DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 11, 15, 18, 35, 38, 41, 43, 48, 57, 59-60, and 62 in the reply filed on April 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 66 and 72 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 9-11 require a label on the y axis. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 15, 18, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11, 15, 18 and 41, the phrase “preferably” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purposes of examination, the limitations will not be considered part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Groenewold (WO 2015/044298 A1).
With respect to Claim 38, Groenewold teaches a composition comprising dextrose monohydrate, L-cysteine, and arachidonic acid, [Table 2] wherein the arachidonic acid is preferably derived from the Mortierella alpina. [Pg. 6, Ln. 17] Therefore, Groenewold anticipates the invention recited in claim 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 11, 15, 18, 35, 41, 43, 48, 57, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groenewold (WO 2015/044298 A1) in view of Damude et al. (2010/0022647 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Groenewold teaches a composition for conveying a chicken flavor through the act of heating [Pg. 5, Ln 5-6] comprising a reducing sugar, cysteine, and arachidonic acid, [Pg. 7, Ln. 5-9] wherein the sugar can be xylose, glucose, or more, [Pg. 5, Ln. 25-26] and the arachidonic acid is derived from fungi such as Mortierella. [Pg. 6, Ln. 14-17] Groenewold reads on the limitations of a composition comprising an amino acid, a sugar, and an extracted microbial lipid comprising esterified fatty acids in the form or a polar lipid, wherein the composition comprises a meat flavor and/or aroma when heated.
Groenewold is silent to the polar lipid comprising a total fatty acid content comprising arachidonic (ARA), dihomo-ɣ-linolenic (DGLA), and ɣ-linolenic (GLA), palmitic, stearic, oleic, and palmitoleic acid, wherein the ARA is between 10-60%, the DGLA is between 0.1-5%, and the GLA is between 1-10% of the total fatty acid content.
Damude et al. teaches a method of producing a microbial oil comprising arachidonic acid [0035] through the genetic modification of Yarrowia sp. [0011] and subsequent production and recovery of the microbial oil. [0036-37] In a specific embodiment, Damude et al. teaches a variety of strains whose lipid profiles are represented by the amount of GLA, DGLA, ARA, palmitic, palmitoleic, stearic, oleic, and linolenic acid, wherein the range of ARA is 10.9-14%, DGLA is between 0-8.3%, and GLA is between 0-29.7% of the total fatty acid content. [Table 10] Additionally, Damude et al. teaches the composition is beneficial to the production of meat analogs. [0353]
Groenewold and Damude et al. exist within the same field of endeavor in that they teach compositions comprising arachidonic acid for imitating meat flavor. Where Groenewold teaches a composition designed to taste like chicken using a sugar, an amino acid, and arachidonic acid, Damude et al. teaches a microbial strain that can be genetically modified to produce a desired fatty acid profile.
The ranges of ARA, DGLA, and GLA taught by Damude et al. overlap with the ranges recited in claim 1 and MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have used the teaching of Groenewold in view of Damude et al. to have produced the invention recited in claim 1, thereby rendering claim 1 obvious.
With respect to Claims 2 and 5-6, Groenewold in view of Damude et al. renders claim 1 obvious, as described above. Additionally, Groenewold teaches the arachidonic acid is present in about 40% of the total fatty acid content. [Pg. 12, Ln. 11-13] MPEP 2144.05 I states, “A range can be disclosed in multiple prior art references instead of in a single prior art reference”. A range of ARA taught by the teachings of Groenewold and Damude et al. would span from 10.9-40%, also meaning the amount of ω6 fatty acids in the total fatty acids comprise a range of 10.9-67%.
The ranges of ARA, DGLA, GLA, and total ω6 fatty acids in the total fatty acid content overlap with the ranges recited in claims 2 and 5-6 respectively. MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Groenewold in view of Damude et al. to devise the invention recited in claim 1, wherein the composition comprises between 20-50% ARA, 1-5% DGLA, 3-10% GLA, and wherein the total ω6 fatty acids is between 30-70%, thereby rendering claims 2 and 5-6 obvious.
With respect to Claim 9, Groenewold in view of Damude et al. renders claim 1 obvious, as described above. Additionally, the lipid profile taught in Damude et al. lacks ω3 fatty acids. [Table 2] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Groenewold in view of Damude et al. to have devised the invention recited in claim 1, wherein the ω3 fatty acids is below 3% of the total fatty acid content, thereby rendering claim 9 obvious.
With respect to Claim 11, Groenewold in view of Damude et al. renders claim 1 obvious, as described above. Additionally, Damude et al. teaches the phospholipid content can be manipulated and controlled for by using different phospholipases, resulting in the phospholipids known in the art, such as phosphatidylcholine (PC) and phosphatidylethanolamine (PE). [0332] Though Damude et al. does not explicitly teach the ω6 fatty acids being comprised within the specific phospholipids recited, Damude et al. teaches the total lipid and oil faction recorded includes the lipids located within the PC and PE. [0184]
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have selected PC, PE, or both in the development of the invention taught by Damude et al. due to the finite number of options available. MPEP 2144.05 II. B, states, “When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp” and MPEP 2144.07 states, “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Groenewold in view of Damude et al. to have devised the invention recited in claim 1, wherein the phospholipids comprising ω6 fatty acids comprise phosphatidylcholine and phosphatidylethanolamine, thereby rendering claim 11 obvious.
With respect to Claims 15 and 35, Groenewold in view of Damude et al. renders claim 1 obvious, as described above. Additionally, Groenewold teaches the lipid is preferably derived from Mortierella alpina [Pg. 6, Ln. 14-17] and Damude et al. teaches the lipid can be derived from Yarrow lipolytica. [Table 2] Damude et al. specifically teaches that the microbe can be genetically modified to control the TAG degradation in the cells. [0330] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Groenewold in view of Damude et al. in order to devise the invention recited in claim 1, wherein the lipid is derived from Yarrow lipolytica and Mortierella spp., and wherein the microbe is genetically modified to decrease or increase the catabolism of TAG, thereby rendering claims 15 and 35 obvious.
With respect to Claim 18, Groenewold in view of Damude et al. renders claim 1 obvious, as described above. Additionally, the lipid profile taught in Damude et al. comprises between 7.9-15.9% palmitic acid. [Table 2] MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Groenewold in view of Damude et al. to have devised the invention recited in claim 1, wherein the palmitic acid is between 10-20%, thereby rendering claim 18 obvious.
With respect to Claim 41, Groenewold in view of Damude et al. renders claim 1 obvious, as described above. Additionally, Groenewold teaches the sugar can be xylose, glucose, or more. [Pg. 5, Ln. 25-26] Therefore, Groenewold in view of Damude et al. renders obvious the invention recited in claim 41.
With respect to Claim 43, 48, 57, and 60, Groenewold in view of Damude et al. renders claim 1 obvious, as described above. Additionally, Groenewold teaches an embodiment of the composition wherein protein hydrolysate derived from yeast is added in an amount between 10-90% [Pg. 7, Ln. 14-17] and that applying heat to the composition results in a chicken flavor. [Pg. 5, Ln. 5-7] The addition of a protein hydrolysate derived from yeast constitutes at least one other food, feedstuff, or beverage ingredient, wherein the composition as a whole lacks an animal component, and the amount of protein hydrolysate overlaps with the amount recited in claim 43. MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Groenewold in view of Damude et al. to have devised the invention recited in claim 1, wherein the composition further comprises an additional food, feedstuff, or beverage ingredient in the form of a protein at less than 20% and wherein the composition lacks an animal component and applying heat produces a meat-associated flavor, thereby rendering claims 43, 48, 57, and 60 obvious.
Claims 59 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groenewold (WO 2015/044298 A1) in view of Damude et al. (2010/0022647 A1), as evidenced by Jayasena et al. (Flavour Chemistry of Chicken Meat: A Review, Asian Australian Journal of Animal Science).
With respect to Claim 59, Groenewold in view of Damude et al. renders claim 1 obvious, as described above. Additionally, Groenewold teaches, the flavor developed by heating the composition is chicken, [Pg. 5, Ln. 5-7] but is silent to the volatile compounds resulting from the process. Jayasena et al. teaches a study of the chemicals responsible for chicken flavor, [Abstract] specifically octanal and nonanal. [Table 2] It would have logically followed that the composition that taste like chicken would possess the same volatile components as those responsible for the flavor of chicken. Therefore, the composition taught by Groenewold in view of Damude et al. would have comprised at least two compounds responsible for the meat associated flavor and/or aroma.
Additionally, the composition taught by Groenewold in view of Damude et al. is substantially identical to the composition recited in claim 1. MPEP 2112.01 I states, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. Therefore, the composition taught by Groenewold in view of Damude et al. would possess the same properties as of the composition recited in claim 1 and have a greater amount of the at least two compounds than the comparative food, feedstuff, or beverage produced with a corresponding lipid or composition lacking the polar lipid comprising the ω6 fatty acids.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Groenewold in view of Damude et al. to have devised a food or feedstuff comprising the invention recited in claim 1 and at least 2 flavor and/or aroma compounds, wherein the at least 2 flavor and/or aroma compounds are present in the invention at a greater amount than a corresponding lipid or composition lacking the polar lipid comprising ω6 fatty acids, thereby rendering claim 59 obvious.
With respect to Claim 62, Groenewold in view of Damude et al. renders claim 48 obvious, as described above. Additionally, Groenewold teaches, the flavor developed by heating the composition is chicken, [Pg. 5, Ln. 5-7] but is silent to the volatile compounds resulting from the process. Jayasena et al. teaches a study of the chemicals responsible for chicken flavor, [Abstract] specifically octanal and nonanal. [Table 2] It would have logically followed that the composition that taste like chicken would possess the same volatile components as those responsible for the flavor of chicken. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Groenewold in view of Damude et al., as evidenced by Jayasena et al., to have developed the composition according to claim 48, wherein applying heat results in the production of two or more volatile compounds, including octanal and nonanal, thereby rendering claim 62 obvious.
Conclusion
/J.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791