DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/JP2022/005411 filed on 02/10/2022 and further claims priority to JP2021037273 filed on 03/09/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/01/2023, 10/11/2023, 01/21/2025, and 01/24/2025 were filed on or after the national stage entry date of this application on 09/01/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schulte et al. (US20070115617A1)1, hereafter Schulte.
Regarding claim 1, Schulte discloses a laser device (Title) comprising: a support (Fig. 8 element 800); a first heat sink (Fig. 1 element 105; [0036]); a plurality of laser light sources (Fig. 2 element 101) attached to the support (Fig. 9); and a plurality of electrodes bridged between the plurality of laser light sources and the first heat sink (Fig. 2 element 117), wherein each of the plurality of laser light sources is movable with respect to the support ([0046]), each of the plurality of electrodes is electrically connected to each of the plurality of laser light sources at a first connection portion (Fig. 2 element 117 on element 101), and is thermally connected to the first heat sink at a second connection portion (Fig. 2 element 117 on element 115; [0035]), an extension part between the first connection portion and the second connection portion has flexibility in each of the plurality of electrodes (Fig. 2 element 117 as evidenced by the bend in the contacting member; see also [0037]), and a length of the extension part is larger than a linear distance between the first connection portion and the second connection portion (Fig. 2 element 117 as evidenced by the bend in the contacting member; see also [0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Schulte further discloses each of the plurality of electrodes has a sheet shape ([0037] “ribbon” bonds have a sheet shape).
Regarding claim 3, Schulte further discloses the extension part is floated in an air between the first connection portion and the second connection portion (Fig. 2 element 117).
Regarding claim 4, Schulte further discloses the first heat sink is provided with a first refrigerant flow path ([0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Schulte further discloses each of the plurality of laser light sources includes: a second heat sink (Fig. 2 element 103); and a semiconductor laser array thermally connected to the second heat sink (Fig. 4 shows a plurality of heat sinks touching resulting in an array of laser being thermally connected to the second heat sink).
Regarding claim 8, Schulte further discloses a conductive member (Fig. 11 element 1113), wherein the plurality of laser light sources include a first laser light source and a second laser light source (Fig. 11), the plurality of electrodes include a first electrode electrically connected to a cathode of the first laser light source and a second electrode electrically connected to an anode of the second laser light source, and the first electrode and the second electrode are electrically connected by the conductive member ([0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Schulte further discloses the conductive member is thermally connected to the first heat sink (Fig. 11 element 1113 is connected to 115).
Regarding claim 10, Schulte further discloses a cross-sectional area of the conductive member is larger than a cross-sectional area of each of the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 11 element 1113 has a cross-section area greater than 117).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte in view of Miyajima et al. (WO2008047608A1)2, hereafter Miyajima.
Regarding claim 6, Schulte does not explicitly disclose the second heat sink is provided with a second refrigerant flow path. However, Miyajima discloses a first provided with a first refrigerant flow path ([0033]) and second heat sink provided with a second refrigerant flow path ([0033]; [0042]). An advantage, as is known in the art, is to provide the desired cooling to different areas of the device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schulte with the second heat sink is provided with a second refrigerant flow path as disclosed by Miyajima in order to provide the desired cooling to different areas of the device.
Regarding claim 7, Miyajima further discloses a plurality of hoses having flexibility, wherein each of the plurality of hoses is connected to the second refrigerant flow path ([0041]).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte in view of Ko et al. (JPH1172743A), hereafter Ko.
Regarding claim 11, Schulte does not explicitly disclose an optical element, wherein the plurality of laser light sources include a third laser light source configured to emit laser light toward the optical element in a first direction, and a fourth laser light source configured to emit laser light toward the optical element in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and the optical element reflects the laser light emitted from the third laser light source and transmits the laser light emitted from the fourth laser light source. However, Ko discloses an optical element (Fig. 4 element 34), wherein the plurality of laser light sources include a third laser light source configured to emit laser light toward the optical element in a first direction (Fig. 4 element 32), and a fourth laser light source configured to emit laser light toward the optical element in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Fig. 4 element 36), and the optical element reflects the laser light emitted from the third laser light source and transmits the laser light emitted from the fourth laser light source (Fig. 4; [0040]). An advantage is to increase the optical density efficiently (Abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schulte with an optical element, wherein the plurality of laser light sources include a third laser light source configured to emit laser light toward the optical element in a first direction, and a fourth laser light source configured to emit laser light toward the optical element in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and the optical element reflects the laser light emitted from the third laser light source and transmits the laser light emitted from the fourth laser light source as disclosed by Ko in order to increase the optical density efficiently.
Regarding claim 12, Ko further discloses the optical element is a mirror ([0020]).
Regarding claim 13, Schulte further discloses is movable in the stacking (i.e. third) direction with respect to the support ([0046]). Additionally, Ko discloses each of the third laser light source and the fourth laser light source includes a plurality of semiconductor laser bars stacked in a third direction intersecting both the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 4 element 36 and 32 show laser diode bars 17 stacked in the y direction which intersects the z and x directions of the emitted light). Accordingly, the combination of Schulte and Ko naturally results in each of the third laser light source and the fourth laser light source is movable in the third direction with respect to the support.
Regarding claim 14, Ko further discloses the optical element includes: a plurality of light reflecting portions configured to reflect the laser light emitted from the third laser light source (Fig. 4 element 24 reflects light emitted from element 32); and a plurality of light transmitting portions configured to transmit the laser light emitted from the fourth laser light source (Fig. 4 element 26 transmits light emitted from element 36), and the plurality of light reflecting portions and the plurality of light transmitting portions are alternately aligned in the third direction (Fig. 4 elements 24 and 26 are alternately stacked in the y-direction).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte in view of Sekine et al. (US20160370593A1), hereafter Sekine.
Regarding claim 15, Schulte does not explicitly disclose a prism optical system configured to collect laser light emitted from each of the plurality of laser light sources into a predetermined region. However, Sekine discloses a prism optical system configured to collect laser light emitted from each of the plurality of laser light sources into a predetermined region (Abstract). An advantage is to help retain the uniformity of laser light in an irradiation target even if a portion of the laser stacks deteriorate ([0008]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schulte with a prism optical system configured to collect laser light emitted from each of the plurality of laser light sources into a predetermined region as disclosed by Sekine in order to help retain the uniformity of laser light in an irradiation target even if a portion of the laser stacks deteriorate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited. See, e.g., US5617441 Figs. 27-29; US4601452 col. 3 ll. 15-25; US6322040 Figs. 1 and 2.
/Joshua King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828 06/10/2026
1 U.S. Patent Documents cite no. B in the IDS filed 01/21/2025
2 Foreign Patent Documents cite no. A in the IDS filed 01/21/2025.