DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicants Request for Continued Examination filed 4/2/26 which has been entered. Claims 1, 3-5, and 14-15 have been amended. Claims 17-22 have been cancelled. Claims 24-28 have been added. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-12, 14-15, and 23-28 are still pending in this application, with Claims 1 and 14 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Referring to claim 5, claim 5 recites the limitation "the compliant element" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner interprets as the compressible element.
Referring to claims 24-28, claims 24-25, and 27 depend from claim 2, which is a canceled claim. Therefore, it is unclear from which claim(s), claims 24-25 and 27 should depend. Claims 26 and 28 depend from claims 25 and 27, respectively, therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons. Examiner interprets as if claims 24-25 and 27 depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-12, 14, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asada et al. US Publication No. 20020191803 in view of Clissold-Bate et al. US Publication No. 20200137497 (from IDS).
Referring to claim 1, Asada et al. teaches a device (Fig. 34: sound generating device 120), comprising:
a panel (Fig. 34: diaphragm 2; para 0104: “diaphragm 2 is formed as a panel”);
an electromagnetic actuator mechanically coupled to a rear side of the panel to form a panel audio loudspeaker (Fig. 34: driver unit 3 coupled to rear side of diaphragm 2 form panel speaker),
the electromagnetic actuator comprising a frame affixed to the panel (Fig. 34: bobbin 8 serves as frame and is attached to diaphragm 2),
a coil attached to the rear side of the panel (Fig. 34: voice coil 6 attached to rear side of diaphragm 2) and
a magnet suspended with respect to the coil via one or more spring elements which suspend the magnet from the frame (Fig. 34: magnetic circuit unit 7 of top plate 12/ magnet 11/yoke 9/center pole 10 suspended with respect to voice coil 6 via ring shaped damper 13, which serves as a spring element and suspends magnetic circuit 7 from bobbin 8),
the coil defining an axis, wherein during operation of the device an electric current through the coil varies a relative displacement of the magnet with respect to the coil along the axis to exert a force on the panel (Fig. 34: displacement between magnetic circuit unit 7/magnet 11 and voice coil 6 occurs along long axis of voice coil; para 0105: “The voice coil bobbin 8 is supported for executing a piston movement in the direction parallel to the center axis, as indicated by arrow P.sub.1 in FIG. 3, by the inner rim side of a damper 132 connected to the top plate 12 of the magnetic circuit unit 7 being connected to the outer periphery of the voice coil bobbin 8.”; para 0217: “the panel-shaped diaphragm 2 is flexurally oscillated by a sole driver unit 3”);
a chassis supporting the panel (Fig. 34: casing 121 supports diaphragm 2), the chassis comprising a rear chassis portion with respect to the magnet (Fig. 34: bottom panel of casing 121 on rear side of magnetic circuit unit 7); and
a grounding assembly positioned along the axis between the magnet and the rear chassis portion, wherein the grounding assembly mechanically grounds the magnet to the rear chassis portion (Fig. 34: block 122/ screw 14 positioned along axis of coil between magnetic circuit unit 7 and bottom panel of casing 121 and mechanically grounds magnetic circuit unit 7 to casing 121).
However, Asada et al. does not teach a compressible material per se in the embodiment shown in Fig. 34, but Clissold-Bate et al. teaches
the grounding assembly comprises a compressible element (Fig. 5: suspension elements 530a, 530b are springs – Examiner notes that when springs, which allow for displacement of attached elements, are used as the grounding assembly within the device of Asada et al., there will be displacement of the magnetic circuit 7 such that an electric current through the coil varies a relative displacement by displacing the magnet with respect to the coil) and mechanically grounds the magnet to the rear chassis portion (Fig. 5: suspension elements 530a, 530b ground magnets 326, 328 to chassis 102), such that the magnet is movably connected to both:
(i) the panel, which is located on a first side of the magnet, via the one or more spring elements and the frame (Fig. 5: magnets 326, 328 are movably connected to panel display 104, which is located on a first side of magnets 326, 328 – Examiner notes that when the suspension elements 530a, 530b are used in place of block 122 in Asada et al., the magnetic circuit 7 of Asada et al. will be movably connected to top of casing 121 via ring shaped damper 13 and bobbin 8); and
(ii) the rear chassis portion, which is located on a second side of the magnet that opposes the first side of the magnet, via the grounding assembly (Fig. 5: magnets 326, 328 movably connected to chassis 102, which is located on a second side of magnets 326, 328, via suspension elements 530a, 530b). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a compressible material, as taught in Clissold-Bate et al., in the device of Asada et al. because it allows for vibration “at certain desired frequencies”. The added compliancy of the system adds more control over the amount of vibration and at what frequency that vibration occurs.
Referring to claim 4, Clissold-Bate et al. teaches the grounding assembly comprises more than one compressible element (Fig. 5: suspension elements 530a, 530b). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Referring to claim 5, Asada et al. teaches a first side of the grounding element contacts the magnet and a second side of the grounding element opposite the first side contacts the rear chassis portion (Fig. 34: first side of block 122 contacts magnetic circuit unit 7 and second side of block 122 contacts bottom of casing 121; Fig. 55: supporting member 319; para 0294: “The supporting member 319 may, for example, be formed of a material undergoing large losses of oscillations, such as rubber”) and Clissold-Bate et al. teaches the compressible element (Fig. 5: suspension elements 530a, 530b are springs). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Referring to claim 8, Asada et al. teaches the electromagnetic actuator comprises a hood covering the magnet and the coil (Fig. 34: yoke 9 covers magnet 11 and voice coil 6).
Referring to claim 9, Asada et al. teaches the grounding assembly extends through an opening in the hood (Fig. 34: screw 14 extends through opening in yoke 9).
Referring to claim 10, Asada et al. teaches the grounding assembly comprises a first grounding element contacting a roof of the hood external to the hood (Fig. 34: block 122 contacts roof of yoke 9 external to yoke 9), and the electromagnetic actuator comprises a second grounding element between the magnet and the roof of the hood (Fig. 34: screw 14 between magnet 11 and roof of yoke 9).
Referring to claim 11, Clissold-Bate et al. teaches the panel comprises an OLED display panel or a microLED display panel (para 0078: “the panel may be a display system, for example based on OLED”) and the device is a mobile phone or a tablet computer (para 0078: “The panel may be part of a smartphone, tablet computer”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the panel speaker into an OLED panel of a phone or tablet, as taught in Clissold-Bate et al., in the device of Asada et al. because it utilizes space more efficiently in thin portable devices.
Referring to claim 12, Asada et al. teaches the panel comprises a flat panel extending in a plane (Fig. 34: diaphragm 2 extends in a plane), and the axis defined by the coil is normal to the plane (Fig. 34: axis of voice coil 6 is normal to plane of diaphragm 2). However, Asada et al. does not teach that the panel is a display panel per se, but Clissold-Bate et al. teaches a flat panel display (para 0078: “the panel may be a display system). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the panel speaker into a display of a device, as taught in Clissold-Bate et al., in the device of Asada et al. because it utilizes space more efficiently in thin portable devices.
Referring to claim 14, Asada et al. teaches a panel audio loudspeaker (Fig. 34), comprising:
a panel (Fig. 34: diaphragm 2 of sound generating device 120; para 0104: “diaphragm 2 is formed as a panel”);
an electromagnetic actuator mechanically coupled to a rear side of the panel (Fig. 34: driver unit 3 coupled to rear side of diaphragm 2), the electromagnetic actuator comprising:
a frame affixed to the panel (Fig. 34: bobbin 8 serves as frame and is attached to diaphragm 2)
a coil attached to the rear side of the panel (Fig. 34: voice coil 6 attached to rear side of diaphragm 2); and
a magnet suspended with respect to the coil via one or more spring elements which suspend the magnet from the frame (Fig. 34: magnetic circuit unit 7 of top plate 12/ magnet 11/yoke 9/center pole 10 suspended with respect to voice coil 6 via ring shaped damper 13, which serves as a spring element and suspends magnetic circuit 7 from bobbin 8),
the coil defining an axis, wherein during operation of the panel audio loudspeaker an electric current through the coil varies a relative displacement of the magnet with respect to the coil along the axis to exert a force on the panel (Fig. 34: displacement between magnetic circuit unit 7/magnet 11 and voice coil 6 occurs along long axis of voice coil; para 0105: “The voice coil bobbin 8 is supported for executing a piston movement in the direction parallel to the center axis, as indicated by arrow P.sub.1 in FIG. 3, by the inner rim side of a damper 132 connected to the top plate 12 of the magnetic circuit unit 7 being connected to the outer periphery of the voice coil bobbin 8.”; para 0217: “the panel-shaped diaphragm 2 is flexurally oscillated by a sole driver unit 3”);
a chassis supporting the panel (Fig. 34: casing 121 supports diaphragm 2), the chassis comprising a rear chassis portion located opposite the panel with respect to the magnet (Fig. 34: bottom panel of casing 121 located opposite to diaphragm 2 with respect to magnetic circuit unit 7); and
a mechanical grounding assembly attached to the magnet and positioned along the axis (Fig. 34: block 122/ screw 14 attached to magnetic circuit unit 7/ magnet 11 and positioned along axis), wherein the grounding assembly mechanically grounds the magnet to the rear chassis portion (Fig. 34: block 122/ screw 14 positioned along axis of coil between magnetic circuit unit 7 and bottom panel of casing 121 and mechanically grounds magnetic circuit unit 7 to casing 121).
However, Asada et al. does not teach a compressible material per se in the embodiment shown in Fig. 34, or that the panel is a display panel, but Clissold-Bate et al. teaches a display panel (para 0078: “the panel may be a display system) and
the grounding assembly comprises a compressible element (Fig. 5: suspension elements 530a, 530b are springs – Examiner notes that when springs, which allow for displacement of attached elements, are used as the grounding assembly within the device of Asada et al., there will be displacement of the magnetic circuit 7 such that an electric current through the coil varies a relative displacement by displacing the magnet with respect to the coil) and mechanically grounds the magnet to the rear chassis portion (Fig. 5: suspension elements 530a, 530b ground magnets 326, 328 to chassis 102), such that the magnet is movably connected to both:
(i) the display panel, which is located on a first side of the magnet, via the one or more spring elements and the frame (Fig. 5: magnets 326, 328 are movably connected to panel display 104, which is located on a first side of magnets 326, 328 – Examiner notes that when the suspension elements 530a, 530b are used in place of block 122 in Asada et al., the magnetic circuit 7 of Asada et al. will be movably connected to top of casing 121 via ring shaped damper 13 and bobbin 8); and
(ii) the rear chassis portion, which is located on a second side of the magnet that opposes the first side of the magnet, via the grounding assembly (Fig. 5: magnets 326, 328 movably connected to chassis 102, which is located on a second side of magnets 326, 328, via suspension elements 530a, 530b). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a compressible material, as taught in Clissold-Bate et al., in the device of Asada et al. because it allows for vibration “at certain desired frequencies”. The added compliancy of the system adds more control over the amount of vibration and at what frequency that vibration occurs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the panel speaker into a display of a device, as taught in Clissold-Bate et al., in the loudspeaker of Asada et al. because it utilizes space more efficiently in thin portable devices.
Referring to claim 23, Asada et al. teaches the panel comprises a flat panel extending in a plane (Fig. 34: diaphragm 2 extends in a plane), and the axis defined by the coil is normal to the plane (Fig. 34: axis of voice coil 6 is normal to plane of diaphragm 2) and Clissold-Bate et al. teaches a flat panel display (para 0078: “the panel may be a display system). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 14.
Referring to claim 24, Clissold-Bate et al. teaches the compressible element of the grounding assembly comprises a compressible spring or compressible foam (Fig. 5: suspension elements 530a, 530b are springs). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asada et al. and Clissold-Bate et al., as taught in claims 1 and 14, in view of Passgang et al. US Publication No. 20220290829.
Referring to claim 3, Asada et al. and Clissold-Bate et al. do not teach a longer list of possible compliant materials, but Passgang et al. teaches the compressible element is selected from the group consisting of: a piece of foam, a piece of rubber, a piece of silicone, a three-dimensional polymer structure, a spring, a pressure sensitive adhesive (para 0018). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a compliant material from a list of more materials, as taught in Passgang et al., in the device of Asada et al. and Clissold-Bate et al. because it provides more options and flexibility when manufacturing the device.
Referring to claim 15, Asada et al. and Clissold-Bate et al. do not teach a longer list of possible compliant materials, but Passgang et al. teaches the compressible element is selected from the group consisting of: a piece of foam, a piece of rubber, a piece of silicone, a three-dimensional polymer structure, a spring, or a pressure sensitive adhesive (para 0018). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a compliant material from a list of more materials, as taught in Passgang et al., in the loudspeaker of Asada et al. and Clissold-Bate et al. because it provides more options and flexibility when manufacturing the device.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asada et al. and Clissold-Bate et al., as taught in claim 1, in view of Kim et al. US Publication No. 202103211200
Referring to claim 7, Asada et al. and Clissold-Bate et al. do not show additional components per se, but Kim et al. teaches one or more additional components within the housing, the one or more additional components being rigidly coupled to the chassis (Fig. 1: circuit board 190 mounted in housing 110). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include additional elements, as taught in Kim et al., in the device of Asada et al. and Clissold-Bate et al. because a circuit is needed to control the electronics within the housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-28 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Examiner notes that claims 25 and 27 are interpreted to depend from claim 1. Examiner will reconsider allowable subject matter upon amendment.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 25-28, Asada et al. and Clissold-Bate et al. teach most of the limitations of claims 25-28, however, they do not, alone or in combination with other prior art of record, provide comparable specific data on vibration or sound pressure level at specific frequencies for systems with and without the claimed grounding assembly in combination with other recited elements in the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states in paras 1-2 of page 7 to paras 1-2 of page 8 of the remarks:
“As shown in Figure 34 and described in the above-cited paragraph of Asada, the
"magnetic circuit unit 7" is non-movable relative to the "casing 121", due to being connected to the casing through the "supporting base block 122." Therefore, the cited portion of Asada fails to disclose or make obvious "the magnet is movably connected to both: (i) the panel, which is located on a first side of the magnet, via the one or more spring elements and the frame; and (ii) the rear chassis portion, which is located on a second side of the magnet that opposes the first side of the magnet, via the grounding assembly," as recited by amended claim 1 (emphasis added).
The cited portions of Clissold-Bate fail to remedy the deficiencies of Asada in these regards. A cited portion of Clissold-Bate states "FIG. 5 shows an embodiment of a magnetic DMA 510 that includes transducer 420 attached to suspension elements 530a and 530b. Each suspension element 530a and 530b is also attached to chassis 102." Clissold-Bate at [0052]. FIG. 5 of Clissold-Bate is reproduced below.
As shown in Figure 5 and described in the above-cited paragraph of Clissold-Bate, the "transducer 420," which includes magnets 326 and 328, is not connected to any component on the opposite side of the suspension elements (the top side as shown in FIG. 5). Specifically, the "transducer 420" of Clissold-Bate is not connected to the panel 104 nor to the member 330.
Therefore, the cited portions of Clissold-Bate fail to disclose "the magnet is movably connected to both: (i) the panel, which is located on a first side of the magnet, via the one or more spring elements and the frame; and (ii) the rear chassis portion, which is located on a second side of the magnet that opposes the first side of the magnet, via the grounding assembly," as recited by amended claim 1 (emphasis added). Accordingly, none of the cited references disclose a magnet that is "movably connected to both: (i) the panel ... and (ii) the rear chassis portion." “
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). When the suspension elements 530a and 530b of Clissold-Bate replace the base block 122 of Fig. 34 of Asada, the magnetic circuit unit 7 of Asada et al. becomes movably attached to both diaphragm 2 and the bottom of casing 121. The springs of suspension elements 530a and 530b allow for movement of the magnetic circuit unit 7 with respect to the bottom of casing 121 and because that setup allows for movement of the magnetic circuit unit 7 in relation to casing 121, the magnetic circuit unit 7 is also now movably attached to the diaphragm 2 via the damper 13 and bobbin 8. Therefore, the combination of Asada and Clissold-Bate teach that the magnet is movably connected to both the panel and the rear chassis portion.
Conclusion
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office Action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/KATHERINE A FALEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693