Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant: “In Papasakellariou, the association between a specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI or G-RNTI) and a DCI format/PDSCH type is static and inherently hardcoded by standard specifications. Furthermore, any "value of a field in the DCI format" described in Paragraph [0163] or [0098] of Papasakellariou merely represents an L1 dynamic indicator within the DCI payload itself to identify a PDSCH transmission type for that specific scheduling instance. Neither an inherent RNTI definition nor an L1 field inside a DCI constitutes higher-layer RRC signaling transmitted from a base station prior to receiving the DCI. In addition, one skilled in the art knows that an L1 indicator field or RNTI type cannot logically serve as the claimed "third information." That is, per Applicant's amended independent claims, the third information is higher-layer configuration parameter that is communicated via an RRC message and to define/configure the interpretation framework (mapping) for the first type of DCI and the second type of DCI. An L1 field contained within a received DCI cannot configure how that DCI type itself is to be interpreted prior to its reception“.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. Papasakellariou discloses configuring by higher layers different sets of RNTIs in a DCI format to indicate whether the DCI is interpreted as unicast or multicast. For example, scrambling DCI format with C-RNTI, MCS-C-RNTI, or CS-RNTI defines the DCI as type unicast while scrambling DCI format with G-RNTI or G-CS-RNTI defines the DCI as type multicast (paragraph 88, 98, 163). The configured sets of RNTI’s teach the third information in claim 1. Papasakellariou expressly discloses “a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured by higher layers a first set of RNTIs, such as a C-RNTI, MCS-C-RNTI, or CS-RNTI, for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format scheduling PDSCH receptions and a second set of RNTIs, such as a number of G-RNTIs or G-CS-RNTIs, for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format scheduling PDSCH receptions. DCI formats with CRC scrambled by an RNTI from the first set of RNTIs and are associated with HARQ-ACK information from the UE will be referred to as first DCI formats, such as unicast DCI formats. DCI formats with CRC scrambled by an RNTI from the second set of RNTIs and are associated with HARQ-ACK information from the UE will be referred to as second DCI formats, such as multicast DCI formats. It is also possible that an association of a DCI format with first DCI formats or with second DCI formats is determined based on a value of field in the DCI format providing a corresponding indication or based on a size of the DCI format. For brevity, the following descriptions assume an RNTI-based association” (p163). In other words, higher layer signaling, e.g. RRC messaging, assigns specific RNTI types and values so the UE can monitor the PDCCHs in each configured search space and decode DCIs intended for the UE, both unicast and multicast. Papasakellariou teaches the limitation “wherein third information for configuring the first type of DCI to one of a unicast DCI format and a multicast DCI format, and configuring the second type of DCI to the other one of the unicast DCI format or the multicast DCI format is received from the base station”.
On page 8-9 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant: “Furthermore, in 3GPP standards as well as Papasakellariou, C-RNTI-scrambled DCIs are statically tied to unicast. Papasakellariou completely fails to teach an active signaling mechanism through an RRC message that dynamically configures whether a first type of DCI is mapped to a unicast DCI format or a multicast DCI format, and vice versa. Furthermore, Applicant emphasizes that neither Liu nor Papasakellariou teaches or suggests a unified higher-layer framework where a single RRC message for dedicated parameters of a downlink BWP provides both first information related to a plurality of SPS configurations, and third information for dynamically configuring the format mapping (unicast VS. multicast) of the first and second types of DCI used for releasing the SPS configurations. Applicant's rationale follows… “.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. No where in the claim language is the limitation: “an active signaling mechanism through an RRC message that dynamically configures whether a first type of DCI is mapped to a unicast DCI format or a multicast DCI format, and vice versa” or “a unified higher-layer framework where a single RRC message for dedicated parameters of a downlink BWP provides both first information related to a plurality of SPS configurations, and third information for dynamically configuring the format mapping (unicast VS. multicast) of the first and second types of DCI used for releasing the SPS configurations” or “higher-layer RRC message jointly configures a plurality of SPS configurations and the dynamic interpretation mapping between DCI types and unicast/multicast DCI formats”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.
On page 9 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant: “Furthermore, in Applicant's claimed invention, by jointly configuring both the plurality of SPS configurations and the DCI type-to-format mapping within a single BWP-dedicated RRC message, there is a significantly reduction of higher-layer signaling overhead thus enabling the UE to reliably and seamlessly perform SPS release operations without any ambiguity in DCI interpretation.“.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. Examiner did not find support in the original specification for “jointly configuring both the plurality of SPS configurations and the DCI type-to-format mapping within a single BWP-dedicated RRC message”.
In view of the above discussions the rejection of claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11 still stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 11; the limitation RRC message in lines 2 and 17 discloses that the first information and third information are transmitted in the same RRC message. The original specification does not disclose a single RRC message comprising the first and second information. The original specification discloses “an RRC message related to BWP downlink dedicated (dedicated) (i.e., ‘BWP-DownlinkDedicated’) may include ‘SPS-ConfigDeactivationState’. ‘SPS-ConfigDeactivationState’ may indicate a list of deactivation states where each state can be mapped to single or multiple SPS configurations to be deactivated. If the state is mapped to multiple SPS configurations, the corresponding SPS configurations may be configured to the same ‘harq-CodebookID” (p249), “The base station may transmit first information related to a plurality of SPS configurations to the UE (S810). For example, the base station may transmit configuration information (e.g., ‘BWP-DownlinkDedicated’) related to a dedicated (UE-specific) parameter of the DL BWP including the first information to the UE” (p167-168), and “For example, ‘BWP-DownlinkDedicated’ may include a list of one or more DL SPS configurations to be added, modified, or released to BWP, a list of deactivated states that can be mapped to one or more SPS configurations to be deactivated (or list of deactivation SPS configurations), SPS-related configuration information, etc.” (p142). No where does the original specification disclose “third information for configuring the DCI of the first type to one of the unicast DCI format or the multicast DCI format and configuration the DCI of the second type to the other of the unicast DCI format and the multicast DCI format” from the base station transmitted in the same RRC message as the first information related to a plurality of SPS configurations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 11; the limitation “wherein third information is received from the base station through the RRC message, the third information being for configuring the first type of DCI to one of a unicast DCI format and a multicast DCI format, and for configuring the second type of DCI to the other one of the unicast DCI format or the multicast DCI format,” is indefinite. In paragraph 149-151, the original specification discloses “the DCI of the first type may be a unicast DCI format, and the DCI of the second type may be a multicast DCI format (e.g., DCI format 4_x)”. The limitation in claims 1, 9, and 11 is essentially disclosing: the third information being for configuring the unicast DCI format, i.e. first type of DCI, to one of a unicast DCI format and a multicast DCI format or the third information being for configuring the multicast DCI format, i.e. first type of DCI, to one of a unicast DCI format and a multicast DCI format. This does not make sense that third information would configure a unicast DCI format into a unicast DCI format since the unicast DCI format is already a unicast DCI format. For example, if the first type of DCI was DCI format 4_x, then there is no configuring it as a multicast DCI format since DCI format 4_x is already a multicast DCI format. Applicant’s original specification discloses this in paragraphs 150-151. In Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment filed 7/30/2026, Applicant’s Representative argues the third information is dynamic mapping between DCI types and unicast/multicast DCI formats; however, no where in the original specification is a mapping disclosed beyond the indefinite statement “the third information may be configured such that each of the unicast DCI format and the multicast DCI format is mapped to each of the first type DCI and the second type DCI” (p168).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2022/0361153) (“Liu”) in view of Papasakellariou (US 2022/0263603) in view of Nam et al. (US 2022/0232401) (“Nam”).
For claims 1, 9, and 11; Liu discloses: receiving, by a user equipment (UE), dedicated parameters of a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) (paragraph 141-142, 155, 157: the common frequency resource may be used for a PDSCH configuration for MBS (e.g., separate from a PDSCH configuration of the dedicated unicast BWP), a PDCCH configuration for MBS (e.g., separate from the PDCCH-Config of the dedicated unicast BWP), one or more SPS configurations for MBS (e.g., separate from the SPS configurations of the dedicated unicast BWP), or a combination thereof…a deactivation state list (e.g., sps-ConfigDeactivationStateList) configured in a dedicated BWP may include one or more MBS SPS group-common PDSCH configurations. As such, if the UE 115 is provided the deactivation state list (e.g., sps-ConfigDeactivationStateList) including SPS PDSCH and/or SPS GC-PDSCH, a value of the HPN field in a DCI format of UE-specific PDCCH may indicate an entry for scheduling release of one or more SPS PDSCH and/or SPS group-common PDSCH configurations) including first information related to a plurality of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configurations from a base station (paragraph 143: As part of the one or more SPS configurations for MBS, the base station 105 may transmit SPS group-common PDSCHs via the multicast communications. For connected state UEs 115 (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED UEs), more than one SPS group-common PDSCH configuration for MBS may be configured per UE 115 subject to UE capability); receiving, by the UE, a first type of downlink control information (DCI) or a second type of DCI from the base station (paragraph 97: the base station may indicate which SPS configurations to activate or release based on a DCI format of the group-common PDCCH, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARD) process number (HPN) field in the DCI format of the group-common PDCCH, an activation state list, a common frequency resource, or a combination thereof. Additionally or alternatively, the base station may configure a specific UE to activate or release one or more SPS configurations for group-common PDSCH signaling via UE-specific (e.g., unicast) PDCCH signaling. For example, the base station may indicate which SPS configurations to activate or deactivate based on an HPN field in a DCI format of the UE-specific PDCCH); and releasing, by the UE, at least one SPS configuration among the plurality of SPS configurations based on the first type of DCI or the second type of DCI (paragraph 97: the base station may indicate which SPS configurations to activate or release based on a DCI format of the group-common PDCCH, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARD) process number (HPN) field in the DCI format of the group-common PDCCH, an activation state list, a common frequency resource, or a combination thereof. Additionally or alternatively, the base station may configure a specific UE to activate or release one or more SPS configurations for group-common PDSCH signaling via UE-specific (e.g., unicast) PDCCH signaling. For example, the base station may indicate which SPS configurations to activate or deactivate based on an HPN field in a DCI format of the UE-specific PDCCH), wherein an index of the at least one SPS configuration is mapped to a deactivation state value of a SPS configuration deactivation state list (paragraph 144, 157: the UEs 115 may support separate and joint release by using UE-specific PDCCHs for SPS group-common PDSCHs. For example, a deactivation state list (e.g., sps-ConfigDeactivationStateList) configured in a dedicated BWP may include one or more MBS SPS group-common PDSCH configurations. As such, if the UE 115 is provided the deactivation state list (e.g., sps-ConfigDeactivationStateList) including SPS PDSCH and/or SPS GC-PDSCH, a value of the HPN field in a DCI format of UE-specific PDCCH may indicate an entry for scheduling release of one or more SPS PDSCH and/or SPS group-common PDSCH configurations), wherein, based on a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number field related to the deactivation state value of a SPS configuration included in the first type of DCI being received from the base station, the at least one SPS configuration is released (paragraph 144, 157: a value of the HPN field in a DCI format of UE-specific PDCCH may indicate an entry for scheduling release of one or more SPS PDSCH and/or SPS group-common PDSCH configurations. Table 5 below shows an example of a mapping between state indexes (e.g., HPN field values) to corresponding SPS configuration indexes for group-common PDSCHs and other unicast PDSCHs), wherein, based on the HARQ process number field included in the second type of DCI being received from the base station, a first SPS configuration having same index as a value of the HARQ process number field is released (paragraph 152-153: if a UE 115 is not provided with a deactivation state index for MBS SPS group-common PDSCH, a value of the HPN field in a DCI format may indicate a release for a corresponding SPS group-common PDSCH configuration with a value mapping to the SPS configuration index for SPS group-common PDSCH); the at least one SPS configuration includes a unicast SPS configuration (paragraph 96, 144: an HPN bit field in a release DCI may be used to indicate which SPS index(es) is (are) released. For example, a table of states may be configured by a base station 105 (e.g., via sps-ConfigDeactivationStateList), where each state can be mapped to a single or multiple configured grant configuration indices to be released), and an index of the first SPS configuration is mapped to a multicast SPS configuration (paragraph 152, 157: in a group-common PDCCH may correspond to respective configuration indexes for the SPS configurations (e.g., maps to sps-ConfigIndex_MBS={0, 1, 2} for SPS group-common PDSCH) in the common frequency resource. Additionally or alternatively, base station 105-a may configure an activation state list (e.g., sps-ConfigActivationStateList) to the UEs 115 to jointly activate multiple SPS group-common PDSCH configurations in the common frequency resource…if the UE 115 is provided the deactivation state list (e.g., sps-ConfigDeactivationStateList) including SPS PDSCH and/or SPS GC-PDSCH, a value of the HPN field in a DCI format of UE-specific PDCCH may indicate an entry for scheduling release of one or more SPS PDSCH and/or SPS group-common PDSCH configurations. Table 5 below shows an example of a mapping between state indexes (e.g., HPN field values) to corresponding SPS configuration indexes for group-common PDSCHs and other unicast PDSCHs).
Liu does not expressly disclose, but Papasakellariou from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein third information for configuring the first type of DCI to one of a unicast DCI format and a multicast DCI format, and configuring the second type of DCI to the other one of the unicast DCI format or the multicast DCI format is received from the base station (paragraph 88, 97, 163: a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured by higher layers a first set of RNTIs, such as a C-RNTI, MCS-C-RNTI, or CS-RNTI, for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format scheduling PDSCH receptions and a second set of RNTIs, such as a number of G-RNTIs or G-CS-RNTIs, for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format scheduling PDSCH receptions. DCI formats with CRC scrambled by an RNTI from the first set of RNTIs and are associated with HARQ-ACK information from the UE will be referred to as first DCI formats, such as unicast DCI formats. DCI formats with CRC scrambled by an RNTI from the second set of RNTIs and are associated with HARQ-ACK information from the UE will be referred to as second DCI formats, such as multicast DCI formats). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Papasakellariou in the SPS signaling as described by Liu. The motivation is to improve signaling overhead.
Liu does not expressly disclose, but Nam from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein third information and first information are sent over a RRC message (paragraph 88: the configurations may be provided to the UE in a single message or in separate messages. For example, the UE 502 may receive the configurations 510, 512, and/or 514 in a single RRC message or in separate RRC messag). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Nam in the SPS signaling as described by Liu. The motivation is to improve signaling overhead.
For claim 2; Liu discloses: the first type of DCI is a unicast DCI format, and the second type of DCI is a multicast DCI format (paragraph 151-158: wireless communications system 200 may support activation and release for SPS group-common (e.g., multicast) PDSCH signaling by group-common PDCCH or UE-specific PDCCH…a DCI format of a group-common PDCCH may indicate an activation for an SPS group-common PDSCH configuration…a DCI format of the UE-specific PDCCH may indicate an activation for an SPS group-common PDSCH configuration).
For claim 3; Liu discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Liu does not expressly disclose, but Papasakellariou from similar fields of endeavor teaches: the first type of DCI is cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a configured scheduling (CS)-radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), and the second type of DCI is CRC scrambled by G(group)-CS-RNTI (paragraph 97, 163: paragraph 163: a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured by higher layers a first set of RNTIs, such as a C-RNTI, MCS-C-RNTI, or CS-RNTI, for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format scheduling PDSCH receptions and a second set of RNTIs, such as a number of G-RNTIs or G-CS-RNTIs, for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format scheduling PDSCH receptions. DCI formats with CRC scrambled by an RNTI from the first set of RNTIs and are associated with HARQ-ACK information from the UE will be referred to as first DCI formats, such as unicast DCI formats. DCI formats with CRC scrambled by an RNTI from the second set of RNTIs and are associated with HARQ-ACK information from the UE will be referred to as second DCI formats, such as multicast DCI formats). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Papasakellariou in the SPS signaling as described by Liu. The motivation is to improve signaling overhead.
For claims 5; Liu discloses: second information related to an SPS configuration deactivation state list including the specific deactivation state value of the SPS configuration is received from the base station (paragraph 155-157: deactivation state list (e.g., sps-ConfigDeactivationStateList) configured in a dedicated BWP may include one or more MBS SPS group-common PDSCH configurations. As such, if the UE 115 is provided the deactivation state list (e.g., sps-ConfigDeactivationStateList) including SPS PDSCH and/or SPS GC-PDSCH, a value of the HPN field in a DCI format of UE-specific PDCCH may indicate an entry for scheduling release of one or more SPS PDSCH and/or SPS group-common PDSCH configurations).
For claims 7; Liu discloses: each of the plurality of SPS configurations is mapped to a different SPS configuration index value (paragraph 146, 153: if the UE is not provided with the respective state lists (e.g., ConfiguredGrantConfigType2DeactivationStateList or sps-ConfigDeactivationStateList), a value of the HPN field in a DCI format may indicate a release for a corresponding uplink grant PUSCH or for an SPS PDSCH configuration with a same value as provided by configuration indexes for either type of transmission (e.g., ConfiguredGrantConfigIndex or by sps-ConfigIndex, respectively)… if a UE 115 is not provided with a deactivation state index for MBS SPS group-common PDSCH, a value of the HPN field in a DCI format may indicate a release for a corresponding SPS group-common PDSCH configuration with a value mapping to the SPS configuration index for SPS group-common PDSCH).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0080929); Matsumura discloses a case that spatial relation information (spatialRelationInfo) for a SP or AP-SRS resource configured by a SRS resource information element (higher layer parameter SRS-Resource) is activated/updated for one set of CCs/BWPs by the MAC CE, then, the applicable list of CC is indicated by a simultaneous spatial update list.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466