DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Group III) in the reply filed on 03/02/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-10 and 13-18 are withdrawn. Claims 11-12 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “EBSD observation” in line 22. Please spell out the full term of EBSD to improve claim clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2023/0045797), and further in view of Natori (WO 2020/149405A1, US 12,283,845 is used as translation).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Lee discloses (Abstract; [0030] to [0060]) a non-oriented electrical steel sheet with a composition that overlaps with the instant claimed composition and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected amounts of each element from the ranges disclosed in Lee to produce a steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 11. The recited amount of O in claim 11 is a well-known impurity level oxygen in non-oriented electrical steel. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the O level as low as possible in order to make a non-oriented electrical steel having good magnetic properties.
The left side of formula (1) calculated based on the composition of Specimen A1 to A4 in Lee is in the range of -4 to -3, which meets the recited formula (1).
Element
Claim 1
(mass %)
Lee
(mass %)
Overlap
(mass %)
C
≤0.01
≤0.005
≤0.005
Mn+Ni+Co+Pt+Pb+Cu+Au
<2.5
0.05-0.55 Mn
0-0.05 Ni
0-0.01 Cu
0.05-0.61
Si
1.5-4.0
1.5-4.0
1.5-4.0
Al
0-4.0
0.5-1.5
0.5-1.5
P
≤0.4
≤0.02
≤0.02
S
≤0.04
≤0.005
≤0.005
N
≤0.01
≤0.005
≤0.005
Sn
0-0.4
0-0.1
0-0.1
Sb
0-0.4
0-0.1
0-0.1
Cr
0.001-0.1
0-0.05
0.001-0.05
B
0-0.005
0-0.002
0-0.002
O
0-0.02
impurity
impurity
Mg+Ca+Sr+Ba+Ce+La+Nd+Pr+Zn+Ca
0.00-0.01
0-0.005 Mg
0-0.005
Fe + Impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
Lee is silent on Styl/Stot, S100/Stot, S100/Stra, d100/dave, d100/dtyl and d100/dtra as recited in claims 11 and 12. However, Styl/Stot, S100/Stot, S100/Stra, d100/dave, d100/dtyl and d100/dtra depend on the steel composition and the method of making the steel. Lee discloses a method of making the steel sheet, comprising: heating the slab to 1200° C or less, hot-rolling to manufacture a hot-rolled sheet with a finish rolling temperature of 800 to 1000° C, coiling the hot rolled steel sheet at temperatures of 700° C or less, annealing the hot-rolled-sheet at 850 to 1150° C for 100 seconds, subjecting the annealed hot-rolled sheet to cold rolling at reduction ratio of 85-95% (calculated based on the thickness before cold rolling is 2 mm and the thickness after cold rolling is 0.1-0.3 mm), final annealing is performed on the cold rolled steel sheet at 700-1050 ºC for 50-90 seconds followed by cooling to 100 ºC or less ([0082] to [0093]), which overlap the processing temperature and time disclosed in instant Specification (see [0091] to [0095] of instant Specification).
The difference between the method of Lee and the method of instant Specification is that Lee does not disclose a skin pass step and a heat treatment step after the skin pass step. Natori teaches a method of making a non-oriented electrical steel that is analogous to the method of Lee and discloses that performing skin pass at 1-10% on the cold-rolled steel sheet is beneficial for stain induced grain growth (Col 10, Ln 1 to Col 12, Ln 55). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform skin pass to the cold-rolled steel sheet as taught by Natori in the process of Lee in order to promote stain induced grain growth as disclosed by Natori. The reduction ratio of skin pass disclosed by Natori overlaps the reduction ratio of skin pass. Natori discloses after the skin pass step, the steel is annealed at 750-900 ºC for 0.5-5 hours (Col 12, Ln 15-25), which meets the annealing conditions disclosed in instant Specification (see [0099] of instant Specification).
In view of the fact that Lee in view of Natori teaches a steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 11 and a method of making the steel sheet with processing parameters overlapping the processing conditions disclosed in instant Specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel sheet disclosed by Lee in view of Natori to meet the recited Styl/Stot, S100/Stot, S100/Stra, d100/dave, d100/dtyl and d100/dtra in claims 11 and 12. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/279342 (US 2024/0141463). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/279342 teaches a non-oriented electrical steel sheet with a composition that overlaps with the instant claimed composition and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected amounts of each element from the ranges disclosed in claims 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/279342 to produce a steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 11. See MPEP 2144.05 I. Claims 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/279342 disclose a composition that meets the recited formula (1). Claims 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/279342 further disclose the ranges of Styl/Stot, S100/Stot, S100/Stra, d100/dave, d100/dtyl. and d100/dtra overlapping the recited ranges of Styl/Stot, S100/Stot, S100/Stra, d100/dave, d100/dtyl. and d100/dtra. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, claims 11-12 are obvious over claims 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/279342.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733