DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the RCE filed on 02/13/2026. The amendments filed on 02/13/2026 have been entered. Accordingly Claims 1, 4-12 and 21 are pending. Claim 21 is new. The previous rejections of claims 1 and 4-12 have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments and remarks in the claim set filed 02/13/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: limitation “wherein the transducer assembly is mounted to the second surface of the unitary flexible substrate” should recite “wherein the ultrasound transducer assembly is mounted to the second surface of the unitary flexible substrate” to properly correlate to claim 10 from which claim 11 depends from. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, limitation “…a localization element disposed within the recess” is unclear how the element is “within” the recess. The metes and bounds are unclear. The specification states: “…a pair of localization elements 310…are mounted to substrate 202 as part of electronics package 204 in a respective pair of recesses 308.” [0030]; “Other components, such as power supplies, pre-amplifiers, multiplexors, imaging element drivers, additional localization elements, and the like, may also be mounted to substrate 202.” [0033]. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation for examination in light of the specification, the limitation will be examined as a localization element mounted on the substrate. This interpretation is utilized for analogous limitations found in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 4-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bolognia et. al. (U.S. 20180062071, March 1, 2018)(hereinafter, “Bolognia”).
Regarding Claim 1, Bolognia teaches: A flexible electronic circuit (Figs. 5-7), comprising:
a unitary flexible substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, wherein the first surface includes a recess, and wherein the unitary flexible substrate comprises a first portion having a first thickness and a second portion having a second thickness thinner than the first thickness, and wherein the recess is positioned within the first portion of the unitary flexible substrate (“A package substrate 15 can include a first portion 26 and a second portion 27, the first portion 26 mechanically connected to the first support surface 19 and the second portion 27 mechanically connected to the second support surface 20... As shown in FIG. 3-7, the first and second device dies 13, 12 can be spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis x of the package 10. The first and second device dies 13, 12 can comprise any suitable type of device die, such as a motion or position sensor die, a processor die, a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) die, etc. ” [0088-0089]. See Figs. 5-7);
a localization element disposed within the recess (“A first integrated device die 13 can be mounted to the first portion 26 of the package substrate 15. A second integrated device die 12 can be mounted to the second portion 27 of the package substrate 15. For example, the first and second device dies 13, 12 can be attached to the substrate 15 using a suitable die attach material. As shown in FIG. 3-7, the first and second device dies 13, 12 can be spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis x of the package 10.” [0089]. See Figs. 5-7); and
a conductive connector pad disposed on the unitary flexible substrate (“…the package substrate 15 can comprise a flexible insulator (e.g., polyimide) with embedded metal traces that provide electrical connectivity through the substrate 15…The package substrate 15 can comprise a plurality of conductive leads 16 configured to provide electrical communication with a cable or other interconnect that connects with the console 9.” [0092-0093]; “The integrated device dies 13, 12 may be mechanically and electrically connected to the substrate 15 in any suitable manner. For example, as shown in FIG. 6, the dies 13, 12 may be flip chip mounted to the substrate 15 by way of a plurality of solder balls 21. In some embodiments, the dies 13, 12 can be connected to the substrate 15 by way of anisotropic conductive film, non-conductive paste, or a thermocompression bond.” [0094]. See Figs. 5-7).
Regarding Claim 4, Bolognia teaches the claim limitations as noted above.
Bolognia further teaches: wherein the conductive connector pad is disposed on the second portion of the unitary flexible substrate (“The integrated device dies 13, 12 may be mechanically and electrically connected to the substrate 15 in any suitable manner. For example, as shown in FIG. 6, the dies 13, 12 may be flip chip mounted to the substrate 15 by way of a plurality of solder balls 21. In some embodiments, the dies 13, 12 can be connected to the substrate 15 by way of anisotropic conductive film, non-conductive paste, or a thermocompression bond.” [0094]. See Figs. 5-7).
Regarding Claim 5, Bolognia teaches the claim limitations as noted above.
Bolognia further teaches: wherein the localization element comprises a magnetic localization element (“…the first and second dies 13, 12 comprise magnetic sensor dies, e.g., magnetoresistance sensors such as AMR, GMR, or TMR sensor dies, that can serve as position and/or rotation sensors in combination with known external magnetic field source(s).” [0089]).
Regarding Claim 6, Bolognia teaches the claim limitations as noted above.
Bolognia further teaches: wherein the localization element comprises an impedance-based localization element (“…one or more passive components 35 (such as a capacitor) may be mounted to and electrically connected to the substrate 15 adjacent the second and third dies 12, 28.” [0116]).
Regarding Claim 7, Bolognia teaches the claim limitations as noted above.
Bolognia further teaches: the recess comprises a plurality of recesses (“A package substrate 15 can include a first portion 26 and a second portion 27, the first portion 26 mechanically connected to the first support surface 19 and the second portion 27 mechanically connected to the second support surface 20... As shown in FIG. 3-7, the first and second device dies 13, 12 can be spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis x of the package 10. The first and second device dies 13, 12 can comprise any suitable type of device die, such as a motion or position sensor die, a processor die, a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) die, etc. ” [0088-0089]. See Figs. 5-7); and
the localization element disposed within the recess comprises a plurality of localization elements respectively disposed within the plurality of recesses (“A first integrated device die 13 can be mounted to the first portion 26 of the package substrate 15. A second integrated device die 12 can be mounted to the second portion 27 of the package substrate 15. For example, the first and second device dies 13, 12 can be attached to the substrate 15 using a suitable die attach material. As shown in FIG. 3-7, the first and second device dies 13, 12 can be spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis x of the package 10…the first and second dies 13, 12 comprise magnetic sensor dies, e.g., magnetoresistance sensors such as AMR, GMR, or TMR sensor dies, that can serve as position and/or rotation sensors in combination with known external magnetic field source(s).” [0089];“…one or more passive components 35 (such as a capacitor) may be mounted to and electrically connected to the substrate 15 adjacent the second and third dies 12, 28.” [0116]. See Figs. 5-7).
Regarding Claim 12, Bolognia teaches the claim limitations as noted above.
Bolognia further teaches: further comprising an adhesive overlaying at least a portion of the unitary flexible substrate (“…the first and second portions 26, 27 can be adhered to the first and second support surfaces 19, 20 of the bracket assembly 14 by way of an adhesive.” [0088]; “…the first and second portions 26, 27 can be adhered or bonded to the first and second support surfaces 19, 20, respectively, by way of an adhesive. The first integrated device die 13 can be mounted to the first portion 26 of the package substrate 15.” [0102]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolognia in view of Sisk et. al. (U.S. 20070100253, May 3, 2007)(hereinafter, “Sisk”).
Regarding Claim 8, Bolognia teaches the claim limitations as noted above.
Bolognia does not teach: further comprising a thermistor mounted to the unitary flexible substrate.
Sisk in the field of circuit substrate-based systems teaches: “A flex circuit, generally indicated at 31, includes a deformable substrate 33 (broadly, "an electrical conductor") mounting a tip thermistor 35, a separator thermistor 37 and a heating resistor 39 (see FIG. 4).” [0048];“The flex circuit substrate 33 has a flat, cruciform shape…The forming section 45 includes cylindrical surfaces and recesses 47 on opposite sides of the forming section. As bent around the forming section 45, portions of the arms 43 mounting the separator thermistor 37 and resistor 39 generally overlie respective ones of the recesses.” [0050].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bolognia to further comprise a thermistor mounted to the substrate as taught in Sisk for ease of integration into electronic devices and the capabilities of detecting small changes in temperature.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Bolognia and Sisk teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Bolognia does not teach: wherein the thermistor is mounted to the unitary flexible substrate within the recess.
Sisk in the field of circuit substrate-based systems teaches: “A flex circuit, generally indicated at 31, includes a deformable substrate 33 (broadly, "an electrical conductor") mounting a tip thermistor 35, a separator thermistor 37 and a heating resistor 39 (see FIG. 4).” [0048];“The flex circuit substrate 33 has a flat, cruciform shape…The forming section 45 includes cylindrical surfaces and recesses 47 on opposite sides of the forming section. As bent around the forming section 45, portions of the arms 43 mounting the separator thermistor 37 and resistor 39 generally overlie respective ones of the recesses.” [0050].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the thermistor in the combination to be mounted to the unitary flexible substrate within the recess as taught in Sisk for ease of integration into electronic devices and the capabilities of detecting small changes in temperature.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolognia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Daloz et. al. (U.S. 20180169701, June 21, 2018)(hereinafter, “Daloz”).
Regarding Claim 10, Bolognia teaches the claim limitations as noted above.
Bolognia does not teach: further comprising an ultrasound transducer assembly mounted to the unitary flexible substrate.
Daloz in the field of ultrasound-based printed circuit board with substrate teaches: “FIG. 7 illustrates a single element ultrasound transducer being mounted to substrate 700 as shown by arrow 720. As a non-limiting example, a hexagonal transducer 410 is shown in the figure.” [0060]
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bolognia to further comprise an ultrasound transducer assembly mounted to the unitary flexible substrate taught in Daloz for usage in various imaging applications (Daloz, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Bolognia and Daloz teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Bolognia does not teach: wherein the transducer assembly is mounted to the second surface of the unitary flexible substrate.
Daloz in the field of ultrasound-based printed circuit board with substrate teaches: “FIG. 7 illustrates a single element ultrasound transducer being mounted to substrate 700 as shown by arrow 720. As a non-limiting example, a hexagonal transducer 410 is shown in the figure.” [0060]
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ultrasound transducer assembly in the combination to be mounted to the second surface of the unitary flexible substrate as taught in Daloz for usage in various imaging applications (Daloz, [0002]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolognia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sisk and Daloz.
Regarding Claim 21, , Bolognia teaches the claim limitations as noted above.
Bolognia further teaches: “…since the sensor device dies and other electronics may dissipate power and may be used in the human body, it can be important to provide a device package that does not generate significant heat, particularly as a point source, but rather spreads the heat over more area, to lower point temperatures.” [0004]; “he packages disclosed herein can be used in any suitable type of medical treatment or diagnostic procedure, including, e.g., cardiac catheter-based treatments, pill-based diagnostic and treatment techniques, endoscopy treatments, urinary catheters and endoscopes, ultrasonic imaging catheters, ear-nose-and-throat based catheters, gastroenterology treatments, colonoscopy treatments, etc. “ [0076]; “A package substrate 15 can include a first portion 26 and a second portion 27, the first portion 26 mechanically connected to the first support surface 19 and the second portion 27 mechanically connected to the second support surface 20... As shown in FIG. 3-7, the first and second device dies 13, 12 can be spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis x of the package 10. The first and second device dies 13, 12 can comprise any suitable type of device die, such as a motion or position sensor die, a processor die, a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) die, etc. ” [0088-0089].
Bolognia does not teach: further comprising: a thermistor mounted to the unitary flexible substrate within the recess; and an ultrasound transducer assembly mounted to the second surface of the unitary flexible substrate.
Sisk in the field of circuit substrate-based systems teaches: “A flex circuit, generally indicated at 31, includes a deformable substrate 33 (broadly, "an electrical conductor") mounting a tip thermistor 35, a separator thermistor 37 and a heating resistor 39 (see FIG. 4).” [0048];“The flex circuit substrate 33 has a flat, cruciform shape…The forming section 45 includes cylindrical surfaces and recesses 47 on opposite sides of the forming section. As bent around the forming section 45, portions of the arms 43 mounting the separator thermistor 37 and resistor 39 generally overlie respective ones of the recesses.” [0050].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bolognia to include a thermistor mounted to the unitary flexible substrate within the recess as taught in Sisk for ease of integration into electronic devices and the capabilities of detecting small changes in temperature.
The combination of references does not teach an ultrasound transducer assembly mounted to the second surface of the unitary flexible substrate.
Daloz in the field of ultrasound-based printed circuit board with substrate teaches: “FIG. 7 illustrates a single element ultrasound transducer being mounted to substrate 700 as shown by arrow 720. As a non-limiting example, a hexagonal transducer 410 is shown in the figure.” [0060]
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the combination to include an ultrasound transducer assembly mounted to the second surface of the unitary flexible substrate as taught in Daloz for usage in various imaging applications (Daloz, [0002]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the pending claims are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
/AMAL ALY FARAG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798