DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, in response to applicant's argument that the grounding scheme of Yoshikawa (2016/0372236 A1) would short the capacitive isolation of Horan et al. (US 2012/0012358 A1), the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Additionally, the claim, as written, fails to disclose a structural difference between the combination of Horan et al. and Yoshikawa. Claim 1 discloses a capacitive connection between the outer conductors of the first and second coaxial cable and a shared AC ground connected to the ends of the outer conductors of the coaxial cables. The drawings fail to show the shared AC ground and the specification does not further define the shared AC ground between the ends of the outer conductors and it is unclear how the invention differentiates itself from the combination of Horan et al. and Yoshikawa. Thus, Horan et al. disclosing, in figure 12A, the capacitive connection (via coupling capacitor Cs) between the outer conductors of the two coaxial lines (Para [0204]) in combination with Yoshikawa disclosing, in figure 4, an AC grounding (ground 432 grounds all signals) shared by the ends of the outer conductors (Para [0103]) is disclosed, as required by the invention as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, In response to applicant's argument that Yoshikawa does not disclose the differential cables arranged diagonally to prevent coupling in each data transmission direction, this is not persuasive because Yoshikawa discloses, in figure 2A, where the fourth coaxial cable (330b) is arranged diagonally from the first coaxial cable (330d). Additionally, the third coaxial cable (330c) is arranged diagonally from the second coaxial cable (330a). Yoshikawa recites that “the signal cables 330a-330d are configured in such a manner that each pair of signal cables transmit a positive-phase signal and a negative-phase signal that constitute a differential signal…two channels each for transmission of a differential signal…one of the two channels is a sending channel and the other is a reception channel” (Para [0097]). Thus, it disclosed that the top pair of coaxial cables, 330d & 330a, and the bottom pair of coaxial cables, 330c & 330b, have a sending channel and a reception channel, which may be structured as disposed diagonally to each other. Examiner notes that the pair of coaxial cables may be the right pair of coaxial cables, 330a & 330b, and the left pair of coaxial cables, 330d & 330c, each having a sending channel and a reception channel, which may also be structured as disposed diagonally to each other. The structure is thus identical to the invention as claimed.
Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize that spacing the coaxial cables diagonally from each other rather than directly adjacent would result in reduced coupling between the coaxial cables as they are spaced further apart.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, wherein “the ends of the first outer conductor and the second outer conductor are connected to a shared AC ground” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 11, 13, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the electrical power is a DC current” in lines 7-8. The claim as written is unclear as a DC current has been previously introduced in the claim. It is unclear if the claim is introducing an additional DC current or referring to the aforementioned DC current. For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted “wherein the electrical power is a DC current” to read “wherein the electrical power is a second DC current”.
By virtue of their dependency on claim 1, claims 2-4, 6, 11, 13, & 20 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 13, & 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2018/0342336 A1), hereinafter Watanabe, in view of Horan et al. (US 2012/0012358 A1), hereinafter Horan, and further in view of Yoshikawa (US 2016/0372236 A1).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection made above, Watanabe discloses, in figure 1 & 6, a transmission line for transmitting data and electrical power, the transmission line comprising:
a first coaxial cable with a first inner conductor and a first outer conductor (Para [0037], “coaxial cable 10 has…central conductor 1…outer conductors 4”), and
a second coaxial cable (Para [0071], “plural coaxial cables…(e.g., the coaxial cables 10 in the first embodiment) are bundled…into a coaxial cable unit 101”) with a second inner conductor and a second outer conductor (Para [0037], “coaxial cable 10 has…central conductor 1…outer conductors 4”), wherein
each of the first coaxial cable and the second coaxial cable is provided with an additional shield which is surrounding each of the first coaxial cable and the second coaxial cable, respectively (Para [0037], “coaxial cable 10…covered with a jacket 5”);
the first coaxial cable and the second coaxial cable are twisted around each other to form a twisted transmission line (Para [0071], “plural coaxial cables…are bundled (and may be twisted after bundling) to be formed into a coaxial cable unit 101”),
the first outer conductor and the second outer conductor are galvanically insulated from each other (each coaxial cable 10 of the plural coaxial cable unit 101 has its own insulated inner conductor 1, shield 4, and jacket 5, and thus are galvanically insulated from each other), but fails to disclose the transmission line comprising the first coaxial cable with the first inner conductor for transmitting data and the first outer conductor for transmitting electrical power, wherein the electrical power is a DC current, the second coaxial cable with the second inner conductor for transmitting data and the second outer conductor for transmitting electrical power, wherein the electrical power is a second DC current, at least one first capacitor connected between the first outer conductor of the first coaxial cable and the second outer conductor of the second coaxial cable such that the first outer conductor and the second outer conductor remain DC isolated; and
ends of the first outer conductor and the second outer conductor are connected to a shared AC ground, respectively.
However, Horan discloses, in figure 12A, the first coaxial cable with the first inner conductor for transmitting data (Para [0084] & [0081], “coaxial line 26 carries the polarity D+i of the differential signal "D" on its inner conductor 32, while the coaxial line 28 carries the polarity D-i of the differential signal "D" on its inner conductor 34…high-speed data signal D”) and the first outer conductor for transmitter electrical power (Para [0204] & [0207], “coaxial lines 1204 and 1206…two independent single-ended signals A1 and A2 to be carried on the respective shields [i.e., outer conductors]… signals A1 and A2 may be…power”), wherein the electrical power is a DC current (Para [0207], “signals A1 and A2 which may be DC signals”), the second coaxial cable with the second inner conductor for transmitting data (Para [0084] & [0081], “coaxial line 26 carries the polarity D+i of the differential signal "D" on its inner conductor 32, while the coaxial line 28 carries the polarity D-i of the differential signal "D" on its inner conductor 34…high-speed data signal D”) and the second outer conductor for transmitting electrical power (Para [0204] & [0207], “coaxial lines 1204 and 1206…two independent single-ended signals A1 and A2 to be carried on the respective shields [i.e., outer conductors]… signals A1 and A2 may be…power”), wherein the electrical power is a second DC current (Para [0207], “signals A1 and A2 which may be DC signals”) and at least one first capacitor connected between the first outer conductor of the first coaxial cable and the second outer conductor of the second coaxial cable such that the first outer conductor and the second outer conductor remain DC isolated (Para [0204] & [0206], “shields [i.e., outer conductor] of the two coax lines 1204 and 1206…are only joined in a…capacitive coupling through a coupling capacitor Cs…capacitance of the coupling capacitor Cs is chosen to be high enough to preserve transmission characteristics of the dual shielded cable element with respect of the high speed differential signal, including providing A/C coupling between the individual shields to be substantially the same as a galvanic connection”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the capacitor and conductor transmission of Horan in the transmission line of Watanabe, to achieve the benefit of letting two independent single-ended signals to be carried on the respective shields and high-speed data signals carried on the inner conductors of the coaxial lines while still preserving the transmission characteristics of the transmission line (Horan, Para [0204]).
In combination, Watanabe in view of Horan fail to disclose ends of the first outer conductor and the second outer conductor are connected to a shared AC ground, respectively.
However, Yoshikawa discloses, in figure 2A & 4, ends of the first outer conductor and the second outer conductor are connected to a shared AC ground, respectively (Para [0103], “common ground 432 is electrically connected to the shield layers 332 [i.e., outer conductor] of the plurality of signal cables 330”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the common ground of Yoshikawa in the transmission line of Watanabe and Horan, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions [i.e., grounding signals on the transmission line to prevent interference with the reception or transmission of signals along the inner conductor of the coaxial cable], and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the transmission line of claim 1, and Horan continues to disclose, in figure 12A, wherein the first coaxial cable and the second coaxial cable each have an impedance of 50 Ohms (Para [0213], “50-ohm coax lines are used”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the transmission line of claim 1, and Watanabe continues to disclose, in figure 1 & 7, wherein the first coaxial cable and/or the second coaxial cable is a micro coaxial cable (small coaxial cables 10 utilized for medical applications, Para [0003]), especially with an outer diameter of 0.2 to 1.0 mm (Para [0079], “coaxial cable [i.e., 10 of plural unit 101] having an outer diameter of 0.213 mm”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the transmission line of claim 1, and Horan continues to disclose, in figure 12A, wherein the at least one first capacitor comprises a capacitor arranged at each end of the transmission line (figure 12A discloses capacitor Cs at an input end and capacitor Co at an output end of the coaxial lines 1204, 1206).
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe discloses, in figure 1 & 7, a method for operating a transmission line, the transmission line comprising a first coaxial cable with a first inner conductor and a first outer conductor (Para [0037], “coaxial cable 10 has…central conductor 1…outer conductors 4”), a second coaxial cable (Para [0071], “plural coaxial cables…(e.g., the coaxial cables 10 in the first embodiment) are bundled…into a coaxial cable unit 101”) with a second inner conductor and a second outer conductor (Para [0037], “coaxial cable 10 has…central conductor 1…outer conductors 4”), a third coaxial cable (third coaxial cable 10 in the cable unit 101) with a third inner conductor and a third outer conductor (Para [0037], “coaxial cable 10 has…central conductor 1…outer conductors 4”), a fourth coaxial cable (fourth coaxial cable 10 in the cable unit 101) with a fourth inner conductor and a fourth outer conductor (Para [0037], “coaxial cable 10 has…central conductor 1…outer conductors 4”), wherein the first coaxial cable, the second coaxial cable, the third coaxial cable, and the fourth coaxial cable are twisted around each other to form a twisted transmission line (Para [0071], “plural coaxial cables…are bundled (and may be twisted after bundling) to be formed into a coaxial cable unit 101”), wherein all outer conductors are galvanically insulated from each other (each coaxial cable 10 of the plural coaxial cable unit 101 has its own insulated inner conductor 1, shield 4, and jacket 5, and thus are galvanically insulated from each other), but fails to disclose at least one capacitor which is connected between the first outer conductor of the first coaxial cable and the second outer conductor of the second coaxial cable, the method comprising:
conducting electrical power via the first outer conductor of the first coaxial cable, the second outer conductor of the second coaxial cable, the third outer conductor of the third coaxial cable, and the fourth outer conductor of the fourth coaxial cable, and
transmitting data in a first data transmission direction via the first coaxial cable and the fourth coaxial cable; and
transmitting data in a second data transmission direction via the second coaxial cable and the third coaxial cable, wherein
the first data transmission direction and the second data transmission direction are at least temporarily opposite to each other, and
the fourth coaxial cable is arranged diagonally from the first coaxial cable to prevent coupling in the first data transmission direction, and the third coaxial cable is arranged diagonally from the second coaxial cable to prevent coupling in the second data transmission direction.
However, Horan discloses, in figure 12A & 12B, the transmission line comprising at least one additional capacitor which is connected between the first outer conductor of the first coaxial cable and the second outer conductor of the second coaxial cable (Para [0204], “shields [i.e., outer conductor] of the two coax lines 1204 and 1206…are only joined in a…capacitive coupling through a coupling capacitor Cs”), the method comprising:
conducting electrical power (Para [0207], “signals A1 and A2 may be…power”) via the first outer conductor of the first coaxial cable, the second outer conductor of the second coaxial cable, the third outer conductor of the third coaxial cable, and the fourth outer conductor of the fourth coaxial cable (Para [0204] & [0216], “coaxial lines 1204 and 1206…two independent single-ended signals A1 and A2 to be carried on the respective shields [i.e., outer conductors]…shields of the four coax lines 1208A, 1208B, 1210A, and 1210B…carry…+5V power”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the capacitor and method of Horan in the transmission line of Watanabe, to achieve the benefit of allowing two independent single-ended signals to be carried on the respective shields and high-speed data signals carried on the inner conductors of the coaxial lines while still preserving the transmission characteristics of the transmission line (Horan, Para [0204]).
In combination, Watanabe and Horan do not disclose the method comprising transmitting data in a first data transmission direction via the first coaxial cable and the fourth coaxial cable; and
transmitting data in a second data transmission direction via the second coaxial cable and the third coaxial cable, wherein
the direction of the first data transmission and the direction of the second data transmission are at least temporarily opposite to each other, and
the fourth coaxial cable is arranged diagonally from the first coaxial cable to prevent coupling in the first data transmission direction, and the third coaxial cable is arranged diagonally from the second coaxial cable to prevent coupling in the second data transmission direction.
However, Yoshikawa discloses, in figure 2A, the method comprising transmitting data in a first data transmission direction via the first coaxial cable and the fourth coaxial cable (Para [0097], “cable 30 which is a micro coaxial cable…has the four signal cables 330a-330d, two channels each for transmission of a differential signal is formed…one of the two channels is a sending channel and the other is a reception channel”…first coaxial cable 330d and fourth cable 330b may be a first data transmission direction); and
transmitting data in a second data transmission direction via the second coaxial cable and the third coaxial cable (Para [0097], “cable 30 which is a micro coaxial cable…has the four signal cables 330a-330d, two channels each for transmission of a differential signal is formed…one of the two channels is a sending channel and the other is a reception channel”…second coaxial cable 330a and third coaxial cable 330c thus utilizes the second data transmission direction), wherein
the direction of the first data transmission and the direction of the second data transmission are at least temporarily opposite to each other (Para [0097], “cable 30 which is a micro coaxial cable…has the four signal cables 330a-330d, two channels each for transmission of a differential signal is formed…one of the two channels is a sending channel and the other is a reception channel”…i.e., opposite directions), and
the fourth coaxial cable (330b) is arranged diagonally from the first coaxial cable (330d) to prevent coupling in the first data transmission direction (coaxial cables 330b and 330d are arranged diagonally from each other and thus are capable of performing the intended use of preventing coupling in the first data transmission direction), and the third coaxial cable (330c) is arranged diagonally from the second coaxial cable (330a) to prevent coupling in the second data transmission direction (coaxial cables 330c and 330a are arranged diagonally from each other and thus are capable of performing the intended use of preventing coupling in the second data transmission direction)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the transmission directions of Yoshikawa in the transmission line of Watanabe and Horan, to achieve the benefit of utilizing the transmission line for the reception of data and transmission of data from a device (Yoshikawa, Para [0097]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the method of claim 8, and Yoshikawa continues to disclose, in figure 2A, wherein a cross section of the transmission line along most part of its length is such that central axes of each of the first, second, third and fourth coaxial cable are each aligned at one corner of corners of a rhombus (central axes of each coaxial cable 330a-33d are aligned at corners of a rhombus, see figure 2A), wherein the central axes of the first coaxial cable and the fourth coaxial cable are aligned at opposing corners of the rhombus (first 330d and second 330b are aligned at opposing corners), and the central axes of the second coaxial cable and the third coaxial cable are aligned at the other opposing corners of the rhombus (second 330a and third 330c are aligned at opposing corners).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the method of claim 8, and Yoshikawa continues to disclose, in figure 2A, wherein the rhombus is a square (see figure 2A).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the transmission line of claim 1, and Horan continues to disclose, in figure 12A, wherein the transmitted data is digital data (Para [0204] & [0207], “differential data signal “D” which is a high speed signal…signals A1 and A2 which may be DC signals such as power”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the transmission line of claim 1, and Horan continues to disclose, in figure 12A, wherein the first and second outer conductors are connected to each other via the at least one first capacitor at the ends of the first and second outer conductors, respectively (Para [0204], “shields [i.e., outer conductor] of the two coax lines 1204 and 1206…are only joined in a…capacitive coupling through a coupling capacitor Cs”…and capacitor Co).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the method of claim 8, and Horan continues to disclose, in figure 12A, wherein the electrical power comprises a DC current (Para [0204] & [0207], “differential data signal “D” which is a high speed signal…signals A1 and A2 which may be DC signals such as power”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the method of claim 8, and Horan continues to disclose, in figure 12A, wherein the first coaxial cable and the second coaxial cable each have an impedance of 50 Ohms (Para [0213], “50-ohm coax lines are used”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the method of claim 8, and Watanabe continues to disclose, in figure 1 & 7, wherein the first coaxial cable and/or the second coaxial cable is a micro coaxial cable (small coaxial cables 10 utilized for medical applications, Para [0003]), especially with an outer diameter of 0.2 to 1.0 mm (Para [0079], “coaxial cable [i.e., 10 of plural unit 101] having an outer diameter of 0.213 mm”).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the method of claim 8, and Horan continues to disclose, in figure 12A, wherein the at least one first capacitor comprises a capacitor arranged at each end of the transmission line (figure 12A discloses capacitor Cs at an input end and capacitor Co at an output end of the coaxial lines 1204, 1206).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the transmission line of claim 1, and Horan continues to disclose, in figure 12A, wherein the conducting electrical power and the transmitting data are run in parallel (Para [0204] & [0207], “differential data signal “D” which is a high speed signal…signals A1 and A2 which may be DC signals such as power”…see figure 12A, the signals are run in parallel over the cables).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa as applied to claims 1-4, 8-11, 13, & 16-20 above, and further in view of Kleihorst et al. (US 2005/0116711 A1), hereinafter Kleihorst.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa disclose the transmission line of claim 1, but fail to disclose an MRI radio frequency coil.
However, Kleihorst discloses, in figure 3A, an MRI radio frequency coil (Para [0037], “MRI system and providing two 90.degree. drive output signals to the coils of a quadrature transmission coil system”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the MRI coil of Kleihorst in the transmission line of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions (i.e., using small coaxial cables for the transmission of data and power in medical applications), and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa as applied to claims 1-4, 8-11, 13, & 16-20 above, and further in view of Henry et al. (US 2020/0177239 A1), hereinafter Henry.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa discloses the method according to claim 8, but fail to disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising instructions stored thereon, that when executed on a processor, cause the processor to perform the method.
However, Henry discloses, in figure 16B, a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising instructions stored thereon, that when executed on a processor, cause the processor to perform the method (Para [0092] & [0105], “electromagnetic waves can be induced to propagate along a transmission medium by a coupling device such as…a coaxial waveguide…a machine-readable medium can include executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations. The operations can include generating a plurality of electromagnetic waves having differing signal characteristics”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the processor of Henry in the transmission method of Watanabe, Horan, and Yoshikawa, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions [i.e., utilizing a processor to perform a method], and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is allowed.
Claim 5 is allowed because the prior art of record does not disclose nor render obvious the transmission line wherein the third outer conductor is connected to the first outer conductor via at least one second capacitor and to the fourth outer conductor via at least one third capacitor, and the fourth outer conductor is connected to the second outer conductor via at least one fourth capacitor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER J PERENY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2842
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843