DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 -3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim US20150364727A1 . Regarding claim 1 , Kim discloses an energy storage device ( Kim, Fig, 3, battery 100 ) comprising: a first electrode assembly ( Kim, Fig. 3, assembly 111 ) formed by winding a first plate ( Kim, [0040] ) and wherein the first electrode assembly includes: a first electrode assembly body portion ( Kim, Fig. 5, assembly body ) , and a first positive electrode tab and a first negative electrode tab ( Kim, [0049], Fig. 5, tabs 111d,e ) which are tabs protruding from a part of the first electrode assembly body portion ( Kim, Figs. 5, assembly 111, assembly body, tabs 111e,d ) and disposed on a positive electrode side and a negative electrode side ( Kim, [0040] ) , a second electrode assembly ( Kim, Fig. 3, assembly 112 ) formed by winding a second plate ( Kim, [0040] ) , the second electrode assembly includes ( Kim, [0042] ) : a second electrode assembly body portion ( Kim, Fig. 5, assembly body ) , and a second positive electrode tab and a second negative electrode tab ( Kim, [0042], [0049], Fig. 5, tabs 112d,e ) which are tabs protruding from a part of the second electrode assembly body portion ( Kim, [0042], Figs. 5, assembly 112, assembly body, tabs 1112e,d ) and disposed on a positive electrode side and a negative electrode side ( Kim, [0040] ) , and while Kim does explicitly disclose the first electrode assembly body portion includes a first plate terminal end portion which is a winding end portion of the first plate at a position facing the second electrode assembly body portion, the second electrode assembly body portion includes a second plate terminal end portion which is a winding end portion of the second plate at a position facing the first electrode assembly body portion, the skilled artisan would understand the first and second electrode assemblies inherently have a first plate terminal end and a second plate terminal end which are winding end portions at a position facing the other electrode assembly body portion, as they are not infinite plates and they will face the other electrode terminal, absent a teaching to the contrary, as there are no metes and bounds to distinguish how they face the other electrode assembly body portion. Kim further discloses in Fig. 3 wherein the first electrode assembly ( Kim, Fig. 3, assembly 111 ) and the second electrode assembly ( Kim, Fig. 3, assembly 112 ) are separated by elements 120 and 121, satisfying the claim limitation wherein the first plate terminal end portion and the second plate terminal end portion are disposed at positions which do not overlap each other as viewed in an arrangement direction of the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly . Regarding claim 2 , Kim also discloses wherein a direction from the first positive electrode tab toward the first negative electrode tab and a direction from the second positive electrode tab toward the second negative electrode tab are the same direction ( Kim, Figs. 2-3, first electrode tabs 111d and 112d, second electrode tabs 111e and 112e ) . center 2079928 0 0 Regarding claim 3 , Kim further discloses wherein at least one tab of the first positive electrode tab and the first negative electrode tab is disposed so as to protrude from a part of a portion of the first electrode assembly body portion ( Kim, Figs. 3 and 5, at least one tab of 111d and 111e ) , the portion being on a side opposite to the second electrode assembly body portion with respect to a portion facing the second electrode assembly body portion ( Kim, Fig. 3 and 5, at least one tab of 111d and 111e, assemblies 111 and 112 ) , and a tab out of the second positive electrode tab and the second negative electrode tab, the tab having the same polarity as a polarity of the at least one tab is disposed so as to protrude from a part of a portion of the second electrode assembly body portion ( Kim, [0042], Figs. 3 and 5, at least one tab of 112d and 112e ) , the portion being on a side opposite to the first electrode assembly body portion with respect to a portion facing the first electrode assembly body portion center 715010 0 0 ( Kim, [0042], Fig. 3 and 5, at least one tab of 112d and 112e, assemblies 111 and 112 ) . Regarding claim 5 , while Kim does not explicitly recite the limitation wherein the first plate terminal end portion extends toward the second plate terminal end portion at a portion of the first electrode assembly body portion, the portion facing the second electrode assembly body portion, and the second plate terminal end portion extends toward the first plate terminal end portion at a portion of the second electrode assembly body portion, the portion facing the first electrode assembly body portion , as set forth above, it would be understood by the skilled artisan wherein the first and second electrode assembly body portions include a first and second plate terminal end portion which is a winding end portion of the first and second plate at a position facing the second and first electrode assembly body portion (see claim 1 above) and Kim discloses in Fig. 3, wherein the first electrode assembly ( Kim, Fig. 3, assembly 111 ) and the second electrode assembly ( Kim, Fig. 3, assembly 112 ) are separated by elements 120 and 121, satisfying the claim limitation wherein the first plate terminal end portion extends toward the second plate terminal end portion at a portion of the first electrode assembly body portion, the portion facing the second electrode assembly body portion, and the second plate terminal end portion extends toward the first plate terminal end portion at a portion of the second electrode assembly body portion, the portion facing the first electrode assembly body portion , as there are not additional metes and bounds to distinguish over the structure as reasonably disclosed by Kim in at least Fig. 3. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US20150364727A1 , as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Xiao US20180083319A1 . Regarding Claim 4 , modified Kim also teaches wherein at least one of the first electrode assembly body portion and the second electrode assembly body portion includes: a pair of curved portions formed by winding at least one of the first plate and the second plate ( Kim, [0042-0043], Fig. 5, surfaces 111g ), and a flat portion which connects the pair of curved portions ( Kim, [0042-0043], Fig. 5, surface 111f ). Modified Kim does not teach at least one of the first plate terminal end portion and the second plate terminal end portion is disposed on the flat portion. Xiao teaches wherein a plate terminal end portion is disposed on the flat portion of an energy storage device formed by winding ( Xiao , Fig. 2, area 11 and area 21, flat portion ) . Therefore it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least one of the first and second plate terminal end portions wherein at least one is disposed on the flat portion , thereby improving battery safety ( Xiao, [0058] ), the examiner notes that the skilled artisan would understand that attaching to the longer flat portion will provide greater stability than attaching to the shorter rounded portions as there will be less strain on the terminal end portion. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ahn US20120208055A1 (discloses a wound body electrode comprising plate terminal end portions that do not overlap), Ogawa WO2019189341A1 (using US20210020885A1 as English translation; discloses terminal end portions of the plate along the side surface), Xu US20200373547A1 (discloses a double electrode assembly storage device). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JARED HANSEN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-4590 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Tiffany Legette can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-7078 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JARED HANSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723