Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-18, 23-25, 28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2023/0300644).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a beam failure detection method, performed by a terminal (Zhang, paragraph [0001], beam failure detection mechanism; paragraph [0003], UE, base station), comprising:
determining a reference signal resource set for a beam failure detection (Zhang, paragraph [0057], UE provided with a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes by beam FailureDetectionResourceList for radio link quality measurements; paragraph [0087], UE determines a beam failure detection resource combination);
determining a reference signal resource subset based on the reference signal resource set, wherein the reference signal resource subset comprises reference signal resources indicated by transmission configuration indication (TCI) states of control resource sets having a pair relationship (Zhang, paragraph [0065], multiple transmission of PDCCH using multiple TRPs, one DCI is transmitted from multiple TRPs; paragraphs [0066], multiple transmissions of a single CORESET with multiple TCI states; paragraph [0067], transmissions of multiple CORESETs with one TCI states for each CORESET; paragraph [0070], UE receives a configuration signaling that configures beam failure detection RS set q0 and determines beam failure detection resource combination based on the configuration signaling; paragraph [0070], join link quality evaluation for PDCCH with multiple transmissions; paragraph [0082], UE makes measurement on joint configured resources of multiple transmissions and derives a Q value reflecting link quality; paragraph [0073], same TCI state sued for PDCCH with multiple transmissions for beam failure detection; paragraph [0074], UE may determine a beam failure detection resource combination from resources with a same TCI state as one of multiple activated TCI states for PDCCH monitoring; paragraph [0088], UE receives signals from at least one of the beam failure detection resources); and
determining that a beam failure occurs in a serving cell corresponding to the reference signal resource set when a joint radio link quality corresponding to each reference signal resource subset of one or more reference signal resource subsets in the reference signal resource set is lower than a radio link quality threshold (Zhang, paragraph [0055], BFD resources configured for a BWP of a serving cell; paragraph [0059], that on each RS resource, the UE shall estimate the radio link quality and compare it to the threshold, in paragraph [0062], the UE provides an indication of radio link failure when all of the resource configurations used to assess quality are worse than the threshold; paragraph [0070], join link quality evaluation for PDCCH with multiple transmissions; paragraph [0073], same TCI state sued for PDCCH with multiple transmissions for beam failure detection; paragraph [0074], UE may determine a beam failure detection resource combination from resources with a same TCI state as one of multiple activated TCI states for PDCCH monitoring; paragraph [0082], UE makes measurement on joint configured resources of multiple transmissions and derives an equivalent Q value reflecting link quality, beam failure happens by comparing the equivalent Q to the threshold Q out,LR; paragraph [0089], UE determines a link quality based on measurements of the signals received from the at least one beam failure detection resource and a threshold based on multiple transmissions using one or more TCI states).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the reference signal resource set for the beam failure detection comprises:
receiving configuration information sent by a network device (Zhang, paragraph [0070], UE receives a configuration signaling that configures beam failure detection RS set q0 and determines beam failure detection resource combination based on the configuration signaling); and
determining the reference signal resource set for the beam failure detection based on the configuration information (Zhang, paragraph [0070], UE receives a configuration signaling that configures beam failure detection RS set q0 and determines beam failure detection resource combination based on the configuration signaling).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the configuration information is used to configure at least one reference signal resource set for the beam failure detection (Zhang, paragraphs [0066], multiple transmissions of a single CORESET with multiple TCI states; paragraph [0067], transmissions of multiple CORESETs with one TCI states for each CORESET).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a reference signal resource comprised in the reference signal resource subset is at least one reference signal resource each configured with a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states in the reference signal resource set (Zhang, paragraphs [0066], multiple transmissions of a single CORESET with multiple TCI states).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1,wherein the reference signal resource subset is one reference signal resource group in the reference signal resource set, the reference signal resource group comprises L reference signal resources, and each of the L reference signal resources is configured with one TCI state, where L is a positive integer (Zhang, paragraph [0067], transmissions of multiple CORESETs with one TCI states for each CORESET).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the at least one reference signal resource set comprises:
a first reference signal resource set and a second reference signal resource set (Zhang, paragraphs [0066], multiple transmissions of a single CORESET with multiple TCI states; paragraph [0067], transmissions of multiple CORESETs with one TCI states for each CORESET);
wherein the first reference signal resource set comprises a reference signal resource for performing the beam failure detection for a first transmission and reception point (TRP), and the second reference signal resource set comprises a reference signal resource for performing the beam failure detection for a second TRP (Zhang, paragraph [0065], multiple transmission of PDCCH using multiple TRPs, one DCI is transmitted from multiple TRPs; paragraphs [0066], multiple transmissions of a single CORESET with multiple TCI states; paragraph [0067], transmissions of multiple CORESETs with one TCI states for each CORESET).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the configuration information is used to configure one or more TCI states of one or more control resource sets (Zhang, paragraphs [0066], multiple transmissions of a single CORESET with multiple TCI states; paragraph [0067], transmissions of multiple CORESETs with one TCI states for each CORESET).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the reference signal resource set is determined based on one or more reference signal resources indicated by the one or more TCI states (Zhang, paragraph [0065], multiple transmission of PDCCH using multiple TRPs, one DCI is transmitted from multiple TRPs; paragraphs [0066], multiple transmissions of a single CORESET with multiple TCI states; paragraph [0067], transmissions of multiple CORESETs with one TCI states for each CORESET; paragraph [0070], UE receives a configuration signaling that configures beam failure detection RS set q0 and determines beam failure detection resource combination based on the configuration signaling).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the method of claim 11, wherein one or both of:
the control resource sets having the pair relationship comprise control resource sets corresponding to a plurality of TCI states; and/or the control resource sets having the pair relationship comprise control resource sets respectively associated with a plurality of search space sets having a connection relationship (Zhang, paragraph [0065], multiple transmission of PDCCH using multiple TRPs, one DCI is transmitted from multiple TRPs; paragraphs [0066], multiple transmissions of a single CORESET with multiple TCI states; paragraph [0067], transmissions of multiple CORESETs with one TCI states for each CORESET; paragraph [0070], UE receives a configuration signaling that configures beam failure detection RS set q0 and determines beam failure detection resource combination based on the configuration signaling).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein performing the beam failure detection based on the joint radio link quality of the reference signal resource subset comprises:
determining the joint radio link quality of one or more reference signal resources in the reference signal resource subset (Zhang, paragraph [0070], join link quality evaluation for PDCCH with multiple transmissions; paragraph [0082], UE makes measurement on joint configured resources of multiple transmissions and derives a Q value reflecting link quality; paragraph [0089], UE determines a link quality based on measurements of the signals received from the at least one beam failure detection resource and a threshold based on multiple transmissions using one or more TCI states); and
performing the beam failure detection based on the joint radio link quality and a radio link quality threshold (Zhang, paragraph [0070], join link quality evaluation for PDCCH with multiple transmissions; paragraph [0082], UE makes measurement on joint configured resources of multiple transmissions and derives a Q value reflecting link quality; paragraph [0089], UE determines a link quality based on measurements of the signals received from the at least one beam failure detection resource and a threshold based on multiple transmissions using one or more TCI states).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses a beam failure detection method, performed by a network device (Zhang, paragraph [0001], beam failure detection mechanism; paragraph [0003], UE, base station), comprising:
configuring a reference signal resource set for a beam failure detection (Zhang, paragraph [0057], UE provided with a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes by beam FailureDetectionResourceList for radio link quality measurements; paragraph [0087], UE determines a beam failure detection resource combination), wherein the reference signal resource subset is configured to determine a reference signal resource subset (Zhang, paragraph [0088], UE receives signals from at least one of the beam failure detection resources), the reference signal resource subset comprises reference signal resources indicated by transmission configuration indication (TCI) states of control resource sets having a pair relationship (Zhang, paragraph [0065], multiple transmission of PDCCH using multiple TRPs, one DCI is transmitted from multiple TRPs; paragraphs [0066], multiple transmissions of a single CORESET with multiple TCI states; paragraph [0067], transmissions of multiple CORESETs with one TCI states for each CORESET; paragraph [0070], UE receives a configuration signaling that configures beam failure detection RS set q0 and determines beam failure detection resource combination based on the configuration signaling; paragraph [0070], join link quality evaluation for PDCCH with multiple transmissions; ; paragraph [0074], UE may determine a beam failure detection resource combination from resources with a same TCI state as one of multiple activated TCI states for PDCCH monitoring; paragraph [0082], UE makes measurement on joint configured resources of multiple transmissions and derives a Q value reflecting link quality), and a joint radio link quality of the reference signal resource subset is configured for the beam failure detection (Zhang, paragraph [0070], join link quality evaluation for PDCCH with multiple transmissions; paragraph [0073], same TCI state sued for PDCCH with multiple transmissions for beam failure detection; paragraph [0074], UE may determine a beam failure detection resource combination from resources with a same TCI state as one of multiple activated TCI states for PDCCH monitoring; paragraph [0082], UE makes measurement on joint configured resources of multiple transmissions and derives a Q value reflecting link quality; paragraph [0089], UE determines a link quality based on measurements of the signals received from the at least one beam failure detection resource and a threshold based on multiple transmissions using one or more TCI states).
wherein the reference signal resource subset is configured for determining that a beam failure occurs in a serving cell corresponding to the reference signal resource set when the joint radio link quality corresponding to each reference signal resource subset of one or more reference signal resource subsets in the reference signal resource set is lower than a radio link quality threshold (Zhang, paragraph [0055], BFD resources configured for a BWP of a serving cell; paragraph [0059], that on each RS resource, the UE shall estimate the radio link quality and compare it to the threshold, in paragraph [0062], the UE provides an indication of radio link failure when all of the resource configurations used to assess quality are worse than the threshold; paragraph [0070], join link quality evaluation for PDCCH with multiple transmissions; paragraph [0082], UE makes measurement on joint configured resources of multiple transmissions and derives an equivalent Q value reflecting link quality, beam failure happens by comparing the equivalent Q to the threshold Q out,LR; paragraph [0089], UE determines a link quality based on measurements of the signals received from the at least one beam failure detection resource and a threshold based on multiple transmissions using one or more TCI states).
Claims 15-18 and 23-25 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 2-5 and 10-13, respectively.
Claims 28 and 30 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 1 and 14, respectively. Zhang additionally discloses a processor; and a memory, configured to store instructions executable by the processor (Zhang, Figs. 2 and 3, processor, memory; paragraph [0026]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the claims are patentable because Zhang allegedly does not disclose “the reference signal resource subset comprises reference signal resources indicated by transmission configuration indication (TCI) states of control resource sets having a pair relationship,” because each of paragraphs [0066] and [0067] of Zhang do not mention beam failure detection and because paragraph [0070] of Zhang does not mention TCI state(s). However, firstly, that claim limitation does not mention beam failure detection. Additionally, Zhang’s disclosures of beam failure detection using the disclosed RS resource subset(s) are cited, above, for rejecting the other limitations that do recite beam failure detection. In particular, for example, Zhang discloses in paragraph [0073], same or different TCI states used for PDCCH with multiple transmissions for beam failure detection; and in paragraph [0074], UE may determine a beam failure detection resource combination from resources with a same TCI state as one of multiple activated TCI states for PDCCH monitoring. Additionally, the claims do not recite that combination of limitations.
Applicant further asserts that the claims are patentable because Zhang allegedly does not disclose that reference signals are “explicitly divided into reference signal subsets,” and that “joint radio link quality is independently calculated for each reference signal subset, and a beam failure … is determined only when the joint radio link quality of all of the subsets falls below the threshold.” However, the claims do not require that multiple subsets are present and/or compared to a threshold. Rather, the claim recites that “a subset,” “the subset” and “one or more subsets … lower than a … threshold.” Accordingly, only one subset is required to be compared to a threshold. Further, Zhang does disclose that RSs are divided into one or more subsets, because Zhang, for example in the tables in paragraphs [0071] and [0072], disclose that multiple combinations of RSs may be used for link evaluation, and also disclose that a parameter can be set to indicate that a maximum number of resources in a resource combination for joint link evaluation can be set to two. Further still, Zhang discloses, in paragraphs [0058] and [0075], that [multiple] RS sets are indicated by TCI state, and also that [subsets of] RSs may have same TCI states.
Further, even if the claims did recite the scenario disclosed in paragraphs [0070] to [0073] of Applicant’s published Specification, where multiple subsets of RSs are compared with one or multiple thresholds, Zhang discloses, for example in paragraph [0085], that a UE may use different Q out,LR thresholds may be used to evaluate different PDCCH transmission schemes with different RS combinations. Zhang additionally discloses, for example in paragraph [0059], that on each RS resource, the UE shall estimate the radio link quality and compare it to the threshold, in paragraph [0062], the UE provides an indication of radio link failure when all of the resource configurations used to assess quality are worse than the threshold. Each of Zhang’s joint-RS-combinations for link evaluations is, itself, a distinct resource and a distinct resource configuration.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419