DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa (JP2015036128A, as cited in the IDS filed on 09/01/2023) and in view of Iwasaki (JP2018001131A, as cited in the IDS filed on 09/01/2023). Regarding claim 1, Nakazawa discloses a carbon dioxide adsorption battery comprising: a positive electrode (3) [ 0019, fig. 2, Nakazawa ]; a negative electrode (4) [ 0019, fig. 2, Nakazawa ]; a separator (2) disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [ 0062, fig. 2, Nakazawa ]; and an electrolyte layer (1) between the negative electrode and the separator [ 0054-0058, fig. 2, Nakazawa ], wherein the negative electrode is a gas-permeable electrode [ 0061, Nakazawa ], Nakazawa discloses that the electrode may be made of a mesh, paper, or cloth material. This reads on a gas-permeable electrode as these are porous materials. each of the electrolyte layers includes an electrolytic solution capable of dissolving carbon dioxide [ 0008, 0054 , Nakazawa ], and a redox compound having an N-oxy radical group within a molecule [ 0035-0042, Nakazawa ], and the separator suppresses permeation of the redox compound but is permeable to the electrolytic solution [ 0062, Nakazawa ]. The instant application discloses that examples of a separator able to suppress migration of the redox material include polyethylene, polypropylene, and polytetrafluoroethylene [0094, instant application]. Nakazawa discloses that materials that may be used for the separator include polyethylene, polypropylene, polytetrafluoroethylene [ 0062, Nakazawa ]. Given that both the instant application and Nakazawa disclose using a separator made of PE, PP, or PTFE the separators of Nakazawa would be capable of suppressing the permeation of the redox compound, see MPEP 2112. Nakazawa is silent to the electrolyte being disposed between the positive electrode and the separator. However, Iwasaki discloses the use of a carbon dioxide separation device comprising an electrolyte solution layer capable of dissolving carbon dioxide in between and in contact with the porous negative and positive electrode [ abstract, 0047, 0054, fig. 1, Iwasaki ]. Wherein an N-oxy radical group capable of undergoing redox reactions are present within the electrolyte layer [ 0053, Iwasaki ]. Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Nakazawa have an electrolyte solution layer in contact with both electrodes and spanning between both electrodes. Doing so would provide a (larger) layer in the carbon dioxide adsorption battery capable of dissolving carbon dioxide [ 0054, Iwasaki ]. Regarding claim 3, modified Nakazawa discloses the battery, wherein the positive electrode is configured so as to avoid contact with outside air [ 0063, fig. 1-2, Nakazawa ]. Nakazawa discloses the use of an exterior that incases the (positive) electrode(s). This reads on the claimed limitation as it prevents any outside air from coming in contact with the (positive) electrode(s). Regarding claim 5, modified Nakazawa discloses the battery, wherein the redox compound is a compound in which two quaternary carbons are bound to the N-oxy radical group [ 0041-0042, Nakazawa ]. Nakazawa discloses the use of 2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidinoyloxy radicals. These are compounds with two quaternary carbons. Regarding claim 6, modified Nakazawa discloses the battery, wherein the redox compound is a compound represented by formula (1), or a compound having a group obtained by eliminating one hydrogen atom from a the compound represented by formula (1) wherein: Z represents -CR5R6CR7R8-, -CR9RioCR11R12CR13R14-, - (CR15R16)O-, -(CR17R18)NR27-, -(CR19R20)O(CR21R22)-, or -(CR23R24)NR28(CR25R26)-, and R1 to R28 each independently represent a hydrogen atom or a substituent [ 0041-0042, Nakazawa ]. Regarding claim 7, modified Nakazawa discloses the battery, wherein the negative electrode is made of a conductive material containing at least one selected from the group consisting of carbon fibers [ 0061, Nakazawa ]. Nakazawa discloses using carbon paper or carbon cloth, this reads on carbon fibers. Claim(s) 2, 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Nakazawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Voskian (US20200023307A1, as cited in the IDS filed on 09/01/2023). Regarding claim 2, Modified Nakazawa is silent to the positive electrode includes a gas permeation blocking portion that hinders gas permeation. However, Voskian discloses an electrochemical process for separating out CO2 from a gas mixture [ abstract, Voskian ]. Wherein the electrochemical apparatus contains porous negative electrodes [ 0006, Voskian ]. Wherein the positive electrode serves as an electron sink or electron source for the negative electrode [ 0029, Voskian ]. Voskian continues to teach that an electrode (e.g. positive electrode) may contain a substantially non-porous core (“hinders gas permeation”) [ 0099, Voskian ]. Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Nakazawa such that the positive electrode contained a solid core as this is a known means to construct an electrode [ 0099, Voskian ] Regarding claim 4, modified Nakazawa is silent to if adsorption of carbon dioxide occurs during charging or discharging. However, Voskian teaches of during a charge mode the target species (CO2) is bonded to the electroactive species and released during discharge [ 0009, Voskian ]. Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Nakazawa such that the adsorption of carbon dioxide occurs during charging and is released during discharging as this is a known . Doing so allows for the electroactive species to be reduced during charging (allowing for it to react with CO2) and oxidized during discharge (allowing for it to release CO2) [ 0074-0075, Voskian ] Regarding claim 8, modified Nakazawa is silent to two or more carbon dioxide adsorption batteries. However, Voskian discloses a charge/discharge device comprising two or more of the carbon dioxide adsorption batteries [ 0084-0086, fig. 7a and 7b, Voskian ]. Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Nakazawa such that it comprised two or more carbon dioxide adsorption batteries as this allows for one battery to work in charge mode with the other is in discharge mode [ 0084, Voskian ]. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT QUINTIN DALE ELLIOTT whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-5423 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:30-6pm (MST) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Miriam Stagg can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 5712705256 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/ Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /MIRIAM STAGG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724