DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, and 14 have been amended; Claims 3 and 13 have been canceled; No Claim(s) have been added. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, and 14 are subject to examination.
Acknowledgement is made to the applicant’s amendment to the title to obviate the previous objection to the specification. The previous objection to the specification is/are hereby withdrawn.
Acknowledgement is made to the applicant’s amendment to claims 1, 10, and 14 to obviate the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection to claims 1-12 and 14. The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection to claims 1-12 and 14 is/are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments:
The applicant argues in substance that LEE in view of ZHOU does not teach the limitations of amended claim 1.
In a first example, LEE in view of ZHOU does not teach that the use of the UE capabilities is beyond CFR allocation, let alone a minimum capability to a TCI/QCL time threshold. Rather, LEE in view of ZHOUL teaches that the UE capabilities are solely for the purpose of allocating CFR and does not teach applying a minimum capability.
In a second example, the applicant argued that LEE in view of ZHOU does not teach selecting a lowest capability to solve a bottleneck problem of diverse UE capabilities configured for a single CFR. Rather, LEE in view of ZHOU teaches a group of UEs with identical capability (zero capability variance) where not one capability is lower than another capability as they are all equal.
In a third example, the applicant argues that LEE in view of ZHOU does not teach that the UE itself determines the threshold based on the lowest capability. Rather, LEE in view of ZHOU teaches that the base station allocates CFR for similar UEs.
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. In the first example, UE capability is merely defined as “for a common frequency resource”. It is not explicit what the capabilities include or exclude, much less that the use of UE capabilities must extend beyond CFR resource allocation. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, UE capability can merely indicate a relationship to a common frequency resource. ZHOU’s UE capabilities, at the very least, includes an indication of a beam correspondence (para 169) and BWP/CFR (para 284) resource allocation. The examiner recommends including language which would clarify how the UE capability of the claimed invention is extended beyond CFR allocation.
Furthermore, in the first and second example, while the language the amended limitation is directed towards determining a lowest UE capability among a plurality of UE capabilities for a common frequency resource, it does not explicitly disclose the differences between UE capabilities, if any, nor what specifically in the capabilities is being compared. ZHOU para 306 teaches that UEs are grouped based on same capability and each group receives a group configuration for an MBS session. Being all the same/identical in capability, each UE capability is simultaneously the lowest and the highest in the group in that not one capability is higher or lower than each of the other capabilities. Therefore, all capabilities of the group are assumed to be the lowest capability and the configuration is according to each of the lowest/minimum capabilities. The examiner recommends to indicate how the UE capabilities are different from each other, such as what parameter or ability is being compared.
In the third example, LEE para 15 teaches that the method is directed towards a terminal which identifies symbol offsets between PDCCH and the plurality of PDSCHs is less than a threshold. Furthermore, in LEE para 243, the UE can determine its own threshold/timeDurationForQCL, and in LEE para 274, the UE can be configured with a threshold, meaning that it can determine a threshold to use. The examiner recommends to indicate how the UE can identify a different UE’s higher capability, such as through information received in additional signaling.
Regarding all other arguments presented by the applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the examiner directs the applicant to those response above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20220295530 A1), in view of ZHOU et al. (US 20230199739 A1), hereby referred to as ZHOU.
Claim 1:
LEE teaches A method of receiving a signal by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving at least one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying downlink control information (DCI) (LEE: FIG. 12 and para 243 (“Single dci…transmitted via the PDCCH is configured to schedule one or multiple PDSCHs…”) wherein PDCCH carries DCI) based on configuration information for at least one control resource set (CORESET) (LEE: para 71 (“…UE may receive configuration information about…(CORESET) through which the PDCCH can be transmitted…”) wherein PDCCH is received based on configuration information for CORESET); and receiving at least one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on the at least one PDCCH (LEE: FIG. 12 and para 243 (“Single dci…transmitted via the PDCCH is configured to schedule one or multiple PDSCHs…”) wherein PDCCH carries DCI scheduling PDSCH), wherein, based on that i) the at least one PDCCH includes a first PDCCH carrying DCI and ii) the at least PDSCH includes a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI, iii) the DCI does not include a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field (LEE: para 247 (“In case that the parameter tci-PresentinDCI in CORESET is not configured or the PDSCH is scheduled in DCI format 1_0, he…TCI field in DCI does not exist…”) wherein DCI does not have TCI field in the case of a PDCCH carrying DCI and scheduling PDSCH), and iv) a time offset between the first PDCCH and the PDSCH is equal to or greater than a first threshold, the UE determines that a TCI state or a quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption for the PDSCH is identical to a TCI state or a QCL assumption for a first CORESET related to the first PDCCH (LEE: para 247 (“Here, when the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset is equal to or greater than the timeDurationForQCL value, the UE assumes that the beam for PDSCH…is the same..in CORESET for PDCCH…”) wherein time offset is greater than or equal to threshold timeDurationForQCL, so TCI/QCL is assumed to be identical), wherein, based on that v) the at least one PDCCH includes a second PDCCH carrying DCI and vi) the at least PDSCH includes a multicast PDSCH scheduled by the DCI, vii) the DCI does not include a TCI field (LEE: para 247 (“In case that the parameter tci-PresentinDCI in CORESET is not configured or the PDSCH is scheduled in DCI format 1_0, he…TCI field in DCI does not exist…”) wherein DCI does not have TCI field in certain cases), and viii) a time offset between the second PDCCH and the PDSCH is equal to or greater than a second threshold, the UE determines that a TCI state or a QCL assumption for the PDSCH is identical to a TCI state or a QCL assumption for a second CORESET related to the second PDCCH (LEE: para 247 (“Here, when the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset is equal to or greater than the timeDurationForQCL value, the UE assumes that the beam for PDSCH…is the same...in CORESET for PDCCH…”) wherein time offset is greater than or equal to threshold timeDurationForQCL, so TCI/QCL is assumed to be identical), wherein, for the TCI state or the QCL assumption for the PDSCH, the UE determines the first threshold to be a first value related to the UE's own capability reported by the UE (LEE: para 243 (“The UE reports timeDurationForQCL…to the base station according to capability transmission…”) wherein threshold is according to/based on capability reported), and wherein, for the TCI state or the QCL assumption for the PDSCH, the UE determines the second threshold to be a second value related to a lowest UE capability for supporting the PDSCH (LEE: para 243 (“The UE reports timeDurationForQCL…to the base station according to capability transmission…”) wherein threshold is according to/based on capability of at least the UE).
However, LEE does not explicitly disclose i) the at least one PDCCH includes a first PDCCH carrying unicast DCI; ii) the at least PDSCH includes a unicast PDSCH scheduled by the unicast DCI; v) the at least one PDCCH includes a second PDCCH carrying multicast DCI; vi) the at least PDSCH includes a multicast PDSCH scheduled by the multicast DCI; and among a plurality of capabilities for a common frequency resource (CFR).
ZHOU, in the same field of endeavor, teaches i) the at least one PDCCH includes a first PDCCH carrying unicast DCI (ZHOU: para 196 (“The payload transmitted on the PDCCH may be referred to as…DCI...”) and para 267 (“A PDSCH carrying a TB dedicated for the wireless device may be referred to as a unicast PDSCH. A PDCCH (or a DCI) scheduling the dedicated TB may be referred to as a unicast PDCCH (or a unicast DCI)…”)); ii) the at least PDSCH includes a unicast PDSCH scheduled by the unicast DCI (ZHOU: para 267 (“A PDSCH carrying a TB dedicated for the wireless device may be referred to as a unicast PDSCH. A PDCCH (or a DCI) scheduling the dedicated TB may be referred to as a unicast PDCCH (or a unicast DCI)…”) wherein unicast PDSCH is scheduled by unicast DCI which can be carried on a PDCCH); v) the at least one PDCCH includes a second PDCCH carrying multicast DCI (ZHOU: para 268 (“To receive the multicast TBs, the group of wireless device may be allocate3d/configured with a group dedicated RNTI…devices may monitor PDCCH for receiving a DCI with CRC scrambled by the group dedicated RNTI, the DCI scheduling the multicast TBs…”)); vi) the at least PDSCH includes a multicast PDSCH scheduled by the multicast DCI (ZHOU: para 272-273 (“…transmission of MBS TBs…on which MBS PDCCH/PDSCH may be transmitted…”) wherein the multicast DCI schedules multicast information/MBS TBs on a multicast PDCSH); and among a plurality of capabilities for a common frequency resource (CFR) (ZHOU: para 206 (“…the wireless device may provide the base station one or more wireless device capability/assistance/interest information message comprising frequency resource and/or control channel resource configuration for an MBS. Based on…the base station may allocate proper frequency resource and/or control channel resource for MBS…the base station may group, for an MBS session…similar or same capability/assistance/interest…”) wherein multiple per-UE capability is reported and used to create similar or same capability groups, wherein the base station selects a value/configuration that is similar or the same across multiple UE capabilities).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LEE with ZHOU, the combination hereby referred to as LEE-ZHOU, for the benefit of scheduling a known number of user equipment (ZHOU: para 268).
Claim 2:
LEE-ZHOU teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second threshold is determined regardless of the UE’s own capability reported by the UE (LEE: para 243 (“The UE reports timeDurationForQCL…to the base station according to capability transmission…”) and para 274 (“The threshold X may be configured via higher layer signaling or DCI…”) wherein the value is according to/based on capability of at least the UE) and (ZHOU: para 206 (“…the wireless device may provide the base station one or more wireless device capability/assistance/interest information message comprising frequency resource and/or control channel resource configuration for an MBS. Based on…the base station may allocate proper frequency resource and/or control channel resource for MBS…the base station may group, for an MBS session…similar or same capability/assistance/interest…”) wherein the value (according to per UE capability) sent to the base station is used to generate groups and determine control channel resource configuration for the group rather than for the individual UE capability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LEE with ZHOU, the combination hereby referred to as LEE-ZHOU, for the benefit of scheduling a known number of user equipment (ZHOU: para 268).
Claim 4:
LEE-ZHOU teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of UE capabilities are configured by a base station (ZHOU: para 206 (“…the wireless device may provide the base station one or more wireless device capability/assistance/interest information message comprising frequency resource and/or control channel resource configuration for an MBS. Based on…the base station may allocate proper frequency resource and/or control channel resource for MBS…the base station may group, for an MBS session…similar or same capability/assistance/interest…”) and para 324 (“…the base station to configure CFR for an MBS session to a wireless device based on MBS interests of the wireless device…”) wherein base station configures a plurality of UEs having the same capability with a CFR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LEE with ZHOU, the combination hereby referred to as LEE-ZHOU, for the benefit of scheduling a known number of user equipment (ZHOU: para 268) and reducing misalignment (ZHOU: para 277).
Claim 5:
LEE-ZHOU teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the UE’s own capability reported by the UE is one of the plurality of UE capabilities configured for the CFR (ZHOU: para 206 (“…the wireless device may provide the base station one or more wireless device capability/assistance/interest information message comprising frequency resource and/or control channel resource configuration for an MBS. Based on…the base station may allocate proper frequency resource and/or control channel resource for MBS…the base station may group, for an MBS session…similar or same capability/assistance/interest…”) and para 324 (“…the base station to configure CFR for an MBS session to a wireless device based on MBS interests of the wireless device…”) wherein base station configures a plurality of UEs reporting the same capability with a CFR).
Claim 6:
LEE-ZHOU teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second threshold is determined to be the second value related to the lowest UE capability, based on that a specific threshold for the multicast PDSCH has not been designated by a base station (LEE: para 243 (“The UE reports timeDurationForQCL…to the base station according to capability transmission…”) wherein threshold is according to/based on a capability/lowest capability of at least the UE).
Claim 7:
LEE-ZHOU teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the first threshold and the second threshold is related to a parameter ‘timeDurationForQCL’ (LEE: para 243 (“The UE reports timeDurationForQCL…to the base station according to capability transmission…”) wherein threshold is ‘timeDurationForQCL’).
Claim 8:
LEE-ZHOU teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second PDCCH is detected in the second CORESET based on group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) (LEE: para 247 (“Here, when the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset is equal to or greater than the timeDurationForQCL value, the UE assumes that the beam for PDSCH…is the same..in CORESET for PDCCH…”) wherein PDCCH is detected in the CORESET) and (ZHOU: para 268 (“To receive the multicast TBs, the group of wireless device may be allocated/configured with a group dedicated RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI…Based on the configured group dedicated RNTI, the group of wireless devices may monitor PDCCH for receiving a DCI with CRC scrambled by the group dedicated RNTI…”) wherein PDCCH detection is based on G-RNTI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LEE with ZHOU, the combination hereby referred to as LEE-ZHOU, for the benefit of scheduling a known number of user equipment (ZHOU: para 268) and reducing misalignment (ZHOU: para 277).
Claim 9:
LEE-ZHOU teaches a computer-readable medium storing a program for executing the method of claim 1 (LEE: FIG. 16 and para 299 (“…may include…a memory…”)).
Claim 10:
LEE teaches a device for wireless communication, the device comprising: a memory configured to store instructions (LEE: FIG. 16 and para 299 (“…may include…a memory…”)).; and a processor configured to perform operations by executing the instructions (LEE: FIG. 16 item 16-05 (“Processor”)).
For further limitations, see rejection for claim 1 above.
Claim 11:
LEE-ZHOU teaches the device of claim 10, wherein the device is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or digital signal processor (ZHOU: par 216 (“The processing system…1518…a digital signal processor (DSP)…ASIC…”) wherein the device is ASIC or DPS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LEE with ZHOU, the combination hereby referred to as LEE-ZHOU, for the benefit of operation in a wireless environment (ZHOU: para 216).
Claim 12:
LEE-ZHOU teaches the device of claim 10, wherein the device is a user equipment (UE) operating in a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) based wireless communication system (ZHOU: FIG. 1A wherein wireless device/UE is operating in 3GPP based wireless network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LEE with ZHOU, the combination hereby referred to as LEE-ZHOU, for the benefit of operation in a wireless environment (ZHOU: para 59-61 and para 216).
Claim 14:
LEE teaches a base station (BS) for wireless communication, the BS comprising: a transceiver; and a processor configured to control the transceiver to: transmit at least one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying downlink control information (DCI) (LEE: FIG. 12 and para 243 (“Single dci…transmitted via the PDCCH is configured to schedule one or multiple PDSCHs…”) wherein PDCCH carries DCI) based on configuration information for at least one control resource set (CORESET) (LEE: para 71 (“…UE may receive configuration information about…(CORESET) through which the PDCCH can be transmitted…”) wherein PDCCH is transmitted/received based on configuration information for CORESET); and transmit at least one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on the at least one PDCCH (LEE: FIG. 12 and para 243 (“Single dci…transmitted via the PDCCH is configured to schedule one or multiple PDSCHs…”) wherein PDCCH carries DCI scheduling PDSCH), wherein, based on that i) the at least one PDCCH includes a first PDCCH carrying DCI for a specific user equipment (UE) and ii) the at least PDSCH includes a PDSCH scheduled by the unicast DCI, iii) the DCI does not include a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field (LEE: para 247 (“In case that the parameter tci-PresentinDCI in CORESET is not configured or the PDSCH is scheduled in DCI format 1_0, he…TCI field in DCI does not exist…”) wherein DCI does not have TCI field in in the case of a PDCCH carrying DCI and scheduling PDSCH), and iv) a time offset between the first PDCCH and the PDSCH is equal to or greater than a first threshold, the UE determines that a TCI state or a quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption for the PDSCH is identical to a TCI state or a QCL assumption for a first CORESET related to the first PDCCH (LEE: para 247 (“Here, when the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset is equal to or greater than the timeDurationForQCL value, the UE assumes that the beam for PDSCH…is the same..in CORESET for PDCCH…”) wherein time offset is greater than or equal to threshold timeDurationForQCL, so TCI/QCL is assumed to be identical), wherein, based on that v) the at least one PDCCH includes a second PDCCH carrying DCI and vi) the at least PDSCH includes a multicast PDSCH scheduled by the DCI, vii) the DCI does not include a TCI field (LEE: para 247 (“In case that the parameter tci-PresentinDCI in CORESET is not configured or the PDSCH is scheduled in DCI format 1_0, he…TCI field in DCI does not exist…”) wherein DCI does not have TCI field in certain cases), and viii) a time offset between the second PDCCH and the PDSCH is equal to or greater than a second threshold, the processor configures a TCI state or a QCL assumption for the PDSCH is identical to a TCI state or a QCL assumption for a second CORESET related to the second PDCCH (LEE: para 247 (“Here, when the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset is equal to or greater than the timeDurationForQCL value, the UE assumes that the beam for PDSCH…is the same..in CORESET for PDCCH…”) wherein time offset is greater than or equal to threshold timeDurationForQCL, so TCI/QCL is assumed to be identical), wherein, for the TCI state or the QCL assumption for the PDSCH, the processor determines the first threshold to be a first value related to the specific UE's own capability reported by the specific UE (LEE: para 243 (“The EU reports timeDurationForQCL…to the base station according to capability transmission…”) wherein threshold is according to/based on capability reported), and wherein, for the TCI state or the QCL assumption for the PDSCH, the processor determines the second threshold to be a second value related to a lowest UE capability for supporting the PDSCH (LEE: para 243 (“The UE reports timeDurationForQCL…to the base station according to capability transmission…”) wherein threshold is according to/based on capability of at least the UE).
However, LEE does not explicitly disclose i) the at least one PDCCH includes a first PDCCH carrying unicast DCI; ii) the at least PDSCH includes a unicast PDSCH scheduled by the unicast DCI; v) the at least one PDCCH includes a second PDCCH carrying multicast DCI; vi) the at least PDSCH includes a multicast PDSCH scheduled by the multicast DCI; and among a plurality of UE capabilities for a common frequency resource (CFR).
ZHOU, in the same field of endeavor, teaches i) the at least one PDCCH includes a first PDCCH carrying unicast DCI (ZHOU: para 196 (“The payload transmitted on the PDCCH may be referred to as…DCI...”) and para 267 (“A PDSCH carrying a TB dedicated for the wireless device may be referred to as a unicast PDSCH. A PDCCH (or a DCI) scheduling the dedicated TB may be referred to as a unicast PDCCH (or a unicast DCI)…”)); ii) the at least PDSCH includes a unicast PDSCH scheduled by the unicast DCI (ZHOU: para 267 (“A PDSCH carrying a TB dedicated for the wireless device may be referred to as a unicast PDSCH. A PDCCH (or a DCI) scheduling the dedicated TB may be referred to as a unicast PDCCH (or a unicast DCI)…”) wherein unicast PDSCH is scheduled by unicast DCI which can be carried on a PDCCH); v) the at least one PDCCH includes a second PDCCH carrying multicast DCI (ZHOU: para 268 (“To receive the multicast TBs, the group of wireless device may be allocate3d/configured with a group dedicated RNTI…devices may monitor PDCCH for receiving a DCI with CRC scrambled by the group dedicated RNTI, the DCI scheduling the multicast TBs…”)); and vi) the at least PDSCH includes a multicast PDSCH scheduled by the multicast DCI (ZHOU: para 272-273 (“…transmission of MBS TBs…on which MBS PDCCH/PDSCH may be transmitted…”) wherein the multicast DCI schedules multicast information/MBS TBs on a multicast PDCSH); and among a plurality of UE capabilities for a common frequency resource (CFR) (ZHOU: para 206 (“…the wireless device may provide the base station one or more wireless device capability/assistance/interest information message comprising frequency resource and/or control channel resource configuration for an MBS. Based on…the base station may allocate proper frequency resource and/or control channel resource for MBS…the base station may group, for an MBS session…similar or same capability/assistance/interest…”) wherein multiple per-UE capability is reported and used to create similar or same capability groups, wherein the base station selects a value/configuration that is similar or the same across multiple UE capabilities).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified LEE with ZHOU, the combination hereby referred to as LEE-ZHOU, for the benefit of scheduling a known number of user equipment (ZHOU: para 268).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416