DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Examiner notes that a certified English translation has been submitted on 01/21/2026 for the certified copies KR 10-2021-0064200, filed May 18, 2021 and KR 10-2021-0129100, filed September 29, 2021.
Response to Amendment
3. Amendments filed on 01/21/2026 are entered for prosecution. Applicant’s amendments to the specification and claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action. Claims 1, 4, 7-10, and 12 remain pending in the application. No new matter has been added and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 4, 7-10, and 12 filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that ZHU’s priority to Chinese Patent Application No. CN 2021-10008177, filed on January 5, 2021 does not disclose “(Remarks Page 9/11) it is not established that the disclosure of Zhu is sufficiently identical to, or fully supported by, the contents of the January 5, 2021 priority application-particularly regarding the specific DCI scrambling identities and the precise reserved bit sizes (17 bits vs. 15 bits) for FR1 licensed and shared spectrum”.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner submitted a machine translation of the Chinese Patent Application No. CN 2021-10008177.6 (hereinafter CN’77.6), filed on January 5, 2021 which particularly discloses “the specific DCI scrambling identities and the precise reserved bit sizes (17 bits vs. 15 bits)”. Therefore, ZHU is entitled to the benefit of the prior-filed application’s date of January 5, 2021, which is earlier than applicant’s Foreign Priority Applicant’s KR ‘200 filed on May 18, 2021.
Below is a provided screenshot of the relevant section from said machine translation (CN’77.6 - Page 8):
Claim Objections
5. Claims 1, 7, 10, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 “or a MCS-C-RNTI” should read “or a modulation coding scheme (MCS)-C-RNTI”
Claims 7, 10, and 12 have similar informalities, therefore the examiner applies similar objections recited in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
6. Regarding claims 1, 4, 7-10, and 12:
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “frequency range (FR) 2-2” recited in independent claims 1, 10 and 12 includes a frequency range in an unlicensed spectrum such as from 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz according to the specification “[0128] the unlicensed band may be included in a specific frequency range (e.g., from 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz) higher than the existing frequency range (e.g., FR1 and FR2); [0129] The specific frequency range may be referred to as FR 2-2 (in this case, the existing FR2 (1.e., 24250 MHz - 52600 MHz) may be referred to as FR2-1) or may be referred to as FR3. The scope of this disclosure is not limited to the designations FR2-2 or FR3”. Therefore, an unlicensed high frequency band (an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz) which is a subset of an unlicensed frequency band ( ZHU - [0078] an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure) is considered a FR 2-2.
Regarding claim 1:
The BRI of “shared spectrum” and “unshared spectrum” recited in claim 1 includes unlicensed band (shared spectrum) or cell, and licensed band (unshared spectrum) or a cell according to the specification “[0327] Here, the licensed band operation means an operation without shared spectrum channel access, and the unlicensed band operation may refer to an operation in the case of a shared spectrum channel”.
The BRI of “FR 1” recited in claim 1 includes an NR frequency band that is corresponding to the frequency range 410 MHz - 7125 MHz according to the specification “[0081] An NR frequency band is defined as a frequency range in two types (FR1, FR2); Table 2 – Frequency Range Corresponding designation frequency range… FR1 410 MHz-7125 MHz ”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHU et al. (US 20240049281 A1, hereinafter, ZHU).
Regarding claim 1, ZHU discloses:
A method ([0002] The present disclosure relates to the field of communications technology, and in particular to a mode indication method, a terminal device and a network device) comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 4-6– terminal; [0003] a user equipment (User Equipment, UE, also called a terminal)), system information block (SIB) from a base station (Fig. 6 – SIB 1; Fig. 4-5 – SI-RNTI scrambled DCI (carries system information contents, e.g., SIB1)); and
monitoring, by the UE, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for at least one of first downlink control information (DCI) ([0079] in a case that the terminal device is in LBT mode, the terminal device needs to decode the information in… unlicensed frequency band channel access when receiving the downlink control information (DCI) (it is implied UE is monitoring PDCCH since DCI is carried on the PDCCH); Fig. 4-6 – SI-RNTI, P-RNTI scrambled DCI) or second DCI ([0140] after the terminal receives and decodes the first indication information in the reserved bit in the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI, if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, the terminal does not need to decode the ChannelAccess-CPext field, when it decodes… DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI (once the UE receives the system information from SI-RNTI DCI, it is ready to receive other types of DCIs (C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, etc.)); [0141] during this process, the terminal normally decodes and detects the DCI),
wherein, based on information related to a channel access procedure (CAP) (LBT mode) being provided through the SIB ([0090] the system information may be system information block 1 (SIB 1)… in a case that the mode indication field is 0, it indicates the LBT mode, and in a case that the mode indication field is 1, it indicates the No-LBT mode), the PDCCH is monitored for the first DCI (UE operating in LBT mode when receiving first DCI) including an indication information related to a channel access type and cyclic prefix (CP) extension ([0079] in a case that the terminal device is in LBT mode, the terminal device needs to decode the information in the information field related to unlicensed frequency band channel access when receiving the downlink control information (DCI), for example, the terminal device needs to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext (a field that specifies channel access type and CP extension) and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0070] 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in… the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI or… is configured to indicate the combination of a channel access type and cyclic prefix (Cyclic Prefix, CP) extension to user equipment) in a frequency range (FR) 2-2 ([0019] Optionally, the first unlicensed frequency band is a high-frequency unlicensed frequency band; [0078] It should be noted that the first unlicensed frequency band is a high-frequency unlicensed frequency band, that is, an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure),
wherein, based on the information related to the CAP being not provided through the SIB ([0091] Optionally, the LBT mode indication field in the system information block is an optional configuration field… in a case that there is no LBT mode indication field in the system information block 1 (SIB 1), it implicitly indicates that the terminal is in No-LBT mode in the unlicensed frequency band), the PDCCH is monitored for the second DCI (UE operating in no-LBT mode when receiving second DCI ) that does not include the indication information ([0079] in a case that the terminal device is in No-LBT mode… when receiving the DCI… the terminal device does not need to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0101] Optionally, in a case that the channel access mode is No-LBT mode, the field related to the channel access type in the DCI is 0 bit… the DCI sent by the network device may not carry LBT-related information, so as to reduce the complexity of decoding the DCI by the terminal device) in the FR 2-2 ([0019];[0078];),
wherein a size of the first DCI ([0079] needs to decode… ChannelAccess-CPext) and a size of the second DCI ([0079] does not need to decode… ChannelAccess-CPext) are same ([0070] 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in… the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI (the size of DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI that is being transmitted is the same, however if the UE is operating in no-LBT mode, then it will not decode the 2 bits in the ChannelAccess-CPext field of the C-RNTI DCI); Fig. 6 – P-RNTI scrambled DCI; [0072] in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band… For the DCI scrambled by the P-RNTI, the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by the P-RNTI has 8 bits of reserved bit; otherwise, 6 bits of reserved bit (the size of a DCI format 1_0 is dependent on how it is scrambled or/and whether it is operating in an unlicensed or a licensed frequency band; hence first DCI and second DCI in an unlicensed frequency band using P-RNTI will have the same size DCI format 1_0 (e.g., 8 bits)),
wherein the first DCI and the second DCI (second DCI is an DCI being scrambled with (C/CS/MCS-C)-RNTI) are cyclic redundancy check (CRC) (it is implied DCI always contains a CRC) scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), a configured scheduling-RNTI (CS- RNTI), or a MCS-C-RNTI ([0070] In a case that the system works in the unlicensed frequency band, 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in the downlink control information (Downlink Control Information, DCI)…and the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI or CS-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI or TC-RNTI is configured to indicate the combination of a channel access type and cyclic prefix (Cyclic Prefix, CP) extension to user equipment (User Equipment, UE, also called a terminal)), and
wherein, based on third DCI (Fig. 4-5 – SI-RNTI scrambled DCI) being received from the base station (Fig. 4-5 – Base station; [0079] in a case that the terminal device is in No-LBT mode… when receiving the DCI… the terminal device does not need to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0101] Optionally, in a case that the channel access mode is No-LBT mode, the field related to the channel access type in the DCI is 0 bit… the DCI sent by the network device may not carry LBT-related information, so as to reduce the complexity of decoding the DCI by the terminal device) and the third DCI (third DCI is an DCI being scrambled with SI-RNTI) being CRC scrambled by a system information-RNTI (SI-RNTI) ([0072] For DCI scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band), a size of reserved bits included in the third DCI in a cell with shared spectrum channel access ([0003] In related technical solutions, in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band, the system needs to perform a channel access procedure of listen before talk (Listen Before Talk, LBT) before obtaining a channel, that is, the LBT mode; [0078] an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure) for FR1 is 17 bits ([0072] For DCI scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band, DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI has 17 bits of reserved bit) and a size of reserved bits included in the third DCI in a cell with licensed channel access for FR1 is 15 bits ([0072] otherwise, 15 bits of reserved bit).
Regarding claim 7, ZHU further discloses wherein:
based on the second DCI being detected ([0079] the terminal device is in No-LBT mode, then the terminal device does not need to decode the information in the information field related to unlicensed frequency band channel access when receiving the DCI; [0141] during this process, the terminal normally decodes and detects the DCI), a bit corresponding to a position of the indication information of the second DCI is reserved ([0012] Optionally, in a case that the channel access mode is No-LBT mode, a field related to a channel access type in the DCI is 0 bit).
Regarding claim 8, ZHU further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein:
a size of the indication information included in the first DCI is 2 bits ([0070] In a case that the system works in the unlicensed frequency band, 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in… the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI or CS-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI or TC-RNTI is configured to indicate the combination of a channel access type and cyclic prefix (Cyclic Prefix, CP) extension to user equipment (User Equipment, UE, also called a terminal); [0079] the terminal device is in LBT mode, the terminal device needs to decode the information in the information field related to unlicensed frequency band channel access when receiving the downlink control information (DCI)… the terminal device needs to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields), and
a size of reserved bits included in the second DCI is 2 bits ([0070]; [0079] the terminal device is in No-LBT mode, then the terminal device does not need to decode the information in the information field related to unlicensed frequency band channel access when receiving the DCI).
Regarding claim 9, ZHU further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein:
a size of reserved bits included in the third DCI in the FR 2-2 ([0078] an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure) is 17 bits ([0072] For DCI scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band, DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI has 17 bits of reserved bit).
Regarding claim 10, ZHU discloses:
A user equipment (UE) ([0003] a user equipment (User Equipment, UE, also called a terminal)); [0002] The present disclosure relates to the field of communications technology, and in particular to a mode indication method, a terminal device and a network device) comprising:
at least one transceiver (Fig 8 – 810; [0717] provides a terminal device, including… a transceiver 810); and
at least one processor (Fig 8 – 800; [0717] a processor 800) coupled to the at least one transceiver ([0717] the transceiver 810 is connected to the processor 800 and the memory 820 through a bus interface);
wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0717] where the processor 800 is configured to read the program in the memory and execute the following process):
receive system information block (SIB) from a base station (Fig. 6 – SIB 1) through the at least one transceiver ([0172] receiving, through the transceiver 810, first indication information sent by a network device; [0174] The transceiver 810 is configured to receive and send data under the control of the processor 800); and
monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for at least one of first downlink control information (DCI) ([0079] in a case that the terminal device is in LBT mode, the terminal device needs to decode the information in… unlicensed frequency band channel access when receiving the downlink control information (DCI) (it is implied UE is monitoring PDCCH since DCI is carried on the PDCCH); Fig. 4-6 – SI-RNTI, P-RNTI scrambled DCI) or second DCI ([0140] after the terminal receives and decodes the first indication information in the reserved bit in the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI, if the terminal is indicated to be in No-LBT mode, the terminal does not need to decode the ChannelAccess-CPext field, when it decodes… DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI\CS-RNTI\MCS-C-RNTI (once the UE receives the system information from SI-RNTI DCI, it is ready to receive other types of DCIs (C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, etc.)); [0141] during this process, the terminal normally decodes and detects the DCI),
wherein, based on information related to a channel access procedure (CAP) (LBT mode) being provided through the SIB ([0090] the system information may be system information block 1 (SIB 1)… in a case that the mode indication field is 0, it indicates the LBT mode, and in a case that the mode indication field is 1, it indicates the No-LBT mode), the PDCCH is transmitted for the first DCI including an indication information related to a channel access type and cyclic prefix (CP) extension ([0079] in a case that the terminal device is in LBT mode, the terminal device needs to decode the information in the information field related to unlicensed frequency band channel access when receiving the downlink control information (DCI), for example, the terminal device needs to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext (a field that specifies channel access type and CP extension) and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; ([0070] 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in… the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI or… is configured to indicate the combination of a channel access type and cyclic prefix (Cyclic Prefix, CP) extension to user equipment) in a frequency range (FR) 2-2 ([0019] Optionally, the first unlicensed frequency band is a high-frequency unlicensed frequency band; [0078] It should be noted that the first unlicensed frequency band is a high-frequency unlicensed frequency band, that is, an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure),
wherein, based on the information related to the CAP being not provided through the SIB ([0091] Optionally, the LBT mode indication field in the system information block is an optional configuration field… in a case that there is no LBT mode indication field in the system information block 1 (SIB 1), it implicitly indicates that the terminal is in No-LBT mode in the unlicensed frequency band), the PDCCH is transmitted for the second DCI that does not include the indication information ([0079] in a case that the terminal device is in No-LBT mode… when receiving the DCI… the terminal device does not need to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields) in the FR 2-2 ([0019];[0078];),
wherein a size of the first DCI and a size of the second DCI are same (Fig. 6 – P-RNTI scrambled DCI; [0072] in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band… For the DCI scrambled by the P-RNTI, the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by the P-RNTI has 8 bits of reserved bit; otherwise, 6 bits of reserved bit (the size of a DCI format 1_0 is dependent on how it is scrambled or/and whether it is operating in an unlicensed or a licensed frequency band; hence first DCI and second DCI in an unlicensed frequency band using P-RNTI will have the same size DCI format 1_0 (e.g., 8 bits)),
wherein the first DCI and the second DCI (second DCI is an DCI being scrambled with (C/CS/MCS-C)-RNTI) are cyclic redundancy check (CRC) (it is implied DCI always contains a CRC) scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), a configured scheduling-RNTI (CS- RNTI), or a MCS-C-RNTI ([0070] In a case that the system works in the unlicensed frequency band, 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in the downlink control information (Downlink Control Information, DCI)…and the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI or CS-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI or TC-RNTI is configured to indicate the combination of a channel access type and cyclic prefix (Cyclic Prefix, CP) extension to user equipment (User Equipment, UE, also called a terminal)), and
wherein, based on third DCI (Fig. 4-5 – SI-RNTI scrambled DCI) being received from the base station (Fig. 4-5 – Base station; [0079] in a case that the terminal device is in No-LBT mode… when receiving the DCI… the terminal device does not need to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0101] Optionally, in a case that the channel access mode is No-LBT mode, the field related to the channel access type in the DCI is 0 bit… the DCI sent by the network device may not carry LBT-related information, so as to reduce the complexity of decoding the DCI by the terminal device) and the third DCI (third DCI is an DCI being scrambled with SI-RNTI) being CRC scrambled by a system information-RNTI (SI-RNTI) ([0072] For DCI scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band), a size of reserved bits included in the third DCI in a cell with shared spectrum channel access ([0003] In related technical solutions, in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band, the system needs to perform a channel access procedure of listen before talk (Listen Before Talk, LBT) before obtaining a channel, that is, the LBT mode; [0078] an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure) for FR1 is 17 bits ([0072] For DCI scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band, DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI has 17 bits of reserved bit) and a size of reserved bits included in the third DCI in a cell with licensed channel access for FR1 is 15 bits ([0072] otherwise, 15 bits of reserved bit).
Regarding claim 12, ZHU discloses:
A base station (Fig. 4-6 – base station; [0002] The present disclosure relates to the field of communications technology, and in particular to a mode indication method, a terminal device and a network device; [0135] The network device involved in the embodiments of the present disclosure may be a base station), comprising:
at least one transceiver (Fig. 10 – 1010; [0218] As shown in FIG. 10, an embodiment of the present disclosure also provides a network device, including… a transceiver 1010); and
at least one processor (Fig. 10 - 1000) coupled to the at least one transceiver ([0218] where the transceiver 1010 is connected to the processor 1000 and the memory 1020 through a bus interface);
wherein the at least one processor is configured to ([0218] where the processor 1000 is configured to read the program in the memory and perform the following process):
transmit system information block (SIB) (Fig. 6 – SIB 1) through the at least one transceiver ([0219] sending, through the transceiver 1010, first indication information to a terminal device; [0221] The transceiver 1010 is configured to receive and send data under the control of the processor 1000); and
transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for at least one of first downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 4-6; SI-RNTI scrambled DCI, P-RNTI scrambled DCI; (it is implied the base station transmit the PDCCH for the first DCI since DCI is carried on the PDCCH)) or second DCI through the at least one transceiver ([0219];[0221];),
wherein, based on information related to a channel access procedure (CAP) (LBT mode) being transmitted through the SIB ([0090] the system information may be system information block 1 (SIB 1)… in a case that the mode indication field is 0, it indicates the LBT mode, and in a case that the mode indication field is 1, it indicates the No-LBT mode), the PDCCH is transmitted for the first DCI (it is implied the base station transmitted the PDCCH for the first DCI since DCI is carried on the PDCCH) including an indication information related to a channel access type and cyclic prefix (CP) extension ([0079] in a case that the terminal device is in LBT mode, the terminal device needs to decode the information in the information field related to unlicensed frequency band channel access when receiving the downlink control information (DCI), for example, the terminal device needs to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext (a field that specifies channel access type and CP extension) and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0070] 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in… the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI or… is configured to indicate the combination of a channel access type and cyclic prefix (Cyclic Prefix, CP) extension to user equipment) in a frequency range (FR) 2-2 ([0019] Optionally, the first unlicensed frequency band is a high-frequency unlicensed frequency band; [0078] It should be noted that the first unlicensed frequency band is a high-frequency unlicensed frequency band, that is, an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure),
wherein, based on information related to the CAP being not transmitted through the SIB ([0091] Optionally, the LBT mode indication field in the system information block is an optional configuration field… in a case that there is no LBT mode indication field in the system information block 1 (SIB 1), it implicitly indicates that the terminal is in No-LBT mode in the unlicensed frequency band), the PDCCH is transmitted for the second DCI (it is implied the base station transmit the PDCCH for the second DCI since DCI is carried on the PDCCH) that does not include the indication information ([0079] in a case that the terminal device is in No-LBT mode… when receiving the DCI… the terminal device does not need to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0101] Optionally, in a case that the channel access mode is No-LBT mode, the field related to the channel access type in the DCI is 0 bit… the DCI sent by the network device may not carry LBT-related information, so as to reduce the complexity of decoding the DCI by the terminal device) in the FR 2-2 ([0019];[0078];),
wherein a size of the first DCI ([0079] needs to decode… ChannelAccess-CPext) and a size of the second DCI ([0079] does not need to decode… ChannelAccess-CPext) are same ([0070] 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in… the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI (the size of DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI that is being transmitted is the same, however if the UE is operating in no-LBT mode, then it will not decode the 2 bits in the ChannelAccess-CPext field of the C-RNTI DCI); Fig. 6 – P-RNTI scrambled DCI; [0072] in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band… For the DCI scrambled by the P-RNTI, the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by the P-RNTI has 8 bits of reserved bit; otherwise, 6 bits of reserved bit (the size of a DCI format 1_0 is dependent on how it is scrambled or/and whether it is operating in an unlicensed or a licensed frequency band; hence first DCI and second DCI in an unlicensed frequency band using P-RNTI will have the same size DCI format 1_0 (e.g., 8 bits)),
wherein the first DCI and the second DCI (second DCI is an DCI being scrambled with (C/CS/MCS-C)-RNTI) are cyclic redundancy check (CRC) (it is implied DCI always contains a CRC) scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), a configured scheduling-RNTI (CS- RNTI), or a MCS-C-RNTI ([0070] In a case that the system works in the unlicensed frequency band, 2 bit information carried by the ChannelAccess-CPext field in the downlink control information (Downlink Control Information, DCI)…and the DCI format 1_0 scrambled by C-RNTI or CS-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI or TC-RNTI is configured to indicate the combination of a channel access type and cyclic prefix (Cyclic Prefix, CP) extension to user equipment (User Equipment, UE, also called a terminal)), and
wherein, based on third DCI being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 4-5 terminal, SI-RNTI scrambled with DCI; [0079] in a case that the terminal device is in No-LBT mode… when receiving the DCI… the terminal device does not need to decode the content in the ChannelAccess-CPext and ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC information fields; [0101] Optionally, in a case that the channel access mode is No-LBT mode, the field related to the channel access type in the DCI is 0 bit… the DCI sent by the network device may not carry LBT-related information, so as to reduce the complexity of decoding the DCI by the terminal device) and the third DCI (third DCI is an DCI being scrambled with SI-RNTI) being CRC scrambled by a system information-RNTI (SI-RNTI) ([0072] For DCI scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band), a size of reserved bits included in the third DCI in a cell with shared spectrum channel access ([0003] In related technical solutions, in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band, the system needs to perform a channel access procedure of listen before talk (Listen Before Talk, LBT) before obtaining a channel, that is, the LBT mode; [0078] an unlicensed frequency band greater than 52.6 GHz, that is, high frequency band in the unlicensed frequency band is applicable in the embodiments of the present disclosure) for FR1 is 17 bits ([0072] For DCI scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), in a case that the system works in an unlicensed frequency band, DCI format 1_0 scrambled by SI-RNTI has 17 bits of reserved bit) and a size of reserved bits included in the third DCI in a cell with licensed channel access for FR1 is 15 bits ([0072] otherwise, 15 bits of reserved bit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of Li et al. (US 20210092763 A1, hereinafter LI).
Regarding claim 4, ZHU does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the PDCCH is monitored in a common search space (CSS).
However, LI discloses a PDCCH is monitored in a common search space (CSS) ([0086] A UE typically monitors multiple candidate locations for respective potential PDCCH transmissions to decode multiple candidate DCI formats in a slot; [0088] A UE determines CCEs for a PDCCH reception based on a search space such as a UE-specific search space (USS) for PDCCH candidates with DCI format having CRC scrambled by a RNTI, such as a C-RNTI…a common search space (CSS) for PDCCH candidates with DCI formats having CRC scrambled by other RNTIs. A set of CCEs that can be used for PDCCH transmission to a UE define a PDCCH candidate location).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the PDCCH of ZHU to be monitored in the CSS as taught by LI in order to transmit PDCCH with DCI format(s) and provide control information to the UE prior to RRC connection, such as a system information (e.g., SI-RNTI).
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. PTO-892 form.
LIU et al. (US20230199622A1, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202010791732.2, filed on Aug. 07, 2020) teaches the PDSCH carrying an SIB 1 is scheduled by using DCI scrambled with a system information wireless network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI for short) and the spare bits are 15 bits or 17 bits.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418