DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on July 6, 2026 is acknowledged. However, claim 10 has been examined and allowed herein. Therefore, the restriction withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106571488 in view of CN 212725483U.
Regarding claim 1, CN ‘488 is directed to a battery end cover (“cover plate”) mounting device (abstract). The reference teaches a manipulator configured for grabbing an end cover and assembling the end cover on a battery (page 4 of translation, upper cover manipulator 4 grasps the cover plate and moves it into position according to positioning jig 7). The reference further teaches a rubberizing mechanism provided on a transfer path of the battery, the rubberizing appearing to cover the outer part of the tabs/lugs and cover plate with tape (page 4). Regarding claim 2, the manipulator comprises a material taking mechanism, the material taking mechanism comprising a first clamping component (manipulator “grasps” the cover plate, page 4). Regarding claim 3, the manipulator further comprises an assembling mechanism (“positioning jig 7” and “cover manipulator 4”) provided at one side of the material taking mechanism, for assembling the end cover clamped by the first clamping component on the battery. Regarding claim 9, a battery production line comprises the mounting device and a conveying line (3).
However, the reference does not expressly teach that the rubberizing mechanism is configured for applying a rubber strip between the end cover and the battery which are thereby assembled, as recited in claim 1.
CN ‘483 is directed to a battery box structure comprising a box (10), a cover plate (22), and a sealing rubber strip (30) located between the cover plate and the battery (13/10) (Fig. 2).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing because the artisan would be motivated to use the battery structure of CN ‘483, which includes a rubber strip between the cover and the battery, in the system of CN ‘488, and to provide a rubberizing assembly that assembles this component. As noted in the abstract of CN ‘483, the battery box structure has the advantage of good sealing effect. The artisan would therefore be motivated to use the box structure, with rubber strip, in the system of CN ‘488. It would also therefore be obvious to provide a rubberizing assembly (or modify the existing rubberizing assembly of CN ‘488) and configure it to apply the strip between the cover plate and the battery, which are then assembled, as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, CN ‘488 does not expressly teach that the first clamping component is mounted on a first transfer apparatus as claimed. However, the limitation would be rendered obvious because it would be apparent to one skilled in the art that the first clamping structure is movable, because it deposits the cover plate from the conveyor 3 on the pre-positioning fixture 5 (page 4). The means of movement correspond to a “first transfer apparatus.” Accordingly, the limitation would be rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 3, CN ‘488 does not expressly teach that the assembling mechanism is provided with a second transfer apparatus and a second clamping component mounted thereto (the second clamping component configured for assembling the end cover clamped by the first clamping component onto the battery). However, the limitation would be rendered obvious because the “piezoelectric core mechanism 10” of CN ‘488 appears to perform the function of the second clamping component (“press the electric core and the cover plate,” page 4). The means of moving the piezoelectric core mechanism corresponds to the claimed second transfer apparatus, which the piezoelectric core mechanism must be mounted to.
Regarding claim 6, the first clamping component is driven by a first driving apparatus to drive the end cover to rotate (“initially positions the cover placement angle”, page 4), the end cover being aligned with a tab (page 4). Although it is not disclosed that the end cover has an opening and the opening is aligned with the tab, it appears the end cover of CN ‘488 has openings for the positive and negative lugs which are subsequently welded to the cover and rubberized with adhesive tape.
Regarding claim 7, the use of a pressing plate to keep the cover plate horizontal before the first clamping component clamps the end cover would be obvious to one skilled in the art, as a means of keeping the cover plates in the correct position for clamping. Accordingly, claim 7 is rendered obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is allowed.
Claims 4, 5, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Dependent claim 4 and independent claim 10 recite details of the rubberizing mechanism including first and second suction blocks and a telescopic ejector block, the ejector block being located between the suction blocks. Claim 4 recites the suction blocks are configured to be moved close to and far away from each other. Claim 10 recites a method including the steps of making the telescopic ejector block contract, and moving the suction blocks close to each other at the same time and sticking a rubber strip between the end cover and battery.
Neither the applied art, nor the other art of record teaches or fairly suggests this subject matter (the combined teachings of CN ‘488 and CN ‘483 lack details of a modified or newly incorporated rubberizing mechanism that would be required to manufacture the cell as detailed in the rejection).
Claim 8 recites a further recites a material feeding mechanism, wherein a calibration mechanism is provided between the material taking mechanism and the material feeding mechanism, the calibration mechanism comprising a driving component and a calibration plate, the calibration plate pushing the material feeding mechanism to be directly opposite the material taking mechanism. The art of record also does not teach or fairly suggest such a structure including a calibration mechanism.
Conclusion
/Jonathan Crepeau/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725
August 7, 2026