DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner notes that a certified English translation has been submitted on 01/21/2026 for the certified copies KR 10-2021-0064200, filed May 18, 2021 and KR 10-2021-0129100, filed September 29, 2021.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 05/20/2026 are entered for prosecution. Applicant’s amendments to the specification and claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Final Office Action. Claims 1, 4, 7-10, and 12 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 4, 7-10, and 12 filed 05/20/2026 (hereinafter after Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that ZHU’s priority to Chinese Patent Application No. CN 2021-10008177, filed on January 5, 2021 does not disclose “(Remarks Page 7-8/9) Zhu's Chinese priority application (CN 2021-10008177) reveals that it completely lacks 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) support for the "implicit indication" or "omission of the field" features described in paragraph [0091] of the U.S. publication.
Instead, Zhu's priority application discloses explicit signaling where a mode indication field must be present, and its specific bit value (e.g., bit '0' or '1') explicitly dictates the mode. For example, the priority application states that when the mode indicator field included in the SIB is '0', it indicates LBT mode, and when it is '1', it indicates No-LBT mode.
Thus, Zhu's priority application does not disclose or suggest that (i) the LBT mode indication field is optional, (ii) the field may be entirely omitted from the SIB, and (iii) the absence or non-provision of such a field can serve as an implicit instruction or indication for any mode (let alone No-LBT mode).
Because the technical features relied upon by the Office Action (the "implicit indication via omission" feature of paragraph [0091]) were not present in the January 5, 2021 application, Zhu cannot be accorded that earlier date for the purpose of a 35 U.S.C. § 102 or § 103 rejection”.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner submitted a machine translation of the Chinese Patent Application No. CN 2021-10008177.6 (hereinafter CN’77.6), filed on January 5, 2021 which particularly discloses “ " (Remarks Page 7-8/9) implicit indication" or "omission of the field" features described in paragraph [0091] of the U.S. publication... (i) the LBT mode indication field is optional, (ii) the field may be entirely omitted from the SIB”. Therefore, ZHU is entitled to the benefit of the prior-filed application’s date of January 5, 2021, which is earlier than applicant’s Foreign Priority Applicant’s KR ‘200 filed on May 18, 2021.
Below is a provided screenshot of the relevant section from said machine translation (CN’77.6 - Page 3) wherein the system messages can be an SIB (CN’77.6 - Page 9):
It is optional for the SIB to include the first indication information (e.g., LBT mode).
Therefore, the applicant’s contention is not persuasive.
Examiner notes the amendments from SIB to RRC message broadens the scope of the claims because the SIB is carried inside the RRC message.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1, 4, 7-10, and 12:
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “frequency range (FR) 2-2” recited in independent claims 1, 10 and 12 includes a frequency range in an unlicensed spectrum such as from 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz according to the specification “[0128] the unlicensed band may be included in a specific frequency range (e.g., from 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz) higher than the existing frequency range (e.g., FR1 and FR2); [0129] The specific frequency range may be referred to as FR 2-2 (in this case, the existing FR2 (1.e., 24250 MHz - 52600 MHz) may be referred to as FR2-1) or may be referred to as FR3. The scope of this disclosure is not limited to the designations FR2-2 or FR3”. Therefore, an unlicensed high frequency band (an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz) which is a subset of an unlicensed frequency band ( ZHU - [0078] an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure) is considered a FR 2-2.
Regarding claim 1:
The BRI of “shared spectrum” and “unshared spectrum” recited in claim 1 includes unlicensed band (shared spectrum) or cell, and licensed band (unshared spectrum) or a cell according to the specification “[0327] Here, the licensed band operation means an operation without shared spectrum channel access, and the unlicensed band operation may refer to an operation in the case of a shared spectrum channel”.
The BRI of “FR 1” recited in claim 1 includes an NR frequency band that is corresponding to the frequency range 410 MHz - 7125 MHz according to the specification “[0081] An NR frequency band is defined as a frequency range in two types (FR1, FR2); Table 2 – Frequency Range Corresponding designation frequency range… FR1 410 MHz-7125 MHz ”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 7-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “based on the information related to the CAP... the RRC message, the PDCCH... the second DCI that does not include the indication information in the FR 2-2” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “information related to the CAP” or “the second DCI” is the one being referred to “that”. For the purpose of examination, “that” will be interpreted as “the second DCI”.
Claims 10 and 12 have the similar indefiniteness; therefore, the examiner applies the same reasoning for the rejection as claim 1. Similarly, the examiner applies the same rejections to the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHU et al. (US 20240049281 A1, hereinafter, ZHU).
Regarding claim 1, ZHU discloses:
A method ([0002] The present disclosure relates to the field of communications technology, and in particular to a mode indication method, a terminal device and a network device) comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 4-6– terminal; [0003] a user equipment (User Equipment, UE, also called a terminal)), a radio resource control (RRC) message from a base station (Fig. 5 – RRC signaling; Fig. 5;); and
monitoring, by the UE, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for at least one of first downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 5; [0144] if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, in a case that the terminal decodes C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI scrambled DCI format 0_0 or ... DCI format 1_0... DCI format 0_1... DCI format 1_1 (it is implied UE is monitoring PDCCH since DCI is carried on the PDCCH), there is no need to decode ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC field; Fig. 4-6 – SI-RNTI, P-RNTI scrambled DCI) or second DCI (Fig. 4; [0139] the terminal receives DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI; [0140] after the terminal receives and decodes the first indication information in the reserved bit in the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI, if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, the terminal does not need to decode the ChannelAccess-CPext field, when it decodes DCI format 0_0 scrambled by C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI or DCI format 1_0... DCI format 0_1... or DCI format 1_1 (second DCI); [0141] it should be noted that, during this process, the terminal normally decodes and detects the DCI),
wherein, based on information related to a channel access procedure (CAP) (LBT mode) being provided through the RRC message (Fig. 5; [0143] after receiving the first indication information configured by RRC signaling, the terminal performs operations according to the configuration mode of RRC signaling), the PDCCH is monitored for the first DCI (first DCI after obtaining LBT mode through RRC signaling) including an indication information related to a channel access type ([0079] in a case that the terminal device is in LBT mode, the terminal device needs to decode the information in the information field related to unlicensed frequency band channel access when receiving the downlink control information (DCI), for example, the terminal device needs to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext (e.g., a field that specifies channel access type and CP extension) and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0144] if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, in a case that the terminal decodes C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI scrambled DCI format 0_0 or ... DCI format 1_0... DCI format 0_1... DCI format 1_1, there is no need to decode ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC field; [0146] Scenario 3: after the terminal obtains the LBT/No-LBT mode indicated by the first indication information through DCI or PBCH scrambled by SI-RNTI and RRC signaling, if it needs to re-obtain new system information, the LBT/No-LBT mode is indicated by a DCI scrambled by P-RNTI) in a frequency range (FR) 2-2 ([0150] the first indication information being used to indicate a channel access mode of the terminal device in a first unlicensed frequency band, where the channel access mode includes: a listen before talk (LBT) mode or a no listen before talk (No-LBT) mode; [0019] Optionally, the first unlicensed frequency band is a high-frequency unlicensed frequency band; [0078] It should be noted that the first unlicensed frequency band is a high-frequency unlicensed frequency band, that is, an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure),
wherein, based on the information related to the CAP being not provided through the RRC message (Fig. 4; [0139] the terminal receives DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI; [0084] a new mode indication field is added in the reserved bit of the DCI scrambled by the SI-RNTI, for example, the mode indication field occupies 1 bit and is configured to indicate whether the terminal device is in LBT mode or No-LBT mode in the unlicensed frequency band (information related to the CAP is being provided by SI-RNTI scrambled DCII, not the RRC message)), the PDCCH is monitored for the second DCI (second DCI after obtaining LBT mode indicated by SI-RNTI scrambled DCI) that does not include the indication information ([0140] after the terminal receives and decodes the first indication information in the reserved bit in the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI, if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, the terminal does not need to decode the ChannelAccess-CPext field (hence the indication information is not included/obtained because the ChannelAccess-CPext_Field is not decoded), when it decodes DCI format 0_0 scrambled by C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI) in the FR 2-2 ([0150]; [0019];[0078];),
wherein the first DCI (Fig. 5; [0144]; first DCI after obtaining LBT mode through RRC signaling) and the second DCI (Fig. 4; [0140]; second DCI after obtaining LBT mode indicated by SI-RNTI scrambled DCI) are cyclic redundancy check (CRC) (it is implied DCI always contains a CRC) scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), a configured scheduling-RNTI (CS- RNTI), or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)-C-RNTI ([0070] In a case that the system works in the unlicensed frequency band, 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in the downlink control information (Downlink Control Information, DCI)…and the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI or CS-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI or TC-RNTI is configured to indicate the combination of a channel access type and cyclic prefix (Cyclic Prefix, CP) extension to user equipment (User Equipment, UE, also called a terminal)), and
wherein, based on third DCI (Fig. 4-5 – SI-RNTI scrambled DCI) being received from the base station (Fig. 4-5 – Base station; [0079] in a case that the terminal device is in No-LBT mode… when receiving the DCI… the terminal device does not need to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0101] Optionally, in a case that the channel access mode is No-LBT mode, the field related to the channel access type in the DCI is 0 bit… the DCI sent by the network device may not carry LBT-related information, so as to reduce the complexity of decoding the DCI by the terminal device) in the FR 2-2 ([0019];[0078];),
Regarding claim 7, ZHU further discloses wherein:
based on the second DCI being detected (Fig. 4; second DCI after obtaining LBT mode indicated by SI-RNTI scrambled DCI; [0140] after the terminal receives and decodes the first indication information in the reserved bit in the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI, if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, the terminal does not need to decode the ChannelAccess-CPext field (hence the indication information is not included), when it decodes DCI format 0_0 scrambled by C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI; [0141] during this process, the terminal normally decodes and detects the DCI), a bit corresponding to a position of the indication information of the second DCI is reserved ([0012] Optionally, in a case that the channel access mode is No-LBT mode, a field related to a channel access type in the DCI is 0 bit).
Regarding claim 8, ZHU further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein:
a size of the indication information included in the first DCI (Fig. 5; (first DCI after obtaining LBT mode through RRC signaling) is 2 bits ([0070] In a case that the system works in the unlicensed frequency band, 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in… the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI or CS-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI or TC-RNTI is configured to indicate the combination of a channel access type and cyclic prefix (Cyclic Prefix, CP) extension to user equipment (User Equipment, UE, also called a terminal); [0144] if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, in a case that the terminal decodes C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI scrambled DCI format 0_0 or ... DCI format 1_0), and
a size of reserved bits included in the second DCI (Fig. 4; second DCI after obtaining LBT mode indicated by SI-RNTI scrambled DCI; [0140] after the terminal receives and decodes the first indication information in the reserved bit in the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI, if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, the terminal does not need to decode the ChannelAccess-CPext field, when it decodes DCI format 0_0... or DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier (Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier, RA-RNTI)\MsgB-RNTI\TC-RNTI... DCI format 0_1... or DCI format 1_1; [0141] it should be noted that, during this process, the terminal normally decodes and detects the DCI) is 2 bits ([0070] 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field).
Regarding claim 9, ZHU further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein:
a size of reserved bits included in the third DCI (Fig. 4-5 – SI-RNTI scrambled DCI) in the FR 2-2 ([0078] an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure) is 17 bits ([0072] For DCI scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band, DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI has 17 bits of reserved bit).
Regarding claim 10, ZHU discloses:
A user equipment (UE) ([0003] a user equipment (User Equipment, UE, also called a terminal)); [0002] The present disclosure relates to the field of communications technology, and in particular to a mode indication method, a terminal device and a network device) comprising:
at least one transceiver (Fig 8 – 810; [0717] provides a terminal device, including… a transceiver 810); and
at least one processor (Fig 8 – 800; [0717] a processor 800) coupled to the at least one transceiver ([0717] the transceiver 810 is connected to the processor 800 and the memory 820 through a bus interface);
wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0717] where the processor 800 is configured to read the program in the memory and execute the following process):
receive a radio resource control (RRC) message from a base station (Fig. 5 – RRC signaling; Fig. 5) through the at least one transceiver ([0172] receiving, through the transceiver 810, first indication information sent by a network device; [0174] The transceiver 810 is configured to receive and send data under the control of the processor 800); and
monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for at least one of first downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 5; [0144] if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, in a case that the terminal decodes C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI scrambled DCI format 0_0 or ... DCI format 1_0... DCI format 0_1... DCI format 1_1 (it is implied UE is monitoring PDCCH since DCI is carried on the PDCCH), there is no need to decode ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC field; Fig. 4-6 – SI-RNTI, P-RNTI scrambled DCI) or second DCI (Fig. 4; [0139] the terminal receives DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI; [0140] after the terminal receives and decodes the first indication information in the reserved bit in the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI, if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, the terminal does not need to decode the ChannelAccess-CPext field, when it decodes DCI format 0_0 scrambled by C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI or DCI format 1_0... DCI format 0_1... or DCI format 1_1 (second DCI); [0141] it should be noted that, during this process, the terminal normally decodes and detects the DCI),
wherein, based on information related to a channel access procedure (CAP) (LBT mode) being provided through the RRC message (Fig. 5; [0143] after receiving the first indication information configured by RRC signaling, the terminal performs operations according to the configuration mode of RRC signaling), the PDCCH is transmitted for the first DCI (first DCI after obtaining LBT mode through RRC signaling) including an indication information related to a channel access type ([0079] in a case that the terminal device is in LBT mode, the terminal device needs to decode the information in the information field related to unlicensed frequency band channel access when receiving the downlink control information (DCI), for example, the terminal device needs to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext (e.g., a field that specifies channel access type and CP extension) and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0144] if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, in a case that the terminal decodes C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI scrambled DCI format 0_0 or ... DCI format 1_0... DCI format 0_1... DCI format 1_1, there is no need to decode ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC field; [0146] Scenario 3: after the terminal obtains the LBT/No-LBT mode indicated by the first indication information through DCI or PBCH scrambled by SI-RNTI and RRC signaling, if it needs to re-obtain new system information, the LBT/No-LBT mode is indicated by a DCI scrambled by P-RNTI) in a frequency range (FR) 2-2 ([0150] the first indication information being used to indicate a channel access mode of the terminal device in a first unlicensed frequency band, where the channel access mode includes: a listen before talk (LBT) mode or a no listen before talk (No-LBT) mode; [0019] Optionally, the first unlicensed frequency band is a high-frequency unlicensed frequency band; [0078] It should be noted that the first unlicensed frequency band is a high-frequency unlicensed frequency band, that is, an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure),
wherein, based on the information related to the CAP being not provided through the RRC message (Fig. 4; [0139] the terminal receives DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI; [0084] a new mode indication field is added in the reserved bit of the DCI scrambled by the SI-RNTI, for example, the mode indication field occupies 1 bit and is configured to indicate whether the terminal device is in LBT mode or No-LBT mode in the unlicensed frequency band (information related to the CAP is being provided by SI-RNTI scrambled DCII, not the RRC message)), the PDCCH is transmitted for the second DCI (second DCI after obtaining LBT mode indicated by SI-RNTI scrambled DCI) that does not include the indication information ([0140] after the terminal receives and decodes the first indication information in the reserved bit in the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI, if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, the terminal does not need to decode the ChannelAccess-CPext field (hence the indication information is not included), when it decodes DCI format 0_0 scrambled by C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI) in the FR 2-2 ([0150]; [0019];[0078];),
wherein the first DCI (Fig. 5; [0144]; first DCI after obtaining LBT mode through RRC signaling) and the second DCI (Fig. 4; [0140]; second DCI after obtaining LBT mode indicated by SI-RNTI scrambled DCI) are cyclic redundancy check (CRC) (it is implied DCI always contains a CRC) scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), a configured scheduling-RNTI (CS- RNTI), or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)-C-RNTI ([0070] In a case that the system works in the unlicensed frequency band, 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in the downlink control information (Downlink Control Information, DCI)…and the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI or CS-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI or TC-RNTI is configured to indicate the combination of a channel access type and cyclic prefix (Cyclic Prefix, CP) extension to user equipment (User Equipment, UE, also called a terminal)), and
wherein, based on third DCI (Fig. 4-5 – SI-RNTI scrambled DCI) being received from the base station (Fig. 4-5 – Base station; [0079] in a case that the terminal device is in No-LBT mode… when receiving the DCI… the terminal device does not need to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0101] Optionally, in a case that the channel access mode is No-LBT mode, the field related to the channel access type in the DCI is 0 bit… the DCI sent by the network device may not carry LBT-related information, so as to reduce the complexity of decoding the DCI by the terminal device) and the third DCI (third DCI is an DCI being scrambled with SI-RNTI) being CRC scrambled by a system information-RNTI (SI-RNTI) ([0072] For DCI scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band), a size of reserved bits included in the third DCI in a cell with shared spectrum channel access ([0003] In related technical solutions, in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band, the system needs to perform a channel access procedure of listen before talk (Listen Before Talk, LBT) before obtaining a channel, that is, the LBT mode; [0078] an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure) for FR1 is 17 bits ([0072] For DCI scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band, DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI has 17 bits of reserved bit) and a size of reserved bits included in the third DCI in a cell with licensed channel access for FR1 is 15 bits ([0072] otherwise, 15 bits of reserved bit).
Regarding claim 12, ZHU discloses:
A base station (Fig. 4-6 – base station; [0002] The present disclosure relates to the field of communications technology, and in particular to a mode indication method, a terminal device and a network device; [0135] The network device involved in the embodiments of the present disclosure may be a base station), comprising:
at least one transceiver (Fig. 10 – 1010; [0218] As shown in FIG. 10, an embodiment of the present disclosure also provides a network device, including… a transceiver 1010); and
at least one processor (Fig. 10 - 1000) coupled to the at least one transceiver ([0218] where the transceiver 1010 is connected to the processor 1000 and the memory 1020 through a bus interface);
wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0218] where the processor 1000 is configured to read the program in the memory and perform the following process):
transmit radio resource control (RRC) message (Fig. 5 – RRC signaling; Fig. 5;) through the at least one transceiver ([0219] sending, through the transceiver 1010, first indication information to a terminal device; [0221] The transceiver 1010 is configured to receive and send data under the control of the processor 1000); and
transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for at least one of first downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 5; [0144] if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, in a case that the terminal decodes C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI scrambled DCI format 0_0 or ... DCI format 1_0... DCI format 0_1... DCI format 1_1 (it is implied UE is monitoring PDCCH since DCI is carried on the PDCCH), there is no need to decode ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC field; Fig. 4-6 – SI-RNTI, P-RNTI scrambled DCI (it is implied the base station transmit the PDCCH for the first DCI since DCI is carried on the PDCCH)) or second DCI (Fig. 4; [0139] the terminal receives DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI; [0140] after the terminal receives and decodes the first indication information in the reserved bit in the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI, if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, the terminal does not need to decode the ChannelAccess-CPext field, when it decodes DCI format 0_0 scrambled by C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI or DCI format 1_0... DCI format 0_1... or DCI format 1_1 (second DCI); [0141] it should be noted that, during this process, the terminal normally decodes and detects the DCI) through the at least one transceiver ([0219];[0221];),
wherein, based on information related to a channel access procedure (CAP) (LBT mode) being transmitted through the RRC message (Fig. 5; [0143] after receiving the first indication information configured by RRC signaling, the terminal performs operations according to the configuration mode of RRC signaling), the PDCCH is transmitted for the first DCI (it is implied the base station transmitted the PDCCH for the first DCI since DCI is carried on the PDCCH) including an indication information related to a channel access type ([0079] in a case that the terminal device is in LBT mode, the terminal device needs to decode the information in the information field related to unlicensed frequency band channel access when receiving the downlink control information (DCI), for example, the terminal device needs to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext (e.g., a field that specifies channel access type and CP extension) and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0144] if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, in a case that the terminal decodes C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI scrambled DCI format 0_0 or ... DCI format 1_0... DCI format 0_1... DCI format 1_1, there is no need to decode ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC field; [0146] Scenario 3: after the terminal obtains the LBT/No-LBT mode indicated by the first indication information through DCI or PBCH scrambled by SI-RNTI and RRC signaling, if it needs to re-obtain new system information, the LBT/No-LBT mode is indicated by a DCI scrambled by P-RNTI) in a frequency range (FR) 2-2 ([0150] the first indication information being used to indicate a channel access mode of the terminal device in a first unlicensed frequency band, where the channel access mode includes: a listen before talk (LBT) mode or a no listen before talk (No-LBT) mode; [0019] Optionally, the first unlicensed frequency band is a high-frequency unlicensed frequency band; [0078] It should be noted that the first unlicensed frequency band is a high-frequency unlicensed frequency band, that is, an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure),
wherein, based on information related to the CAP being not transmitted through the RRC message (Fig. 4; [0139] the terminal receives DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI; [0084] a new mode indication field is added in the reserved bit of the DCI scrambled by the SI-RNTI, for example, the mode indication field occupies 1 bit and is configured to indicate whether the terminal device is in LBT mode or No-LBT mode in the unlicensed frequency band (information related to the CAP is being provided by SI-RNTI scrambled DCII, not the RRC message)), the PDCCH is transmitted for the second DCI (it is implied the base station transmit the PDCCH for the second DCI since DCI is carried on the PDCCH) that does not include the indication information ([0140] after the terminal receives and decodes the first indication information in the reserved bit in the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI, if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, the terminal does not need to decode the ChannelAccess-CPext field (hence the indication information is not included), when it decodes DCI format 0_0 scrambled by C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI\TC-RNTI) in the FR 2-2 ([0150]; [0019];[0078];),
wherein the first DCI (Fig. 5; [0144]; first DCI after transmitting LBT mode through RRC signaling) and the second DCI (Fig. 4; [0140]; second DCI after transmitting LBT mode indicated by SI-RNTI scrambled DCI) are cyclic redundancy check (CRC) (it is implied DCI always contains a CRC) scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), a configured scheduling-RNTI (CS- RNTI), or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)-C-RNTI ([0070] In a case that the system works in the unlicensed frequency band, 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in the downlink control information (Downlink Control Information, DCI)…and the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI or CS-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI or TC-RNTI is configured to indicate the combination of a channel access type and cyclic prefix (Cyclic Prefix, CP) extension to user equipment (User Equipment, UE, also called a terminal)), and
wherein, based on third DCI (Fig. 4-5 – SI-RNTI scrambled DCI) being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 4-5 terminal, SI-RNTI scrambled with DCI; [0079] in a case that the terminal device is in No-LBT mode… when receiving the DCI… the terminal device does not need to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0101] Optionally, in a case that the channel access mode is No-LBT mode, the field related to the channel access type in the DCI is 0 bit… the DCI sent by the network device may not carry LBT-related information, so as to reduce the complexity of decoding the DCI by the terminal device) and the third DCI (third DCI is an DCI being scrambled with SI-RNTI) being CRC scrambled by a system information-RNTI (SI-RNTI) ([0072] For DCI scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band), a size of reserved bits included in the third DCI in a cell with shared spectrum channel access ([0003] In related technical solutions, in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band, the system needs to perform a channel access procedure of listen before talk (Listen Before Talk, LBT) before obtaining a channel, that is, the LBT mode; [0078] an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure) for FR1 is 17 bits ([0072] For DCI scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band, DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI has 17 bits of reserved bit) and a size of reserved bits included in the third DCI in a cell with licensed channel access for FR1 is 15 bits ([0072] otherwise, 15 bits of reserved bit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of Li et al. (US 20210092763 A1, hereinafter LI).
Regarding claim 4, ZHU does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the PDCCH is monitored in a common search space (CSS).
However, LI discloses a PDCCH is monitored in a common search space (CSS) ([0086] A UE typically monitors multiple candidate locations for respective potential PDCCH transmissions to decode multiple candidate DCI formats in a slot; [0088] A UE determines CCEs for a PDCCH reception based on a search space such as a UE-specific search space (USS) for PDCCH candidates with DCI format having CRC scrambled by a RNTI, such as a C-RNTI…a common search space (CSS) for PDCCH candidates with DCI formats having CRC scrambled by other RNTIs. A set of CCEs that can be used for PDCCH transmission to a UE define a PDCCH candidate location).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the PDCCH of ZHU to be monitored in the CSS as taught by LI in order to transmit PDCCH with DCI format(s) and provide control information to the UE prior to RRC connection, such as a system information (e.g., SI-RNTI) (LI – [0086]; [0088]; ZHU - [0100] It should be noted that in the above-mentioned A11 to A14, A11 and A12 may be regarded as obtaining the first indication information from the network device before the RRC connection, and after the terminal device and the network device perform an RRC connection, the network device performs a mode change indication through A14).
Conclusion
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418