DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 1-3 in the reply filed on 23 January 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the prior art does not describe the Relational Expression 1 thru 4. This is not found persuasive because the prior art need not describe every relationship between the elements as present. In this case what is claimed is not a series of mathematical expressions, but a welded blank. The prior art need not disclose or recognize applicant’s Relational Expressions in order to disclose or makes obvious a welded blank falling in the ranges as claimed. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 23 January 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 27 June 2023. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170350434 A1 (hereinafter “Maruyama”).
Regarding claim 1, Maruyama teaches a laser welded joint for a vehicle component (See title). Maruyama teaches that the hot dip galvanized steel sheets are butt welded using YAG laser (see EXAMPLES at [0166]-[0189]). Maruyama teaches that the invention solves problems with the prior art tailored blank weldments (see [0016]-[0022]). Maruyama teaches that a tailored blank is made ([0054] or [0217]). Maruyama teaches that the welded joint metal includes a composition that overlaps the claimed composition (See claim 1 and claim 2). Maruyama teaches examples of the welded joint metal composition in TABLE 2. The difference between instant claim 1 and Joint No 26 of Maruyama is that Joint 26 does not include chromium in an amount as claimed. However the broad composition of the weldment includers up to 5% of chromium (claim 1) and Maruyama teaches the purpose of adding Cr is to control the microstructure ([0109]-[0115]). Maruyama teaches that the steels may be plated and envisions that Al may be a plating material (see claim 6 and [0140]-[0141]). It would have been an obvious matter to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to have altered the joint 26 as by aluminum plating and using more chromium because Maruyama teaches that these are suitable alternate embodiments for the steel join (cited above). The combination of known elements in the field of endeavor of tailored blanks in order to achieve predictable results would have been prima facie obvious.
Regarding the Relational Expressions 1 thru 4, Maruyama does not teach any value for these expressions, or recognize these relationships. However, what is claimed is obvious because the modified steel sheet composition comprising up to 5% of chromium would have overlapped the claimed ranges for the expressions. However, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Saklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the selection of the proportions of elements would appear to require no more than routine investigation by those of ordinary skill in the art. In re Austin, et al., 149 USPQ 685, 688.
Regarding claim 2, Maruyama teaches that an Zn-Al-Si-Mg plating may be used ([0141]), which is considered to meet the claim. Alternatively Maruyama teaches that the plating may include metals or alloys selected from a list including both of Al and Fe ([0141]). The combination of the elements known for the same purpose of plating the steel for welding would have been prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan.
Regarding claim 3, Maruyama does not teach an example including every single material as claimed. However, Maruyama teaches Example steel which are useful in the invention (See [0166]-[0167] and Table 1). For example, Maruyama teaches steel A, which matches the limitation of the claim (Table 1). It would have been an obvious matter to the skilled Artisan to have selected a steel sheet which matches the claim limitations because Maruyama teaches the same utility of overlapping steels.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150043962 A1 teaches a tailored blank for hot welding which includes Al-plating. US 5603853 A teaches prior art welded blanks.
CHRISTOPHER S. KESSLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/CHRISTOPHER S KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1759