DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 09/01/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7 are objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 6 recites, “perform beam training.” (last line). It is suggested to replace it with “perform the beam training.” for more clarity.
Claim 7 recites, “beam or the DL beam based on the UL beam.” (last line). It is suggested to replace it with “beam, or the DL beam based on the UL beam.” for more clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-10, 21 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija et al (US Publication No. 2022/0014935 A1) in view of You et al (US Publication No. 2021/0160861 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Haija discloses, a method of wireless communication for a first network node [FIGS. 7-8; their related descriptions; ¶0148, a method of wireless communication for BS 702], comprising:
determining to communicate with a second network node via a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) system using . . . communications [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0148, the base station 702 (i.e., first network node) sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704, the configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 (i.e., RIS system) will redirect to the UE 706 (i.e., second network node); note that the BS 702 sending the configuration information to the RIS 704 requires determining to communicate with the UE 706 via the RIS 704 beforehand]; and
transmitting, to an RIS controller of the RIS system, an indication that the first network node will communicate with the second network node using the . . . communications [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0148, the base station 702 (i.e., first network node) sends 710 configuration information to the RIS 704, the configuration information notifies the RIS 704 that the base station 702 will be transmitting a reference signal, in this example CSI-RS, in the direction of the RIS 704 that the RIS 704 (i.e., RIS system) will redirect to the UE 706 (i.e., second network node); note that the configuration information transmitted to the RIS 704 from the BS 702 is used as an indication that the BS 702 will communicate with the UE 706].
Although Haija discloses, “determining to communicate with a second network node via a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) system; and transmitting, to an RIS controller of the RIS system, an indication that the first network node will communicate with the second network node” as set forth above, Haija does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), the communications among the first network node, the RIS system, and the second network node are modified to be “a full-duplex communications”.
However, You discloses, communicate with a second network node via a relay node using full-duplex communications [¶0150, DgNB communicates with UE via a relay node using full-duplex operation].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Haija with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by You to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by You into the system of Haija would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure to reduces latency and improve or boost resource utilization, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 5, Haija in view of You discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Haija discloses, performing beam training with the RIS system to configure uplink (UL) beams and downlink (DL) beams separately [¶0109-0110, beamforming with the RIS to configure in UL and DL reference signals; further see FIG. 7, CSI-RS training/DL beams and FIG. 8, SRS training/UL beams which are performed in a separate manner].
Regarding claim 6, Haija in view of You discloses, the method of claim 5 as set forth above.
Haija discloses, wherein performing the beam training comprises: implementing a number of UL reference signals (RSs) [FIG. 8; its related descriptions; ¶0178, three separate transmissions of SRSs] equal to a number of DL RSs [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0157, three separate transmissions of CSI-RSs] to perform beam training.
Regarding claim 8, Haija in view of You discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Haija discloses, transmitting, to the RIS controller, a request for a self-channel estimation [¶0099, Selection of the frequency components to be used in the channel estimation may be carried out at a base station, or more generally elsewhere within the network, by sending commands to a controller of the RIS. For example, the base station or network may provide the RIS controller with information pertaining to frequencies of reference signals that may be used for channel estimation, the AoA at the RIS from a base station transmitting the signal based on positional information between the base station and RIS, a desired AoD from the RIS (to the UE); note that the AoA at the RIS from the BS or the AoD from the RIS (to the UE) is considered as the claimed self channel estimation1].
Regarding claim 9, Haija in view of You discloses, the method of claim 8 as set forth above.
Haija discloses, wherein the self-channel estimation is based on a positioning of the first network node and a location of an RIS surface of the RIS system [¶0099, Selection of the frequency components to be used in the channel estimation may be carried out at a base station, or more generally elsewhere within the network, by sending commands to a controller of the RIS. For example, the base station or network may provide the RIS controller with information pertaining to frequencies of reference signals that may be used for channel estimation, the AoA at the RIS from a base station transmitting the signal based on positional information between the base station and RIS, a desired AoD from the RIS (to the UE); note that the AoA at the RIS from the BS or the AoD from the RIS (to the UE) is considered as the claimed self channel estimation; further see ¶0110, in UL, the AoD from the RIS to the base station is known given the RIS and base station locations].
Regarding claim 10, Haija in view of You discloses, the method of claim 8 as set forth above.
Haija discloses, transmitting, to the RIS system, a reference signal (RS) [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0157, the BS 702 sends, to the RIS 704, CSI-RS 720, and the RIS 704 redirects the CSI-RS 720 to the UE 706]; receiving, from the RIS system, a reflection matrix in response to the RS being reflected by the RIS system [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0158, the BS 702 receives, from the RIS 704, reflected feedback information in response to the CSI-RS being reflected by the RIS 704]; and configuring a channel based on the reflection matrix [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0163-0164, the BS 702 performs channel estimation based on the reflected feedback information].
Regarding claim 21, Haija discloses, a first network node [FIGS. 7-8; their related descriptions; ¶0148, BS 702], comprising: a memory storing instructions [FIG. 3; its related descriptions; ¶0075-0076, memory 258 storing instructions; note that every base station has at least one memory]; and one or more processors coupled with the memory and configured to [FIG. 3; its related descriptions; ¶0075-0076, processing unit 250 coupled to the memory; note that every base station has at least one processor].
Since claim 21 recites similar features to claim 1 without additional features, claim 21 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 5.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 8.
Claims 2 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija et al (US Publication No. 2022/0014935 A1) in view of You et al (US Publication No. 2021/0160861 A1) and further in view of Kusashima et al (US Publication No. 2022/0232481 A1)2.
Regarding claim 2, Haija in view of You discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Haija in view of You does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Kusashima discloses, transmitting, to the RIS controller, a second indication indicating the full-duplex communications are one of in-band full-duplex communications [¶0299, the parent node indicates resources regarding in-band full duplex by using a slot format indicator. When the slot format indicator indicates the resources regarding in-band full duplex, the child node adjusts transmission power].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Kusashima in the system of Haija in view of You in order to cause the system to be able to use in-band full duplex mode for improving the frequency utilization efficiency [e.g., ¶0002 of Kusashima].
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 2.
Claims 3-4 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija et al (US Publication No. 2022/0014935 A1) in view of You et al (US Publication No. 2021/0160861 A1) and further in view of Gao et al (US Publication No. 2020/0028563 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Haija in view of You discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Haija discloses, performing beam training with the RIS system to configure uplink (UL) beams and downlink (DL) beams [¶0109-0110, beamforming with the RIS to configure in UL and DL reference signals; further see ¶0105-0106], Haija in view of You does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Gao discloses, performing beam training . . . to configure uplink (UL) beams and downlink (DL) beams jointly [¶0144, the channel characteristic requirement limitation may facilitate supporting different beam trainings of multiple receiving ends, such as a training only for the sending beam, a training only for the receiving beam, and a joint training for the sending and receiving beams; further see ¶0133].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Haija in view of You with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Gao to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Gao into the system of Haija in view of You would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure to reduce training overhead and latency and improve beam alignment and link reliability, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 4, Haija in view of You and Gao discloses, the method of claim 3 as set forth above.
Although Haija discloses, wherein performing the beam training comprises: transmitting, to the RIS system, first reference signals (RSs) [¶0148, the BS 702 transmits, to the RIS 704, CSI-RSs] . . . as the second network node transmits second RSs to the RIS system [¶0178, the UE 806 transmits, to the RIS 704, SRSs], wherein the first RSs are one of UL RSs or DL RSs [¶0148, the CSI-RSs are DLRSs] and the second RSs are opposite RSs as the first RSs [¶0178, the SRSs are ULRSs], Haija does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but You discloses, transmitting, to the RIS system, first reference signals (RSs) “at the same time” as the second network node transmits second RSs to the RIS system [¶0399, a node simultaneously performs reception of a backhaul downlink signal from a parent node (i.e., first network node) and reception of a backhaul uplink signal from a child relay node (i.e., second network node) or an access uplink signal (from a UE) may be considered].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by You in the system of Haija for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 3.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija et al (US Publication No. 2022/0014935 A1) in view of You et al (US Publication No. 2021/0160861 A1) and further in view of Hao et al (US Publication No. 2021/0409177 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Haija in view of You discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Haija discloses, performing beam training with the RIS system to configure uplink (UL) beams and downlink (DL) beams [¶0109-0110, beamforming with the RIS to configure in UL and DL reference signals; further see ¶0105-0106], Haija in view of You does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Hao discloses, configure uplink (UL) beams and downlink (DL) beams jointly, and refining a configuration of a UL beam of the UL beams based on a DL beam of the DL beams [¶0128, after receiving the first auxiliary information, the second network device may determine a direction range of a signal from the first network device with reference to the direction in which the second network device is subject to the remote interference and the downlink beam configuration of the first network device, to determine the uplink beam at the second network device].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Hao in the system of Haija in view of You in order to cause the system to be able to reduce interference between the UL and DL beams for improving the system performance [e.g., ¶0127-0129 of Hao].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Du et al (US Publication No. 20220400478 A1) [¶0134]
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 See ¶0084 of the specification stating “self-channel estimation (e.g., BS-to-RIS or UE-to-RIS)”.
2 Since Kusashima is relying on PCT publication (WO 2020/235326 A1) (see attached) to claim a priority date 04/30/2020, Kusashima is qualified as a prior art under 102(a)(2) for the instant application with the effective filing date 05/11/2021.