DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis Mohringer (WO 2020/245089 A1 – hereinafter Mohringer) in view of Orlowski et al. (US 4,439,101 – hereinafter Orlowski).
Re Claims 1 and 18:
Mohringer discloses a tray separating apparatus (1), comprising: a (frame structure) having an accommodating part (10), the accommodating part (10) extending in a first direction (vertical); a tray inlet (near F), located at a top of the (frame structure), the tray inlet (near F) communicating with the accommodating part (10), and the accommodating part (10) being configured to receive an empty tray (20) placed from the tray inlet (near F); a tray outlet (near RF), located at a side of the (frame structure), the tray outlet (near RF) communicating with the accommodating part (10) (see Fig. 1B); a first transmission part (90), located at a bottom of the accommodating part (10) (see Fig. 1B), the first transmission part (90) being configured to carry the empty tray (20), and output the empty tray (20) from the tray outlet (near RF) in a second direction (RF - horizontal), and the second direction (RF - horizontal) being perpendicular to the first direction (vertical); a first limiting part (40), mounted on the (frame structure) (see Fig. 3), wherein the first limiting part (40) is able to be switched between a first position (see Fig. 4A) and a second position (see Fig. 4D); and a second limiting part (30), mounted on the (frame structure), the second limiting part (30) being located below the first limiting part (40) in the first direction (vertical) (see Fig. 4A), wherein the second limiting part (30) is able to be switched between a third position (see Fig. 4A) and a fourth position (see Fig. 4B); wherein: at the first position (see Figs. 4A), the first limiting part (40) is able to abut against the empty tray (20) placed from the tray inlet (near F), so as to limit downward movement of the empty tray (20) in the first direction (vertical), and the empty tray (20) that abuts against the first limiting part (40) is able to be stacked with more than one empty tray placed from the tray inlet (near F) (see Fig. 4A); at the second position (see Fig. 4D), the first limiting part (40) is able to be separated from the empty tray (20) placed from the tray inlet (near F), so as to enable the empty tray (20) to move downwards in the first direction (vertical); at the third position (see Figs. 4A), the second limiting part (30) is able to abut against the empty tray (20) placed from the tray inlet (near F), so as to limit downward movement of the empty tray (20) in the first direction (vertical); and at the fourth position (see Fig. 4B), the second limiting part (30) is able to be separated from the empty tray (20) placed from the tray inlet (near F), so as to enable one empty tray to move downwards in the first direction (vertical) to be borne by the first transmission part (90) (see Figs. 1-4F), but fails to specifically teach a tray separating apparatus, comprising: a main body.
Orlowski teaches a tray separating apparatus (1), comprising: a main body (24) (see Figs. 1-8a). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Mohringer with that of Orlowski to protect the contents within.
Further Re Claim 2:
Mohringer discloses wherein: at the third position (see Fig. 4A), the second limiting part (30) is able to abut against the empty tray (20) that is separated from the first limiting part (40); and at the fourth position (see Fig. 4B), the second limiting part (30) is able to be separated from one empty tray (20) that is separated from the first limiting part (40) (see Figs. 4A-4B).
Further Re Claim 3:
Mohringer discloses wherein: at the third position (see Fig. 4A), the second limiting part (30) is able to abut against one empty tray (20), and the empty tray (20) is able to be stacked with the other empty tray (20); at the fourth position (see Fig. 4B), the second limiting part (30) is able to be separated from the one empty tray (20); at the first position (see Fig. 4A), the first limiting part (40) is able to abut against the other empty tray (20), and the other empty tray (20) is able to be stacked with more than one empty tray placed from the tray inlet (near F) (see Fig. 4A); and at the second position (see Fig. 4D), the first limiting part (40) is able to be separated from the other empty tray (20), so as to enable the other empty tray (20) and the empty trays stacked in the other empty tray (20) to move downwards in the first direction (vertical), and the other empty tray (20) is able to abut against the second limiting part (30) (see Fig. 4D).
Further Re Claim 4:
Mohringer discloses wherein: at the first position (see Fig. 4A), the first limiting part (40) is able to abut against a lowest empty tray (20) among the multiple stacked empty trays placed from the tray inlet (near F); and at the second position (see Fig. 4D), the first limiting part (40) is able to be separated from the lowest empty tray (20) (see Figs. 4A-4F).
Further Re Claim 5:
Mohringer discloses wherein: at the first position (see Fig. 4A), the first limiting part (40) is able to abut against one empty tray (20); at the third position (see Fig. 4A), the second limiting part (30) is able to abut against one empty tray (20); and the empty tray (20) that abuts against the first limiting part (40) is located in the empty tray (20) that abuts against the second limiting part (30) (see Fig. 4A).
Further Re Claim 15:
Mohringer discloses wherein the first transmission part (90) comprises: multiple electric rollers (80, 90, 114) distributed in the second direction (RF - horizontal) (see Figs. 1-4F).
Further Re Claims 16 and 17:
Mohringer discloses a second transmission part (111), spaced apart from and parallel to the first transmission part (90) in the first direction, wherein the second transmission part (111) is configured to transmit empty trays to the tray inlet (near F) (see Figs. 1-4F) (Examiner notes that Mohringer teaches using electric conveyors).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, 10, 19, 21, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohringer in view of Orlowski and further in view of Leo G. Vogel (US 3,601,282 – hereinafter Vogel).
Re Claims 6, 7, 9, 10, 19, 21, and 24:
Mohringer in view of Orlowski discloses wherein, in a third direction (width direct from at 10 to at 60 as seen in Fig. 1A), the accommodating part (10) comprises a first part (left side) and a second part (right side) which are oppositely arranged, the first part (left side) and the second part (right side) extend in the first direction (vertical) respectively, and the first direction (vertical), the second direction (RF - horizontal) and the third direction (width direct from at 10 to at 60 as seen in Fig. 1A ) are perpendicular to one another (see Fig. 1A) (see Mohringer Figs. 1-4F), but fails to teach the first part is provided with a first through hole, the second part is provided with a second through hole, the first limiting part comprises: a first electric cylinder, mounted on one side of the main body opposite to the first part, wherein the first electric cylinder has a first telescopic piece, the first telescopic piece is provided with a first clamping piece, and the first clamping piece is located at the first through hole; and a second electric cylinder, mounted on one side of the main body opposite to the second part, and spaced apart from the first electric cylinder in the third direction, wherein the second electric cylinder has a second telescopic piece, the second telescopic piece is provided with a second clamping piece, and the second clamping piece is located at the second through hole; the second limiting part comprises: a third electric cylinder, mounted on the side of the main body opposite to the first part, wherein the third electric cylinder has a third telescopic piece, the third telescopic piece is provided with a third clamping piece, and the third clamping piece is located at the first through hole; and a fourth electric cylinder, mounted on the side of the main body opposite to the second part, and spaced apart from the third electric cylinder in the third direction, wherein the fourth electric cylinder has a fourth telescopic piece, the fourth telescopic piece is provided with a fourth clamping piece, and the fourth clamping piece is located at the second through hole; wherein: at the first position, the first telescopic piece and the second telescopic piece are able to move in a direction towards the accommodating part, so that the first clamping piece extends into the accommodating part through the first through hole to abut against one side of one empty tray, and the second clamping piece extends into the accommodating part through the second through hole to abut against the other side of the empty tray, so as to limit downward movement of the empty tray in the first direction; at the second position, the first telescopic piece and the second telescopic piece are able to move in a direction away from the accommodating part, so that the first clamping piece retracts through the first through hole to be separated from one side of one empty tray, and the second clamping piece retracts through the second through hole to be separated from the other side of the empty tray, so as to enable the empty tray to move downwards in the first direction; at the third position, the third telescopic piece and the fourth telescopic piece are able to move in the direction towards the accommodating part, so that the third clamping piece extends into the accommodating part through the first through hole to abut against one side of one empty tray, and the fourth clamping piece extends into the accommodating part through the second through hole to abut against the other side of the empty tray, so as to limit downward movement of the empty tray in the first direction; and at the fourth position, the third telescopic piece and the fourth telescopic piece are able to move in the direction away from the accommodating part, so that the third clamping piece retracts through the first through hole to be separated from one side of one empty tray, and the fourth clamping piece retracts through the second through hole to be separated from the other side of the empty tray, so as to enable the empty tray to move downwards in the first direction to be borne by the first transmission part.
Vogel further in view teaches a first part (at 94 – central portion) is provided with a first through hole (at 132A), a second part (at 93 – central portion) is provided with a second through hole (at 132), a first limiting part (118A/128A) comprises: a first electric cylinder (111A/122A), mounted on one side of a main body opposite (by way of below, or above, or adjacent) to the first part (at 94 – central portion), wherein the first electric cylinder (111A) has a first telescopic piece (110A/121A), the first telescopic piece (110A) is provided with a first clamping piece (at 118A, 128A), and the first clamping piece (at 118A) is located at the first through hole (at 132A); and a second electric cylinder (111/121), mounted on one side of the main body opposite to the second part (at 93 – central portion), and spaced apart from the first electric cylinder (111A) in a third direction (width direction), wherein the second electric cylinder (111) has a second telescopic piece (110/121), the second telescopic piece (110) is provided with a second clamping piece (at 118/ 128), and the second clamping piece (at 118) is located at the second through hole (at 132); a second limiting part (128A) comprises: a third electric cylinder (122A), mounted on the side of the main body opposite to the first part (at 94 – central portion), wherein the third electric cylinder (122A) has a third telescopic piece (128A), the third telescopic piece (128A) is provided with a third clamping piece (at 128A), and the third clamping piece (at 128) is located at the first through hole (at 132A); and a fourth electric cylinder (122), mounted on the side of the main body opposite to the second part (at 93 – central portion), and spaced apart from the third electric (122A) cylinder in the third direction (width direction), wherein the fourth electric cylinder (122) has a fourth telescopic piece (121), the fourth telescopic piece (121) is provided with a fourth clamping piece (at 128), and the fourth clamping piece (at 128) is located at the second through hole (at 132); wherein: at a first position, the first telescopic piece (110A) and the second telescopic piece (110) are able to move in a direction towards the accommodating part, so that the first clamping piece (at 118A) extends into the accommodating part through the first through hole to abut against one side of one empty tray, and the second clamping piece (at 118) extends into the accommodating part through the second through hole to abut against the other side of the empty tray, so as to limit downward movement of the empty tray in the first direction (vertical); at the second position, the first telescopic piece (110A) and the second telescopic piece (110) are able to move in a direction away from the accommodating part, so that the first clamping piece retracts through the first through hole to be separated from one side of one empty tray, and the second clamping piece retracts through the second through hole to be separated from the other side of the empty tray, so as to enable the empty tray to move downwards in the first direction; at the third position, the third telescopic piece (128A) and the fourth telescopic piece (128) are able to move in the direction towards the accommodating part, so that the third clamping piece extends into the accommodating part through the first through hole to abut against one side of one empty tray, and the fourth clamping piece extends into the accommodating part through the second through hole to abut against the other side of the empty tray, so as to limit downward movement of the empty tray in the first direction; and at the fourth position, the third telescopic piece (128A) and the fourth telescopic piece (128) are able to move in the direction away from the accommodating part, so that the third clamping piece retracts through the first through hole to be separated from one side of one empty tray, and the fourth clamping piece retracts through the second through hole to be separated from the other side of the empty tray, so as to enable the empty tray to move downwards in the first direction to be borne by a first transmission part (see Figs. 1-30). Re Claim 19: Vogel further in view teaches a tray separating method, adopting the tray separating apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:S101: controlling a first limiting part to stay at a second position (retracted), and a second limiting part to stay at a third position (extended) (see Fig. 14); S 102: controlling the first limiting part to stay at a first position (extended), and the second limiting part to stay at the third position (extended) (see Fig. 15); S103: controlling the first limiting part to stay at the first position (extended), and the second limiting part to stay at a fourth position (retracted) (see Fig. 16); S 104: controlling the first limiting part to stay at the first position (extended), and the second limiting part to stay at the third position (extended) (see Fig. 13); S 105: controlling the first limiting part to stay at the second position (retracted), and the second limiting part to stay at the third position (extended) (see Fig. 14); and S 106: controlling the first limiting part to stay at the first position (extended), and the second limiting part to stay at the third position (extended) (see Fig. 15). Re Claim 21: Vogel further in view teaches The tray separating method of claim 19, wherein: S 101: controlling the first limiting part to stay at the second position (retracted), and the second limiting part to stay at the third position (extended), wherein the second limiting part abuts against one empty tray placed from the tray inlet, and the empty tray that abuts against the second limiting part is stacked with at least one empty tray (see Fig. 14); S 102: controlling the first limiting part to stay at the first position (extended), and the second limiting part to stay at the third position (extended), wherein the first limiting part abuts against the empty trays stacked in the empty tray that abuts against the second limiting part, and the empty trays that abut against the first limiting part are able to be stacked with more than one empty tray placed from the tray inlet (see Fig. 15); S 103: controlling the first limiting part to stay at the first position (extended), and the second limiting part to stay at the fourth position (retracted), wherein one empty tray that abuts against the second limiting part is separated from the second limiting part, and moves downwards in a first direction to be borne by a first transmission part (see Fig. 16), S 105: controlling the first limiting part to stay at the second position (retracted), and the second limiting part to stay at the third position (extended), wherein all empty trays that abut against the first limiting part are separated from the first limiting part, and move downwards in the first direction to abut against the second limiting part (see Fig. 14); and S 106: controlling the first limiting part to stay at the first position (extended), and the second limiting part to stay at the third position (extended), wherein the first limiting part abuts against the empty trays stacked in the empty tray that abuts against the second limiting part (see Fig. 15) (see Figs. 1-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Mohringer in view of Orlowski with that of Vogel to provide an alternative dispensing formation for dispensing from a stack as known within the art, that would allow for individually dispensing a single item from a stack of items. Examiner further notes the combination would be capable of providing and transmitting empty trays to a tray inlet of an accommodating part, and the first transmission part outputs the empty tray through a tray outlet in a second direction, for such is already taught by Mohringer.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohringer in view of Orlowski and Vogel and further in view of Hoffman et al. (US 2020/0247637 A1 – hereinafter Hoffman).
Re Claim 26:
Mohringer in view of Orlowski and Vogel discloses the device of claim 19, including executing a tray separating method (suing a controller) (see Vogel). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Mohringer in view of Orlowski with that of Vogel to provide an alternative dispensing formation for dispensing from a stack as known within the art, that would allow for individually dispensing a single item from a stack of items, but fails to specifically teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the computer readable storage medium stores an instruction, and the instruction, when executed on a computer, enables the computer to execute.
Hoffman further in view teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the computer readable storage medium stores an instruction, and the instruction, when executed on a computer, enables the computer to execute (see paragraph [0018]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Mohringer in view of Orlowski and with that of Vogel with that of Hoffman to perform functions of an automatic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11-14, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/K.L.R/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651