DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed 3/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 and 14-19 under 35 USC 103a as obvious over Couillard and Schneider and claim(s) 12-13 under 35 USC 103a as obvious over Couillard and Schneider as applied to claims 1-11 and 14-19 and further in view of CN 107150424 A have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly applied Kawaguchi.
Applicant has amended both claims 1 and 18 to recite that “comprising a sonotrode rotatable about a first axis, the first axis having an axial direction” Couillard discloses this element, but as a result of the definition of the axial direction now amended into the claim, Couillard does not disclose the full limitation of characterised in that at least two support elements are engageable or are in engagement with the sonotrode in such a way that a force acting perpendicularly to the first axis on an engagement portion of the first sealing surface is at least partially taken up by the at least two support elements, the at least two support elements being spaced from each other in the axial direction.
However, Kawaguchi discloses that at least two support elements (backup rollers 39) are engageable or are in engagement with the roller or pressure device (main roller 38) in such a way that a force acting perpendicularly to the first axis on an engagement portion of the first sealing surface is at least partially taken up by the at least two support elements, the at least two support elements being spaced from each other in the axial direction (as shown by the three backup rollers spaced apparat from each other in the axial direction of main roller 38).
See especially Figure 1 and 7, showing different views of Kawaguchi.
Figure 1, 6 and 7 directly show that at least six back up rollers are associated with the main roller 38. Kawaguchi does this in order to “equalizes pressures applied to the object by the main roller 38 in the axial direction” as taught in paragraph 0023
See paragraph 0023 and 0033-35, disclosing:
[0023] A roller-type depressing device of the present disclosure is to depress an object with a main roller 38, and mainly includes a pressure adjusting plate 332 provided with the main roller 38, a roller moving unit that moves the main roller 38 relative to the object, a pressure adjusting unit that holds the pressure adjusting plate 332 in such a way that force produced by a pressure difference in fluid applied to both faces of the pressure adjusting plate 332 acts on the main roller 38, a pressure receiving stage 322 receiving the pressure of the main roller 38 via the object, a pressure adjuster that adjusts the pressure difference in fluid applied to both faces of the pressure adjusting plate 332, and a pressure equalizer (backup rollers 39) that equalizes pressures applied to the object by the main roller 38 in the axial direction.
…
[0033] In general, the main roller 38 is axially supported at both ends thereof. In order to increase the transfer area, it is preferable to elongate the main roller 38 in the axial direction. When, however, the main roller 38 becomes too long, the pressure at both ends of the supported main roller 38 is large, but the pressure decreases toward the center of the main roller. Hence, according to the imprint device of the present disclosure, the pressure equalizer that equalizes the pressure of the main roller 38 in the axial direction is further provided. An example pressure equalizer is backup rollers 39 which are disposed between the main roller 38 and the pressure adjusting plate 332, and which supports the center portion of the main roller 38. More specifically, as illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 7, the backup rollers 39 are each formed in a cylindrical shape that is shorter than the main roller 38 in the axial direction, and are disposed so as to support force produced between the pressure adjusting plate 332 and the main roller 38 through both ends of the backup roller in the axial direction. According to this structure, the backup rollers 39 turn around both ends together with the turning of the main roller 38, and support the main roller 38. As illustrated in FIG. 1, it is preferable that the two backup rollers 39 should be disposed between the main roller 38 and the pressure adjusting plate 332, and back and forth in the moving direction of the main roller. When the backup rollers 39 are provided back and forth in the moving direction in this manner, it becomes possible to prevent the rotation axis of the main roller 38 from being shifted back and forth, thereby stabilizing the rotation axis. Needless to say, the number of the backup rollers 39 is not limited to two, and may be one or equal to or greater than three.
[0034] The pressure equalizer is not limited to the backup rollers 39 as long as it can equalize the pressure of the main roller 38 in the axial direction, and it is not illustrated in the figure but a backup belt which is provided between the main roller 38 and the pressure adjusting plate 332, and which supports the center portion of the main roller 38 may be adopted. The backup belt may be disposed around a roller, etc., supported by the pressure adjusting plate 332 and may be supported by such a roller.
[0035] The roller moving unit is to move the main roller 38 relative to the object that is the die 1 or the molding target 2, and to depress the whole molding face of the die 1 against the molding target 2. The roller moving unit is not limited to any particular structure as long as it can move the main roller 38, but includes, for example, a moving plate 381 movable on guide rails 381 provided on the pressure adjusting plate 332, a screw 383 which is disposed on the pressure adjusting plate 332, and which converts the rotation motion into the linear motion of the moving plate 382, and an electric motor (unillustrated) that turns the screw 383. In addition, the main roller 38 and the backup rollers 39 may have respective both ends of the rotation axes fixed to the moving plate. In this case, it is preferable that force applied to the main roller 38 should be mainly supported by the backup roller 39. Hence, in order to apply no load to both axial ends of the main roller 38, a play that permits both axial ends to move horizontally or vertically may be provided. For example, the shaft of the main roller 38 may be held by holes slightly larger than the diameter of the shaft of the main roller. Moreover, in order to appropriately support force applied to the backup rollers 39, it is preferable that the guide rails 381 should be disposed in a manner aligned with both ends of the backup rollers 39. The roller moving unit may be a manual mechanism that turns the screw 383 through a handle instead of the electric motor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the full limitation that at least two support elements are engageable or are in engagement with the sonotrode in such a way that a force acting perpendicularly to the first axis on an engagement portion of the first sealing surface is at least partially taken up by the at least two support elements, the at least two support elements being spaced from each other in the axial direction by utilizing the backup rollers of Kawaguchi in order to equalizes pressures applied to the object in the axial direction.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 uses the phrase “a third axis” in line 2. Although Claim 1 recites a first axis,, claim 8 does not define a second axis, nor do the parent claims to claim 8. Claim 3 does recite a second axis, but is not a parent claim to claim 8. It is suggested that applicant either amend claim 8 to recite “another axis” or alternatively make claim 8 properly directly recite or being dependent from a claim reciting the second axis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“support element” in claim 1, 2, 9, 10, 17. The specification and dependent claims discloses that the support element “is designed as a roller which is rotatable about a second axis which is arranged parallel to the first axis” (see claim 3, which uses this language to recite the sufficient structure for performing the function) or “is two rollers” (see the language used in claim 11, ).
“counter-tool” in claim 8. The specification and other claims discloses that the counter-tool includes “a sealing surface” (see claim 7) or “a cylindrical portion with a circumferential surface, wherein the circumferential surface of the cylindrical portion of the counter-tool forms the second sealing surface.” (see claim 15) which as the sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. It is noted that “the counter-tool” as used in claim 8 appears to be the same structure as “a counter tool” as used in claim 7; however, claim 8 is not dependent from claim 7 and the presence of the dash in the version of claim 8 is different from claim 7.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” or a generic placeholder for “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“counter tool” in claim 7. The term “with a second sealing surface” is sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couillard (US 20020062900 A1) in view of Schneider (US 20050034820 A1) and Kawaguchi (US 20150283754 A1).
As to claim 1, Couillard discloses a device for the ultrasonic processing of materials,
comprising a sonotrode (an ultrasonic horn 20) rotatable about a first axis (horn axis 44), the first axis having an axial direction, the sonotrode having a first sealing surface (bonding surface 42) extending in the axial direction (see paragraph 0069, disclosing “Horn support apparatus 18 includes rotating ultrasonic horn 20 as a bonding roll supported adjacent and above workpiece segment 24. Horn 20 has an outer peripheral bonding surface 42 which contacts and acts upon workpiece segment 24, and which rotates about a horn axis 44 in the direction indicated by arrow 46.”),
characterised in that at least two support elements (back-up roll 54 and first and second support rolls 56A and 56B) are engageable or is in engagement with the sonotrode in such a way that a force acting perpendicularly to the first axis on an engagement portion of the first sealing surface is at least partially taken up by the at least two support elements.
See paragraphs 0066-0071, below:
[0066] Referring to the drawings, FIG. 1 illustrates in semi-block format, the general locations of the major elements and assemblies of apparatus of the invention. As illustrated in FIG. 1, bonding apparatus 10 of the invention generally comprises a frame 12, anvil support apparatus 14 supporting an anvil roll 16, and horn support apparatus 18 supporting an ultrasonic horn 20. Together, horn 20 and anvil roll 16 form a bonding nip 22 which is illustratively bonding a workpiece segment 24 shown in dashed outline passing through the nip. FIGS. 2 and 4 illustrate details of horn support apparatus 18. FIG. 3 illustrates details of anvil support apparatus 14.
[0067] Referring back to FIG. 1, frame 12 is fabricated from a rigid, stiff material such as metal. Preferred metals include a variety of well known stiff and rigid steel or cast iron compositions. Frame 12 includes a base plate 26, a rear plate 28 rigidly is mounted to base plate 26 e.g. by welding or bolting, and left and right side plates 30, 32, each being respectively rigidly mounted to both base plate 26 and rear plate 28 e.g. as by welding or bolting. Side plates 30, 32 are each rigidly mounted to both base plate 26 and rear plate 28 whereby the so-defined frame 12 provides a support assembly suitably rigid for supporting the anvil support structure and the horn support structure, thereby to provide an increased level of structural rigidity at nip 22 while also providing for release from such rigidity to accommodate variations in thickness of the e.g. workpiece segment material passing through the nip.
[0068] Referring now to FIGS. 1 and 2, horn support apparatus 18 can be used in combination with anvil support apparatus 14 to develop bonds in a continuously moving workpiece segment 24. In the alternative, anvil support apparatus 18 and horn support apparatus 14 can be used to bond two or more workpiece segments 24, 34 to each other as illustrated in FIG. 4 or to bond discrete elements to a workpiece segment or discrete elements to each other when at least one of the elements is already mounted or bonded to such workpiece segment. In any event, a continuous workpiece segment is preferably involved in the bonding process, whether as a support for elements being bonded to each other, as a continuous element being bonded either to another continuous element or to discrete spaced elements, or as a continuous element being bonded internally within its own structure. Workpiece segment 24 is continuously moving along a substrate path 36 in the direction indicated by arrow 38.
[0069] Horn support apparatus 18 includes rotating ultrasonic horn 20 as a bonding roll supported adjacent and above workpiece segment 24. Horn 20 has an outer peripheral bonding surface 42 which contacts and acts upon workpiece segment 24, and which rotates about a horn axis 44 in the direction indicated by arrow 46. Rotatable anvil roll 16, part of anvil support apparatus 14, is located adjacent horn 20. Anvil roll 16 is configured to rotate about anvil axis 50 in the direction indicated by arrow 52 associated therewith to press workpiece segment 24 against bonding surface 42 of horn 20, thereby creating bonds at workpiece segment 24.
[0070] In some embodiments, horn axis 44 and anvil axis 50 are disposed in substantial alignment with each other, deviating from a parallel relationship by no more than about 10 degrees. Preferably, horn axis 44 and anvil axis 50 are disposed in such as way as to reflect a parallel relationship between horn axis 44 and anvil axis 50.
[0071] In the embodiments illustrated in FIGS. 1, 2, 4, and 5, outer peripheral bonding surface 42 is contacted and supported by back-up roll 54 and first and second support rolls 56A and 56B. In the illustrated examples, rolls 54, 56A, and 56B are spaced at regular intervals about outer peripheral bonding surface 42 of horn 20 so as to maintain the horn in a substantially fixed position while the horn is being used to form ultrasonic bonds.
See also Figure 2 and 4, reprinted below:
Couillard does not disclose the device having a first radial bearing which supports the sonotrode, wherein at least a portion of the first sealing surface is spaced in the axial direction from the radial bearing. Couillard also does not disclose the full limitation of characterised in that at least two support elements are engageable or are in engagement with the sonotrode in such a way that a force acting perpendicularly to the first axis on an engagement portion of the first sealing surface is at least partially taken up by the at least two support elements, the at least two support elements being spaced from each other in the axial direction.
However, Schneider discloses an ultrasound welding apparatus utilizing the device having a first radial bearing (radial bearings 26) which supports the sonotrode, wherein at least a portion of the first sealing surface is spaced in the axial direction from the radial bearing. See especially paragraphs 0007 and 0035-37, disclosing:
[0007] In a further development, radial bearings are furnished between the amplitude transformer and the rotating roller. These radial bearings are located particularly in a nodal point of the longitudinal oscillation, so that no or negligibly small oscillation amplitudes affect the bearings.
…
[0035] In FIG. 1, two rotating components can be seen, identified in general by reference numbers 10 and 12, between which two or more material webs 14 and 16 are being fed, wherein the two material webs 14 and 16 are bonded and/or welded together are they pass through a working gap 18. The pass-through direction is indicated by the arrow 20.
[0036] The component 10 possesses a central rotating roller 22, to which amplitude transformers 24 are attached on both sides, with radial bearings 26 furnished on said transformers. The amplitude transformers 24 are coupled to ultrasonic converters 28 through which a mechanical vibration can be generated in the longitudinal direction, i.e., in the direction of the double arrow 30. Rotary couplers 32 are furnished on the end faces of the ultrasonic converters 28 through which the ultrasonic converters 28 are provided with energy.
[0037] A counter-roller 34, which is similarly carried rotatably on radial bearings 36, is disposed opposite the rotating roller. The surface of the counter-roller 34 has ribs 50 running in the longitudinal direction which impart a texture to the counter-roller which is transferred to the material webs 14 and 16 when they are bonded.
See also Figure 1, reproduced below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein the device having a first radial bearing which supports the sonotrode, wherein at least a portion of the first sealing surface is spaced in the axial direction from the radial bearing in order to mount the central roller as taught in Schneider so that no or negligibly small oscillation amplitudes affect the bearings.
Finally, Kawaguchi discloses that at least two support elements (backup rollers 39) are engageable or are in engagement with the roller or pressure device (main roller 38) in such a way that a force acting perpendicularly to the first axis on an engagement portion of the first sealing surface is at least partially taken up by the at least two support elements, the at least two support elements being spaced from each other in the axial direction (as shown by the three backup rollers spaced apparat from each other in the axial direction of main roller 38).
See especially Figure 1 and 7, showing different views of Kawaguchi.
Figure 1, 6 and 7 directly show that at least six back up rollers are associated with the main roller 38. Kawaguchi does this in order to “equalizes pressures applied to the object by the main roller 38 in the axial direction” as taught in paragraph 0023
See paragraph 0023 and 0033-35, disclosing:
[0023] A roller-type depressing device of the present disclosure is to depress an object with a main roller 38, and mainly includes a pressure adjusting plate 332 provided with the main roller 38, a roller moving unit that moves the main roller 38 relative to the object, a pressure adjusting unit that holds the pressure adjusting plate 332 in such a way that force produced by a pressure difference in fluid applied to both faces of the pressure adjusting plate 332 acts on the main roller 38, a pressure receiving stage 322 receiving the pressure of the main roller 38 via the object, a pressure adjuster that adjusts the pressure difference in fluid applied to both faces of the pressure adjusting plate 332, and a pressure equalizer (backup rollers 39) that equalizes pressures applied to the object by the main roller 38 in the axial direction.
…
[0033] In general, the main roller 38 is axially supported at both ends thereof. In order to increase the transfer area, it is preferable to elongate the main roller 38 in the axial direction. When, however, the main roller 38 becomes too long, the pressure at both ends of the supported main roller 38 is large, but the pressure decreases toward the center of the main roller. Hence, according to the imprint device of the present disclosure, the pressure equalizer that equalizes the pressure of the main roller 38 in the axial direction is further provided. An example pressure equalizer is backup rollers 39 which are disposed between the main roller 38 and the pressure adjusting plate 332, and which supports the center portion of the main roller 38. More specifically, as illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 7, the backup rollers 39 are each formed in a cylindrical shape that is shorter than the main roller 38 in the axial direction, and are disposed so as to support force produced between the pressure adjusting plate 332 and the main roller 38 through both ends of the backup roller in the axial direction. According to this structure, the backup rollers 39 turn around both ends together with the turning of the main roller 38, and support the main roller 38. As illustrated in FIG. 1, it is preferable that the two backup rollers 39 should be disposed between the main roller 38 and the pressure adjusting plate 332, and back and forth in the moving direction of the main roller. When the backup rollers 39 are provided back and forth in the moving direction in this manner, it becomes possible to prevent the rotation axis of the main roller 38 from being shifted back and forth, thereby stabilizing the rotation axis. Needless to say, the number of the backup rollers 39 is not limited to two, and may be one or equal to or greater than three.
[0034] The pressure equalizer is not limited to the backup rollers 39 as long as it can equalize the pressure of the main roller 38 in the axial direction, and it is not illustrated in the figure but a backup belt which is provided between the main roller 38 and the pressure adjusting plate 332, and which supports the center portion of the main roller 38 may be adopted. The backup belt may be disposed around a roller, etc., supported by the pressure adjusting plate 332 and may be supported by such a roller.
[0035] The roller moving unit is to move the main roller 38 relative to the object that is the die 1 or the molding target 2, and to depress the whole molding face of the die 1 against the molding target 2. The roller moving unit is not limited to any particular structure as long as it can move the main roller 38, but includes, for example, a moving plate 381 movable on guide rails 381 provided on the pressure adjusting plate 332, a screw 383 which is disposed on the pressure adjusting plate 332, and which converts the rotation motion into the linear motion of the moving plate 382, and an electric motor (unillustrated) that turns the screw 383. In addition, the main roller 38 and the backup rollers 39 may have respective both ends of the rotation axes fixed to the moving plate. In this case, it is preferable that force applied to the main roller 38 should be mainly supported by the backup roller 39. Hence, in order to apply no load to both axial ends of the main roller 38, a play that permits both axial ends to move horizontally or vertically may be provided. For example, the shaft of the main roller 38 may be held by holes slightly larger than the diameter of the shaft of the main roller. Moreover, in order to appropriately support force applied to the backup rollers 39, it is preferable that the guide rails 381 should be disposed in a manner aligned with both ends of the backup rollers 39. The roller moving unit may be a manual mechanism that turns the screw 383 through a handle instead of the electric motor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the full limitation that at least two support elements are engageable or are in engagement with the sonotrode in such a way that a force acting perpendicularly to the first axis on an engagement portion of the first sealing surface is at least partially taken up by the at least two support elements, the at least two support elements being spaced from each other in the axial direction by utilizing the backup rollers of Kawaguchi in order to equalizes pressures applied to the object in the axial direction.
As to claim 2, Couillard discloses that the support element (rollers 54, 56A and 56B) is spaced apart from the sonotrode (ultrasonic horn 20) in the axial direction. Additionally, Kawaguchi discloses that at least two support elements are spaced apart in the axial direction. See Figures 1, 6, and 7, above.
As noted above, Couillard does not disclose the radial bearing; however, Schneider discloses the radial bearing (see paragraphs 0007 and 0035-37, cited above in claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to utilize a radial bearing in order to mount the central roller as taught in Schneider so that no or negligibly small oscillation amplitudes affect the bearings.
As to claim 3, Couillard discloses that the support element is designed as a roller which is rotatable about a second axis which is arranged parallel to the first axis. See, for example, paragraphs 0019 and 0084, disclosing:
[0019] In some embodiments, the ultrasonic bonding apparatus includes first and second support rolls releasably supporting opposing sides of an outer surface of the ultrasonic horn, axes of the first and second support rolls being disposed vertically the second axis.
…
[0084] Back-up roll 54, and support rolls 56A, 56B can be made from any suitable material capable of holding horn 20 in a substantially fixed position. Exemplary materials for rolls 54, 56A, 56B include metal such as steel and alloys of other metals, rubber, urethane, and other durable materials capable of withstanding the pressure and ultrasonic energy environments imposed on the respective rolls. In one embodiment, rolls 54, 56A, 56B are configured to contact bonding surface 42 of horn 20. Desirably, the support rolls, through frictional engagement with horn 20, rotate with the horn to effectively support the horn without adversely affecting rotation or ultrasonic vibration of the horn. Rolls 56A, 56B can include ball bearings as supports for the rolls, can comprise bearings per se, or can comprise idler rolls, as are known to those skilled in the art, configured to contact bonding surface 42 of horn 20.
Additionally, Kawaguchi as incorporated also discloses that each of the at least two support elements is designed as a roller (backup rollers 39) which is rotatable about a second axis which is arranged parallel to the first axis (see paragraph 0033, disclosing “the backup rollers 39 turn around both ends together with the turning of the main roller 38, and support the main roller 38”)
As to claim 4, Couillard discloses that the roller has a circumferential surface which is curved in the axial direction. See Couillard, Figure 2 and 4, showing round rollers which are curved in the axial direction.
Similarly, Kawaguchi as incorporated also discloses that the roller has a circumferential surface (see Figure 1) which is curved in the axial direction. See paragraph 0033, which discloses “the backup rollers 39 are each formed in a cylindrical shape that is shorter than the main roller 38 in the axial direction”. The disclosure of a cylindrical shape reads on the claimed limitation.
As to claim 5, Couillard and Kawaguchi does not disclose that the device has a second radial bearing supporting the sonotrode, wherein the engagement portion of the sealing surface is arranged in the axial direction between the first and the second radial bearing.
However, Schneider discloses that the device has a second radial bearing supporting the sonotrode, wherein the engagement portion of the sealing surface is arranged in the axial direction between the first and the second radial bearing. See Figure 1, above in the rejection of claim 1, showing two radial bearings 26.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to utilize that the device has a second radial bearing supporting the sonotrode, wherein the engagement portion of the sealing surface is arranged in the axial direction between the first and the second radial bearing in order to mount the central roller as taught in Schneider so that no or negligibly small oscillation amplitudes affect the bearings.
As to claim 6, Couillard disclose that the sonotrode has a cylindrical portion with a circumferential surface, the circumferential surface forming the sealing surface and the support member being in contact with the sealing surface. See Couillard, paragraph 0069, disclosing “Horn 20 has an outer peripheral bonding surface 42 which contacts and acts upon workpiece segment 24”, and paragraph 0071, disclosing “outer peripheral bonding surface 42 is contacted and supported by back-up roll 54 and first and second support rolls 56A and 56B.”. See also Schneider, which discloses that the sonotrode has a cylindrical portion with a circumferential surface, the circumferential surface forming the sealing surface, in paragraph 0036, “The component 10 possesses a central rotating roller 22, to which amplitude transformers 24 are attached on both sides, with radial bearings 26 furnished on said transformers.”
Schneider as incorporated also discloses that the sonotrode has a cylindrical portion with a circumferential surface, the circumferential surface forming the sealing surface.
As to claim 7, Couillard discloses that a counter tool (anvil roll 16) with a second sealing surface (outer working surface 64 of anvil roll 16) is provided, which is arranged in such a way that a slit (nip 22) remains between the first and the second sealing surface, through which the materials to be processed can be advanced. See paragraph 0066, reciting that “Together, horn 20 and anvil roll 16 form a bonding nip 22 which is illustratively bonding a workpiece segment 24 shown in dashed outline passing through the nip.”
Additionally, Schneider as incorporated also discloses that a counter tool (“counter-roller 34”) with a second sealing surface is provided, which is arranged in such a way that a slit (“working gap 18”) remains between the first and the second sealing surface, through which the materials to be processed can be advanced. See paragraph 0035-37, disclosing:
[0035] In FIG. 1, two rotating components can be seen, identified in general by reference numbers 10 and 12, between which two or more material webs 14 and 16 are being fed, wherein the two material webs 14 and 16 are bonded and/or welded together are they pass through a working gap 18. The pass-through direction is indicated by the arrow 20.
[0036] The component 10 possesses a central rotating roller 22, to which amplitude transformers 24 are attached on both sides, with radial bearings 26 furnished on said transformers. The amplitude transformers 24 are coupled to ultrasonic converters 28 through which a mechanical vibration can be generated in the longitudinal direction, i.e., in the direction of the double arrow 30. Rotary couplers 32 are furnished on the end faces of the ultrasonic converters 28 through which the ultrasonic converters 28 are provided with energy.
[0037] A counter-roller 34, which is similarly carried rotatably on radial bearings 36, is disposed opposite the rotating roller. The surface of the counter-roller 34 has ribs 50 running in the longitudinal direction which impart a texture to the counter-roller which is transferred to the material webs 14 and 16 when they are bonded.
As to claim 8, Couillard discloses that the counter-tool is rotatable about a third axis (anvil axis) which is arranged parallel to the first axis. See paragraph 0069, disclosing “Anvil roll 16 is configured to rotate about anvil axis 50 in the direction indicated by arrow 52 associated therewith to press workpiece segment 24 against bonding surface 42 of horn 20, thereby creating bonds at workpiece segment 24.”
Additionally, Schneider discloses the counter tool is rotatable about a different axis which is arranged parallel to the first axis.
As to claim 9, Couillard discloses characterized in that the sonotrode is adapted for being excited into resonant vibration with an acoustic ultrasonic vibration of the wavelength ʎ (see rollers 54 and 56A and 56B). See paragraph 0078, disclosing:
[0078] As representatively illustrated in FIGS. 1, 2, and 4, horn 20 generally comprises a shaped metal object. Representative examples of rotary ultrasonic horns which can be used in the present invention are described in U.S. Pat. No. 5,096,532 to Neuwirth et al and U.S. Pat. No. 5,110,403 to Ehlert, both of which are herein incorporated by reference in their entireties. In general, rotary ultrasonic horn 20 can be made from any metal having suitable acoustical and mechanical properties. Suitable metals include aluminum, monel, titanium, and some alloy steels. Titanium is preferred for its overall combination of desirable properties. In general, variables such as diameter, mass, width, thickness, and configuration of the rotary ultrasonic horn can be varied within substantial ranges. However, such variables, along with composition of the horn, do determine the particular frequency and amplitude at which a particular rotary ultrasonic horn resonates, which can affect bond quality and consistency. In particular, diameter, width, and thickness of the horn are selected such that the horn, upon being excited by ultrasonic energy at a desired frequency, is adapted to resonate such that the excited end moves substantially in phase with movement of the excitation source, and the bonding surface 42 also moves in a suitable pattern which is directed generally perpendicular to annular bonding surface 42 of the horn.
As to claim 10, Couillard discloses that the at least one support element is movable relative to the sonotrode in the radial direction. See paragraph 0085, disclosing “Support arms 85A, 85B extend from lever arms 82A, 82B at pivot anchors 84A, 84B respectively, and move in unison with the respective lever arms, to move rolls 56A, 56B into and out of engagement with outer surface 42 of horn 20.” See also paragraph 0089, disclosing “As illustrated in FIG. 2, horn support assembly 58 includes cradle arm 112 and back-up roll 54. Cradle arm 112 includes cradle 113 which extends on both sides of back-up roll 54.” and “Cradle arm 112 is mounted for pivotation with respect to mounting bracket 102 at pivot pin 116, and extends from mounting bracket 102 to spring mounting plate 106.”
Additionally, Kawaguchi discloses that the at least two support elements are movable relative to the press in the radial direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the full limitation that the at least two support elements are movable relative to the press in the radial direction by utilizing the backup rollers of Kawaguchi in order to equalizes pressures applied to the object in the axial direction.
As to claim 11, Couillard discloses that the support element has two rollers, the two rollers being rotatable about axes spaced apart from each other, each roller being rotatable about an axis parallel to the first axis. See Figures 2 and 4, rollers 54, 56A and 56B.
Couillard, however, does not disclose the full limitation of that each of the at least two support elements have two rollers, the two rollers being rotatable about axes spaced apart from each other, each roller being rotatable about an axis parallel to the first axis.
However, Kawaguchi discloses that each of the at least two support elements have two rollers, the two rollers being rotatable about axes spaced apart from each other, each roller being rotatable about an axis parallel to the first axis. See especially Figure 6, showing two sets of three backup rollers 39, which reads on the limitation of each of the at least two support elements have two rollers, the two rollers being rotatable about axes spaced apart from each other, each roller being rotatable about an axis parallel to the first axis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the full limitation the full limitation of that each of the at least two support elements have two rollers, the two rollers being rotatable about axes spaced apart from each other, each roller being rotatable about an axis parallel to the first axis by utilizing the six backup rollers of Kawaguchi in order to equalizes pressures applied to the object in the axial direction.
As to claim 14, Couillard, Schneider and Kawaguchi each does not disclose wherein the radius of curvature of the axial curvature is at least 10 mm.
However, changes in size and shape is very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Additionally, optimization of variables and parameters such as the radius of curvature is often obvious as routine experimentation and optimization. MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized shapes and sizes and parameters wherein the radius of curvature of the axial curvature is at least 10 mm as an obvious change in size and shape and an obvious optimization of variables and parameters such as the radius of curvature through routine experimentation and optimization
As to claim 15, Couillard discloses wherein the counter-tool has a cylindrical portion with a circumferential surface, wherein the circumferential surface of the cylindrical portion of the counter-tool forms the second sealing surface. See paragraph 0069, disclosing “Rotatable anvil roll 16, part of anvil support apparatus 14, is located adjacent horn 20. Anvil roll 16 is configured to rotate about anvil axis 50 in the direction indicated by arrow 52 associated therewith to press workpiece segment 24 against bonding surface 42 of horn 20, thereby creating bonds at workpiece segment 24.” See also paragraph 0090, disclosing “outer working surface 64 of anvil roll 16”
Additionally, Schneider as incorporated also discloses wherein the counter tool has a cylindrical portion with a circumferential surface, wherein the circumferential surface of the cylindrical portion of the counter tool forms the second sealing surface. See paragraph 0037, disclosing:
[0037] A counter-roller 34, which is similarly carried rotatably on radial bearings 36, is disposed opposite the rotating roller. The surface of the counter-roller 34 has ribs 50 running in the longitudinal direction which impart a texture to the counter-roller which is transferred to the material webs 14 and 16 when they are bonded.
As to claim 16, Couillard does not disclose wherein the at least two support elements comprise adjacent support elements, and wherein the adjacent support elements are spaced apart in the axial direction by a distance of ʎ/2 or a multiple thereof. Kawaguchi, however, does disclose wherein the at least two support elements comprise adjacent support elements (see Figure 6)
However, changes in size and shape is very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Additionally, optimization of variables and parameters such as the spacing in the axial direction is often obvious as routine experimentation and optimization. MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized shapes and sizes and parameters wherein the at least two support elements comprise adjacent support elements, and wherein the adjacent support elements are spaced apart in the axial direction by a distance of ʎ/2 or a multiple thereof as an obvious change in size and shape and an obvious optimization of variables and parameters such as the radius of curvature through routine experimentation and optimization
As to claim 17, Couillard disclose wherein a drive (cylinder 86, which can be either an air cylinder or hydraulic cylinder) is provided for radial movement (“pivotation”) of the at least one support element in the radial direction.
See paragraph 0085, disclosing:
[0085] Referring to FIGS. 2 and 4, horn support apparatus 18 comprises a horn support plate 78. Support roll guide mechanism 80 includes upstanding first and second lever arms 82A, 82B mounted for pivotation with respect to plate 78 at pivot anchors 84A, 84B. Support arms 85A, 85B extend from lever arms 82A, 82B at pivot anchors 84A, 84B respectively, and move in unison with the respective lever arms, to move rolls 56A, 56B into and out of engagement with outer surface 42 of horn 20. Power cylinder 86 extends between lever arms 82A and 82B, and is mounted for pivotation with respect to lever arms 82A, 82B at pivot pins 88A, 88B, and provides the motive power moving the lever arms toward and away form each other. Cylinder 86 can be e.g. an air cylinder or an hydraulic cylinder. However, an air cylinder is preferred because of the ability of compressed air in the cylinder to absorb, better than hydraulic fluid, shock forces which may be imposed on the system.
As to claim 18, Couillard discloses a device for the ultrasonic processing of materials,
comprising a sonotrode (an ultrasonic horn 20) rotatable about a first axis (horn axis 44), the first axis having an axial direction, the sonotrode having a first sealing surface (bonding surface 42) extending in the axial direction (see paragraph 0069, disclosing “Horn support apparatus 18 includes rotating ultrasonic horn 20 as a bonding roll supported adjacent and above workpiece segment 24. Horn 20 has an outer peripheral bonding surface 42 which contacts and acts upon workpiece segment 24, and which rotates about a horn axis 44 in the direction indicated by arrow 46.”),
characterised in that at least two support elements (back-up roll 54 and first and second support rolls 56A and 56B) are engageable or is in engagement with the sonotrode in such a way that a force acting perpendicularly to the axis on an engagement portion of the first sealing surface is at least partially taken up by the at least two support elements;
(See paragraphs 0066-0071, below:
[0066] Referring to the drawings, FIG. 1 illustrates in semi-block format, the general locations of the major elements and assemblies of apparatus of the invention. As illustrated in FIG. 1, bonding apparatus 10 of the invention generally comprises a frame 12, anvil support apparatus 14 supporting an anvil roll 16, and horn support apparatus 18 supporting an ultrasonic horn 20. Together, horn 20 and anvil roll 16 form a bonding nip 22 which is illustratively bonding a workpiece segment 24 shown in dashed outline passing through the nip. FIGS. 2 and 4 illustrate details of horn support apparatus 18. FIG. 3 illustrates details of anvil support apparatus 14.
[0067] Referring back to FIG. 1, frame 12 is fabricated from a rigid, stiff material such as metal. Preferred metals include a variety of well known stiff and rigid steel or cast iron compositions. Frame 12 includes a base plate 26, a rear plate 28 rigidly is mounted to base plate 26 e.g. by welding or bolting, and left and right side plates 30, 32, each being respectively rigidly mounted to both base plate 26 and rear plate 28 e.g. as by welding or bolting. Side plates 30, 32 are each rigidly mounted to both base plate 26 and rear plate 28 whereby the so-defined frame 12 provides a support assembly suitably rigid for supporting the anvil support structure and the horn support structure, thereby to provide an increased level of structural rigidity at nip 22 while also providing for release from such rigidity to accommodate variations in thickness of the e.g. workpiece segment material passing through the nip.
[0068] Referring now to FIGS. 1 and 2, horn support apparatus 18 can be used in combination with anvil support apparatus 14 to develop bonds in a continuously moving workpiece segment 24. In the alternative, anvil support apparatus 18 and horn support apparatus 14 can be used to bond two or more workpiece segments 24, 34 to each other as illustrated in FIG. 4 or to bond discrete elements to a workpiece segment or discrete elements to each other when at least one of the elements is already mounted or bonded to such workpiece segment. In any event, a continuous workpiece segment is preferably involved in the bonding process, whether as a support for elements being bonded to each other, as a continuous element being bonded either to another continuous element or to discrete spaced elements, or as a continuous element being bonded internally within its own structure. Workpiece segment 24 is continuously moving along a substrate path 36 in the direction indicated by arrow 38.
[0069] Horn support apparatus 18 includes rotating ultrasonic horn 20 as a bonding roll supported adjacent and above workpiece segment 24. Horn 20 has an outer peripheral bonding surface 42 which contacts and acts upon workpiece segment 24, and which rotates about a horn axis 44 in the direction indicated by arrow 46. Rotatable anvil roll 16, part of anvil support apparatus 14, is located adjacent horn 20. Anvil roll 16 is configured to rotate about anvil axis 50 in the direction indicated by arrow 52 associated therewith to press workpiece segment 24 against bonding surface 42 of horn 20, thereby creating bonds at workpiece segment 24.
[0070] In some embodiments, horn axis 44 and anvil axis 50 are disposed in substantial alignment with each other, deviating from a parallel relationship by no more than about 10 degrees. Preferably, horn axis 44 and anvil axis 50 are disposed in such as way as to reflect a parallel relationship between horn axis 44 and anvil axis 50.
[0071] In the embodiments illustrated in FIGS. 1, 2, 4, and 5, outer peripheral bonding surface 42 is contacted and supported by back-up roll 54 and first and second support rolls 56A and 56B. In the illustrated examples, rolls 54, 56A, and 56B are spaced at regular intervals about outer peripheral bonding surface 42 of horn 20 so as to maintain the horn in a substantially fixed position while the horn is being used to form ultrasonic bonds.
See also Figure 2 and 4, reprinted below:
);
wherein the sonotrode is adapted for being excited into resonant vibration with an acoustic ultrasonic vibration of the wavelength ʎ. See paragraph 0078, disclosing:
[0078] As representatively illustrated in FIGS. 1, 2, and 4, horn 20 generally comprises a shaped metal object. Representative examples of rotary ultrasonic horns which can be used in the present invention are described in U.S. Pat. No. 5,096,532 to Neuwirth et al and U.S. Pat. No. 5,110,403 to Ehlert, both of which are herein incorporated by reference in their entireties. In general, rotary ultrasonic horn 20 can be made from any metal having suitable acoustical and mechanical properties. Suitable metals include aluminum, monel, titanium, and some alloy steels. Titanium is preferred for its overall combination of desirable properties. In general, variables such as diameter, mass, width, thickness, and configuration of the rotary ultrasonic horn can be varied within substantial ranges. However, such variables, along with composition of the horn, do determine the particular frequency and amplitude at which a particular rotary ultrasonic horn resonates, which can affect bond quality and consistency. In particular, diameter, width, and thickness of the horn are selected such that the horn, upon being excited by ultrasonic energy at a desired frequency, is adapted to resonate such that the excited end moves substantially in phase with movement of the excitation source, and the bonding surface 42 also moves in a suitable pattern which is directed generally perpendicular to annular bonding surface 42 of the horn.
Couillard does not disclose the device having a first radial bearing which supports the sonotrode, wherein at least a portion of the first sealing surface is spaced in the axial direction from the radial bearing. Couillard also does not disclose the full limitation of characterised in that at least two support elements are engageable or are in engagement with the sonotrode in such a way that a force acting perpendicularly to the first axis on an engagement portion of the first sealing surface is at least partially taken up by the at least two support elements, the at least two support elements being spaced from each other in the axial direction.
However, Schneider discloses an ultrasound welding apparatus utilizing the device having a first radial bearing (radial bearings 26) which supports the sonotrode, wherein at least a portion of the first sealing surface is spaced in the axial direction from the radial bearing. See especially paragraphs 0007 and 0035-37, disclosing:
[0007] In a further development, radial bearings are furnished between the amplitude transformer and the rotating roller. These radial bearings are located particularly in a nodal point of the longitudinal oscillation, so that no or negligibly small oscillation amplitudes affect the bearings.
…
[0035] In FIG. 1, two rotating components can be seen, identified in general by reference numbers 10 and 12, between which two or more material webs 14 and 16 are being fed, wherein the two material webs 14 and 16 are bonded and/or welded together are they pass through a working gap 18. The pass-through direction is indicated by the arrow 20.
[0036] The component 10 possesses a central rotating roller 22, to which amplitude transformers 24 are attached on both sides, with radial bearings 26 furnished on said transformers. The amplitude transformers 24 are coupled to ultrasonic converters 28 through which a mechanical vibration can be generated in the longitudinal direction, i.e., in the direction of the double arrow 30. Rotary couplers 32 are furnished on the end faces of the ultrasonic converters 28 through which the ultrasonic converters 28 are provided with energy.
[0037] A counter-roller 34, which is similarly carried rotatably on radial bearings 36, is disposed opposite the rotating roller. The surface of the counter-roller 34 has ribs 50 running in the longitudinal direction which impart a texture to the counter-roller which is transferred to the material webs 14 and 16 when they are bonded.
See also Figure 1, reproduced below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein the device having a first radial bearing which supports the sonotrode, wherein at least a portion of the first sealing surface is spaced in the axial direction from the radial bearing in order to mount the central roller as taught in Schneider so that no or negligibly small oscillation amplitudes affect the bearings.
Finally, Kawaguchi discloses that at least two support elements (backup rollers 39) are engageable or are in engagement with the roller or pressure device (main roller 38) in such a way that a force acting perpendicularly to the first axis on an engagement portion of the first sealing surface is at least partially taken up by the at least two support elements, the at least two support elements being spaced from each other in the axial direction (as shown by the three backup rollers spaced apparat from each other in the axial direction of main roller 38).
See especially Figure 1 and 7, showing different views of Kawaguchi.
Figure 1, 6 and 7 directly show that at least six back up rollers are associated with the main roller 38. Kawaguchi does this in order to “equalizes pressures applied to the object by the main roller 38 in the axial direction” as taught in paragraph 0023
See paragraph 0023 and 0033-35, disclosing:
[0023] A roller-type depressing device of the present disclosure is to depress an object with a main roller 38, and mainly includes a pressure adjusting plate 332 provided with the main roller 38, a roller moving unit that moves the main roller 38 relative to the object, a pressure adjusting unit that holds the pressure adjusting plate 332 in such a way that force produced by a pressure difference in fluid applied to both faces of the pressure adjusting plate 332 acts on the main roller 38, a pressure receiving stage 322 receiving the pressure of the main roller 38 via the object, a pressure adjuster that adjusts the pressure difference in fluid applied to both faces of the pressure adjusting plate 332, and a pressure equalizer (backup rollers 39) that equalizes pressures applied to the object by the main roller 38 in the axial direction.
…
[0033] In general, the main roller 38 is axially supported at both ends thereof. In order to increase the transfer area, it is preferable to elongate the main roller 38 in the axial direction. When, however, the main roller 38 becomes too long, the pressure at both ends of the supported main roller 38 is large, but the pressure decreases toward the center of the main roller. Hence, according to the imprint device of the present disclosure, the pressure equalizer that equalizes the pressure of the main roller 38 in the axial direction is further provided. An example pressure equalizer is backup rollers 39 which are disposed between the main roller 38 and the pressure adjusting plate 332, and which supports the center portion of the main roller 38. More specifically, as illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 7, the backup rollers 39 are each formed in a cylindrical shape that is shorter than the main roller 38 in the axial direction, and are disposed so as to support force produced between the pressure adjusting plate 332 and the main roller 38 through both ends of the backup roller in the axial direction. According to this structure, the backup rollers 39 turn around both ends together with the turning of the main roller 38, and support the main roller 38. As illustrated in FIG. 1, it is preferable that the two backup rollers 39 should be disposed between the main roller 38 and the pressure adjusting plate 332, and back and forth in the moving direction of the main roller. When the backup rollers 39 are provided back and forth in the moving direction in this manner, it becomes possible to prevent the rotation axis of the main roller 38 from being shifted back and forth, thereby stabilizing the rotation axis. Needless to say, the number of the backup rollers 39 is not limited to two, and may be one or equal to or greater than three.
[0034] The pressure equalizer is not limited to the backup rollers 39 as long as it can equalize the pressure of the main roller 38 in the axial direction, and it is not illustrated in the figure but a backup belt which is provided between the main roller 38 and the pressure adjusting plate 332, and which supports the center portion of the main roller 38 may be adopted. The backup belt may be disposed around a roller, etc., supported by the pressure adjusting plate 332 and may be supported by such a roller.
[0035] The roller moving unit is to move the main roller 38 relative to the object that is the die 1 or the molding target 2, and to depress the whole molding face of the die 1 against the molding target 2. The roller moving unit is not limited to any particular structure as long as it can move the main roller 38, but includes, for example, a moving plate 381 movable on guide rails 381 provided on the pressure adjusting plate 332, a screw 383 which is disposed on the pressure adjusting plate 332, and which converts the rotation motion into the linear motion of the moving plate 382, and an electric motor (unillustrated) that turns the screw 383. In addition, the main roller 38 and the backup rollers 39 may have respective both ends of the rotation axes fixed to the moving plate. In this case, it is preferable that force applied to the main roller 38 should be mainly supported by the backup roller 39. Hence, in order to apply no load to both axial ends of the main roller 38, a play that permits both axial ends to move horizontally or vertically may be provided. For example, the shaft of the main roller 38 may be held by holes slightly larger than the diameter of the shaft of the main roller. Moreover, in order to appropriately support force applied to the backup rollers 39, it is preferable that the guide rails 381 should be disposed in a manner aligned with both ends of the backup rollers 39. The roller moving unit may be a manual mechanism that turns the screw 383 through a handle instead of the electric motor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the full limitation that at least two support elements are engageable or are in engagement with the sonotrode in such a way that a force acting perpendicularly to the first axis on an engagement portion of the first sealing surface is at least partially taken up by the at least two support elements, the at least two support elements being spaced from each other in the axial direction by utilizing the backup rollers of Kawaguchi in order to equalizes pressures applied to the object in the axial direction.
As to claim 19, Couillard does not disclose wherein the at least two support elements comprise adjacent support elements, and wherein the adjacent support elements are spaced apart in the axial direction by a distance of ʎ/2 or a multiple thereof. Kawaguchi, however, does disclose wherein the at least two support elements comprise adjacent support elements (see Figure 6)
However, changes in size and shape is very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Additionally, optimization of variables and parameters such as the spacing in the axial direction is often obvious as routine experimentation and optimization. MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized shapes and sizes and parameters wherein the at least two support elements comprise adjacent support elements, and wherein the adjacent support elements are spaced apart in the axial direction by a distance of ʎ/2 or a multiple thereof as an obvious change in size and shape and an obvious optimization of variables and parameters such as the radius of curvature through routine experimentation and optimization
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couillard (US 20020062900 A1) in view of Schneider (US 20050034820 A1) and Kawaguchi (US 20150283754 A1) as applied to claims 1-11 and 14-19 above, and further in view of CN 107150424 A.
As to claim 12, Couillard discloses wherein the roller consists of a wheel element. See paragraph 0091, which recites “raising or lowering back-up wheel 54”. Thus, Couillard discloses that the back-up roll 54 is a wheel element. Couillard also teaches that the rolls 56A and 56B are wheel elements as it teaches in paragraph 0084 that “Rolls 56A, 56B can include ball bearings as supports for the rolls, can comprise bearings per se, or can comprise idler rolls, as are known to those skilled in the art, configured to contact bonding surface 42 of horn 20.” The term idler roll would read on the term wheel element.
Couillard, however, does not disclose a wear element surrounding the wheel element.
Couillard, however, does suggest various materials, teaching in paragraph 0084 that “Exemplary materials for rolls 54, 56A, 56B include metal such as steel and alloys of other metals, rubber, urethane, and other durable materials capable of withstanding the pressure and ultrasonic energy environments imposed on the respective rolls.”
Additionally, CN 107150424 A discloses the complete arrangement of a support roller wherein the roller consists of a wheel element and a wear element surrounding the wheel element. See the translation, which recites that:
These resins (RTI is resin of more than 150 degrees centigrade), from the surface of the metal roller can be powder-coated or resin can be formed as a tubular and covering the metal roller or a rubber roller and to make it shrink so that additional surface such as point, preferably PEEK (polyetheretherketone) and other aromatic polyether ketones, and/or PFA (perfluoroalkoxy) and fluorine resin attached to the surface of the resistance roller.
Specifically, the Victrex-PEEK coating agent of MC company attached to the guide roller surface, or the Japanese Gunze (county) of fluorine resin PFA heat-shrinkable additional resistance roller to the guide roller surface and so on. a resistance roller, from the point considered as guide rollers 70 support belt 30 or the like, preferably adding the resin to the surface of the metal roller. Additionally, also can adding the resin on surface of fluorine rubber lining roller. Therefore, by using the RTI of resin is 150 degrees centigrade or more forms a resistance roller outer circumferential face, it can prevent abrasion and/or good quality caused by martensite transformation reduces the quality of the thin film 14 of the film 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the complete arrangement of a support roller wherein the roller consists of a wheel element and a wear element surrounding the wheel element such as that disclosed in CN 107150424 A because it can prevent abrasion and/or good quality caused by martensite transformation reduces the quality of the thin film.
As to claim 13, Couillard does not disclose wherein the wear element consists of PEEK.
However, CN 107150424 A discloses wherein the wear element consists of PEEK. . See the translation, which recites that:
These resins (RTI is resin of more than 150 degrees centigrade), from the surface of the metal roller can be powder-coated or resin can be formed as a tubular and covering the metal roller or a rubber roller and to make it shrink so that additional surface such as point, preferably PEEK (polyetheretherketone) and other aromatic polyether ketones, and/or PFA (perfluoroalkoxy) and fluorine resin attached to the surface of the resistance roller.
Specifically, the Victrex-PEEK coating agent of MC company attached to the guide roller surface, or the Japanese Gunze (county) of fluorine resin PFA heat-shrinkable additional resistance roller to the guide roller surface and so on. a resistance roller, from the point considered as guide rollers 70 support belt 30 or the like, preferably adding the resin to the surface of the metal roller. Additionally, also can adding the resin on surface of fluorine rubber lining roller. Therefore, by using the RTI of resin is 150 degrees centigrade or more forms a resistance roller outer circumferential face, it can prevent abrasion and/or good quality caused by martensite transformation reduces the quality of the thin film 14 of the film 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the arrangement of wherein the wear element consists of PEEK such as that disclosed in CN 107150424 A because it can prevent abrasion and/or good quality caused by martensite transformation reduces the quality of the thin film.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK