Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 05/12/2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)- (d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5–8, and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 5–8, and 14 all recite “preferably” followed by a further claim limitation. It is therefore unclear whether the claim includes the limitation after “preferably”. For the purposes of examination, the claims will be interpreted as not including the limitation after “preferably”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–7, 10, and 12–13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (WO 2022/065762 A1, provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on 09/02/2023, hereinafter “Lee”). An English translation has been provided in this Office Action.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses compound 2-36 [216] which reads on Applicant’s Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
X is O,
Group A is an unsubstituted aryl with 6 carbon atoms (phenyl),
L1 is a single bond,
Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl with 6 carbon atoms (phenyl),
R1 and R2 are not present since n1 and n2 are each 0.
Regarding Claim 2, compound 2-36 is represented by Applicant’s Formula 1-1 (shown below).
Regarding Claim 3, group A is represented by an unsubstituted phenyl in compound 2-36.
Regarding Claim 4, group A is represented by
in compound 2-36.
Regarding Claim 5, L1 is a single bond in compound 2-36.
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl with 6 carbon atoms (phenyl) in compound 2-36.
Regarding Claim 10,
is represented by
in compound 2-36.
Regarding Claim 12, R3 and R4 are not present in compound 2-36 since X is O. Therefore, compound 2-36 reads on Applicant’s optional limitation.
Regarding Claim 13, compound 2-36 is identical to Applicant’s compound A29 (shown below).
Claims 1–7, 9–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US 2024/0389454 A1, hereinafter “Lim”).
Regarding Claim 1, Lim discloses compound 1-225 [pg. 76] which reads on Applicant’s Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
X is S,
Group A is an unsubstituted aryl with 6 carbon atoms (phenyl) substituted with deuterium,
L1 is a single bond,
Ar1 is an aryl with 6 carbon atoms (phenyl) substituted with deuterium.
R1 and R2 are each deuterium, while n1 and n2 are each 7.
Regarding Claim 2, compound 1-225 is represented by Applicant’s Formula 1-4 (shown below).
Regarding Claim 3, group A is represented by a phenyl substituted with deuterium in compound 1-225.
Regarding Claim 4, group A is represented by
in compound 1-225.
Regarding Claim 5, L1 is a single bond in compound 1-225.
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, Ar1 is an aryl with 6 carbon atoms (phenyl) substituted with deuterium in compound 1-225.
Regarding Claim 9,
is represented by
and is substituted with deuterium in compound 1-225.
Regarding Claim 10,
is represented by
in compound 1-225.
Regarding Claim 11, R1 and R-2 are each represented by deuterium in compound 1-225.
Regarding Claim 12, R3 and R4 are not present in compound 1-225 since X is S. Therefore, compound 1-225 reads on Applicant’s optional limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2024/0389454 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Lim teaches an organic optoelectronic device including an anode, and a cathode facing each other, and at least one organic layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer incudes a compound of present disclosure [0025]. Lim further teaches an organic optoelectronic device comprising a compound of present disclosure results in a low driving voltage, high efficiency, and a long life-span [0027].
However, Lim fails to disclose a device comprising compound 1-225.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use compound 1-225 in a device, because it would have been choosing between the exemplified compounds taught by Lim, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the host in the light emitting layer of the optoelectronic device of Lim and possessing the benefits taught by Lim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising compound 1-225 having the benefits taught by Lim in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
The resulting device reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer comprising compound 1-225.
Regarding Claim 15, Lim teaches a display device including the optoelectronic device of present disclosure.
However, Lim fails to disclose a display device comprising the optoelectronic device including compound 1-225.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the optoelectronic device, as described above, in a display device, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Lim according to known methods to yield predictable results of a display device with low driving voltage, high efficiency, and long life-span, as taught by Lim. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Claims 14–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2022/065762 A1).
Regarding Claims 14 and 15, Lee teaches an organic light-emitting element includes an anode, a cathode, and one or more organic layers provided between the first and second electrodes, wherein one or more of the organic layers includes the compounds taught by Lee, such as compound 2-36 [231] – [232]. Lee further teaches when a compounds of Lee’s Formula 1 and Lee’s Formula 2 are used simultaneously in the light-emitting layer of an organic light-emitting device, the driving voltage can be reduced, the luminous efficiency can be improved, and the thermal stability of the compounds can be enhanced [30].
However, Lee fails to disclose an organic light-emitting element comprising compound 2-36.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce an organic light-emitting element comprising compound 2-36, because it would have been choosing between the exemplified compounds taught by Lee, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the host in the light-emitting layer of the organic light-emitting device of Lee and possessing the benefits taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising compound 2-36 having the benefits taught by Lee in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per Claim 14, the resulting organic light-emitting device reads on Applicant’s limitation since it includes an anode, a cathode, and a light-emitting layer which comprises compound 2-36.
Per Claim 15, Lee teaches organic light-emitting devices are a type of self-emissive display device which have a wide viewing angle, excellent contrast, and fast response speed [3]. Therefore, the organic light-emitting device, as described above, reads on Applicant’s limitation since it is a type of self-emissive display device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2022/065762 A1) as applied to claims 1–7, 10, and 12–15 above, and further in view of Takada et al. (US 2016/0372665 A1, hereinafter “Takada”).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee teaches Ra and Rb may each be an aryl group in Chemical Formula 2 (shown below) [22]. Lee further teaches the aryl group may be a phenantrenyl group [64]. Additionally, Lee teaches when a compounds of Lee’s Formula 1 and Lee’s Formula 2 are used simultaneously in the light-emitting layer of an organic light-emitting device, the driving voltage can be reduced, the luminous efficiency can be improved, and the thermal stability of the compounds can be enhanced [30].
However, Lee fails to disclose an exemplified compound comprising a phenanthryl group. Lee also fails to disclose the position of the phenanthryl group attachment.
Takada teaches a monoamine compound which comprise a phenanthryl group [abstract]. Takada further teaches the emission lifetime of a device is improved when it includes a compound comprising a phenathryl group bonded at the 9-position [0102].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 2-36 by changing Rb from phenyl to phenanthryl, because it would have been choosing between the list of aryl options taught by Lee, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the host in the light-emitting layer of the organic light-emitting device of Lee and possessing the benefits taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Lee’s Formula 2 having the benefits taught by Lee in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the phenethryl group in the 9-position, based on the teaching of Takada. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the emission lifetime of a device, as taught by Takada.
The modified version of compound 2-36 (hereinafter “Phenanthryl 2-36”) reads on Applicant’s limitation since it Ar1 in Applicant’s Formula 1 is represented by an unsubstituted phenanthryl in Phenanthryl 2-36 (shown below).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2022/065762 A1) as applied to claims 1–7, 10, and 12–15 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Lee teaches when the compound structure does not indicate a substituent will either have hydrogen or deuterium. Lee further teaches the content of deuterium ranges from 0% to 100% [49].
However, Lee fails to disclose a compound like compound 2-36 wherein the content of deuterium is 100%.
Li teaches the carbon-deuterium chemical bond is stronger, more stable, and reacts more slowly than the carbon-hydrogen chemical bond, so that the deuterated organic system has better thermal stability, and longer lifetime in optoelectronic devices [0009].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the content of deuterium to 100% in compound 2-36, based on the teaching of Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the thermal stability and produce an optoelectronic device with a longer lifetime, as taught by Li.
Per Claim 9, the 100% deuterated version of compound 2-36 (hereinafter “Deuterated 2-36”) reads on Applicant’s limitation since
is represented by
wherein each position is substituted with deuterium.
Per Claim 11, R1 and R2 are each represented by deuterium in Deuterated 2-36, wherein n1 and n2 are each 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. (US 2024/0251672 A1) discloses compounds which read on Applicant’s Formula 1.
Cho et al. (US 2024/0389456 A1) discloses compounds which read on Applicant’s Formula 1.
/J.R.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789