DETAILED ACTION
According to paper filed on Feb. 11, 2026, the applicants elected group I and furthermore, elected species II through X for further prosecution.
Since the applicant’s did not specify the specific structure of elected species, a telephone call was made to applicant’s attorney, Ms. Claudia Schultze on Feb. 27, 2026.
During telephone call with Ms. Claudia Schultze on Feb. 27, 2026, the attorney elected compound of formula (I) disclosed on page 2 of specification as specific species for further prosecution.
Claims 16-30 are pending in the application. Claim 28 is withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to non-elected subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 18-26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In independent claim 16, the name or structure of melamine condensation product being prepared, is not defined.
Claims 29 and 30 are directed to use of product. These claims are vague and indefinite since the surface or material on which these products are being applied as well as the steps of applying these products are missing in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being clearly anticipated by Jurgens (J. Am. Chem. Soc., cited on applicant’s form 1449).
Jurgens discloses melamine and its use for preparing condensation products. The Compound 4e (melem) disclosed in scheme 4 on page 10290 by Jurgens clearly anticipates the instant claims. It is of note that the instant claims are directed to product by process and therefore, process is irrelevant.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Heinen (U.S. Patent 6,646,030 B2).
Heinen discloses flame retarded compositions. The flame retarded composition comprising melem (see claim 1) anticipates the instant claim when flame retardant is melem.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Tokunaga (JP 59031861 A, see English translation).
Tokunaga discloses use of melamine and its condensation products to regenerate efficiently a salt bath for nitriding a metallic material. The use of melem (a melamine condensation product) to regenerate efficiently a salt bath for nitriding a metallic material disclosed by Tokunaga anticipates the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 16-18, 20-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Keuzer (WO 96/16948, cited on applicant’s form 1449) in view of Jurgens (J.Am. Chem. Soc., cited on applicant’s form 1449).
DeKeuger discloses a process for preparing melamine condensation products. On page 2 (see lines 3-16), De Keuger discloses a process for producing melamine condensation product (melam) by reacting melamine with zinc and hydrochloric acid. Since the reaction equilibrium shifts to the melam product, at a certain reaction time, a raw product comprising a melamine condensation product and an inorganic residue is formed. De Keuger meets all the limitations of instant claims except that the condensation product is melam instead of melem, does not teach a process for preparing melamine and furthermore, does not mention content of inorganic catalytic residue (at most 2 wt %). However, DeKeuger does teach that melamine condensation products include melem and melam (see page 1, lines 20-21) while Jurgens discloses a process for preparing melamine (see scheme 3 on page 10290). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to prepare melem as a melamine condensation product by modifying the process of Dekeuger with reasonable expectation of success unless applicants provide unexpected results of superior yield etc. of the present process over the process of DeKeuger by presence of at most 2 wt % content of inorganic catalytic residue.
15. Claims 16-17, 20-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (J. of Mater. Chem. C, cited on applicant’s form 1449) in view of Jurgens (J.Am. Chem. Soc., cited on applicant’s form 1449).
Zheng discloses a process for preparing melamine condensation product. The process for preparing melamine condensation product (melem) by reacting raw material with niric acid disclosed on page 10747 (see experimental section 2.1) by Zheng meets all the limitations of instant claims except that it does not teach a process for preparing melamine and furthermore, does not mention content of inorganic catalytic residue (at most 2 wt %). However, Jurgens discloses a process for preparing melamine (see scheme 3 on page 10290). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to prepare melem as a melamine condensation product with reasonable expectation of success unless applicants provide unexpected results of superior yield etc. of the present process over the process of Zheng by presence of at most 2 wt % content of inorganic catalytic residue.
/CHARANJIT AULAKH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621