DETAILED ACTION
Application Status and Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendments filed August 31, 2026, amending claims 184-185, 190-191, 194-196, 198-199 and 201-202, and canceling claims 186-188, 193, 197 and 200 is acknowledged. Claims 184-185, 189-192, 194-196, 198-199 and 201-202 are pending and under examination.
The amendments to claims 192-191, 194, 195-196 and 199 overcome the §112(b), 112(a) rejections, and/or claim objections recited in the previous office action. The cancelation of claims 186, 193 and 197 render the §112(d) rejections moot.
The claims in Application 19210160 have now been patented as US Patent 12,674,161. The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection has been updated to reflect the patent claim numbering to make nonprovisional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 184, 189-191, 195-196, 198-199 and 201-202 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schutz (Schutz et al., Translational Oncology (2015), 8: 97-105) as evidenced by GPP Web Portal (Construct: shRNA TRCN0000071456, GPP Web Portal, Broad Institute, https://portals.broadinstitute.org/gpp/public/clone/details?cloneId= TRCN0000071456) in view of Gatta (Gatta et al., Expert Opinion on Drug Discovery (2018), 13: 709-725), Brown (US 20170306332 A1), Kubo (Kubo et al., ACS Chemical Biology (2020), 16: 150-164), Zhou (Zhou et al., Molecular Therapy-Nucleic Acids (2012), 1, e17), and Genbank (NM_001369512.1, STAT3 transcript variant 4, mRNA, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/1610577039, [retrieved April 20, 2026]). This is a maintained rejection, updated to reflect amendments to claim language.
Regarding claim 184, Schutz teaches an shRNA called TRCN0000071456 (i.e., an oligonucleotide) that successfully reduces STAT3 expression (page 98, ¶8; Fig. SA). Schutz teaches that STAT3 is "constitutively activated in the majority of lung cancer" (Abstract; see also Discussion). Schutz teaches that STAT3 should be further evaluated as a potential target for individualized tumor treatment (pg. 104, ¶1-2). Schutz is silent as to the sequence of the shRNA targeting STAT3. GPP Web Portal teaches the sequence of Schutz's shRNA (i.e., TRCN0000071456) is 5'-CCGG-CCTGAGTTGAATTATCAGCTT-CTCGAG-AAGCTGATAATTCAACTCAGG-TTTTTG-3' (page 4).
Schutz does not teach an siRNA duplex with sequences of SEQ ID NO 965 and 875, which could be modified by conjugating the sense strand to a lipid moiety, a 3’ overhand dinucleotide, and comprising modified nucleotides and modified antinucleotide linkages.
Gatta teaches that for therapeutic purposes, siRNA is preferred over shRNAs as "the shRNA has to be cloned into a viral vector ... [and] [t]here are vector-related toxicity issues" [and] [t]he shRNA could trigger IFN responses and it is less specific" (Section 9). Gatta teaches the structures of siRNAs and means to prepare siRNAs were well known (see at least pg. 709-710; Tables 1-2). Gatta teaches the following criteria are recommended for designing siRNAs 25-27 nt, asymmetric, where antisense strand is 27 nt and sense strand is 25nt with a 2 nt 3’ overhang on the antisense strand (Section 10, ¶4). Gatta teaches that an oligonucleotide’s target site influences its’ effectivity (Section 3.3). Gatta teaches various software to identify secondary structure in an mRNA and algorithms for designing siRNAs are publicly available (Sections 3.3 and 3.4). Gatta teaches algorithms for designing siRNAs including for incorporating dinucleotide overhangs at the 3’ ends (Table 2). Gatta teaches including 2’-O-methyl and 2’-O-fluoro modifications (i.e., 2’-modified nucleotides) and phosphorothioate linkages (i.e., modified internucleotide linkages) to avoid immune stimulation and enhance stability (Section 10, ¶5).
Brown teaches the function of tetraloops in the context of a dsRNA is to stabilize the RNA duplex to which it is attached by increasing the melting temperature higher than expected ([0152]). Brown teaches siRNA oligonucleotides comprising a tetraloop with the sequence cagccgaaaggcugc (Fig 7A). Brown teaches that tetraloop-containing siRNAs demonstrate “robust knockdown properties in vivo across” three different targets even at extremely low concentrations ([0626]). Brown teaches the tetraloop-containing siRNAs tolerated all modification patterns ([0626]). Brown teaches the tetraloop-containing siRNAs also conjugated to GalNAc moieties and tested for in vivo efficacy, which showed ~ 50% knockdown efficiencies ([0628]).
Kubo and Gatta teach that cell membrane permeability and intracellular localization are challenges facing siRNA-based therapeutics (Kubo, pg. 150-151; Gatta, at least Abstract and section 4.3). Both Kubo and Gatta teach that conjugation to lipid moieties enhances delivery (Kubo, page 151, Gatta, Table 5). Indeed, Kubo teaches siRNAs comprising lipid moieties conjugated to the 5' -terminal nucleotide of the sense strand (Fig 1 and legend), which show high membrane permeability (page 154; ¶2-3; Fig. 6), and efficient cytoplasmic localization (page 161, ¶1-4). Kubo teaches that C18 fatty acids in particular, e.g., stearic acid ("C18-siCAT") showed a "showed a high membrane permeability" amongst lipid-siRNA conjugates, with "strong RNAi effect after incubation for 96 h," suggesting these could be "promising molecules for clinical applications due to their strong and long-term RNAi activity" (page 161, left col.).
Genbank teaches the sequence of STAT3 mRNA (pages 6-7).
Zhou teaches Dicer-substrate siRNAs (DsiRNAs) with asymmetric structure having a two-base overhang on the antisense strand can be rationally designed to obtain greater efficacy (Abstract). Zhou teaches testing asymmetric siRNAs with a 3’ overhang, including a GG overhang (Table 1; “25 (gc)/27 (GG)”). Zhou teaches the GG-overhang version resulted in higher knockdown efficiency over original 21-mer blunt ended siRNA (Figure 6). Zhou teaches of all the dinucleotide combinations GG has one of the highest RNAi potencies when attached to the antisense strand (Table 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the structure of Schutz's STAT3-targeting RNAi oligonucleotide, i.e., an shRNA, for a STAT3-targeting siRNA comprising a tetraloop on the 3’ end of the sense strand, a two-nucleotide 3’ overhang on the antisense strand, at least one 2’ modified nucleotide and one phosphorothioate linkage, and conjugated to the C18 moiety. It would have amounted to a simple substitution of two known RNAi oligonucleotide structures, trying a finite number of possible targeting sites, and designing the siRNAs by known siRNA design parameters by known means to yield predictable results. Shultz’s shRNA sequence, the Genbank STAT3 mRNA sequence, and the claimed sense and antisense oligonucleotides are aligned below and indicated as follows: for SEQ ID NO 875, the tetraloop sequence taught in Brown is underlined, the STAT3-targeting sequence is bolded, and a possible attachment site for C18 is indicated. For SEQ ID NO 965, a GG dinucleotide at the 3’ end is capitalized and bolded.
Genbank: 5’-CCTGAGTTGAATTATCAGCTTAAAATTAAA
Shultz (sense): 5’-CCTGAGTTGAATTATCAGCTT
SEQ 875 (sense): C18-5'-aauuaucagcuuaaaauuaagcagccgaaaggcugc
SEQ 965 (antisense): 3'-GGuuaauagucgaauuuuaauu
Shultz (antisense): 3'-GGACTCAACTTAATAGTCGAA
Regarding the substitution of shRNA for siRNA and the target site of the STAT3 mRNA, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting the structures because GPP provides the exact sequence and structure of Schutz's functional shRNA, and the structures of siRNAs and means to prepare siRNAs were well known as evidenced by Gatta. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to substitute the structures because Gatta teaches that siRNA is a preferred structure for the purposes of RNAi-based therapy, which Schutz teaches should be explored for STAT3. Additionally, it would have bene obvious to try the targeting sequence of the claimed sense and antisense strand because there are a finite number of predictable solutions for targeting sequences. Genbank teaches STAT3 mRNA is only 4900 nucleotides in length. Thus, there is only 4880 predictable targeting sequences with 100% identity/complementarity to the target sequence. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to specifically choose to try the claimed sense/antisense strand because it is only shifted 9-nucleotides down from the Shultz’s shRNA construct that functioned to knockdown STAT3 in vivo, indicating that it likely targeted the STAT3 mRNA in an unstructured area, as suggested by Gatta.
Regarding the addition of the tetraloop sequence gcagccgaaaggcugc to the obvious sense stranded rendered obvious above, it would have amounted to a simple combination of an obvious siRNA sense targeting sequence and a known tetraloop sequence, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including the tetraloop onto the 3’ end of the sense strand in the siRNA because Brown demonstrates the inclusion in a similar siRNA molecule targeted to a different gene. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to include the tetraloop because Brown indicates that a tetraloop sequence stabilizes the siRNA duplex and enables high knockdown efficiency at very low concentrations.
Regarding the addition of the GG dinucleotide to the 3’ end of the antisense strand sequence rendered obvious, it would have amounted to a simple combination of an obvious siRNA sense targeting sequence and a known dinucleotide overhang, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including the dinucleotide onto the 3’ end of the antisense strand in the siRNA because Zhou demonstrates the inclusion of GG at the 3’ end in siRNA molecules targeted to a different gene. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to include the dinucleotide because Zhou teaches including the GG sequence increases the potency of the siRNA and the efficiency of knockdown by siRNAs in cells.
Regarding the addition of the C18-targeting moiety to the obvious sense stranded rendered obvious above, it would have amounted to a simple combination of an obvious siRNA with a known lipid moiety, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in conjugating the sense strand in the siRNA with a lipid moiety of Kubo because Gatta teaches that siRNAs may be conjugated to various moieties, and Kubo teaches the means to conjugate a lipid moiety to a siRNA, and demonstrates that the lipid-siRNA conjugates are functional. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to conjugate the siRNA to a lipid of Kubo, particularly a fully saturated 18 carbon fatty acid, because as evidenced by Kubo i) lipid-siRNA conjugates show higher cellular uptake efficacies, and ii) 16-18 carbon fatty acids in particular "showed a high membrane permeability" amongst lipid-siRNA conjugates with "strong RNAi effect after incubation for 96 h," suggesting these could be "promising molecules for clinical applications due to their strong and long-term RNAi activity."
Regarding including nucleotide and internucleotide modifications, it would have been obvious to include at least one 2’-O-methyl or 2’-O-fluoro modification and at least one phosphorothioate linkage in the STAT3-targeting C18-siRNA rendered obvious above because both Gatta and Brown teach inclusion of the 2’ modifications and linkages increases the stability of siRNAs in vivo. It would have been entirely predictable to include the modified nucleotide and linkages because both Gatta and Brown demonstrate the production and use of such modified siRNAs.
Regarding claims 189-191, the siRNA molecule rendered obvious above for claim 184 comprises 36 nucleotides in the sense strand and 22 nucleotides in the antisense strand. G-atta also teaches that degradation of siRNA by nucleases occurs from the 3’ end, and so the 3’ end of the siRNA should resist the attack by nucleases (Section 5, ¶1). Brown teaches the second strand (i.e., the antisense strand) comprising modified nucleotides, including 2’-O-methyl modifications at the terminal 3’ nucleotides ([0064], [0320]). Brown teaches tetraloop-comprising siRNAs wherein the terminal 3’ nucleotide of the tetraloop is modified with 2’-OMe (Fig 7A).
It would have been obvious to include a 2’-O-methyl modification at the 3’-most nucleotides in each of the sense and antisense strands, which is position 36 in the sense strand and position 22 in the antisense strand. It would have amounted to placing the known and obvious 2’-O-methyl modifications at known positions according to the direction provided in Gatta. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that the 3’ most nucleotide could be modified with 2’-O-methyl and been motivated to have done so because Gatta suggests such a placement and Brown demonstrates siRNAs comprising tetraloops having modified 2’-O-methyl nucleotides at the 3’ ends.
Regarding claims 195, Schutz teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the oligonucleotide in Dulbecco's modified Eagle's medium (i.e., a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, delivery agent, or excipient (page 101, right col.). Gatta teaches various formulations for delivery of siRNAs including polymers and nanoparticles (i.e., pharmaceutically acceptable carriers) (Section 6). Brown teaches various pharmaceutical carriers and excipients ([0198]).
Regarding claims 196 and 198, MPEP 2112.01 states that "when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent." In the instant case, the product rendered obvious above has a substantially identical structure to that of the claims, and therefore the intended use of "for use in treating a disorder of condition associated with STAT3 expression in a patient in need thereof” is presumed to be inherent to the obvious product.
Regarding claims 199 and 201, the C18-siRNA conjugate of claim 184 is as rendered obvious above. Schutz also teaches that aberrant STAT3 activity in lung cancer cells is linked to malignant tumor progression (Abstract). Schutz also suggests evaluating both STAT3 and MMP-1 as potential targets for NSCLC tumor (i.e., lung carcinoma) treatment (page 104). Brown teaches using siRNA with tetraloops in methods for treating cancer ([0096]). Gatta teaches siRNA delivery modalities for treatment of cancer (Sections 6 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the C18-conjugated, STAT3-targeting, tetraloop-comprising siRNA rendered obvious for claim 184 in a method of treating lung carcinoma. It would have amounted to using the obvious siRNA in known methods by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have predicted that the obvious siRNA could be used to treat lung carcinoma, and been motivated to have done so, because Schutz teaches STAT3 activation is required for malignant progression. As such, one would have predicted that inhibiting expression using the STAT3-targeting siRNA would reduce malignant transformation in lung carcinoma. Additionally, both Gatta and Brown teach using siRNAs to treat cancer.
Regarding claim 202, the specification does not provide a special definition for the term "kit”, thus "kit" is interpreted as merely the sum of its contents. The C18-siRNA conjugate of claim 184 is as rendered obvious above. MPEP 2111.05 states
USPTO personnel must consider all claim limitations when determining patentability of an invention over the prior art. In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 403-04 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Since a claim must be read as a whole, USPTO personnel may not disregard claim limitations that include printed matter. See Id. at 1384, 217 USPQ at 403; see also Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981). The first step of the printed matter analysis is the determination that the limitation in question is in fact directed toward printed matter… "[O]nce it is determined that the limitation is directed to printed matter, [the examiner] must then determine if the matter is functionally or structurally related to the associated physical substrate, and only if the answer is ‘no’ is the printed matter owed no patentable weight." Id. at 850, 117 USPQ2d at 1268.
In this case the “package insert comprising instructions for administration to a subject having a disease, disorder or condition associated with STAT3 expression” is not functionally or structurally related to the C18-siRNA(STAT3) and is not given patentable weight.
Claim 192 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schutz (Schutz et al., Translational Oncology (2015), 8: 97-105) as evidenced by GPP (Construct: shRNA TRCN0000071456, GPP Web Portal, Broad Institute, https://portals.broadinstitute.org/gpp/public/clone/details?cloneId= TRCN0000071456), Gatta (Gatta et al., Expert Opinion on Drug Discovery (2018), 13: 709-725), Brown (US 20170306332 A1), Kubo (Kubo et al., ACS Chemical Biology (2020), 16: 150-164), Zhou (Zhou et al., Molecular Therapy-Nucleic Acids (2012), 1, e17), and Genbank (NM_001369512.1, STAT3 transcript variant 4, mRNA, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/1610577039, [retrieved April 20, 2026]) as applied to claims 184, 189-191, 195-196, 198-199 and 201-202 above, and further in view of Hu (Hu et al., Signal Transduction and Targeted Therapy (2020), 5:101). This is maintained rejection.
The teachings of Schutz, GPP, Gatta, Brown, Kubo, Zhou, and Genbank are recited above and applied as for claims 184, 186-191, 193, and 195-202. Brown also teaches that the dsRNAs can have phosphate backbone modifications including a phosphonate ([0081]). Gatta also teaches that siRNAs can have modified phosphonates in the backbone (page 718, ¶6).
Schutz, GPP, Gatta, Brown, Kubo, Zhou, and Genbank do not specifically teach a modified phosphonate attached to the 4’ carbon of the sugar on the 5’ nucleotide of the antisense strand.
Hu teaches the state of the art of therapeutic siRNAs (Title). Hu teaches various siRNA nucleotide modifications (Fig 2; page 4, right col.). Hu teaches 5-(E)-vinyl phosphonate (5′-(E)-VP), 5’-methylphosphonate (5’-MP) and (S)-5’-C-methyl with phosphate attached to the 4’ carbon on the 5’ end of the siRNAs (Fig 2; page 4, right col.). Hu teaches phosphonate modification with various analogs at the 5′-end of siRNA of single-stranded siRNA (ss-siRNA) is a newly developed but important decoration strategy to enhance siRNA activity… However, the natural 5′-phosphate can also be removed by dephosphorylation in cells… [R]esearchers have identified a series of analogs that have similar conformation and steroidal electronic properties to natural phosphates but are resistant to dephosphorylases... [including] 5′-methylphosphonate, (S)-5′-C-methyl with phosphate” (Fig. 2; page 4, right col.). Hu further teaches “the 5′-(E)-VP modification was further applied to double-stranded siRNA. Data have revealed that this modification improves siRNA accumulation and residence time in tissue and enhances siRNA potency in vivo by elevating Argonaute-2 binding” (page 4, right col.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further included an 5′-(E)-VP), 5’-MP or (S)-5’-C-methyl with phosphate at the 5’ end of the siRNA rendered obvious above. It would have amounted to the simple combination of known elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the modified phosphonate at the 5' -terminal nucleotide of the antisense strand in the siRNA because Brown, Gatta and Hu all teach that siRNAs are amendable to incorporation of modified phosphonates in their backbone. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the modified phosphonate on the 5’ end of the obvious siRNA because Hu teaches that they are resistant to nuclease activity and results in improved siRNA accumulation in tissues and enhances siRNA potency.
Response to Arguments - §103
Applicant argues that Examiner did not provide a rationale for why the skilled artisan would have combined and modified the teachings of the cited references to arrive at the specific features of the claimed oligonucleotide (Remarks, page 8, ¶2). The argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive because it is merely argument of counsel without evidence. Additionally, Applicant fails to point to a specific obviousness rationale that was not supported by evidence. As provided in the obviousness rejection above, Examiner provides a motivation 1) to choose the specific sequence (i.e., it overlaps with near a known STAT3-targeting antisense RNA), 2) to include a tetraloop (i.e., stabilization of the siRNA duplex), 3) to include the GG overhang (i.e., increases potency), 4) to include a C18 moiety (i.e., long term efficacy), and 5) include 2’ modifications (i.e., increases stability of siRNAs). Thus, each of the modifications were known in the art and the rejection articulated a reason to include each modification in the siRNA.
Double Patenting
Claims 184-185, 189-192, 194-196, 198-199 and 201-202 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of US Patent 12,674,161. Claims 185 and 194 are rejected in view of Brown (US 20170306332 A1). Claims 199 and 201 are rejected in view of Lau (Lau et al., Cancers (2019), 11: 1681). This is a maintained rejection, updated to reflect claim numbering of US Patent.
Patented claim 1 recites An oligonucleotide for reducing STAT3 expression, the oligonucleotide comprising an antisense strand of 15 to 30 nucleotides in length and a sense strand comprising the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1222, wherein the sense strand and antisense strand form a duplex region and the antisense strand has a region of complementarity to a target sequence of STAT3 as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 140. Patented claim 2 recites wherein the antisense strand comprises a sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 965, which is identical to SEQ ID NO 965 of the examined application. Patented clam 3 recites wherein the antisense strand comprises the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1145, which appears to be identical in sequence and modifications to SEQ ID NO 1145 of the examined application. Patented claim 5 recites A pharmaceutical composition comprising the oligonucleotide of claim 1, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, delivery agent, or excipient. The difference between SEQ ID NO 1222 in the patented application and the claimed siRNA with SEQ ID NOs 875 and 1055 in the examined application is as follows, bold = 2’-O-methyl, underlined = 2’-O-fluoro; capitalized = GalNac conjugated
SEQ 1222: C18-aattatcagcttaaaattaagcagccgaaaggctgc
Claimed SEQ 1055: C18-aattatcagcttaaaattaagcagccgAAAggctgc
Thus, the copending siRNA anticipates examined claims 184, 189-192, 195-196, 198 and 202.
The difference between the siRNA sense strand in the instant and patented claims is including of GalNac conjugation to the tetraloop. The copending claims do not recite methods for using the siRNAs to treat cancer.
Regarding claims 185 and 194, Brown teaches siRNAs comprising an antisense strand and a sense strand comprising a tetraloop (Fig 7A; Example 6 [0625]-[0630]). Brown teaches the loop portion of the tetraloop portion is GAAA (Fig 7A). Brown teaches the nucleotides in the tetraloop were conjugated to GalNAc moieties (i.e., [ademA-GalNAc]) ([0628]-[0630]). Brown teaches the siRNAs conjugated to GalNAc in the tetraloop were highly active and had higher efficacy than unconjugated forms ([0629]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have modified the patented sense strand by including GalNAc conjugates to the nucleotides in the tetraloop to arrive at an siRNA sense strand with SEQ ID NO 1055. It would have amounted to the simple combination of known elements my known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that GalNAc could be conjugated to the three adenosines in the tetraloop because Brown teaches the GAAA tetraloop nucleotides conjugated to GalNAc. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so based on the improved efficacy of siRNA-GalNAc conjugates as demonstrated by Brown.
Regarding claims 199 and 201, Lau teaches Signal transducer and activator of transcription 3 (STAT3) is a transcription factor that is overexpressed and/or hyperactivated in multiple human cancers, where it enhances tumor cell survival and invasion through transcription of anti-apoptotic and pro-proliferative genes (page 1, ¶1). Lau teaches antisense molecules comprising 2’-O-methyl moieties, including siRNAs, have been used to downmodulate STAT3 expression and treat cancer in clinical trials (Section 1.6).
It would have been obvious to use the patented STAT3 siRNAs in methods of treating cancers, including carcinomas, sarcomas, melanomas and lymphomas. It would have amounted to using the copending STAT3 siRNAs in known methods to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that the patented siRNAs could be used in methods, and been motivated to have used them, because Lau teaches antisense nucleic acid therapies for downregulating STAT3 for such treatments.
Claims 184-185, 189-192, 194-196, 198-199 and 201-202 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-159 of copending Application No. 18846890. Claims 184-193 and 195-202 are rejected in view of Kubo (Kubo et al., ACS Chemical Biology (2020), 16: 150-164). This is a new rejection necessitated by the removal of the conjugation site of the C18.
Copending claims 1 and 3 recite A method of treating a disease, disorder or condition [associated with activated STAT3 expression], comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an RNAi oligonucleotide… wherein the oligonucleotide comprises an antisense strand of 15 to 30 nucleotides in length and a sense strand of 15 to 40 nucleotides in length, wherein the antisense and sense strands form a duplex region, wherein the antisense strand comprises a region of complementarity to a STAT3 mRNA target sequence, and wherein the region of complementarity is at least 15 contiguous nucleotides in length, thereby treating cancer in the subject. Claims 4-5 recite wherein the disease, disorder, or condition associated with activated STAT3 expression is a cancer, including carcinoma, sarcoma, melanoma, lymphoma, and leukemia, prostate cancer, breast cancer, hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC), colorectal cancer, pancreatic cancer and glioblastoma. Copending claims 47/51/53 recite The method of any one of claims 1-46, wherein at least one nucleotide of the oligonucleotide is conjugated to one or more targeting ligands, wherein the targeting ligand is a saturated fatty acid moiety that ranges in size from C10 to C24 long, wherein the targeting ligand is a C18 saturated fatty acid moiety. Copending claim 76 recites The method of any one of claims 1-57, wherein the sense strand comprises the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1055 and the antisense strand comprises the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1145, which are 100% identical with the same modified nucleotides as SEQ ID NOs 1145 and 1055, respectively, of the examined application. Claims 82-161 recite kits with the oligonucleotides recited in claims 1-81. Thus, the copending claims anticipate examined claims 184-185, 189-192, 194-196, 198-199 and 201-202.
Response to Arguments - NSDP
Applicant states that a terminal disclaimer will be filed if claims are otherwise found allowable (Remarks, page 8, ¶4-5). Examiner acknowledges the statement. However, the claims are still rejected for nonstatutory double patenting since no terminal disclaimer has been filed.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 185 and 194 are free of the prior art. Claims 185 and 194 require a specific STAT3-targeting sequence and a specific modification pattern in the sense and antisense strands. In order to arrive at the claimed invention based on the prior art, the skilled artisan would need to I) select the specific target sequence in STAT3 mRNA to which SEQ ID NO: 1055 and 1145 is designed, II) apply a tetraloop structure to the selected sequence, with (claim 194) or without (claim 185) GalNAc modifications, Ill) apply the specific pattern of 2'-fluoro and 2'-O-Me modifications to the resulting sense strand and antisense strands, and IV) include a 3’ dinucleotide overhang on the antisense strand, and V) modify the 5' end of the sense strand with a C18 moiety.
As described in the §103 rejections above, the skilled artisan could have arrived at a double-stranded oligonucleotide targeting a sequence adjacent to Schutz's successful oligonucleotide, and therefore, the target sequence in SEQ ID NO: 1145 and 1055. The prior art provides motivation to arrive at such a sequence, because there was motivation in the prior art to develop therapeutics targeting STAT3 (see Schutz, page 104, left col.), and the prior art teaches that an oligonucleotide's target site influences its effectivity (see Gatta, pg. 713, left col.). A search of the prior art did uncover guidance to construct tetraloop-comprising, GalNAc-conjugated oligonucleotides (see Brown’s teachings above), the suggestion of 5'-lipid conjugated oligonucleotides (see Kubo’s teachings above), and motivation to include a GG dinucleotide overhang to the antisense strand.
However, taking all the parameters together, the skilled artisan would essentially have to vary every parameter of the relevant prior art in order to arrive at the instantly claimed oligonucleotide; the target sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1055 and 1145 was not uncovered in the search and/or combined with the sequence with the tetraloop structure set forth in SEQ ID NOs: 1045/1145, and the specific pattern of 2'-fluoro and 2'-OMe modified nucleotides. MPEP 2143(I)(E) provides that obviousness cannot apply in such a situation (i.e., "when what would have been "obvious to try" would have been to vary all parameters or try each of numerous possible choices until one possibly arrived at a successful result, where the prior art gave either no indication of which parameters were critical or no direction as to which of the many possible choices is likely to be successful"). Accordingly, the instantly claimed oligonucleotides comprising the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1045/1145, and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the oligonucleotides are free of the prior art considered during examination.
It is noted that claims 185 and 194 are rejected for nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) because claims in a US patent and a copending applications recite siRNAs with the specific STAT3-targeting sequence and 2’-O-methyl and 2’-O-fluoro patterns to which the addition of a C18 moiety and/or GalNAc conjugates in the tetraloop would have been obvious in view of the prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHERINE KONOPKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635