DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed on 14 October 2025.
This office action is made Non Final.
Claims 13-15, 19, 21-24 have been amended.
All rejections from the previous office action have been withdrawn as necessitated by the amendment.
Claims 13-24 are pending. Claims 13 and 24 are independent claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The amendment to the abstract filed on 10/14/2025, has not been entered because it fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121 (b)(2)(ii). 37 CFR 1.121 (b)(2)(ii) states “A replacement section with markings to show all changes relative to the previous version of the section. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived.” The replacement abstract did not contain any markups indicating the added or deleted subject matter as required by 37 CFR 1.121 (b)(2)(ii) (see MPEP 714). Furthermore, the replacement abstract is not substantially rewritten and the amended abstract still bears resemblance to the previously filed version of the abstract; therefore, the markups as required by 37 CFR 1.121 (b)(2)(ii) are still required. In addition, the amended abstract involves language that is not particularly in narrative form since it repeats the language/wording/phrasing(s) of the independent claims. The abstract should be a summary of the claim invention that allows the Office and the public to quickly determine, from a cursory inspection, the nature and gist of the technical disclosure. The abstract should be a summary of the claim invention; not a repeat of the exact/similar wording that is written/used in the independent claims. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Therefore, the original abstract filed on 9/5/2023 is viewed as the current abstract. In regards to the original abstract, the abstract is objected for the following reasons: the abstract is over 150 words. In addition, the abstract involves language that is not particularly in narrative form since it repeats the language/wording/phrasing(s) of the independent claims. The abstract should be a summary of the claim invention that allows the Office and the public to quickly determine, from a cursory inspection, the nature and gist of the technical disclosure. The abstract should be a summary of the claim invention; not a repeat of the exact/similar wording that is written/used in the independent claims. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-16, 18, 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visconti et al (US20100164703, 2010)(Disclosed in IDS filed on 9/5/23) in further view of Ezoe et al (US20080269997, 2008) in further view of Takahashi et al (US 20190071083, 2019). Virginia Tire & Auto, “What is Engine Braking & Why Should You Use It?”, 2/9/2021, 6 pages, is cited as evidence regarding the engine braking results in a tractive force of the engine being interrupted.
As independent claim 13, Visconti et al discloses a method assisting a driver of a motor vehicle in driving on a predetermined racetrack (Abstract; 0018-0019: loop circuit for performance driving) comprising:
a sensing system for detecting a current position of the motor vehicle on the racetrack, (0016; 0021: provide the instantaneous position of car)
an engine electronic control unit for regulating an actuating system of an engine of the motor vehicle, (0014: ECU controls engine; thus, considered an engine ECU)
wherein predetermined braking-point positions on the racetrack have been stored in the engine electronic control unit, (0020-0021: route comprises optimum points for braking which ECU identifies. One of a skilled artisan would have realized that any data received/identified is stored in at least a form of memory within ECU)
the method comprising:
continuously detecting the current position of the motor vehicle on the racetrack; (0021: detecting position at high frequency)
ascertaining a respective remaining driving time from the current position to a respective braking-point position on the racetrack by using the engine electronic control unit, (0021: determines time from current position to optimum point to brake)
wherein corresponding limiting values for the respective remaining driving time are stored in the engine electronic control unit, (0021; FIG 2A: values calculated. One of a skilled artisan would have realized that any data received/identified is stored in at least a form of memory within ECU)
Furthermore, Visconti et al discloses warning the driver in various ways of acoustically and/or optically informing the driver of the optimal braking time point before a bend when driving on a racetrack (Abstract, 0018, 0021, 0030-0031) Thus, Visconti et al discloses in response to a corresponding limiting value not being reached the engine electronic control unit issuing warnings. However, the cited art fails to specifically disclose an engine signal. In other words, Visconti fails to disclose …regulates the actuating system of the engine such the engine generates a signal configured to communicate to the driver. However, Ezoe et al discloses when the automatic braking of the vehicle has been initiated/actuated, by the brake ECU, in response to an estimated value of time elapsed, the driver hears sound emitting from the engine because the engine revolution number is reduced and can feel the deceleration. (0009-0010, 0020, 0098)
The motivation to combine the cited art, Ezoe et al, with Visconti would be because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art of electronic control units in vehicles (e.g. engine ECU) would have found it obvious to combine Visconti et al with Ezoe et al to update by using changing/adjusting the dynamic functionalities of the engine ECU of the vehicle/machine to emit sounds and reduce the current engine revolution number (e.g. RPM) in in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaptation, such that it prevents sudden braking from being applied, and to keep the safety of the vehicle.
In conjunction, the cited combination of Ezoe et al with Visconti would have taught in response to a corresponding limiting value not being reached the engine electronic control unit regulates the actuating system of the engine such that the engine generates a signal configured to communicate to the driver.
Furthermore, Visconti discloses the point of when a vehicle should brake and Ezoe discloses applying control to slow down the vehicle. However, the cited art does not include a signal to cause the engine itself to trigger the slowing down the vehicle (engine braking). In other words, Visconti and Ezoe fail to explicitly disclose wherein the signal is configured to regulate the actuating system such that a tractive force of the engine is interrupted.
However, Takahashi et al discloses wherein the signal is configured to regulate the actuating system such that a tractive force of the engine is interrupted. (0061: discloses in response to a value not being reached, the engine ECU actuates the he engine brake, so that the engine brake is actuated. When the engine brake is actuated, engine brake system performs braking when the target. The Examiner provides Virginia Tire & Auto, entered as extrinsic evidence, that states “engine braking works by limiting airflow to the engine, causing decelerative forces in the engine to decrease the speed at which the wheels are rotating. When you take your foot off the accelerator/gas pedal, the throttle body valve closes suddenly. The engine will continue to try to suck in air, but since the throttle body valve is closed, only a small amount of air will reach the engine.
This causes a high manifold vacuum that the cylinders have to work against. Due to the vacuum, the energy in the engine lowers, which causes the engine to drop in power and slows the wheels.” (pg 2-3) Thus, actuating the engine brake causes decelerative forces in the engine to occur and the throttle body valve to close. Thus, Takahashi et al discloses the actuating of an engine brake which is analogous to the tractive force of the engine is interrupted since the engine brake is actuated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the cited feature(s) of Takahashi et al since it would have provided the intrinsic advantage of harmless vehicle method that reduces the wear and tear on the vehicle's friction/wheel brakes and increases fuel economy of the vehicle .
As per dependent claim 14, Visconti et al discloses:
predetermined advance-warning braking-point positions on the racetrack have been stored in the engine electronic control unit, (0021, 0026-0027: determined in advanced/ identified on the racetrack. One of a skilled artisan would have realized that any data received/identified is stored in at least a form of memory within ECU) and the method further comprises:
ascertaining a respective advance-warning remaining driving time from the current position to a respective advance-warning braking-point position on the racetrack by the engine electronic control unit (0021: determine warning based on estimated time)
corresponding advance-warning limiting values for the respective advance- warning remaining driving time are stored in the engine electronic control unit, (0021; FIG 2A: values calculated for warning purposes One of a skilled artisan would have realized that any data received/identified is stored in at least a form of memory within ECU)
Furthermore, Visconti et al discloses warning the driver in various ways of acoustically and/or optically informing the driver of the optimal braking time point before a bend when driving on a racetrack (Abstract, 0018, 0021, 0030-0031) Thus, Visconti et al discloses disclose in response to a corresponding advance-warning limiting value not being reached not being reached the engine electronic control unit issuing warnings. However, the cited art fails to specifically disclose an engine signal. In other words, Visconti fails to disclose …regulates the actuating system of the engine such the engine generates a warning signal for communication to the driver. However, based on the rejection of Claim 13 and the rationale, along with the motivation, incorporated wherein the ECU of Ezoe was modified to be an engine ECU as previously explained, Ezoe et al discloses when the automatic braking of the vehicle has been initiated/actuated in response to an estimated value of time elapsed, the driver hears sound emitting from the engine because the engine revolution number is reduced and can feel the deceleration. (form of a warning signal) (0009-0010, 0020, 0098) Thus, in conjunction with the cited art, the cited combination teaches in response to a corresponding advance-warning limiting value not being reached, the engine electronic control unit regulates the actuating system of the engine such that the engine generates a warning signal for communication to the driver.
As per dependent claim 15, Visconti et al discloses the engine is an internal combustion engine or an electric motor (0014)
As per dependent claim 16, Visconti et al discloses the engine is an internal combustion engine or an electric motor (0014). Furthermore, based on the rejection of Claim 13 and the rationale, along with the motivation, incorporated, Ezoe et al discloses the generated signal regulates the actuating system such that an acoustic response of the engine is changed, (0020, 0098: sound of engine emitted).
As per dependent claim 18, Visconti et al discloses wherein the sensing system ascertains the current position of the motor vehicle on the racetrack using: satellite data, an odometer, and/or a detection of predetermined reference points on the racetrack (0016: satellite; 0020-0021: detection of points)
As per dependent claim 21, Visconti et al discloses continuously ascertaining, by the sensing system, a current velocity of the motor vehicle, ascertaining, by the engine electronic control unit, the respective remaining driving time as a function of the current velocity of the motor vehicle, and adapting the predetermined braking-point positions and the corresponding limiting values, by the engine electronic control unit, as a function of the current velocity of the motor vehicle. (0021, 0025; Claim 8: determines speed (velocity) of the vehicle; determines an estimated time to the point to brake using the determined speed; and defines the braking time points as a function of the speed)
As per dependent claim 22, Visconti et al discloses continuously ascertaining, by the sensing system, a current velocity of the motor vehicle, ascertaining, by the engine electronic control unit, the respective advance-warning remaining driving time as a function of the current velocity of the motor vehicle, and adapting, by the engine electronic control unit, the predetermined advance-warning braking- point positions and the corresponding advance-warning limiting values as a function of the current velocity of the motor vehicle. (0021, 0025-0026; Claim 8: determines speed (velocity) of the vehicle; determines an estimated time to the point to brake using the determined speed; and defines the warning time point as a function of the current speed)
As per dependent claim 23, Visconti et al discloses the engine electronic control unit generates, in addition to the signal, a further signal and outputs the signal via a warning light, a display, or a head-up display of the motor vehicle (0017, 0031)
As per independent claim 24, Claim 24 recites similar limitations as in Claim 13 and is rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, Visconti et al discloses a two track and one track vehicle (0031: motorcycle, car).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visconti et al in further view of Ezoe et al in further view of Takahashi et al in further view of Plant (US 7353795, 2008)
As per dependent claim 17, the cited art fails to specifically discloses the generated signal regulates the actuating system by: a change in an ignition angle of the engine, a change in an injection of a quantity of a fuel of the engine, a change in an activation of a throttle valve of the engine, a change in the injection of the fuel into one or more cylinders of the engine, and/or a change in a position of an exhaust flap of the engine. However, Plant discloses a change in the injection of the fuel into one or more cylinders of the engine, and/or a change in a position of an exhaust flap of the engine (Col 1, line 42-56: discloses the use of an engine brake that results fuel is shut off to the cylinder. In addition, an exhaust value is opened (changed position) to increase the brake effect.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the cited feature(s) of Plant et al since it would have provided the intrinsic advantage of reducing the wear and tear on the vehicle's friction/wheel brakes, which can become hot and less effective from heavy usage.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visconti et al in further view of Ezoe et al in further view of Takahashi et al in further view of Tapping et al (US6012002, 2000)(Disclosed in IDS filed on 9/5/2023)
As per dependent claim 19, Visconti et al discloses wherein the satellite data comprises one or more of: position, distance traveled, and/or crossing of the start/finish line, (0016: position obtained by satellite) and the engine electronic control unit compares the respective ascertained remaining driving time with the satellite data (0016, 0021:timing using position data acquired by satellite) Furthermore, Visconti et al discloses the rotation speed of each rear drive wheel (0015); however, fails to specifically disclose wherein in response to a detection of the current position of the motor vehicle using an odometer: ascertaining, by the engine electronic control unit, a distance traveled by the motor vehicle using wheel speeds of one or more wheels of the motor vehicle, and resetting, by the engine electronic control unit, the distance traveled when a start/finish line on the racetrack is crossed. However, Tapping et al discloses in response to a detection of the current position of the motor vehicle using an odometer: (Col 3, ll 50-55; Claim 1, 3: discloses vehicle travel meter that collects information from sensors to calculate the correct position) ascertaining, by the engine electronic control unit, a distance traveled by the motor vehicle using wheel speeds of one or more wheels of the motor vehicle (Col 2, ll 16-24, 57-67: Calculating the distance traveled based on the rotation of tires. The rotations result in pulses which are used to calculate the distance traveled) and resetting, by the electronic control unit, the distance traveled when a start/finish line on the racetrack is crossed (Col 3, ll. 1-11: distance resets after each lap)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the cited feature(s) of Tapping et al since provided vehicle travel meter would have provided the benefit of supplies information on how the vehicle is performing at a plurality of locations along a route and whether the vehicle is performing better or worse than on past journeys over the same route. (Col 1, ll 26-30)
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visconti et al in further view of Ezoe et al in further view of Takahashi et al in further view of Hawkins et al (US 20180216943, 2018)
As per dependent claim 20, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein the sensing system ascertains the current position by detecting the predetermined reference points on the racetrack: by using a camera-assisted image-acquisition system of the motor vehicle, and/or by driving over induction loops beneath a tarred surface of the racetrack. However, Hawkins et al discloses a camera of a vehicle captures images of the track wherein the position of the vehicle based on the captured image (0031)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the cited feature(s) of Plant et al since it would have provided the benefit of determining the position of a vehicle on a track more accurately and at any given time (0003, 0005)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 3, in regards to Applicant’s arguments to the abstract/specification objection, the Examiner respectfully states the amendment to the abstract was not entered because it fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121 (b)(2)(ii). 37 CFR 1.121 (b)(2)(ii) states “A replacement section with markings to show all changes relative to the previous version of the section. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived.” The replacement abstract did not contain any markups indicating the added or deleted subject matter as required by 37 CFR 1.121 (b)(2)(ii) (see MPEP 714). In addition, the amended abstract involves language that is not particularly in narrative form since it similarly repeats the language/wording/phrasing(s) of the independent claims. The abstract should be a summary of the claim invention that allows the Office and the public to quickly determine, from a cursory inspection, the nature and gist of the technical disclosure. The abstract should be a summary of the claim invention; not a repeat of the exact/similar wording that is written/used in the independent claims. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Therefore, the original abstract filed on 9/5/23 is viewed as the current abstract.
In regards to the original abstract, the abstract remains objected for the following reasons: the abstract is objected for the following reasons: the abstract is over 150 words. In addition, the abstract involves language that is not particularly in narrative form since it repeats the language/wording/phrasing(s) of the independent claims. The abstract should be a summary of the claim invention that allows the Office and the public to quickly determine, from a cursory inspection, the nature and gist of the technical disclosure. The abstract should be a summary of the claim invention; not a repeat of the exact/similar wording that is written/used in the independent claims. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The abstract should be a summary of the claim invention; not a repeat of the exact/similar wording that is written/used in the independent claims. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
Therefore, the objection to the specification remains for this reason.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 13-24 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new ground(s) of rejection(s) since the new ground(s) of rejection(s) was necessitated by Applicant's amendment.
Conclusion
If the Applicant chooses to amend the claims in future filings, the Examiner kindly states any new limitation(s) added to the claims must be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art in order to meet the written description requirement of 35 USC 112, first paragraph. To help expedite prosecution, promote compact prosecution and prevent a possible 112(a)/first paragraph rejection, the Examiner respectfully requests for each new limitation added to the claims in a future filing by the Applicant that the Applicant would cite the location within the specification showing support for that new limitation within the remarks. In addition, MPEP 2163.04(I)(B) states that a prima facie under 112(a)/first paragraph may be established if a claim has been added or amended, the support for the added limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where added the limitation is supported.
/ADAM M QUELER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2172
/D.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2172