DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 05/14/2026:
claims 1-2, 4-16 are currently pending;
claim 16 is withdrawn;
the 112(b) rejection to claims 5 and 15 are withdrawn in light of the amendment to the claims. New 112(b) rejection for claim 2 is outlined below;
all prior art grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of the narrowing amendment to the alkali metal compound in independent claim 1; however, new grounds of rejection are presented below; and
the nonstatutory double patenting rejection to claims 1-2, 6-9 and 12-15 is maintained for at least the reasons as set forth herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 02/18/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Examiner is treating claim 2 as requiring “wherein the aluminum sulfate suspension is a solidification accelerator and/or hardening accelerator for a composition comprising a mineral binder” as claimed.
Examiner suggests amending the claim to either: i) remove the additional preferential limitation; ii) amend the claim so as to incorporate the narrower preferential as desired; or iii) some other clarifying amendment so as to remove the ambiguity as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN 107986669 A, with reference to the machine translation) (“Yang” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a method (see Yang at [0016] teaching a method for preparing… liquid alkali-free quick-setting agent),
for adjusting the viscosity of an aluminum sulfate suspension (based on specification at page 6 lines 22-28 disclosing what is meant more particularly by “adjusting the viscosity” in the present context that the viscosity of the aluminum sulfate suspension is controlled and/or adjusted by the soluble alkali metal compound… more particularly, the presence of the soluble alkali metal compound alters or reduces the viscosity of the aluminum sulfate suspension compared to that of an aluminum sulfate suspension that does not contain the soluble alkali metal compound but is otherwise of identical composition, see Yang at [0016]-[0018], see above and below, is taken to meet the claimed limitations because Yang teaches the presence of the soluble alkali metal compound that alters or reduces the viscosity of the aluminum sulfate suspension), comprising
a step of mixing at least one soluble alkali metal compound, aluminum sulfate, and water, wherein the alkali metal is selected from… sodium… and wherein the alkali metal compound is… an aluminate (see Yang at [0017]-[0018] teaching step A… weigh appropriate amounts of aluminum sulfate… sodium aluminate… and water… step B… add water to the reaction vessel, then add sodium aluminate to the water and stir to dissolve… then add aluminum sulfate to the solution in the reaction vessel and continue stirring until the aluminum sulfate is completely dissolved in the solution).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Yang further teaches wherein the aluminum sulfate suspension is a solidification accelerator and/or hardening accelerator for a composition comprising a mineral binder (this recitation is not a step in the claimed method, and is being treated as being taught by Yang).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Yang further teaches wherein the alkali metal compound is selected from… sodium aluminate (see Yang at [0017] teaching sodium aluminate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7 and 10-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang.
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Yang further teaches wherein an amount of the at least one alkali metal compound is chosen such that the alkali metal ions, based on the total weight of the aluminum sulfate suspension, have a proportion of 0.02-5% by weight (see Yang at [0010] teaching by weight percentage… 0% to 4% sodium aluminate). Sodium is taken to meet the claimed “alkali metal ions” (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 7, Yang teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Yang further teaches wherein the aluminum sulfate suspension, based on the total weight of the aluminum sulfate suspension, contains 22-46% by weight of aluminum sulfate (Al2(SO4)3) (see Yang at [0010] teaching by weight percentage, 30% to 70% aluminum sulfate) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Yang further teaches wherein the aluminum sulfate suspension additionally contains 0.1-15% by weight, based on the total weight of the aluminum sulfate suspension, of an alkanolamine, wherein the alkanolamine used is advantageously… diethanolamine (see Yang at [0010] teaching by weight percentage… 0% to 10% alkanolamine, see Yang at [0014] teaching the alkanolamine is any one… of diethanolamine) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Yang further teaches wherein the alkali metal compound… during the production of the aluminum sulfate suspension… in powder form (see Yang at [0018] teaching step B… add water to the reaction vessel, then add sodium aluminate to the water and stir to dissolve… then add aluminum sulfate to the solution in the reaction vessel and continue stirring until the aluminum sulfate is completely dissolved in the solution, see Yang at [0021] teaching sodium aluminate is… industrial-grade solid sodium aluminate). The claimed “powder” is being treated as being taught by Yang because there is no evidence indicating that the claimed “powder” is critical, absent new and unexpected results. Additionally, it is within the ability of one skilled in the art, with the benefit of the teachings of Yang to choose an appropriate industrial-grade solid (or powder) sodium aluminate.
Claims 6, 9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schurch et al. (US 2010/0018440 A1) (“Schurch” hereinafter).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Yang teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but Yang does not explicitly teach wherein the aluminum sulfate suspension, based on the total weight of the aluminum sulfate suspension, has a proportion of sulfate (SO4) of 19-40% by weight, and wherein the aluminum sulfate suspension, based on the total weight of the aluminum sulfate suspension, has a proportion of aluminum (Al) of 3.5-10% by weight (claim 6), and wherein a molar ratio of aluminum to sulfate in the aluminum sulfate suspension is less than or equal to 0.9 (claim 9). However, Yang teaches a further technical solution is that the aluminum sulfate is industrial aluminum sulfate or iron-free aluminum sulfate, wherein the Al2O3 content is greater than or equal to 15.6% of the total weight of aluminum sulfate, and the Fe content is less than or equal to 0.5% of the total weight of aluminum sulfate (see Yang at [0011]).
Like Yang, Schurch teaches an accelerator composition comprising aluminum sulfate (see Schurch at [0028] the accelerator… comprises from 17 to 35% by weight sulfate, from 3.2 to 9.5% by weight of aluminum), which overlaps with the claimed “wherein the aluminum sulfate suspension, based on the total weight of the aluminum sulfate suspension, has a proportion of sulfate (SO4) of 19-40% by weight, and wherein the aluminum sulfate suspension, based on the total weight of the aluminum sulfate suspension, has a proportion of aluminum (Al) of 3.5-10% by weight” (claim 6).
Schurch also teaches the molar ratio of aluminum to sulfate must in every case be less than 0.83 (see Schurch at [0035]), which overlaps with the claimed “wherein a molar ratio of aluminum to sulfate in the aluminum sulfate suspension is… less than… 0.9” (claim 9).
Additionally, MPEP states that "[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation", and “the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” (see MPEP § 2144.05.II.A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected from 17 to 35% by weight sulfate, from 3.2 to 9.5% by weight of aluminum, and molar ratio of aluminum to sulfate of less than 0.83 as taught by Schurch for the aluminum sulfate in the alkali-free quick-setting agent as taught by Yang because there is a reasonable expectation of success that the disclosed amounts would be suitable.
Regarding claims 12-15, Angelskaar teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but Angelskaar does not explicitly teach wherein the alkali metal compound is used for reducing viscosity in combination with a calcium compound or a magnesium compound (claim 12), wherein the calcium compound or magnesium compound is an oxide, hydroxide, carbonate, nitrate, sulfate, phosphate, halide, formate, acetate and/or citrate (claim 13), wherein the calcium compound is calcium carbonate, calcium oxide and/or calcium hydroxide and the magnesium compound is magnesium carbonate, magnesium oxide and/or magnesium hydroxide (claim 14), and wherein an amount of the calcium compound or magnesium compound is chosen such that the calcium atoms or magnesium atoms, based on the total weight of the aluminum sulfate suspension, have a proportion of 0.001-4% by weight (claim 15).
However, please see claim 6 and 9 rejections based on Schurch as it applies here as well.
Additionally, Schurch teaches in order to obtain accelerators having a long shelf-life, magnesium hydroxide (Mg(OH)2 is additionally used for the preparation, preferably in an amount of from 0.1 to 10% by weight… based on the total amount of the accelerator (see Schurch at [0041]), which is taken to meet the claimed wherein the alkali metal compound is used for reducing viscosity in combination with… a magnesium compound (claim 12), wherein the… magnesium compound is… hydroxide (claim 13), wherein… the magnesium compound is… magnesium hydroxide (claim 14), and wherein an amount of the… magnesium compound is chosen such that the… magnesium ions, based on the total weight of the aluminum sulfate suspension, have a proportion of 0.001-4% by weight (claim 15) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)). Magnesium oxide is expected to be capable of reducing viscosity in combination with the alkali metal compound as taught by Yang.
Additionally, MPEP states that "[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation", and “the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” (see MPEP § 2144.05.II.A).
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Schurch teaches that in order to obtain accelerators having a long shelf-life, an amount of from 0.1 to 10% by weight magnesium hydroxide is added, and seek those advantages by adding an amount of from 0.1 to 10% by weight magnesium hydroxide in the alkali-free quick-setting agent as taught by Yang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add magnesium hydroxide as taught by Schurch in the accelerator as taught by Yang in order to obtain accelerators having a long shelf-life, and to have selected an amount of from 0.1 to 10% by weight magnesium hydroxide as taught by Schurch in the alkali-free quick-setting agent as taught by Yang because there is a reasonable expectation of success that the disclosed amounts would be suitable.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Angelskaar et al. (US 2006/0048685 A1) (“Angelskaar” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Yang further teaches the sodium aluminate… can react with aluminum sulfate in solutions, and the resulting active aluminum hydroxide can form a complex with aluminum sulfate (see Yang at [0032]). However, Yang does not explicitly teach wherein the aluminum sulfate suspension, based on the total weight of the aluminum sulfate suspension, contains 0.01-15% by weight of aluminum hydroxide.
Like Yang, Angelskaar teaches an accelerator comprising aluminum sulfate (see Angelskaar at [0005]-[0006] and [0009]-[0010] teaching an accelerator composition adapted to be used with sprayed cementitious compositions, which is a… dispersion of a blend of the essential components 1-3… component 1 – aluminium sulphate… optionally with at least one of components 4-7, with the proviso that at least one of… component 4… be present… component 4 – at least one of… sodium hydroxide).
Angelskaar further teaches component 6 – aluminium hydroxide (see Angelskaar at [0012])… component 6 – up to 15% (see Angelskaar at [0020]), which is taken to meet the claimed “wherein the aluminum sulfate suspension, based on the total weight of the aluminum sulfate suspension, contains 0.01-15% by weight of aluminum hydroxide” (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Additionally, MPEP states that "[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation", and “the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” (see MPEP § 2144.05.II.A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected up to 15wt % aluminium hydroxide as taught by Angelskaar in the alkali-free quick-setting agent as taught by Yang because there is a reasonable expectation of success that the amount disclosed would be suitable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 6-9 and 12-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 12-14 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12338174 (“’174” hereinafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the pending application and ‘174 claim a method for adjusting the viscosity of an aluminum sulfate suspension comprising the step of mixing aluminum sulfate and soluble magnesium compound.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections based on Angelskaar have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection to claims 1-2, 6-9 and 12-15 is maintained, thus relevant arguments are addressed below.
Applicant discusses that the requirement for a magnesium compound in ‘174 does not suggest the use of lithium, sodium, or potassium aluminates or hydrogen carbonates, which is claimed in the current application (see Applicant’s arguments at page 7, section III).
Examiner acknowledges the arguments and respectfully notes that ‘174 employ the transitional term “comprising”, which is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps (see MPEP 2111.03.I). Since the claims in ‘174 is open-ended, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate and is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARITES A GUINO-O UZZLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1731