DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on June 17, 2026:
Claims 1-15 are pending;
The 102 rejection to Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0252058) set forth in the previous Office Action stands as modified in light of the amendment;
The 102 rejections to Lee et al. and Katayama et al. set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0252058).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a battery pack comprising:
at least one battery module 50 including at least one battery cell 10;
a case tray 210 configured to support the at least one battery module 50;
a case cover 220 coupled with the case tray 210 to cover the at least one battery module 50;
a sealing gasket 230 disposed between the case tray 210 and the case cover 220 to prevent penetration of moisture or foreign substance into the at least one battery module 50; and
a reinforcing unit 221/225 provided to the case cover 220 to be disposed close to adjacent to the sealing gasket 230, and portion 225, in contact with and adjacent to the interior wall surface of the case 210 is sufficiently configured to prevent twisting of the case cover 220 when the case tray 210 and the case cover 220 are coupled (Fig. 4A and annotated Fig. 4B).
As can be seen above the portion of the downward reinforcing unit 225 directly contacting the case tray 210 is not in contact with the sealing gasket 230 and is therefore separated from the sealing gasket.
As to claim 2, the case tray 210 and case cover 220 are mutually coupled using fastening unit 20 wherein the fastening unit 20 penetrates the sealing gasket 230 when the case tray 210 and case cover 220 are coupled and wherein portions of the reinforcing unit 221/225 are disposed oppositely with the fastening unit 20 therebetween (Fig. 4B).
As to claim 4, the reinforcing unit 221/225 has a thickness corresponding to at least a thickness of the sealing gasket 230 (Fig. 4B).
As to claim 12, the battery pack above is useful in electric vehicles (para. [0004]).
As to claim 13, Kim teaches that the relative thicknesses of all elements therein are the same, thus the thickness of the reinforcing unit 221/225 is not greater than the thickness of the sealing gasket 230 (Fig. 4B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the reinforcing unit 225 of Kim is one of contact and overlap and does not disclose or suggest the reinforcing unit separated from the gasket and not in contact with the gasket.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As can be seen above the portion of the downward reinforcing unit 225 directly contacting the case tray 210 is not in contact with the sealing gasket 230 and is therefore separated from the sealing gasket.
Therefore, Kim still anticipates claims 1, 2, 4, 12 and 13 and the rejection stands.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: claim 15 incorporates the allowable subject matter of claim 5 (noted in the previous Office Action) into independent form and is allowable for the same reasons expressed in item 9 of the previous Office Action, incorporated herein.
Claims 3, 5-11 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 3, none of the cited prior art of record, alone or in combination, are held to reasonably teach suggest or render obvious the battery pack therein, including all of the features of base claim 1, wherein the reinforcing unit is separated from the sealing gasket and is not in contact with the sealing gasket and wherein portions of the reinforcing unit are disposed oppositely with the sealing gasket interposed therebetween. For example, Kim simply does not teach or suggest this arrangement.
With respect to claims 5-11, see item 9 of the previous Office Action, incorporated herein.
With respect to claim 14, none of the cited prior art of record, alone or in combination, are held to reasonably teach suggest or render obvious the battery pack therein, including all of the features of base claim 1, wherein the reinforcing unit and the sealing gasket are separated by a parallel gap. For example, Kim simply does not teach or suggest this arrangement.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGG CANTELMO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725