Response to Arguments
The examiner is withdrawing the rejections in the previous Office Action because
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, This Action Is Made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11, 12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inda (US20080268346) in view of Lee et al. (US 20180114976)
2. Regarding claims 1, 11, Inda teaches a method for producing a compact of an electrolyte containing a sulfonyl imide compound represented by the general formula (1) (Preparation of a Solid Electrolyte, Example 3 [0108]; The glass-ceramic powder obtained in Example 1 was mixed uniformly with a copolymer of polyethylene oxide, polypropylene oxide and 2-methoxyethoxyethylglicidyl ether added with LiTFSI (lithium bistrifluoromethyl sulfonyl imide) [0108]; It is noted that LiTFSI is CF3SO2NLiSO2CF3) the method comprising: compressing of performing compression-granulating of the electrolyte in a powder form (By powder X-ray diffraction, it was confirmed that the predominant crystal phase precipitating was Li1+x+yAlxTi2−xSiyP3−yO12 (0≦x≦0.4, 0<y≦0.6). Flakes of the glass-ceramic produced were crushed by a ball mill and fine particles of the glass-ceramic having an average particle diameter of 2 μm and maximum particle diameter of 8 μm were obtained [0100], Example 1; The glass-ceramic powder obtained in Example 1 [0108]) to obtain a sheet-shaped or strip-shaped electrolyte (The composite electrolyte was then heated at 130.degree. C. and was pressed by a roll press to remove bubbles remaining in the composite electrolyte. Then, the PET films on both sides of the solid electrolyte were stripped off [0108]); and pulverizing the sheet-shaped or strip-shaped electrolyte to obtain a granular electrolyte compact (The composite solid electrolyte was then heated at 150° C. and pressed by a roll press and cut into a sheet of 25×40 mm [0118]; The fixing mixing method may also be realized by employing conventional granulation [0089]).
3. They are silent wherein the electrolyte is a powder form containing only the sulfonyl imide compound represented by the general formula (1), in a powder form as a starting material.
4. Lee teaches adding lithium bis(trifluoromethane sulfonyl)imide (Li(CF.sub.3SO.sub.2).sub.2N, LiTFSI) as a lithium salt powder [0124] for the benefit of a solid electrolyte having improved electrochemical properties, e.g., initial charge/discharge capacity, charge/discharge efficiency, and lifespan characteristics [0108].
5. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Inda with Lee teaching of adding lithium bis(trifluoromethane sulfonyl)imide (Li(CF.sub.3SO.sub.2).sub.2N, LiTFSI) as a lithium salt powder [0124] for the benefit of a solid electrolyte having improved electrochemical properties, e.g., initial charge/discharge capacity, charge/discharge efficiency, and lifespan characteristics
6. Regarding claim 2, Inda teaches wherein in the compressing, the electrolyte in a powder form is compression-granulated by passing the electrolyte between press rollers in pair to obtain the sheet-shaped or strip-shaped electrolyte having a length in a longitudinal direction of from 10 mm to 100 mm inclusive ((The composite solid electrolyte was then heated at 150° C. and pressed by a roll press and cut into a sheet of 25×40 mm [0118]).
7. Regarding claim 3, Inda teaches in the compressing, a roller compactor is used (pressed by a roll press [0118]).
8. Regarding claims 15, and 16, Inda teaches method for producing a compact of an electrolyte containing a sulfonyl imide compound represented by the general formula (1) (Preparation of a Solid Electrolyte, Example 3 [0108]; The glass-ceramic powder obtained in Example 1 was mixed uniformly with a copolymer of polyethylene oxide, polypropylene oxide and 2-methoxyethoxyethylglicidyl ether added with LiTFSI (lithium bistrifluoromethyl sulfonyl imide) [0108]; It is noted that LiTFSI is CF3SO2NLiSO2CF3), the method comprising:
tableting the electrolyte in a powder form to obtain a tablet-shaped electrolyte compact (The composite electrolyte was then heated at 130.degree. C. and was pressed by a roll press to remove bubbles remaining in the composite electrolyte. [0108]).
9. Regarding claim 7, Inda teaches further comprising: drying the tablet-shaped electrolyte compact (The composite electrolyte was then heated at 130.degree. C. and was pressed by a roll press to remove bubbles remaining in the composite electrolyte. Then, the PET films on both sides of the solid electrolyte were stripped off [0108]).
10. Regarding claim 8, Inda teaches wetting the electrolyte in a powder form (The glass-ceramic obtained in Example 1 was crushed by using a wet type ball mill to provide fine powder of the glass-ceramic having an average particle diameter of 0.3 μm and maximum particle diameter of 3 μm [0115])
11. Regarding claim 12, Inda teaches wherein the electrolyte further contains (Such lithium salts include, for example, LiBF4 [0075])
12. Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inda (US20080268346) in view of Lee et al. (US 20180114976)
in view of Lee et al. (US 20180316051) and further in view of Osada (US 20200052327).
13. Regarding claim 13, Inda teaches a compact of an electrolyte containing a sulfonyl imide compound represented by the general formula (1) ((Preparation of a Solid Electrolyte, Example 3 [0108]; The glass-ceramic powder obtained in Example 1 was mixed uniformly with a copolymer of polyethylene oxide, polypropylene oxide and 2-methoxyethoxyethylglicidyl ether added with LiTFSI (lithium bistrifluoromethyl sulfonyl imide) [0108]; It is noted that LiTFSI is CF3SO2NLiSO2CF3), a proportion of the electrolyte in a powder form having an average particle diameter of 1300 μm (an average particle diameter of 9 μm, 6 μm and 3 μm [0057]) being 10 parts by mass or less relative to 100 parts by mass of the compact (The glass-ceramic powder obtained in Example 1 was mixed uniformly with a copolymer of polyethylene oxide, polypropylene oxide and 2-methoxyethoxyethylglicidyl ether added with LiTFSI (lithium bistrifluoromethyl sulfonyl imide) at a ratio of 75:25 [0108]; It is noted that LiTFSI is 25 parts by mass or less relative to 100 parts by mass of the compact).
14. Inda is silent the compact having a hardness of from 10 N to 50 N inclusive, and they are also silent wherein the electrolyte is a powder form containing only the sulfonyl imide compound represented by the general formula (1), in a powder form as a starting material.
15. Lee teaches adding lithium bis(trifluoromethane sulfonyl)imide (Li(CF.sub.3SO.sub.2).sub.2N, LiTFSI) as a lithium salt powder [0124] for the benefit of a solid electrolyte having improved electrochemical properties, e.g., initial charge/discharge capacity, charge/discharge efficiency, and lifespan characteristics [0108].
16. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Inda with Lee teaching of adding lithium bis(trifluoromethane sulfonyl)imide (Li(CF.sub.3SO.sub.2).sub.2N, LiTFSI) as a lithium salt powder [0124] for the benefit of a solid electrolyte having improved electrochemical properties, e.g., initial charge/discharge capacity, charge/discharge efficiency, and lifespan characteristics
17. Lee’051 teaches a protective layer may include a lithium salt [0066] and the lithium salt in the protective layer 12 is LiN(SO2F)2 [0153], and the protective layer may have a Young's modulus of, about 107 Pa or greater [0081] (107 Pa = 10/mm2) for the benefit of a battery including the protective layer having improved uniform current density and mechanical properties [0051].
18. Osada teaches Young's modulus is an index of particle hardness [0042].
19. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, modified Inda with optimized particle diameters with Lee’051 teaching Young's modulus of, about 107 Pa or greater [0081] (107 Pa = 10/mm2) for the benefit of a battery including the protective layer having improved uniform current density and mechanical properties, in addition to using Osada teaching of Young's modulus as an index of particle hardness.
20. Claims 4, 5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inda (US20080268346) in view of Lee et al. (US 20180114976) in view of Deng et al. (US 20230099184, PCT filed 12/23/2020)
21. Inda teaches in the pulverizing, a roll granulator is used (The fixing mixing method may also be realized by employing conventional granulation and surface coating techniques [0089]; pressed by a roll press [0127]).
22. Inda is silent about claims 5, 9 and 10.
23. Deng teaches a solid electrolyte pellet having a diameter of 10 mm [0117] for the benefit of providing a solid electrolyte which exhibits good ionic conductivity and is excellent in moldability, productivity, and quality stability [0010].
24. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Inda with Deng’s teaching
of a solid electrolyte pellet having a diameter of 10 mm for the benefit of providing a solid electrolyte which exhibits good ionic conductivity and is excellent in moldability, productivity, and quality stability.
25. Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inda (US20080268346) in view of Lee et al. (US 20180114976) in view of Lee et al. (US 20180316051) in view of Osada (US 20200052327) and further in view of Deng et al. (US 20230099184, PCT filed 12/23/2020)
26. Deng teaches a solid electrolyte pellet having a diameter of 10 mm [0117] for the benefit of providing a solid electrolyte which exhibits good ionic conductivity and is excellent in moldability, productivity, and quality stability [0010].
27. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Inda with Deng’s teaching
of a solid electrolyte pellet having a diameter of 10 mm for the benefit of providing a solid electrolyte which exhibits good ionic conductivity and is excellent in moldability, productivity, and quality stability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLATUNJI A GODO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752