Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A, drawn to claims 1-4, 6-10, and 15-18 in the reply filed on June 1, 2026 is acknowledged.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10, 15, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein two of the three S- shaped arms is defined by a leg that extends from the central hub and an arm member that extends from an associated leg.
The prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein the plurality of S-shaped arms extend both radially outward relative to the central hub and distally relative to the central hub.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0289877 to Hoarau et al.
As to Claim 1, Hoarau discloses an engagement assembly (700, Fig. 1) for use in a surgical procedure [0047]. The engagement assembly comprises a contoured region (701) and an engagement element (702) associated with a distal end of the contoured region (Figs. 3-6, [0048]), wherein the engagement element (702) is substantially dome-shaped or substantially tripod shaped (seen in Figs. 2, 6) and adapted for resilient flattening when pressed against a surface (via flexible joint 708, [0048]).
As to Claim 2, Hoarau discloses an engagement assembly further comprising a mounting feature (at 710) associated with the contoured region or adjacent thereto, wherein the mounting feature facilitates detachable attachment relative to a device (to 10, Figs. 10-11, [0059-0060]).
As to Claim 3, Hoarau discloses an engagement assembly wherein the device is a graft tensioning device {described in [0043]).
As to Claim 17, Hoarau discloses an engagement assembly wherein the engagement element includes a central hub (706) and a plurality of curved legs (703) that extend from the central hub (Fig. 3, [0048]).
As to Claim 18, Hoarau discloses an engagement assembly wherein the engagement element includes a central hub (706) and three legs that extend from the central hub that together define a tripod structure (every other leg 702 create a tripod structure, Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0289877 to Hoarau et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0179075 to Seely--Morgan.
As to Claim 4, Hoarau discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the engagement element includes a central hub and a plurality of S-shaped arms that extend from the central hub.
Seely--Morgan discloses an engagement assembly (100, Fig. 1, [0059-0061]) wherein the engagement element includes a central hub and a plurality of S-shaped arms that extend from the central hub (S-shaped extensions 106, 108 described in [0060]) in order to provide a sufficient amount of surface area for coupling to the patient's skin and for supporting the stability of the device [0060].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the engagement assembly of Hoarau with the S-shaped arm modification of Seely--Morgan in order to provide a sufficient amount of surface area for coupling to the patient's skin and for supporting the stability of the device.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775