CTNF 18/280,059 CTNF 84813 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 4-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honma et al (US 2008/0166511) in view of Arai et al (US 2015/0252184) . Regarding claim 1 , Honma teaches an epoxy resin composition (Abstract) comprising: An epoxy resin (Abstract) An amine curing agent (Abstract) A phosphorus compound (Abstract) which can be a phosphate ester such as triethyl phosphate ([0077]) which has a molecular weight of 182.2. Honma teaches that the concentration of the phosphorus compound is 0.2 to 15 % by weight in terms of the phosphorus atom concentration (Abstract) and the examples in Tables of Honma teaches that the amount of the phosphorus compounds overlaps the claimed range of 1 to 15 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the epoxy. Honma teaches that a tetraglycidyl diamino diphenyl methane can be used as the epoxy resin ([0082]), however fails to teach the average epoxy equivalent of this component. Arai teaches a epoxy resin composition which comprises an epoxy ([0215]) and an amine curing agent ([0283]). Arai teaches that the epoxy can be a tetraglycidyl diamino diphenyl methane with an epoxy equivalent of 100 to 134 g/eq ([0217]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the epoxy of Honma have the epoxy equivalent as taught by Arai. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of having an epoxy with a balanced ease of manufacturing with high toughness (Arai, [0217]). Regarding claim 2 , Honma teaches that the tetraglycidyl diamino diphenyl methane can be used individually ([0082]) and therefore can be 100% of the recited component A. Regarding claim 4 , Honma teaches that the amine curing agent can be a diamino diphenyl sulfone ([0083]). Regarding claim 5 , Honma teaches that the epoxy resin can be blended with a thermoplastic resin ([0094]). Regarding claim 7 , Honma teaches a prepreg comprised of the epoxy resin and continuous reinforcing fibers ([0107]). Regarding claim 8 , Honma teaches a fiber reinforced composite material composed of a cured product of the epoxy resin of claim 1 and continuous reinforcing fibers ([0115]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honma et al (US 2008/0166511) in view of Arai et al (US 2015/0252184) and Harada et al (US 2021/0032425) . The discussion regarding Honma and Arai in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference. Regarding claim 3 , Honma teaches that the composition incorporates a glycidyl ether type epoxy resin such as bisphenol F epoxy resin ([0082]). However, Honma fails to teach the amount of the bisphenol F epoxy resin in the composition. Harada teaches an epoxy resin which incorporates a bisphenol F type epoxy resin with a polyfunctional amine-type epoxy resin (Abstract) such as tetraglycidyl diamino diphenyl methane ([0148]). Harada teaches that the bisphenol F type epoxy resin is present in the amount from 40 to 60 parts by weight per 100 parts of the epoxy resin ([0146]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bisphenol type F epoxy resin of Honma in the amount taught by Harada. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of having a carbon-fiber-reinforced composite material in which the compression characteristics at high temperatures in a moisture absorption state is excellent (Harada, [0018]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honma et al (US 2008/0166511) in view of Arai et al (US 2015/0252184) and Taguchi et al (US 2004/0034127) . The discussion regarding Honma and Arai in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference. Regarding claim 6 , Honma teaches that phosphate esters are present in the composition ([0077]), however fails to elucidate a phenyl phosphonic acid alkyl ester. Taguchi teaches a flame-retardant epoxy resin (Abstract) which incorporates a flame retardant such as a dimethylphenyl phosphonate ([0074]) which is liquid and has a molecular weight of 186. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dimethylphenyl phosphonate of Taguchi as the phosphorus flame retardant of Honma. One would have been motivated to do so in order to use a liquid non-halogen type flame retardant to adjust the viscosity of the prepreg and make the maintenance of the B-stage easy (Taguchi, [0036]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DORIS L LEE whose telephone number is (571)270-3872. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8 am - 5 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Arrie Lanee Reuther can be reached at 571-270-7026. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. DORIS L. LEE Primary Examiner Art Unit 1764 /DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764 Application/Control Number: 18/280,059 Page 2 Art Unit: 1764 Application/Control Number: 18/280,059 Page 3 Art Unit: 1764 Application/Control Number: 18/280,059 Page 4 Art Unit: 1764 Application/Control Number: 18/280,059 Page 5 Art Unit: 1764