DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 04/06/2026 is acknowledged. After further consideration claim 37 is rejoined and examined with the elected group.
Status of the Application
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, 15, 17,19, 20, 22, 23, 26, 28, 32, 34, 35 and 37 are currently under examination. Claim 39 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. However, applicant cannot rely on the foreign priority document to overcome any prior art rejections because translation of the foreign priority document has not been made of record in accordance to 37 CFR 1.55. For prior art purposes, the priority day is the filing date of 08/31/2023.
Specification
The use of the term GENBANK, which is a trade name or mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. Each term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore each term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is indefinite because the word "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim 8 is further indefinite because it is unclear what 4:1 – 1:8 or 1:1 – 1:4 represents in relation to the ratio of the first recombinant viral vector and the second recombinant viral vector. It is unclear what components are at a ratio of 4:1 and what components are at a ratio of 1:8, for example. Claim 8 is not further examined in the merits because it cannot be ascertained without assumption as to what the ratio amounts represent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9, 32, 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuchs et al. ("Recombinant AAV vectors for enhanced expression of authentic IgG." PloS one 11.6 (2016)).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6, 9, 13 and 37, Fuchs et al. teach a making a dual recombinant AAV vector system comprising two different peptide chains wherein the first vector expresses a 4L6 IgG heavy chain and the second vector expresses the 4L7 IgG light chain for expressing a full length antibody and transducing cells (see structure below and page 5):
Regarding claims 32, 34 and 35, Fuchs et al. teach host cells transduced with the dual AAV vector (page 5 and Fig. 2) wherein the dual AAV vector is in buffer which meets the limitations of a pharmaceutical composition (see page 14).
Thus Fuchs et al. anticipates the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs et al. ("Recombinant AAV vectors for enhanced expression of authentic IgG." PloS one 11.6 (2016)) and Kienast et al. ("Ang-2-VEGF-A CrossMab, a novel bispecific human IgG1 antibody blocking VEGF-A and Ang-2 functions simultaneously, mediates potent antitumor, antiangiogenic, and antimetastatic efficacy." Clinical Cancer Research 19.24 (2013): 6730-6740).
Fuchs et al. teach a dual recombinant AAV vector system comprising two different peptide chains wherein the first vector expresses a 4L6 IgG heavy chain and the second vector expresses the 4L7 IgG light chain for expressing a full length antibody (see above).
Regarding claims 11, 12 and 13, Kienast et al. teach the use of a bispecific antibody targeting Ang2 and VEGF and teach given the cooperative and complementary fashion of Ang-2- and VEGF-induced angiogenesis and metastasis, co-targeting of both ligands in a bispecific manner represents an encouraging approach to improve the outcomes of current antiangiogenic therapies (page 6731 second para).
It would have been obvious to use the dual recombinant AAV vector system to expression a bispecific antibody taught by Kienast et al. because Fuchs et al. highlights the advantages of AAV vectors and the two vector approach has shown higher rates of transgene expression (see page 2). One of skill in the art would have wanted to efficiently deliver the bispecific antibodies using the two vector system of Fuchs et al. who demonstrates this system had higher rates of transgene expression.
Thus in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Written Description
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, 15, 17,19, 20, 22, 23, 26, 28, 32, 34, 35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed by him. The courts have stated:
To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Gostelli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious" and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966; Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
The fundamental factual inquiry is whether the specification conveys with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, applicant was in possession of the invention as now claimed. See, e.g., Vas-Cath, Inc., 935 F.2d at 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d at 1117.
The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include: (1) Actual reduction to practice, (2) Disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas, (3) Sufficient relevant identifying characteristics (such as: i. Complete structure, ii. Partial Structure, iii. Physical and/or chemical properties, iv. Functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed structure, and v. Correlation between function and structure), (4) Method of making the claimed invention, (5) Level of skill and knowledge in the art, and (6) Predictability in the art.
Moreover, the written description requirement for a genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by “…disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between functional and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.” Thus when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The claims are drawn to a genus of dual recombinant viral vector systems comprising a first expression cassette for expression a first chain and a second expression set for expression of a second chain.
When determining whether the written description requirement is met for genus claims, it is first determined whether a representative number of species have been described by their complete structure. In the instant case, the specification describes a dual recombinant AAV vectors having Avastin binding moieties, anti-Ang2 antibodies and bispecific antibodies with ABTAA and VEGF. The specification does not describe the vast number of dual recombinant viral vectors wherein the first and second vectors are HSV vectors, lentiviral vectors or retroviral vectors and the vast number of polypeptides that when combined having antigen binding activity.
It is then determined whether a representative number of species have been sufficiently described by other relevant identifying characteristics (i.e. other than nucleotide sequence), specific features and functional attributes that would distinguish different members of the claimed genera. In the instant case, the only other identifying characteristics are expression of Avastin binding moieties and anti-Ang2 and VEGF in vitro using the dual recombinant AAV vectors. The disclosure has not described any dual recombinant viral vector as broadly claimed that is capable of recombination of a function polypeptide having an antigen binding activity. A review of the specification shows that it provides no description or guidance that would allow one of skill to distinguish the functional species of the recited structural genus from the non-functional members without empirical determination.
Since the disclosure and the prior art fail to describe the common attributes and characteristics concisely identifying members of the proposed genus, and because the claimed genus is highly variant a vast number of sequences of promoters and functional fragments of a Connexin 26 protein with the function of expression in any type of inner ear support cell, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus claimed.
"A sufficient description of a genus . . . requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can "visualize or recognize" the members of the genus" (AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1297, reiterating Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69) (emphasis added).
Further, “Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features.” Ex parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007) citing University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116).
The MPEP further states that if a biomolecule is described only by a functional characteristic, without any disclosed correlation between function and structure of the sequence, it is “not sufficient characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence.” MPEP 2163. The MPEP does state that for generic claim the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. MPEP 2163. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. See MPEP 2163. Although the MPEP does not define what constitute a sufficient number of representative, the Courts have indicated what do not constitute a representative number species to adequately describe a broad generic. In Gosteli, the Court determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus. In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d at 1012, 10 USPQ2d at 1618.
Thus the specification and claims lack written description because it is clear that Applicant did not have possession of every variation of a dual recombinant viral vector. The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516, 1521,222 USPQ 369,372-372 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does "little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate."). Accordingly, it is deemed that the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of the claims and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
Closest prior art
Claims 15, 17, 19, 20, 22, 23, 26, 28 and 29 are free of the prior art. The closest prior art is Fuchs et al. ("Recombinant AAV vectors for enhanced expression of authentic IgG." PloS one 11.6 (2016) cited above). Fuchs et al. teach a dual recombinant AAV vector as described above but does not teach or make obvious the specific configurations of the indicated claims wherein the dual recombinant viral vector.
Conclusion
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
/KIMBERLY CHONG/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 1636