This office action is in response to amendment filed 07/30/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-13, 16, 18-20, 23-25, 27, 28, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2019/0090279 A1) in view of Cao et al. (US 2024/0188128 A1) and Dong (US 2023/0199843 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 23, Sun discloses a method and an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory storing computer-executable instructions (see par. 0008); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (see par. 0008) and configured to execute the instructions to:
receive a pre-grant (PG) indicating a plurality of beams and a transmission resource (see para. 0035-0037, discloses receiving PG with band as resource, see par. 0084, 0100, 0102 further discloses indication of beams, see para. 0080-0090);
perform the LBT procedure on each beam of the plurality of beams (see Id. discloses performing an LBT, see also para. 0129-130); and
transmit an acknowledgment to the pre-grant (APG) including a LBT report for the plurality of beams on the transmission resource, the LBT report indicating a respective result of the LBT procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams (see para. 0037, discloses transmitting response such as ack or nack, alternatively, see para. channel reservation procedure, indicating result of LBT, see para. 0080-0090).
Sun fails to disclose but Cao discloses wherein the LBT report is for plurality of beams on the transmission resource, the LBT report indicating a respective result of the LBT procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams (see para. 0069-0070, discloses transmitting a report comprising sequence of bits indicating a respective result of LBT procedure for each of the beams).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include LBT report indicating, for each beam of the indicated plurality of beams, a respective result of the LBT procedure for the beam of the indicated plurality of beams as described by Cao.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow notifying the recipient of success or failure of access such that interfering beams can be eliminated.
Sun fails to disclose but Dong discloses receiving a message, i.e. PG, indicating plurality of beams for a listen before talk (LBT) procedure (see para. 0042, discloses network configuring a plurality of beams for which CCA detection is to be performed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include receiving a pre-grant message indicating plurality of beams as described by Dong.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow notifying the UE of the appropriate beams to determine suitable beam for use in transmission of data.
Regarding claim 18 and 27, Sun discloses a method an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
a memory storing computer-executable instructions (see fig. 13, 1325); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (see fig. 13, 1320) and configured to execute the instructions to:
transmit a pre-grant (PG) indicating a plurality of beams and a transmission resource to a user equipment (UE) (see para. 0035-0037, discloses transmitting PG with band as resource, see par. 0084, 0100, 0102 further discloses indication of beams); and
receive an acknowledgment to the pre-grant (APG) on the transmission resource, the APG including a listen before talk (LBT) report indicating a respective result of the LBT procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams (see para. 0037, discloses receiving response such as ack or nack, alternatively, see para. channel reservation procedure, indicating result of LBT).
Sun fails to disclose but Cao discloses wherein the LBT report indicating, for each beam of the indicated plurality of beams, a respective result of the LBT procedure for the beam of the indicated plurality of beams (see para. 0069-0070, discloses transmitting a report comprising sequence of bits indicating a respective result of LBT procedure for each of the beams).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include LBT report indicating, for each beam of the indicated plurality of beams, a respective result of the LBT procedure for the beam of the indicated plurality of beams as described by Cao.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow notifying the recipient of success or failure of access such that interfering beams can be eliminated.
Sun fails to disclose but Dong discloses receiving a message, i.e. PG, indicating plurality of beams for a listen before talk (LBT) procedure (see para. 0042, discloses network configuring a plurality of beams for which CCA detection is to be performed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include receiving a pre-grant message indicating plurality of beams as described by Dong.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow notifying the UE of the appropriate beams to determine suitable beam for use in transmission of data.
Regarding claims 2, 19-20, 24, 25, 28, Sun discloses the method or an apparatus, wherein the respective result for at least one beam of the plurality of beams is a successful LBT procedure, and wherein a transmitter is allowed to transmit a downlink transmission on the at least one beam during a channel occupancy time (COT) (see para. 0035-0037, 0129-0130 discloses transmission of ack or channel reservation is successful LBT is performed, COT is TxOP) or wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the downlink transmission on the at least one beam with the successful LBT procedure (see para. 0035-0037, 0129-0130 discloses transmission of ack or channel reservation is successful LBT is performed, COT is TxOP).
Regarding claim 3, Sun discloses the method, further comprising receiving the downlink transmission on the at least one beam with the successful LBT procedure (par. 0035-0037, discloses receiving downlink transmission, see also fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 9, 30, Sun discloses the method wherein the APG is transmitted on a COT defined by an end of a base station LBT procedure performed prior to the PG and a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT) value (see fig. 3, discloses transmission of channel reservation after LBT and PG in TxOP as MCOT, see also para. 0083) or performing a base station LBT procedure prior to transmitting the PG, wherein the APG is received on a COT defined by an end of the base station LBT procedure and a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT) value (see fig. 3, discloses transmission of channel reservation after LBT and PG in TxOP as MCOT, see also para. 0083).
Regarding claim 10, Sun discloses the method wherein the APG is transmitted outside of a channel occupancy time (COT) as a contention-free transmission (see par. 0083, discloses transmitting response in different channel entirely).
Regarding claim 11, Sun discloses the method wherein the PG indicates that only control signaling is allowed on the transmission resource (see par. 0013, discloses channel reservation using TxOP of the pre-grant and its transmitted in PUCCH).
Regarding claim 12, Sun discloses the method wherein the APG is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduled by the PG (see par. 0100, discloses PG scheduling in TxOP downlink or uplink, e.g. PUSCH).
Regarding claim 13, Sun discloses the method wherein the PG is a downlink control information (DCI) (see par. 0100).
Regarding claim 16, Sun discloses the method wherein the LBT procedure for each beam of the indicated plurality of beams is time division multiplexed (TDM) or space division multiplexed (SDM) (see par. 0068, discloses at least TDM).
Claims 4-6, 8, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Cao and Dong as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Chendamarai Kannan et al. (US 2020/0037169 A1, referred to as Chendamarai).
Regarding claims 4, 8, the combination of Sun and Cao disclose wherein the LBT procedure on each beam of the plurality of beams is a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure (see para. 0069-0071).
Sun fails to disclose but Chendamarai discloses wherein the clear channel assessment is an extended clear channel assessment (eCCA) as recited in claim 4, or a short clear channel assessment as recited in claim 8 (see para. 0109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to replace CCA with extended CCA or short CCA procedure.
The motivation for doing so would be to satisfy different channel access procedure for different situation.
Regarding claim 5, 29, Sun discloses the method wherein the COT is defined by an end of the successful LBT procedure corresponding to the at least one beam and a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT) value (para. 0083-0084, discloses TxOP as COT corresponding to transmitting beam and max duration).
Regarding claim 6, Sun discloses the method, wherein the transmission resource corresponds to the at least one beam with the successful LBT procedure (see par. 0035-0037, 0084, 0100, 0102 discloses TxOP associated with the transmission beam).
Claims 7, 21, 22, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Cao, Dong and Chendamarai as applied to claims 4 above, and further in view of Koorapaty et al. (US 2017/0142746 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Sun fails to disclose but Koorapaty discloses the method wherein the APG includes a timestamp of the successful LBT procedure (see par. 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include an APG with timestamp of successful LBT procedure as described by Koorapaty.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow identifying the most recent status of the channel.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Sun and Cao disclose wherein the LBT procedure on each beam of the indicated plurality of beams is a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure (see para. 0069-0071).
Sun fails to disclose but Chendamarai discloses wherein the clear channel assessment is an extended clear channel assessment (eCCA) (see para. 0109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to replace CCA with extended CCA or short CCA procedure.
The motivation for doing so would be to satisfy different channel access procedure for different situation.
Sun fails to disclose but Koorapaty discloses the method wherein the APG includes a timestamp of the successful LBT procedure (see par. 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include an APG with timestamp of successful LBT procedure as described by Koorapaty.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow identifying the most recent status of the channel.
Regarding claim 22, Sun discloses the method performing a base station LBT procedure prior to transmitting the PG, wherein the APG is received on a COT defined by an end of the base station LBT procedure and a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT) value (see fig. 3, discloses transmission of channel reservation after LBT and PG in TxOP as MCOT, see also para. 0083).
Regarding claim 26, Sun discloses the apparatus wherein the COT is defined by an end of the successful LBT procedure corresponding to the at least one beam and a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT) value (see fig. 3, discloses transmission of channel reservation after LBT and PG in TxOP as MCOT, see also para. 0083).
Sun fails to disclose but Chendamarai discloses wherein the clear channel assessment is an extended clear channel assessment (eCCA) (see para. 0109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to replace CCA with extended CCA or short CCA procedure.
The motivation for doing so would be to satisfy different channel access procedure for different situation.
Sun fails to disclose wherein the APG includes a timestamp of the successful LBT procedure.
Koorapaty discloses the method wherein the APG includes a timestamp of the successful LBT procedure (see par. 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include an APG with timestamp of successful LBT procedure as described by Koorapaty.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow identifying the most recent status of the channel.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Cao and Dong as applied to claims 13 above, and further in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2020/0205149 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Sun fails to disclose but Khoshnevisan discloses the method wherein the DCI includes a field indicating activated beams based on a configured mapping of field values to sets of beams (see par. 0122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include the DCI includes a field indicating activated beams based on a configured mapping of field values to sets of beams.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow indicating activated beams to the UE.
Claim 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Cao and Dong as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Tooher et al. (US 2022/0287094 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Sun fails to disclose but Tooher discloses the method wherein the LBT report is a multi-beam channel state information (CSI) report (see par. 0146).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include wherein the LBT report is a multi-beam channel state information report as described by Tooher.
The motivation for doing so would be to report the status of each beam utilizing CSI report.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Cao and Dong as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Ganesan et al. (US 2023/0141702 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Sun fails to disclose but Ganesan discloses the method, wherein performing the LBT procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams comprises performing an LBT procedure on a wider beam including a group of the plurality of beams (see par. 0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include performing an LBT procedure on a wider beam including a group of the plurality of beams as described by Ganesan.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow utilizing wider beam.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended the claim and argues that Sun fails to disclose the amended limitation. The rejection above addresses claim amendments and as such, Applicant arguments are moot.
Applicant also argues that Sun and Cao are not properly combinable. Applicant argues that Cao by contrast contains no channel reservation concept and no third party interference protection rationale. Therefore, applicant concludes that there is no rationale for combining the references.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Merely because Cao does not disclose the additional feature of channel reservation disclosed by Sun does not necessarily make it improper for combination with Sun. The channel reservation signal allow it to reduce the interference, but more important the response message allow notifying the base station if particular beam and channel is available as further described Cao. As such, Examiner respectfully notes that the combination of Sun and Cao is proper.
Regarding claim 17, Applicant argues that Ganesan’s wider beam LBT is performed by transmitting network node, not by a pre-grant receiving UE, and transmitting the report. Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant is attacking references individually when the rejection is made of combination of references. Ganesan is only cited for teaching of performing wider beam LBT as described in claim 17. Other features are supported by combination of Sun, Cao and Dong. As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NISHANT B. DIVECHA
Supervisory Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419