The amendments filed 8/11/2025 have been entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: improper grammar “of a second pair of mediate post[s]” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: improper grammar “of the first type container are be in contact with…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 3,646,609 (Bodenheimer et al. hereinafter) in view of US Patent No. 6,016,634 (Sayer hereinafter).
In re claim 1, with reference to Figs. 1, 2, 5,6 and 8a-8g, Bodenheimer et al. discloses: A freight container system, comprising a group of freight containers (10, 35), each container of the system comprises a first side (12), a second side (12), a third side (14), and a fourth side (16), each side being at an angle of 90 degrees to an adjacent side (see Figs. 1-4), wherein the four corners of the freight containers have corner posts (22), wherein the corner posts are parallel to each other, wherein the group of freight containers comprise a first type container (35), wherein the first type container has a distance from one corner post centre line to a second corner post centreline being a predetermined distance along a respective parallel side of the first type container (See Fig. 8f), wherein the group of containers comprises a second type of container (10) comprising one or more pairs of mediate posts (26), wherein the second type container comprises a distance from the centre line of at least one first pair of corner posts and/or a first pair of mediate posts to a centreline of a second pair of mediate post and/or a second pair of corner posts being equal to or larger than the predetermined distance (mediate post distance of 10 is equal to corner post distance of 35, corner post distance of 10 is larger than corner post distance of 35, see Figs 8f below).
[AltContent: textbox (Predetermined Distance claim 6)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (Predetermined Distance)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ]
Bodenheimer et al. discloses wherein the mediate posts (26) are wider than the corner posts (at 22 in Fig. 5 above), but fails to disclose wherein the one or more pairs of mediate posts are at least double the width of the corner posts to permit a single mediate post to be attached to a first corner post of a first of the first type container and a second corner post of a second of the first type container.
However, with reference to Fig. 1, Sayer discloses a freight container system (10) wherein one pair of mediate posts are at least double the width of the corner posts to permit a single mediate post to be attached to a first corner post of a first of the first type container and a second corner post of a second of the first type container.
[AltContent: textbox (Corner Post Width)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mediate Post (Double Corner Post Width))][AltContent: oval]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the mediate posts of Bodenheimer et al. to have been twice the width of the corner posts as taught by Sayer for the purposes of facilitating stacking by increasing the number of attachable load points of the container to achieve various stacking configurations (Sayer, column 6, lines 20-25).
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e. “to permit a single mediate post to be attached to a first corner post of a first of the first type container and a second corner post of a second of the first type container“) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114, II. Note that the double post width of the combination “permits” attaching to two corner/end posts of different first type containers end to end.
In re claim 2, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Bodenheimer et al. in view of Sayer as applied above discloses: A freight container system, wherein when a first type container (35) is positioned on top a second type container (10) a first pair of corner posts (22) of the first type container are positioned in line with a pair of mediate posts (26) of the second type of container, and a second pair of corner posts of the first type container are [be] in contact with a further pair of mediate posts (26) of the second type container (See Fig. 8f above), and wherein the pair of mediate posts are at least double the width of the corner posts to permit a single mediate post to be attached to a first corner post of a first of the first type container and a second corner post of a second of the first type container (as in re claim 1 above).
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e. “to permit a single mediate post to be attached to a first corner post of a first of the first type container and a second corner post of a second of the first type container“) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114, II.
In re claim 3, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Bodenheimer et al. in view of Sayer discloses the claimed invention including wherein each mediate post (26) of the second type container is arranged such that it is able to be loaded with higher load than a corner post of the said first type container and/or a corner post of the second type container, wherein the mediate post is configured to hold a higher load by increased dimension of the mediate post with the same material as compared with a corner post (see Fig. 5, mediate posts 26 are wider than corner posts 22).
In re claim 4, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Bodenheimer et al. in view of Sayer discloses the claimed invention including wherein each mediate post of each second type container has a horizontal width in a first direction, that exceeds the width of a corner post of any of the containers in the container system (i.e. other containers 10), wherein the first direction is the same direction as a line drawn between two corner posts and extending through at least one mediate post of the second type container (see greater width of mediate posts 26, as in re claim 3 above).
In re claim 5, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Bodenheimer et al. in view of Sayer discloses the claimed invention including wherein the width of any container of the system is the same (see figs. 3 and 4).
In re claim 6, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Bodenheimer et al. in view of Sayer discloses: A freight container, wherein the freight container comprises having a first side, a second side, a third side, and a fourth side, an over side (13), an underside (18), each side being at an angle of 90 degrees to an adjacent side, wherein the four corners of the container have corner posts, wherein the corner posts are parallel to each other (as in re claim 1 above), the freight container further comprises at least one pair of mediate posts (26), wherein the mediate posts are positioned between the corner posts (22), wherein the distance between the centreline of a pair of mediate posts to a centreline of at least one of the corner posts pairs and/or to a further pair of mediate posts is larger than a predetermined distance (See Figs. 1 and 8f above), further the predetermined distance is not as small as a distance between the facing peripheries of two adjacent mediate posts and/or corner posts wherein a freight container having the predetermined distance between the corner posts of the container is configured to be supported by the pair of mediate posts and a further pair of mediate posts, (See fig. 8f above), and wherein the at least one pair of mediate posts are at least double the width of the corner posts to permit a single mediate post to be attached to a first corner post of a first container and a second corner post of a second, different container (as in re claim 1 above).
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e. “to permit a single mediate post to be attached to a first corner post of a first of the first type container and a second corner post of a second of the first type container“) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114, II.
In re claim 7, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Bodenheimer et al. in view of Sayer discloses the claimed invention including wherein each mediate post of the second type container is arranged such that it is able to be loaded with higher load than a corner post of the said first type container or a corner post of the second type container, wherein the mediate post is configured to hold higher load by increased dimension of the material of the mediate post compared with the material as compared with a corner post (as in re claim 3 above).
In re claim 8, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Bodenheimer et al. in view of Sayer discloses the claimed invention including wherein each mediate post of the container has a horizontal width in a first direction, that exceeds the width of a corner post of the container, wherein the first direction is the same direction as a line drawn between two corner posts and extending through at least one mediate post of the container (as in re claim 3 above).
In re claim 9, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Bodenheimer et al. in view of Sayer discloses the claimed invention including wherein the predetermined distance is arranged such that any ISO-container can be loaded on top of the container, as long as the container has the same or longer length than the ISO-container that is to be loaded on the container (any ISO container can be placed upon the containers of Bodenheminer et al., as Applicant has not specified any alignment or engagement of corner/mediate posts).
In re claim 10, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Bodenheimer et al. in view of Sayer discloses the claimed invention including wherein the mediate posts are positioned between the corner posts on a respective long side, wherein the distances between the centrelines of the pair of mediate posts to the centrelines of at least one of the corner post pairs on a respective side as the respective mediate posts and/or to the further pair of mediate posts on the same long side are larger than the predetermined distance, further the predetermined distance is not as small as the distance between the facing peripheries of two adjacent mediate posts on the same long side and/or corner posts on the same long side.
In re claim 11, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Bodenheimer et al. in view of Sayer discloses the claimed invention including an over side (13) and an underside (18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent No. 3,941,247 to Cripe discloses a container which includes corner stacking elements (27) and mediate stacking elements (28), the mediate stacking elements are twice as wide as the corner stacking elements in order to achieve stacking configurations as shown in Figs. 5-8, including wherein below containers are stacked end to end, end/corner stacking elements of the below containers occupying half of the doubled mediate stacking elements.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733