DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/26 regarding the 112(f) rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the 112(f) rejections are no longer valid as the means for language has been replaced. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as the terms “means for processing” and “means for communicating” are still in the claims and still being interpreted as 35 USC 112(f).
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 6/4/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-27 under Fornell have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Coke et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0108740).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for processing”; means for communicating” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-20 and 22-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coke et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0108740 hereinafter “Coke”) in view of Fornell (U.S. Pub. 2020/0397349).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Coke discloses a system and method including a sensor (e.g. 120) for observing the presence, location, movement and/or attitude of a person in a monitored area (e.g. 110), the monitored area being a room (e.g. 110), wherein the sensor comprises: means for processing (e.g. 280) the measurement signal of the sensor; and means for communicating (e.g. 260) measurement results and/or data relating to the measurement results for further processing, wherein, the sensor is a radar-based sensor (e.g. 220) configured to detect the person in the room (e.g. ¶25), and to measure and detect movement of the person in the room, the sensor is configured to track movement of the person in the room, and the sensor is configured to measure and further analyze measurements relating to a sub-area of the room (e.g. ¶25) in which movement of the person was observed, and to determine at least one of the following states of the person being monitored: breaks or interruptions with breathing of the monitored person (e.g. ¶15; deviation); and wherein the sensor and/or a monitoring system connected to the sensor is configured to provide an alarm based on the determined state of the person (e.g. ¶13, Alarm). Coke discloses the claimed invention except for the sensor comprises a first operating mode looking at movements and a second operating mode measuring a sub-area. However, Fornell teaches that it is known to use a radar sensor as set forth in Paragraphs 16, 18, 53 and 63 to provide means for analyzing the movement of an individual in an enclosed space and then analyzing movement of a portion of the individual to determine breathing issues. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Coke, with the two operational modes as taught by Fornell, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of determining movement and location of the individual and then analyzing the individual for physiological parameters for determining issues related to the individual in the room.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 14 above, Coke further discloses the sensor, wherein the alarm is a local alarm comprising at least one of the following: an audible alarm, headphones or a hearing aid device, a visual alarm, and/or an alarm causing vibrations to the bed, mattress and/or to the monitored person, and/or wherein the local alarm is an alarm on a wearable device, wherein the alarm is vibrating on the wearable device and/or an electric shock is caused by the wearable device (e.g. ¶43).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 14 above, Fornell further discloses wherein the sensor is configured to recognize breaks or interruptions in the person's breathing, in such a way that if no movement of the person, caused by breathing, is determined over a predefined duration, this is recognized as a break or interruption with breathing (e.g. ¶63).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 14 above, Fornell further discloses wherein the sensor and/or the system is configured to recognize immobility of the person in such a way that if no movement of the person is determined for a predetermined duration, the person is determined to be immobile (e.g. ¶23).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 14 above, Fornell further discloses wherein the sensor and/or the system is configured to provide the local alarm until the person is determined to have moved, woken up and/or to have started to breathe again (e.g. ¶¶51, 83).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 14 above, Fornell further discloses wherein the sensor and/or the system is configured to provide a remote alarm based on the determined state of the person, by sending a message or alarm to a remote system and/or to a mobile device (e.g. ¶¶51, 83).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 14 above, Fornell further discloses wherein the remote alarm is provided, if the person does not respond to the local alarm (e.g. ¶99).
Regarding claim 8, meeting the limitations of claim 1 above, Coke further discloses wherein the sensor is arranged on a stand, floor, ceiling or wall of a room in a home- environment or a hospital environment (e.g. see Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 10 and 22, meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 14 above, Fornell further discloses wherein in the second operating mode, the sensor is configured to analyse the measurement signal in such a way that the phase of the measurement signal is determined in order to observe movement of the person (e.g. ¶77).
Regarding claim 11, meeting the limitations of claim 1 above, Coke further discloses wherein the sensor is a radar sensor configured to observe the elevation, azimuth, movement and/or distance of objects (e.g. ¶25).
Regarding claims 12 and 23, meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 14 above, Coke further discloses wherein the sensor comprises a means for detecting the orientation of the sensor, and the sensor is configured to take the detected orientation of the sensor into account when determining measurement results for the monitored person (e.g. ¶13).
Regarding claims 13 and 24, meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 14 above, Fornell further discloses wherein the sensor is configured to determine sleep quality of the monitored person at least in part, based on monitored breathing frequency and/or the amount of body movement of the monitored person (e.g. ¶¶53-54).
Regarding claim 25, meeting the limitation of claim 1 above, Coke further a system for observing the presence, location, movement and/or attitude of one or more objects in a monitored area, wherein the system comprises at least one sensor according to claim 1 and wherein the sensor or sensors are fitted in the monitored area (e.g. see Fig. 1).
Regarding 26, meeting the limitation of claim 1 above, Coke further wherein the system is configured to provide the local alarm and/or the remote alarm (e.g. ¶13, Alarm).
Regarding claim 27, meeting the limitations of claim 1 above, Fornell further wherein the sensor is arranged beside or above a bed so that the measurement area of the sensor covers at least a part of the bed and/or a person lying on the bed, and the sensor is arranged to monitor a person on the bed (e.g. ¶52).
Conclusion
/REX R HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796