DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re Claim 7, the claim language specifies a first hole “disposed in the continuity” of another first hole. The meaning of “disposed in the continuity” is not clear. This lack of clarity renders the scope of the claim indefinite. An appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Ohe et al (U.S 3,820,293)
In re Claim 1, 12, and 15, Ohe teaches a structural assembly including a plurality of adjacent blocks connected together, said structural assembly (10) comprising at least: a first block (1) having a first side and a second side opposite to the first side; a second block (1) having a first side and a second side opposite to the first side, the second side of the first block bearing against the first side of the second block; a first assembly device (2') connecting the first and second blocks together, the first assembly device (2’) being entirely housed in the first and second blocks while being mounted to the first and second blocks, the first assembly device (2’) being tensioned so as to compress the first and second blocks (1,1) against each other; a third block (1b) having a first side and a second side opposite to the first side, the first side of the third block bearing against the second side of the second block; a second assembly device (2a,2b) connecting the second and third blocks together and being entirely housed in the second and third blocks (14, 40) while being mounted to the second and third blocks, the second assembly device (2b) being tensioned so as to compress the second and third blocks against each other, wherein the second assembly device (2b) is parallel and non-coaxial with the first assembly device (2’). (Figures 1-6, annotated Figure). Regarding Claims 12 and 15, Figures 6, and 7 teach the use of the structural members as beams. Beams are typically used in the construction of walls.
In re Claims 2 and 3, Ohe teaches the first assembly device (2’) comprises a first connecting rod and at least one first pressing member/nut (14,14’,15), in which the first connecting rod comprises a first part fixed in the first block and a second part extending into the second block, said first pressing member being engaged with the second part of the first connecting rod while being pressed in the second block so as to compress the first and second blocks against each other. (Figures 1-6, annotated Figure)
In re Claims 4 and 5, Ohe teaches that second block (1) comprises a first hole (4,13) which opens out into the second side of the second block, and wherein the first pressing member (14,14’,15) is located in the first hole. The first hole has a shoulder against which the first pressing member comes into abutment. (Figures 1-6, annotated Figure)
In re Claims 6, the term sealed can be broadly defined as fastened or closed securely. Therefore, Ohe teaches that the first part of the connecting rod of assembly device (2’) is sealed/fastened/closed securely by washer (14, box washer (14’) and nut (15). (Figures 1-6, annotated Figure)
In re Claims 7, Ohe teaches that the first hole (4a) of the first block is disposed in the continuity of the first hole of the second block and opening out into the first side of the first block, and wherein the first part of the first connecting rod is fixed in the first hole of the first block. (Figures 1-6, annotated Figure)
In re Claims 9, Ohe teaches that the second assembly device (2a,2b) comprises a second connecting rod and a second pressing member (3), wherein the second connecting rod comprises a first part fixed in the second block and a second part extending into the third block, said second pressing member (3) being engaged with the second part of the second connecting rod while being pressed in the third block so as to compress the second and third blocks against each other. (Figures 1-6, annotated Figure)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohe et al (U.S 3,820,293) in view of Rogers (U.S. 20130318896).
In re Claim 8 Ohe has been previously discussed but does not disclose that the sides of the blocks that engage each other are nonplanar.
Rogers teaches non planar connecting surfaces (11) between two abutting blocks (12) that are held together with connectors (14). (Figure 6)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate the nonplanar mating features (11) into the abutting blocks taught by Ohe to further hold the in place and resist shear forces that could make them slip.
In re Claims 10 and 11, the modified Ohe has been previously discussed but does not teach a fourth block with two sides that bears against a third block with two sides or that the third and fourth blocks are connected together by a third assembly device that is entirely housed in the third and fourth blocks while being mounted to the third and fourth blocks, the third assembly device being tensioned so as to compress the third and fourth blocks.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have a fourth block and a third assembly device in the claimed configurations, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Adding a fourth block would require additional assembly devices to enlarge the structural assembly. As Figure 6 shows assembly devices that are coaxial, and additional assembly device would result in a first and third coaxial assembly device.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohe et al (U.S 3,820,293) in view of Hatton (U.S. 2,291,712).
In re Claims 13 and 14 Ohe has been previously discussed but does not teach a structure of central blocks surrounded by the structural assembly defined in Claim 12. As was noted, Claim 12 only requires three blocks connected together for its structural assembly. Figure 6 of Ohe shows a single course of three blocks. Ohe does not teach a central structure consisting of central blocks juxtaposed to each other and surrounded by the structural assembly.
Hatton teaches a wall made up of multiple courses (13) of blocks (14). (Figures 5,6) Blocks (14) joined together at the center of that wall could be considered a central structure made from central blocks. This central structure would be surrounded by the courses above and below as well as joined blocks to the left and right. Figure 1 shows a block interface at the edges with surfaces that are not completely horizontal and/or vertical.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify Ohe with the block in multiple courses as taught by Hatton. This would allow for the construction of a durable and stable wall.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/ADAM G BARLOW/Examiner, Art Unit 3633
/BRIAN E GLESSNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3633