the lines of adhesive, for the sealing of the pleats, at intervals across the width of the paper; the paper can then be cut, after folding it to form the pleats, so as to form lengths of pleated strip of different widths with the ends of the pleats sealed" (GM, p. 3, ll. 25–31). GM thus teaches cutting the media web after applying the sealing lines and pleating, to separate individual filter elements, producing waste strips or additional media webs.
Clarcor teaches ultrasonically cutting and sealing seams into filter media using an ultrasonic sonotrode and anvil (Clarcor, [0001], [0027]–[0028]), i.e., a combined cut-and-weld operation along a weld/cut line. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the cutting technique of GM (cutting the media web with adhesive/sealing lines to form separate filter elements) with the combined ultrasonic cut-and-weld technique of Clarcor. GM already teaches the concept of applying sealing lines across the width of the paper and then cutting along those lines to produce individual sealed filter strips. Clarcor teaches that ultrasonic cutting and sealing can be performed simultaneously. A person skilled in the art would recognize that welding the sealing strip along a weld line and then cutting along that weld line (as in a combined cut-and-weld operation) would simultaneously seal the edge and separate the media web, with the freely resting portion of the sealing strip subsequently sealing the filter pleats upon pleating.
Regarding claim 23, GM as combined does not teach the details as claimed. Michaelis teaches that the folded-over pleat ends (10) are bonded by means of pressers (11) in the form of ultrasonic sonotrodes (Michaelis, Col. 4, ll. 7–18). Michaelis states that the ultrasonic variant provides "extremely fast welding and cooling" and "produces high temperatures only spot-wise in the nonwoven material" (Michaelis, Col. 4, ll. 12–16). Clarcor also teaches ultrasonic cutting and sealing of filter media using an ultrasonic sonotrode and anvil (Clarcor, [0001-0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have to performed ultrasonic welding as the welding process because Michaelis explicitly teaches its advantages (speed, cooling, localized heating) for welding filter media, and Clarcor independently confirms ultrasonic welding as a standard technique for filter media processing.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GM (GB 880,812 A) in view of Delbag (GB 1,408,194), Michaelis (US 5,167,740), and Erdmannsdoerfer (US 5,707,521 A).
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of GM, Delbag, and Michaelis teaches the method of claim 19. Claim 25 further requires (a) the filter medium is produced without adhesive, and (b) the filter pleats are outwardly enclosed by a film-like, fluid-permeable surrounding casing. The filter medium is produced without adhesive: Michaelis explicitly teaches adhesive-free filter production: "the framing of the filter pack is performed exclusively with the filter material used, without the use of any additional materials" (Michaelis, Col. 3, ll. 55–60). The welding process (thermal or ultrasonic) replaces adhesive bonding entirely. Michaelis notes this "presents additional advantages in connection with recycling" (Michaelis, Col. 3, ll. 63–67).
Erdmannsdoerfer teaches the filter pleats are outwardly enclosed by a film-like, fluid-permeable surrounding casing: a filter element surrounded by a permeable shrink tube or shrinkable sleeve (6) made of a fabric containing heat-shrinkable polyethylene and/or polypropylene filaments or yarns (Erdmannsdoerfer, Col. 2, ll. 30–35; Claim 1). Under BRI, a permeable shrink tube/sleeve made of thermoplastic fabric reads on a "film-like, fluid-permeable surrounding casing" because it is a thin, flexible, sheet-derived structure that is fluid-permeable and encloses the filter element. Erdmannsdoerfer further teaches that the shrink tube "eliminates the adhesive" (Erdmannsdoerfer, Col. 2, ll. 40–45), consistent with the adhesive-free requirement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have enclosed the pleated filter medium with a permeable shrink tube as taught by Erdmannsdoerfer because Erdmannsdoerfer teaches that such an arrangement provides mechanical support to the filter element while eliminating the need for adhesive. A person skilled in the art seeking adhesive-free filter production as motivated by Michaelis would have found the permeable casing of Erdmannsdoerfer to be a suitable and known means of enclosing filter pleats outwardly, with a reasonable expectation of success.
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777