DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application, filed on 31 August 2023, claims domestic benefit to US provisional application no. 63/155,295, filed on 03/01/2021 and PCT/US2022/018389, filed on 03/01/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02, April 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Status of Application, Amendments, and/or Claims
The response filed on 02, April 2024 has been entered in full. These are the amended claims of the original claim set received on 31 August, 2023. In the amendment, claims 2-7, 9, 10, 13, 18-21, and 70 are amended and claims 8, 11, 12, 15-17, 22, 23, 26-52, 54-57, 59-69, and 71-81 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-7, 9, 10, 13, 14, 18-21, 24, 25, 53, 58, and 70 are pending and are the subject of this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the method of claim 1 wherein the inhibitor is a polynucleotide encoding an siRNA molecule. This is unclear as an siRNA itself is a polynucleotide and the definition in the specification which states the term includes an RNA molecule that is transcribed from a DNA molecule (pg.16, lines 27-28) does not redefine the term. For the purpose of further examination and in light of the specification the claim will be interpreted to say, the method of claim 1 wherein the inhibitor is an siRNA molecule.
Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 58 recites “wherein the lentiviral particle comprises VSV-g and envelope proteins. This is unclear as VSV-g is an envelope protein, therefore it is unclear if the lentivirus needs to contain one or more envelope proteins. For the purpose of further examination and in light of the specification which says the lentiviral particles may comprise two or more envelope proteins (pg.21 lines 16-18), the claim will be interpreted to say wherein the lentiviral particle comprises VSV-g and one or more additional envelope proteins.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 10, 13, 14, 18, 19, and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rosen et al. (WO2019/018603).
In regards to claims 1 and 14 Rosen anticipates a method of T cell populations modified towards a central memory T cell phenotype (pg.72, lines 31-33) in which the T cells are isolated from fresh leukopaks and cultured with IL-2 and anti-CD3/anti-CD28 beads (agents that stimulate expansion) (pg.70, lines 3-13) and then further incubating the cells with a list of inhibitors including a JAK inhibitor (an inhibitor of a negative modulator gene of TCF7) (pg.73, lines 14-16/ Figure 1A) before being modified further by a CAR. Rosen also anticipates a sufficient length of time for modulating immune cells to be no less than 30, 42, 54, 66, 78, or 90 hours (pg.14, lines 20-22).
In regards to claim 2 Rosen anticipates a sufficient length of time for modulating immune cells to be no less than 30, 42, 54, 66, 78, or 90 hours (pg.14, lines 20-22).
In regards to claim 3 Rosen anticipates the inhibitor being a small molecule inhibitor (pg.31 line 29- pg.32 line 1/ Table 1, compounds 16-19).
In regards to claims 10, 18, and 19 Rosen anticipates the use of a JAK inhibitor (negative modulator gene JAK2) and further anticipates the use of specific JAK inhibitors ruxolitinib and pacritinib (Table 1).
In regards to claim 13 Rosen anticipates the T cells are isolated from fresh leukopaks (ex-vivo) (pg.70, lines 3-5).
In regards to claim 70 Rosen anticipates in vivo functionality in a CD19+ xenograft mice model in which the modified CAR-T cells are delivered to NSG mice bearing Nalm-6-luc CD19+ disseminated tumors (pg.79, lines 17-21).
Claims 1, 9, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rosen et al. (US2019/0125795, of record, IDS 04/02/2024, hereafter Rosen(US)) as evidenced by Kim and Lee (2007) STAT1 as a key modulator of cell death Cellular Signaling (19) 454-465 (hereafter Kim and Lee).
In regards to claim 1 Rosen(US) anticipates a method of modifying T cell populations towards a central memory T cell phenotype (pg.29, col 1, lines 5-9) in which the T cells are isolated from fresh leukopaks and cultured with IL-2 and anti-CD3/anti-CD28 beads (agents that stimulate expansion) (pg.27, col 2, 49-60) and then further incubating the cells with a list of inhibitors including a STAT1 inhibitor (an inhibitor of a negative modulator gene of TCF7) (pg.29, col 1, lines 16-21). Rosen also anticipates a sufficient length of time for modulating immune cells to be no less than 30, 42, 54, 66, 78, or 90 hours (pg.14, col 2, lines 12-14).
In regards to claims 20 and 21 Rosen teaches the use of a STAT1 inhibitor and further where the STAT1 inhibitor is Fludarabine (pg.29, col 1, lines 16-21/ Table 1).
In regards to claim 9 Rosen teaches the use of a STAT1 inhibitor. The STAT1 gene encodes the STAT1 protein which is a transcription factor as evidenced by Kim and Lee which states STAT factors were originally discovered as latent transcriptional factors in the cytoplasm (pg.455, col 1, lines 1-3). Thus, Rosen’s use of a STAT1 inhibitor is the inhibition of a gene which encodes a transcription factor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kurreck (2006) siRNA Efficiency: Structure or Sequence- That is the Question Journal of Biomedicine and Biotechnology (83757) 1-7 (hereafter Kurreck).
Rosen teaches a method of modifying T cell populations towards a central memory T cell phenotype (pg.72, lines 31-33) in which the T cells are isolated, cultured with a stimulating agent, and incubated with a JAK inhibitor (negative modulator gene of TCF7) as outlined above. Further Rosen teaches the JAK inhibitor can be an siRNA (short interfering RNA) (pg.40, lines 7-8).
Rosen fails to teach an siRNA sequences comprising at least 10 contiguous nucleotides that is complementary to a genomic sequence of claim 4. Kurreck, however, teaches that siRNAs can be between 19-27 nucleotides and that length has a significant impact on siRNA efficiency (pg.5 col 2 line 16- pg.6 col 1, line 3) and further teaches that siRNA works by binding to the complementary of the target gene RNA in order to disrupt translation of the protein (pg.1 col 1, lines 10-16).
Thus, Rosen discloses a method of developing modified T cells wherein T cells are isolated stimulated and contacted with an inhibitor of a negative modulator gene of TCF7 and further teaches this inhibitor can be an siRNA. Kurreck teaches that siRNAs have been studied between 19-27 nucleotides long and that the length of the siRNA impacts its efficiency, further Kurreck teaches the siRNA much be complementary to a target gene in order to interrupt translation of the target protein. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Rosen with the teachings of Kurreck to use an siRNA inhibitor informed by the teachings of Kurreck to be longer than 10 nucleotides and complementary to the target gene with a reasonable expectation of success to develop an expanded modified T cell population with increased TCF7 expression.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seki and Rutz (2018) Optimized RNP transfection for highly efficient CRISPR/Cas9 – mediated gene knockout in primary T cells J. Exp. Med. (215)3 985-997 (hereafter Seki and Rutz).
Rosen teaches a method of modifying T cell populations towards a central memory T cell phenotype (pg.72, lines 31-33) in which the T cells are isolated, cultured with a stimulating agent, and incubated with a JAK inhibitor (negative modulator gene of TCF7) as outlined above.
Rosen fails to teach the inhibitor as a complex comprising a CRISPR-associated protein and a guide RNA of a least 10 contiguous and complementary nucleotides of claim 5. Rosen further fails to teach the use of a polynucleotide encoding the complex of claim 7.
Seki and Rutz however teach an optimized method of inducing gene knockout using a polynucleotide encoding Cas9 and guide RNA (pg.995, col 2, lines 22-36) with electroporation for higher transfection rates (pg.986, col 2, lines 29-54). Seki and Rutz further teach guide RNAs which are more than ten nucleotide long that encode compliments to target genes (Table S1).
Thus, Rosen discloses a method of developing modified T cell populations towards a central memory T cell phenotype in which the T cells are isolated, cultured with IL-2 and anti-CD3/anti-CD28 beads and then incubating the cells with an inhibitor of a negative modulator gene of TCF7. Rosen also teaches a sufficient length of time for modulating immune cells to be no less than 30, 42, 54, 66, 78, or 90 hours. Seki and Rutz teach an optimized method of transfection using Cas9 and guide RNA. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Rosen with the teachings of Seki and Rutz with a reasonable expectation of success to develop a method of expanding and modifying naïve T cells using a Cas9 and guide RNA complex to knock out gene expression of a target gene for higher transfection rate and a larger yield of modified T cells.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shifrut et al (2018) Genome-Wide CRIPSR Screens in Primary Human T Cells Reveal Key Regulators of Immune Function Cell (175) 1958-1971 (hereafter Shifrut) in view of Siddiqui et al. (2019) (of record, IDS 04/02/2024)
In regards to claims 24 and 25 Shifrut teaches a method of genetic screening which includes contacting a T cell populations with a lentivirus containing single guide RNAs and then further contacting the T cells with a Cas9 proteins with electroporation (pg.1959, col 1, lines 21-42). The T cells are stimulated with anti-CD28, anti-CD3, and IL-2 before contacting with the lentiviral and Cas9 protein (pg.e2, lines 15-17) and maintained in culture with IL-2 after (pg.e3, lines 12-14). Shifrut also teaches guide RNAs which are longer than 10 nucleotides complementary to the target sequence (Table S1). Further, Shifrut teaches separation of the cell with increased proliferation after treatment with the lentivirus and Cas9 protein and analyzing the guide RNA abundance to identify target sequences for the RNA (pg.1960, col 2, lines 1-8). Shifrut uses this method to identify targets within the T cells which modulate the proliferation of the T cells and further T cell activation compared to WT cells and finds sequences which increase proliferation by more than 10% (Figure 3).
Shifrut fails to teach the use of this method to measure the change in TCF7 expression to determine target sequences to modulate TCF7 expression.
Siddiqui, however, teaches that TCF7 expression is essential for the function of the intertumoral stem-cell like cells to produce differentiated progeny and to maintain themselves as tumor infiltrating lymphocytes and further that finding TCF-1 dependent target is essential to maintain the stem-like function of these TILs (pg.208, col 2, lines 15-19).
Thus, Shifrut discloses a method of genetic screening using lentiviral particles containing guide RNA and electroporation of Cas9 protein with RNAs longer than 10 nucleotides complementary to a target sequence, and Siddiqui teaches that TCF7 is an important gene for the maintenance of a stem-like cell for tumor infiltration and control. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use the method of Shifrut with the substitution of measuring TCF7 activity as informed in Siddiqui with a reasonable expectation of success to find targets in which TCF7 expression is increased for the purpose of preparing a modified T cell with maintained stem like properties for tumor control.
Claims 53 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shifrut in view of Wang et al. (2014) CCR5 Gene Disruption via Lentiviral Vectors Expressing Cas9 and Single Guided RNA Renders Cells Resistant to HIV-1 Infection PLoS ONE 9(12): e115987 (hereafter Wang) and Shinohara and Shinohara (2020) Transgenesis and Gnome Editing of Mouse Spermatogonial Stem Cells by Lentivirus Pseudotyped with Sendai Virus F protein Stem Cell Reports (14) 447-461 (hereafter Shinohara and Shinohara).
Shifrut teaches a method of genetic screening which includes contacting a T cell populations with a lentivirus containing a plurality of single guide. Shifrut also teaches guide RNAs which are longer than 10 nucleotides complementary to the target sequence (Table S1). Shifrut fails to teach a method wherein the CRISPR associated protein is encoded into the vector itself, and further where the lentiviral vector comprises VSV-g and an ecotropic envelope protein.
Wang, however, teaches the method of silencing a gene (pg.3 lines 16-29) using a lentiviral particle which encodes a Cas9 protein and a guide RNA and further wherein the lentiviral particle was enveloped in VSV-G (pg.4, lines 11-29) for a single round transduction of a target cell. Wang fails to teach the addition of another ecotropic envelope protein; however, Shinohara and Shinohara teach the use of an envelope protein comprised of SVS-G and F protein from the Sendai Virus (SV) for improved transfection efficiency in germline stem cells which more closely mimics SV for gene therapy (pg.457, col 1, lines 4-11).
Thus, Shifrut discloses a method of genetic screening in which a T cell is contacted with a lentivirus encoding a plurality of guide RNAs, Wang teaches a method of loading a single lentiviral particle with a polynucleotide encoding Cas9 and the guide RNA for a single round transduction, and Shinohara and Shinohara teach the method of adding an ecotropic envelope protein with an VSV-G envelope protein to work with each other to improve transfection efficiency in the target cell. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Shifrut, Wang, and Shinohara and Shinohara with a reasonable expectation of success to develop a lentiviral particle encoding a Cas9 protein and a plurality of guide RNAs which is enveloped in SVS-G and another ecotropic protein for a single step, more efficient transduction method to genetically screen a target cell.
Double Patenting
Claims 24 and 25 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,197,467 in view of Siddiqui and Shifrut.
Claims 1 of the U.S. patent recite claim to a method of identifying a gene(s) or genetic element(s) (genetic screening) capable of modulating a leukocyte immune response which comprises obtaining a plurality of a mouse leukocytes modified to contain a Cas9 transgene expression cassette and delivering in vitro vectors containing guide RNA to inhibit expression of target genes, contacting the cells with a stimulatory agent and isolating and sorting the leukocytes according to their expression levels of one or more markers. Claim 2 of the U.S. patent recites claim to further identifying genes or genetic elements by sequencing the nucleic acid present in the isolated or sorted leukocytes. These claims significantly encompass the methods claimed in claims 24 and 25 of the instant application.
Claims 1 and 2 of the U.S. patent fail to distinctly teach the use of T cells, the measurement of TCF7, and further wherein the guide RNAs are 10 or more nucleotides long.
Siddiqui, however, teaches that TCF7 expression is essential for the function of the intertumoral stem-cell like cells to produce differentiated progeny and to maintain themselves as tumor infiltrating lymphocytes and further that finding TCF-1 dependent target is essential to maintain the stem-like function of these TILs (pg.208, col 2, lines 15-19). Siddiqui fails to teach the guide RNAs being 10 or more nucleotides long.
Shifrut, however, teaches guide RNAs which are longer than 10 nucleotides complementary to the target sequence (Table S1) which were successfully used in a genome wide screening of T cells.
Thus, the U.S. Patent discloses a method of genetic screening which includes contacting a leukocyte with a Cas9 and guide RNAs and further wherein they are activated, and sorted based on their expression of a target molecule, Siddiqui teaches the importance of TCF7 in T cell ability to maintain their beneficial functions, and Shifrut teaches guide RNAs which are longer than 10 nucleotides complementary to the target sequence. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the method of the U.S. Patent with the teachings of Siddiqui and Shifrut with a reasonable expectation of success to adapt the method for use in T cells with the goal of finding target sequences which modulate TCF7 expression.
Conclusion
/D.A.A/Examiner, Art Unit 1647
/JOANNE HAMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1647