DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/19/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 15 recites the isotropic region as having larger pore size than that of the asymmetric regions. While support for this is in page 3, lines 16-21. The actual reduction to practice or the working example for the claimed membrane is only example 4, which teaches the dual asymmetric structure depicted in figure 4. This has the isotropic region with the lowest pore size as claimed in claim 14. There is no embodiment or example or any details as to how to make the membrane of claim 15. Therefore, applicant does not seem to have possession of the invention at the time of the filing date.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6: “a modification … of these polymers” is indefinite, since the modification is a vague term, and there are no other details on the modification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansorge et al (US 2008/0197072) in view of Hu et al (US 5,178,765.)
Ansorge teaches a microporous membrane substantially as claimed, except for blending poly(2-oxazoline) with the polyethersulfone.
Ansorge teaches a flat sheet membrane having two asymmetric regions and a separating layer there between. See the abstract and [0011]-[0016]. The membrane is formed from polyether sulfone and PVP. See the working examples.
Regarding polyoxazoline, see Hu, which teaches blending poly (2-oxazoline) with polysulfone (abstract) for obtaining exceedingly high strength microfiltration membrane even after alcohol extraction – see Hu, col. 2, lines 34-39. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have polyoxazoline blended with polysulfone for making the Ansorge membrane. Hu teaches this as also known in the art - see col. 2 lines 16-30.
Regarding claim 4, since the separating layer is between the two asymmetric regions, it can be considered as either on the first or on the second layer.
Claim 5: pore size on the first layer is larger than that of the second layer – see [0014]-[0015].
Claim 6: blend further has PEG – examples.
Claim 7: hydrophilic polymer is within the range claimed – examples.
Claim 8: PVP is >7% - examples.
Claim 9: does not comprise PVP: this is an option available – see alternatives to PVP in [0038].
Claim 10: while the solvents are not patentable elements for the product claim, Ansorge does teach them in the examples.
Claim 11: polymer blend is hydrophobic – this would be inherent because Ansorge in view of Hu has the same blend of PES and polyoxazoline.
Claim 12: “essentially isotropic region” – see [0013]
Claims 13, 14: isotropic region is the separating layer – [0011]: interior of the membrane with minimal pore size, though very thin, would be isotropic as well.
Claim 15 – see [0013]-[0014]: pore size pass through maximum on isotropic region and then decreases towards second surface.
Notes on claims 13-15: Ansorge membrane structure has an asymmetric region near the first surface, then a narrow pore (separation) region, then pores widens to a larger isotropic region and to the second asymmetric region as seen in [0011]-[0016]
Claim 16: elongated pores – while Ansorge is silent on this, it is well-known that the asymmetric membranes have a sponge like structure with finger-shaped pores formed by phase inversion. See the examples: after casting, the membrane is introduced into a coagulation bath to remove solvents and PVP. Also, pores are elongated by their nature – cylindrical or tubular.
Claim 17, pore size ratio – see [0015]
Claim 18: two membranes stacked in series – while the references are silent on this, having multiple layers of filters in series is commonly practiced to improve filtration efficiency, and is not patentable, unless otherwise shown.
Conclusion
/KRISHNAN S MENON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777