DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 filed on 1 September 2023 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
The pending application 18/279,882, filed on 1 September 2023, is a national stage application filed under 35 U.S.C. 371 of PCT/CN2022/078646, filed on 1 March 2022, and claims priority from foreign application CN202120472012.X, filed on 4 March 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 24 April 2024 and 11 October 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (CN 112213726 A, cited by applicant in IDS dated 24 April 2024) in view of Matthias et al. (FR 3063160 A1, cited by applicant in IDS dated 11 October 2024) and Shigemoto (US 7,776,046 B2).
Regarding claim 1 (Original), Shi et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Shi et al. has been struck-through]
A radar (Shi et al. blind spot warning radar 100, Figs. 1, 3-7), comprising:
a power supply assembly (Shi et al. power chip 30 and baseband board 40a, Fig, 6)
a first detection assembly (Shi et al. first detection component 10, Figs. 1, 3) (Shi et al. “the blind spot warning radar 100 also includes a floating connector 50, which connects the first antenna board 11 and the baseband board (40a, 40b), and connects the second antenna board 21 and the baseband board (40a, 40b).” - ¶ [0075]; Fig. 7), wherein the first detection assembly comprises a first antenna board (Shi et al. first antenna plate 11, Figs. 3-7) and a first antenna (Shi et al. first microstrip patch antenna 121, Fig. 3) mounted on the first antenna board, the first antenna is used for emitting a first millimeter wave (Shi et al. first electromagnetic wave 101, Fig. 1; “The first electromagnetic wave 101 is a millimeter wave with a cone beam and a wavelength of 1 to 10 mm.” - ¶ [0058]), and the first millimeter wave has a first detection viewing angle (Shi et al. first electromagnetic wave 101 has a detection viewing angle of 130°; “In some embodiments, the first detection assembly includes a first antenna plate and a first antenna, the first antenna is disposed on the first antenna plate, the first antenna is configured to emit a first electromagnetic wave, and the first electromagnetic wave has the first detection viewing angle;” - ¶ [0012]);
a second detection assembly (Shi et al. second detection component 20, Figs. 1, 3) (Shi et al. “the blind spot warning radar 100 also includes a floating connector 50, which connects the first antenna board 11 and the baseband board (40a, 40b), and connects the second antenna board 21 and the baseband board (40a, 40b).” - ¶ [0075]; Fig. 7), wherein the second detection assembly comprises a second antenna board (Shi et al. second antenna plate 21, Figs. 3-7) and a second antenna (Shi et al. second microstrip patch antenna 221, Fig. 3) mounted on the second antenna board, the second antenna board is arranged at a pre-set angle with the first antenna board (Shi et al. “the first detection component 10 and the second detection component 20 are arranged at a preset angle” - ¶ [0067]), the second antenna is used for emitting a second millimeter wave (Shi et al. second electromagnetic wave 201, Fig. 1; “The second electromagnetic wave 201 is a millimeter wave with a cone beam and a wavelength of 1 to 10 mm.” - ¶ [0060]), and the second millimeter wave has a second detection viewing angle (Shi et al. “The second detection component includes a second antenna plate and a second antenna. The second antenna is arranged on the second antenna plate. The second antenna is used to emit a second electromagnetic wave. The second electromagnetic wave has the second detection viewing angle.” - ¶ [0013]); and
wherein there is an intersection portion (Shi et al. overlapping part A, Fig. 1) of emission regions of the first millimeter wave and the second millimeter wave, and a detection field angle after the first detection viewing angle and the second detection viewing angle are superimposed is greater than or equal to 180 degrees (Shi et al. “Two adjacent sides of the first electromagnetic wave and the second electromagnetic wave intersect or overlap, and a detection field angle after superposition of the first detection viewing angle and the second detection viewing angle is greater than or equal to 180 degrees.” - ¶ [0011]).
Matthias et al. discloses:
a housing (Matthias et al. main housing 12 and cover 18, Fig. 1) provided with a connector (Matthias et al. connector 42, Figs. 1, 3) and electrically connected to the power supply assembly (Matthias et al. “The free ends of the pins 44 of the connector 42 are intended to be electrically connected to the printed circuit board 16.” – p. 3; Fig. 1)
Shigemoto discloses:
a connector (Shigemoto housing 16, Figs. 1-2A), the connector being detachably mounted (Shigemoto “O-ring 15 is disposed on the step portion, and nail 16A of external housing 16 is locked to locking hole 11B of case 11.” – Col. 3, lines 22-24, Figs. 1-2A) on the connection port (Shigemoto opening 11A of casing 11, Fig. 2A)
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Matthias et al. and Shigemoto into the invention of Shi et al. to yield the invention of claim 1 above. Shi et al., Matthias et al. and Shigemoto are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose the features listed below.
Shi et al. discloses a blind spot warning radar with a first detection assembly and a second detection assembly configured to provide a superimposed viewing angle greater than 180 degrees.
Matthias et al. discloses an automotive radar provided with a housing and a cover, where multiple radar sensors are disposed at a preset angle to one another.
Shigemoto discloses a connector detachably mounted in a connector port with an O-ring.
Shi et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. However, Shi et al. fails to explicitly disclose a housing provided with a connection port and a connector, the connector being detachably mounted on the connection port and electrically connected to the power supply assembly. These features are disclosed by Matthias et al. where main housing 12 and cover 18 are provided with a connector 42 that electrically connects to the printed circuit board (Matthias et al. Fig. 1) and Shigemoto where a connector housing 16 is detachably mounted to the casing 11 via snap fit between the nail 16A and locking hole 11B (Shigemoto Figs. 1-2A). The combination of Shi et al., Matthias et al. and Shigemoto would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to dissipate heat from the antenna assemblies, protect the radar antennas and reduce detection errors (Matthias et al. p. 2, 8) and to simplify manufacturing by press-fitting (Shigemoto Col. 4, lines 45-50) and prevent water immersion into the case from the connector port (Shigemoto Col. 3, lines 42-43).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Shi et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Shi et al. has been struck-through]
The radar according to claim 1, wherein
Shigemoto discloses:
one end of the connector which is connected to the connection port is provided with an elastic snap (Matthias et al. nail 16A, Figs. 1-2A), and the elastic snap is snap-connected to the connection port (Matthias et al. nail 16A is snap-connected to the casing opening 11A via locking hole 11B, Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Shigemoto into the invention of Shi et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 2. Shi et al., Matthias et al. and Shigemoto are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose the features listed below.
Shi et al. discloses a blind spot warning radar with a first detection assembly and a second detection assembly configured to provide a superimposed viewing angle greater than 180 degrees.
Matthias et al. discloses an automotive radar provided with a housing and a cover, where multiple radar sensors are disposed at a preset angle to one another.
Shigemoto discloses a connector detachably mounted in a connector port with an O-ring.
Shi et al. discloses the radar of claim 1. However, Shi et al. as modified above fails to explicitly disclose one end of the connector which is connected to the connection port is provided with an elastic snap, and the elastic snap is snap-connected to the connection port. This feature is disclosed by Shigemoto where a connector housing 16 is detachably mounted to the casing 11 via snap fit between the nail 16A and locking hole 11B (Shigemoto Figs. 1-2A). The combination of Shi et al., Matthias et al. and Shigemoto would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to dissipate heat from the antenna assemblies, protect the radar antennas and reduce detection errors (Matthias et al. p. 2, 8) and to simplify manufacturing by press-fitting (Shigemoto Col. 4, lines 45-50) and prevent water immersion into the case from the connector port (Shigemoto Col. 3, lines 42-43).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Shi et al. discloses:
The radar according to claim 2, wherein
the first detection assembly further comprises a first radio frequency chip (Shi et al. first RF chip 13, Figs. 4, 6), the first radio frequency chip is arranged on the first antenna board, and the first radio frequency chip is electrically connected to the first antenna (Shi et al. “the first detection component 10 also includes a first RF chip 13, the first RF chip 13 is arranged on the first antenna board 11, and the first RF chip 13 is electrically connected to the first antenna 12” - ¶ [0070]);
the second detection assembly further comprises a second radio frequency chip (Shi et al. second RF chip 23, Figs. 4, 6), the second radio frequency chip is arranged on the second antenna board, and the second radio frequency chip is electrically connected to the second antenna (Shi et al. “the second detection component 20 also includes a second RF chip 23, the second RF chip 23 is arranged on the second antenna board 21, and the second RF chip 23 is electrically connected to the second antenna 22” - ¶ [0070]);
the first radio frequency chip and the second radio frequency chip are electrically connected (Shi et al. “The first RF chip 13 and the second RF chip 23 are electrically connected.” - ¶ [0070]).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Shi et al. discloses:
The radar according to claim 3, wherein
the power supply assembly comprises a baseband board (Shi et al. baseband board 40a, Fig, 6) and a power supply chip (Shi et al. power chip 30, Fig, 6) arranged on the baseband board; the first antenna board and the second antenna board are both electrically connected to the baseband board (Shi et al. “one floating connector 50 connects the first antenna board 11 and the first baseband board ( 41 a , 41 b ), and one floating connector 50 connects the second antenna board 21 and the second baseband board ( 42 a , 42 b )” - ¶ [0075]); the power supply chip is respectively electrically connected to the first radio frequency chip and the second radio frequency chip (Shi et al. “The power chip 30 is arranged on the baseband board 40a, and the power chip 30 is electrically connected to the first RF chip 13 and the second RF chip 23.” - ¶ [0072]).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Shi et al. discloses:
The radar according to claim 4, wherein
the power supply assembly further comprises a first connection seat and a second connection seat (Shi et al. floating connectors 50, Fig. 7), the first connection seat and the second connection seat are both 90-degree rotating angle connection seats, (Shi et al. “The first antenna board 11 is arranged perpendicular to the first substrate 41b, and the second antenna board 21 is arranged perpendicular to the second substrate 42b…” - ¶ [0074]) the first antenna board is electrically connected to a power supply board via the first connection seat (Shi et al. floating connector 50 connects the first antenna board 11 to the baseband board 40b, Fig. 7), and the second antenna board is electrically connected to the power supply board via the second connection seat (Shi et al. floating connector 50 connects the second antenna board 21 to the baseband board 40b, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently amended), Shi et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Shi et al. has been struck-through]
The radar according to claim 1, wherein
Shigemoto discloses:
a sealing gasket (Shigemoto O-ring 15, Figs 1-2A) is embedded in the connection port (Shigemoto opening 11A of casing 11, Fig. 2A), and when the connector is inserted into the connection port, the connector abuts against the sealing gasket (Shigemoto when the housing 16 of plugging member 19 is inserted into the opening 11A, the housing abuts against the O-ring 15, Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Shigemoto into the invention of Shi et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 11. Shi et al., Matthias et al. and Shigemoto are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose the features listed below.
Shi et al. discloses a blind spot warning radar with a first detection assembly and a second detection assembly configured to provide a superimposed viewing angle greater than 180 degrees.
Matthias et al. discloses an automotive radar provided with a housing and a cover, where multiple radar sensors are disposed at a preset angle to one another.
Shigemoto discloses a connector detachably mounted in a connector port with an O-ring.
Shi et al. discloses the radar of claim 1. However, Shi et al. as modified above fails to explicitly disclose a sealing gasket is embedded in the connection port, and when the connector is inserted into the connection port, the connector abuts against the sealing gasket. This feature is disclosed by Shigemoto where “O-ring 15 is disposed on the step portion, and nail 16A of external housing 16 is locked to locking hole 11B of case 11. O-ring 15 is sandwiched between housing 16 and terminal stage 14.” (Shigemoto Col. 3, lines 22-25). The combination of Shi et al., Matthias et al. and Shigemoto would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to dissipate heat from the antenna assemblies, protect the radar antennas and reduce detection errors (Matthias et al. p. 2, 8) and to simplify manufacturing by press-fitting (Shigemoto Col. 4, lines 45-50) and prevent water immersion into the case from the connector port (Shigemoto Col. 3, lines 42-43).
Regarding claim 12 (Currently amended), Shi et al. discloses:
The radar according to claim 1, wherein
a value of the first detection viewing angle is greater than or equal to 90 degrees and less than or equal to 150 degrees (Shi et al. “the value of the first detection viewing angle is greater than or equal to 120 degrees and less than or equal to 150 degrees” - ¶ [0067]);
the value of the second detection viewing angle is greater than or equal to 90 degrees and less than or equal to 150 degrees (Shi et al. “the value of the second detection viewing angle is greater than or equal to 120 degrees and less than or equal to 150 degrees” - ¶ [0067]);
the preset angle is greater than or equal to 90 degrees and less than or equal to 150 degrees. (Shi et al. “the value of the preset angle is greater than 60 degrees and
less than or equal to 120 degrees” - ¶ [0067])
Regarding claim 13 (Currently amended), Shi et al. discloses:
An early-warning system, comprising
the radar according to claim 1, and,
an acoustic early-warning device, wherein the radar is electrically connected to the acoustic early-warning device (Shi et al. “An embodiment of the present invention further provides a blind spot warning system, which includes an acoustic warning device, a light warning device, a vibration warning device and/or a display screen warning device, as well as the blind spot warning radar described above. The blind spot warning radar 100 is electrically connected to the sound warning device, light warning device, vibration warning device and/or display screen warning device. ” - ¶ [0080]).
Regarding claim 14 (New), Shi et al. discloses:
An early-warning system, comprising
the radar according to claim 1, and,
a display screen early-warning device, wherein the radar is electrically connected to the display screen early-warning device (Shi et al. “An embodiment of the present invention further provides a blind spot warning system, which includes an acoustic warning device, a light warning device, a vibration warning device and/or a display screen warning device, as well as the blind spot warning radar described above. The blind spot warning radar 100 is electrically connected to the sound warning device, light warning device, vibration warning device and/or display screen warning device.” - ¶ [0080]).
Regarding claim 15 (New), Shi et al. discloses:
The early-warning system according to claim 14, further comprising an acoustic early-warning device, wherein the radar is electrically connected to the acoustic early-warning device (Shi et al. “An embodiment of the present invention further provides a blind spot warning system, which includes an acoustic warning device, a light warning device, a vibration warning device and/or a display screen warning device, as well as the blind spot warning radar described above. The blind spot warning radar 100 is electrically connected to the sound warning device, light warning device, vibration warning device and/or display screen warning device. ” - ¶ [0080]).
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (CN 112213726 A, cited by applicant in IDS dated 24 April 2024) in view of Matthias et al. (FR 3063160 A1, cited by applicant in IDS dated 11 October 2024) and Shigemoto (US 7,776,046 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Phillip et al. (US 2015/0331087 A1).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently amended), Shi et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Shi et al. has been struck-through]
The radar according to claim 1 , wherein
Matthias et al. discloses:
the housing comprises a base (Matthias et al. main housing 12, Fig. 1) and an upper cover (Matthias et al. cover 18, Fig. 1), wherein the upper cover is provided on the base, and the first detection assembly (Matthias et al. radar antennas 144, Fig. 1), the second detection assembly (Matthias et al. radar antennas 146, Fig. 1), and the power supply assembly (Matthias et al. “The free ends of the pins 44 of the connector 42 are intended to be electrically connected to the printed circuit board 16.” – p. 3; Fig. 1) are all accommodated in a cavity formed by enclosing the upper cover and the base (Matthias et al. cavity formed between main housing 12 and cover 18, Fig. 1);
the connection port is provided on the base (Matthias et al. connector 42 is provided on the main housing 12, Figs. 1, 3); the upper cover is made of a material that can penetrate millimeter waves (Matthias et al. “The cover 18 is made of material transparent to radar signals, that is to say without creating distortions or reflections of the radar waves emitted and received by the radar device 10.” – p. 7);
the base is made of a metallic material (Matthias et al. “The housing bottom may be made of a
metallic material, the housing bottom comprising cooling fins on its external surface.” – p. 2).
Phillip et al. discloses:
the base is made of an aluminium alloy material (Phillip et al. “the housing base 3 consists of metal, for example, aluminum or aluminum alloy” - ¶ [0029]) .
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Matthias et al. and Phillip et al. into the invention of Shi et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 6. Shi et al., Matthias et al., Shigemoto and Phillip et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose the features listed below.
Shi et al. discloses a blind spot warning radar with a first detection assembly and a second detection assembly configured to provide a superimposed viewing angle greater than 180 degrees.
Matthias et al. discloses an automotive radar provided with a housing and a cover, where multiple radar sensors are disposed at a preset angle to one another.
Shigemoto discloses a connector detachably mounted in a connector port with an O-ring.
Phillip et al. discloses a sensor assembly comprising a housing base made of an aluminum alloy
Shi et al. as modified above discloses the radar of claim 1. However, Shi et al. as modified above fails to explicitly disclose the housing comprising a base and a cover, the connection port is provided on the base; the upper cover is made of a material that can penetrate millimeter waves; the base is made of an aluminium alloy material. These features are disclosed by Matthias et al. where main housing 12 and cover 18 accommodate printed circuit board 16, the connector 42 is provided on the main housing 12, the cover 18 is transparent to radar signals, and the main housing 12 is made of a metallic material (Matthias et al. Fig. 1, p. 2, 7) and Phillip et al. where “the housing base 3 consists of metal, for example, aluminum or aluminum alloy” (Phillip et al. ¶ [0029]). The combination of Shi et al., Matthias et al., Shigemoto and Phillip et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to dissipate heat from the antenna assemblies, protect the radar antennas and reduce detection errors (Matthias et al. p. 2, 8), to simplify manufacturing by press-fitting (Shigemoto Col. 4, lines 45-50) and prevent water immersion into the case from the connector port (Shigemoto Col. 3, lines 42-43), to improve EMC shielding and dissipate heat (Phillip et al. ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Shi et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Shi et al. has been struck-through]
The radar according to claim 6
Matthias et al. discloses:
the base comprises a base body (Matthias et al. main housing 12, Fig. 1) and a protrusion (Matthias et al. support 14, Fig. 1) extending from a middle portion of the base body to the upper cover (Matthias et al. support 14 protrudes form a middle portion of the main housing 12 toward the cover 18, Fig. 1), wherein the first antenna board is mounted between a first end of the protrusion and the first end of the base body (Matthias et al. rigid portion 120 of printed circuit board 16 comprising radar antennas 144 is mounted between transverse edge 90 and the second transverse side wall 30, Figs. 1-2) , and the second antenna board is mounted between a second end of the protrusion and the second end of the base body (Matthias et al. rigid portion 122 of printed circuit board 16 comprising radar antennas 146 is mounted between transverse edge 92 and the first transverse side wall 32, Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Matthias et al. into the invention of Shi et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 7. Shi et al., Matthias et al., Shigemoto and Phillip et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose the features listed below.
Shi et al. discloses a blind spot warning radar with a first detection assembly and a second detection assembly configured to provide a superimposed viewing angle greater than 180 degrees.
Matthias et al. discloses an automotive radar provided with a housing and a cover, where multiple radar sensors are disposed at a preset angle to one another.
Shigemoto discloses a connector detachably mounted in a connector port with an O-ring.
Phillip et al. discloses a sensor assembly comprising a housing base made of an aluminum alloy
Shi et al. as modified above discloses the radar of claim 6. However, Shi et al. as modified above fails to explicitly disclose the base comprises a base body and a protrusion extending from a middle portion of the base body to the upper cover, wherein the first antenna board is mounted between a first end of the protrusion and the first end of the base body, and the second antenna board is mounted between a second end of the protrusion and the second end of the base body. This feature is disclosed by Matthias et al. where support 14 protrudes from the main housing 12 and the radar antennas 144 and radar antennas 146 disposed on each side of the middle portion of the support 14 (Matthias et al. Fig. 1). The combination of Shi et al., Matthias et al., Shigemoto, and Phillip et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to dissipate heat from the antenna assemblies, protect the radar antennas and reduce detection errors (Matthias et al. p. 2, 8), to simplify manufacturing by press-fitting (Shigemoto Col. 4, lines 45-50) and prevent water immersion into the case from the connector port (Shigemoto Col. 3, lines 42-43), to improve EMC shielding and dissipate heat (Phillip et al. ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 8 (Original), Shi et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Shi et al. has been struck-through]
The radar according to claim 6
Matthias et al. discloses:
a shape of the upper cover is adapted to the shape enclosed by the first detection assembly ,the second detection assembly, and the power supply assembly (Matthias et al. “the upper surface 148 of the cover 10 is curved similarly to the curvature of the surface of the printed circuit board 16 mounted on the support 14” – p. 7).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Matthias et al. into the invention of Shi et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 8. Shi et al., Matthias et al., Shigemoto and Phillip et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose the features listed below.
Shi et al. discloses a blind spot warning radar with a first detection assembly and a second detection assembly configured to provide a superimposed viewing angle greater than 180 degrees.
Matthias et al. discloses an automotive radar provided with a housing and a cover, where multiple radar sensors are disposed at a preset angle to one another.
Shigemoto discloses a connector detachably mounted in a connector port with an O-ring.
Phillip et al. discloses a sensor assembly comprising a housing base made of an aluminum alloy
Shi et al. as modified above discloses the radar of claim 6. However, Shi et al. as modified above fails to explicitly disclose a shape of the upper cover is adapted to the shape enclosed by the first detection assembly ,the second detection assembly, and the power supply assembly. This feature is disclosed by Matthias et al. where “the upper surface 148 of the cover 10 is curved similarly to the curvature of the surface of the printed circuit board 16 mounted on the support 14” (Matthias et al. p. 7). The combination of Shi et al., Matthias et al., Shigemoto, and Phillip et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to dissipate heat from the antenna assemblies, protect the radar antennas and reduce detection errors (Matthias et al. p. 2, 8), to simplify manufacturing by press-fitting (Shigemoto Col. 4, lines 45-50) and prevent water immersion into the case from the connector port (Shigemoto Col. 3, lines 42-43), to improve EMC shielding and dissipate heat (Phillip et al. ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Shi et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Shi et al. has been struck-through]
The radar according to claim 6
Matthias et al. discloses:
the radar comprises a heat dissipation assembly (Matthias et al. “The printed circuit board 16
support 14 is also provided to dissipate heat from the printed circuit board 16.” – p. 4), the heat dissipation assembly is accommodated in the housing (Matthias et al. support 14 is received in main housing 12, Fig. 1), the heat dissipation assembly comprises a first heat conductive pad (Matthias et al. facet 74 of support 14, Fig. 2), a second heat conductive pad (Matthias et al. facet 76 of support 14, Fig. 2), a first heat dissipation piece (Matthias et al. fins 114, 112 of support 14, Fig. 2), and a second heat dissipation piece (Matthias et al. fins 112, 110 of support 14, Fig. 2), the first heat conductive pad is mounted between the first radio frequency chip and the first heat dissipation piece (Matthias et al. printed circuit board 16 may include electronics components for transmitting and receiving radar wave – p. 7; the facet 74 is disposed between the printed circuit board 16 and the fins 114, 112, Fig. 2), the second heat conductive pad is mounted between the second radio frequency chip and the second heat dissipation piece (Matthias et al. printed circuit board 16 may include electronics components for transmitting and receiving radar wave – p. 7; the facet 76 is disposed between the printed circuit board 16 and the fins 112, 110, Fig. 2), and the first heat dissipation piece and the second heat dissipation piece are both mounted on the base (Matthias et al. support 14 is received in main housing 12, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Matthias et al. into the invention of Shi et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 9. Shi et al., Matthias et al., Shigemoto and Phillip et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose the features listed below.
Shi et al. discloses a blind spot warning radar with a first detection assembly and a second detection assembly configured to provide a superimposed viewing angle greater than 180 degrees.
Matthias et al. discloses an automotive radar provided with a housing and a cover, where multiple radar sensors are disposed at a preset angle to one another.
Shigemoto discloses a connector detachably mounted in a connector port with an O-ring.
Phillip et al. discloses a sensor assembly comprising a housing base made of an aluminum alloy
Shi et al. as modified above discloses the radar of claim 6. However, Shi et al. as modified above fails to explicitly disclose a heat dissipation assembly comprising heat dissipation pads and heat dissipation pieces. This feature is disclosed by Matthias et al. where the support 14 is provided to dissipate heat from the printed circuit board 16, the support 14 comprises facets 74 and 76 that support the radar antennas 144 and 146, and fins 110, 112, 114 that dissipate heat away from the fins (Matthias et al. p. 4-5; Fig. 1). The combination of Shi et al., Matthias et al., Shigemoto, and Phillip et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to dissipate heat from the antenna assemblies, protect the radar antennas and reduce detection errors (Matthias et al. p. 2, 8), to simplify manufacturing by press-fitting (Shigemoto Col. 4, lines 45-50) and prevent water immersion into the case from the connector port (Shigemoto Col. 3, lines 42-43), to improve EMC shielding and dissipate heat (Phillip et al. ¶ [0005]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (CN 112213726 A, cited by applicant in IDS dated 24 April 2024) in view of Matthias et al. (FR 3063160 A1, cited by applicant in IDS dated 11 October 2024), Shigemoto (US 7,776,046 B2) and Phillip et al. (US 2015/0331087 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 110082767 A, cited by applicant in IDS dated 24 April 2024).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Shi et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Shi et al. has been struck-through]
The radar according to claim 6
Zhang et al. discloses:
the radar further comprises a sealing ring (Zhang et al. sealing ring 282, Fig. 4), the base (Zhang et al. base 26, Fig. 4) is provided with a sealing groove (Zhang et al. sealing ring groove 262, Fig. 4), the sealing ring is provided on the sealing groove (Zhang et al. “a second sealing ring 282 is provided on one side of the sealing ring groove 262” - ¶ [0053]), and when the upper cover (Zhang et al. intermediate shelf 25, Fig. 4) covers the base, an inner wall (Zhang et al. positioning protruding ring 255, Fig. 4) of the upper cover abuts against the sealing ring (Zhang et al. “The positioning protruding ring 255 is installed in the sealing ring groove 262” - ¶ [0053]).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Zhang et al. into the invention of Shi et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 10. Shi et al., Matthias et al., Shigemoto and Phillip et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose the features listed below.
Shi et al. discloses a blind spot warning radar with a first detection assembly and a second detection assembly configured to provide a superimposed viewing angle greater than 180 degrees.
Matthias et al. discloses an automotive radar provided with a housing and a cover, where multiple radar sensors are disposed at a preset angle to one another.
Shigemoto discloses a connector detachably mounted in a connector port with an O-ring.
Phillip et al. discloses a sensor assembly comprising a housing base made of an aluminum alloy
Zhang et al. discloses a radar assembly comprising sealing rings and sealing ring grooves between base and top cover.
Shi et al. as modified above discloses the radar of claim 6. However, Shi et al. as modified above fails to explicitly disclose the radar further comprises a sealing ring, the base is provided with a sealing groove, the sealing ring is provided on the sealing groove, and when the upper cover covers the base, an inner wall of the upper cover abuts against the sealing ring. This feature is disclosed by Zhang et al. where the base 26 comprises a sealing ring groove 262, a sealing ring 282 is provided in the sealing ring groove 262 and the positioning convex ring 255 of the intermediate shelf 25 abuts the sealing ring 282 (Zhang et al. Fig. 4). The combination of Shi et al., Matthias et al., Shigemoto, Phillip et al., and Zhang et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to dissipate heat from the antenna assemblies, protect the radar antennas and reduce detection errors (Matthias et al. p. 2, 8), to simplify manufacturing by press-fitting (Shigemoto Col. 4, lines 45-50) and prevent water immersion into the case from the connector port (Shigemoto Col. 3, lines 42-43), to improve EMC shielding and dissipate heat (Phillip et al. ¶ [0005]) and to provide a sealed installation (Zhang et al. ¶ [0025])
Conclusion
NAOMI M. WOLFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/N.M.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3648
19 September 2025
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648