DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “which control circuit comprises in lines 4-5. However, it is unclear whether “ which control circuit” refers to the control circuit previously recited in the claim or to different control circuit. Accordingly, the scope of the claim is unclear.
For purpose of examination, the examiner interprets “which control circuit” as refereeing to previously recited control circuit, and read the claim as, “ where the control circuit comprises”.
Claims 2-11 depend on claim 1, and are inherited the same deficiency.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “which control circuit comprises in line 6. However, it is unclear whether “ which control circuit” refers to the control circuit previously recited in the claim or to a different control circuit. Accordingly, the scope of the claim is unclear.
For purpose of examination, the examiner interprets “which control circuit” as refereeing to previously recited control circuit, and read the claim as, “ where the control circuit comprises”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “which control circuit comprises in line 7. However, it is unclear whether “ which control circuit” refers to the control circuit previously recited in the claim or to a different control circuit. Accordingly, the scope of the claim is unclear.
For purpose of examination, the examiner interprets “which control circuit” as refereeing to previously recited control circuit, and read the claim as, “ where the control circuit comprises”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Gergely et al. (DE 102016213851), herein after Gergely; with publication date: 01.02.2018. attached is the human translation.
Regarding claim 1, Gergely discloses an electric battery junction arrangement for connecting an electric battery arrangement to one or more electrical loads (fig. 2), the electric battery arrangement comprising two or more electric battery cells (30, 40, fig. 2), wherein the electric battery junction arrangement comprises a control circuit;
which control circuit comprises:
a first control circuit branch connectable to a positive side of the battery arrangement and connectable to a positive side of an electrical load (the current path 60 connecting battery’s positive side to the load positive side, fig. 2 );
a second control circuit branch connectable to a negative side of the battery arrangement and connectable to a negative side of an electrical load ( the second current path 60 connecting battery’s negative side to the load negative side , fig. 2 );
at least one semiconductor apparatus (10, fig. 2) provided between the battery arrangement and the loads and configured to control electric current between the battery arrangement and the loads (The current interruption device 10 is arranged in the main current path 60 between the battery arrangement and a load 200 of the battery arrangement. The current interruption device 10 is arranged and configured to interrupt an electrical current flow between the battery arrangement or the two batteries 30, 40 and the load 200, paragraph [0028]); and
a switching apparatus (50b, fig. 2), which switching apparatus comprises at least one mechanical switch arranged in an electrical circuit connection between the first and the second control circuit branch, for electrically connecting and disconnecting the first and the second control circuit branch to and from each other (the switching unit 50b, or the pyrotechnic switching unit 51b, short -circuits the main current path 60 in the event of an overcurrent towards the two batteries 30, 40, paragraph [0030] note: a pyrotechnic switch (or pyro fuse) functions as an irreversible, one-time mechanical switch).
Regarding claim 2, Gergely further discloses wherein the semiconductor apparatus is disposed in the first control circuit branch between the battery arrangement and the electrical circuit connection (10 is connected at the first current path 60, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Gergely further discloses wherein the semiconductor apparatus is disposed in the second control circuit branch between the battery arrangement and the electrical circuit connection (the current interruption arrangement 10 can also be arranged in a current path at the negative terminal of the battery arrangement, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Gergely further discloses wherein the semiconductor apparatus comprises a first semiconductor apparatus disposed in the first control circuit branch between the battery arrangement and the electrical circuit connection(10 is connected at the first current path 60, fig. 2) and a second semiconductor apparatus disposed in the second control circuit branch between the battery arrangement and the electrical circuit connection (the current interruption arrangement 10 can also be arranged in a current path at the negative terminal of the battery arrangement, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Gergely further discloses wherein the first and/or the second semiconductor apparatus comprises at least two transistors connected back-to-back (the IGBTs shown in the figures can also be replaced by power MOSFETs or other power semiconductors, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Gergely further discloses wherein the switching apparatus is an electrically operable switching apparatus (the switching unit 50b is configured as a pyro technic switching unit 51b, paragraph [0030]Note: A pyrotechnic switching unit is electrically operated. An electrical signal, such as a current from a control unit or sensor, fires a small internal explosive charge. This chemical reaction generates gas pressure or mechanical force to open or close high-current electrical circuits in milliseconds).
Regarding claim 7, Gergely further discloses wherein the switching apparatus is controllable in response to a control signal from a controller (To control or trigger the switching unit 50b, the battery system 100b has a controller 70, paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Gergely further discloses wherein the switching apparatus configured to short-circuit the electric battery arrangement by keeping the at least one mechanical switch in a closed position (the switching unit 50b shown in Fig. 2 is arranged and configured such that the switching unit 50b, or the pyrotechnic switching unit 51b, short -circuits the main current path 60 in the event of an overcurrent towards the two batteries 30, 40, paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 9, Gergely further discloses wherein the switching apparatus is configured to keep the at least one mechanical switch in an open position during operation of the electric battery arrangement (The pyrotechnic switching unit is designed in particular as a pyrotechnic normally open contact or as a pyrotechnic fuse, which, in the event of an overcurrent in the direction of the at least one battery, short -circuits the main current path, paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 12 , Gergely discloses an electrical system comprising an electric battery junction arrangement for connecting an electric battery arrangement to one or more electrical loads (fig. 2), the electric battery arrangement comprising two or more electric battery cells(30, 40, fig. 2),
wherein the electric battery junction arrangement comprises a control circuit; which control circuit comprises: a first control circuit branch connectable to a positive side of the battery arrangement and connectable to a positive side of an electrical load (the current path 60 connecting battery’s positive side to the load positive side, fig. 2);
a second control circuit branch connectable to a negative side of the battery arrangement and connectable to a negative side of an electrical load (the second current path 60 connecting battery’s negative side to the load negative side , fig. 2);
at least one semiconductor apparatus (10, fig. 2) provided between the battery arrangement and the loads and configured to control electric current between the battery arrangement and the loads (The current interruption device 10 is arranged in the main current path 60 between the battery arrangement and a load 200 of the battery arrangement. The current interruption device 10 is arranged and configured to interrupt an electrical current flow between the battery arrangement or the two batteries 30, 40 and the load 200, paragraph [0028]); and
a switching apparatus (50b, fig. 2), which switching apparatus comprises at least one mechanical switch arranged in an electrical circuit connection between the first and the second control circuit branch for electrically connecting and disconnecting the first and the second control circuit branch to and from each other(the switching unit 50b, or the pyrotechnic switching unit 51b, short -circuits the main current path 60 in the event of an overcurrent towards the two batteries 30, 40, paragraph [0030] note: a pyrotechnic switch (or pyro fuse) functions as an irreversible, one-time mechanical switch).
Regarding claim 13, Gergely discloses a vehicle comprising an electric battery junction arrangement for connecting an electric battery arrangement to one or more electrical loads (fig. 2), the electric battery arrangement comprising two or more electric battery cells (30, 40, fig. 2), wherein the electric battery junction arrangement comprises a control circuit;
which control circuit comprises: a first control circuit branch connectable to a positive side of the battery arrangement and connectable to a positive side of an electrical load (the current path 60 connecting battery’s positive side to the load positive side, fig. 2);
a second control circuit branch connectable to a negative side of the battery arrangement and connectable to a negative side of an electrical load (the second current path 60 connecting battery’s negative side to the load negative side , fig. 2);
at least one semiconductor apparatus (10, fig. 2) provided between the battery arrangement and the loads and configured to control electric current between the battery arrangement and the loads (The current interruption device 10 is arranged in the main current path 60 between the battery arrangement and a load 200 of the battery arrangement. The current interruption device 10 is arranged and configured to interrupt an electrical current flow between the battery arrangement or the two batteries 30, 40 and the load 200, paragraph [0028]); and
a switching apparatus (50b, fig. 2), which switching apparatus comprises at least one mechanical switch arranged in an electrical circuit connection between the first and the second control circuit branch for electrically connecting and disconnecting the first and the second control circuit branch to and from each other(the switching unit 50b, or the pyrotechnic switching unit 51b, short -circuits the main current path 60 in the event of an overcurrent towards the two batteries 30, 40, paragraph [0030] note: a pyrotechnic switch (or pyro fuse) functions as an irreversible, one-time mechanical switch).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gergely (DE 102016213851), and Pannwitz (US 6,687,103).
Regarding claim 10, Gergely discloses an electric battery junction arrangement according to claim 1. However, Gergely does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuit further comprises at least one overload current breaker provided between the battery arrangement and the electrical circuit connection between the first and the second control circuit branch.
Pannwitz discloses a control circuit to charge/discharge a battery (abstract). Pannwitz further discloses wherein the control circuit further comprises at least one overload current breaker provided between the battery arrangement and the electrical circuit connection between the first and the second control circuit branch (the fuse 11 is connected between the battery 1 and the control lines, fig. 4; col. 1, lines 52-55).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gergely’s battery junction arrangement to include the circuit breaker between the battery and the load-connecting terminals as taught by Pannwitz, in order to protect the wiring from dangerous over current, prevents electrical fires during a short circuit, and provides a manual disconnect switch for safe system maintenance.
Regarding claim 11, Gergely in view of Pannwitz discloses an electric battery junction arrangement according to claim 10. However, Gergely does not explicitly disclose wherein said overload current breaker comprises any of thermal breaker, mechanical breaker, electronic breaker or combinations thereof.
Pannwitz discloses a control circuit to charge/discharge a battery (abstract). Pannwitz further discloses wherein said overload current breaker comprises any of thermal breaker, mechanical breaker, electronic breaker or combinations thereof (the fuse 11 is connected between the battery 1 and the control lines, fig. 4; col. 1, lines 52-55).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gergely’s battery junction arrangement to include the circuit breaker between the battery and the load-connecting terminals as taught by Pannwitz, in order to protect the wiring from dangerous over current, prevents electrical fires during a short circuit, and provides a manual disconnect switch for safe system maintenance.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859