DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ouyang et al. (US 2016/0067692).
Regarding claims 1, 3-8 and 13
Ouyang discloses a composition comprising 2-adamantone in 1,4-dioxane as solvent (i.e., non-hydrocarbon solvent with a B.P. of 101 C) (Para 0014).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE-202019101101-U1 (hereafter the ‘101 patent), in view of Hayato (JP-2017181697-A).
Regarding claims 1-8, 10-11, 13, 16-17 and 19-20
The ‘101 patent discloses a sprayable composition comprising one hydrocarbon that is gaseous (i.e., propellant or solvent B), at least one cycloalkane selected from the group of diamondoids and/or a diamondoid derivative, and a solvent such as acetone (i.e., not a hydrocarbon solvent with B.P. of 56C) or a C1 to C4 alcohol (title and abstract), which would be mixed.
The ‘101 patent discloses the use of 1-adamantol and adamantane (i.e., unsubstituted diamondoid) (claim 5).
Although the ‘101 patent does not disclose any substituted adamantane other than 1-adamantol, the ‘101 patent does disclose the use of adamantane derivatives. However, Hayato discloses that as substituted adamantanes that 2-adamantone is known. Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of the ‘101 patent by using or including 2-adamantone as an adamantane derivative, with a reasonable expectation of success, as suggested by Hayato.
It is noted that using two or three adamantane compounds is seen as obvious, because combining two or more materials disclosed by the prior art for the same purpose to form a third material that is to be used for the same purpose has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Kerkhoven, 205 U.S.P.Q. 1069.
Regarding claims 12, 14-15 and 18
The ‘101 patent discloses forming a film on the surface (i.e., object) for taking an optical measurement of the surface(claim 16).
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants argue against the ‘644 reference. The amendments to the claims overcome this rejection and it has been withdrawn.
Applicants argue that they get superior results using 2-adamantone relative to 1-adamantol. While this may be true it is not persuasive as the results are not fully commensurate with the scope of the claimed invention, and 1-adamantol is not excluded based on the “comprising” claim language. Additionally, it is noted that claim 1 is so broad as to not even require a ketone of adamantane, as the claim could be met simply citing by any known hydrocarbon solvent.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734