DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment received on 02/02/2026. Amended claims 23, 28 and 31 are acknowledged. Claims 12-16, 19-28 and 31-34 are pending. Claims 1-11, 17-18 and 29-30 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 23, in lines 13-14, it is unclear how the coolant guide (14/16) comprises two coolant collection lines that are formed within the monolithic connection body (4).
For the purpose of this examination, the claim has been interpreted to mean, in lines 13-14:
--wherein the coolant guide comprises two coolant collection lines that are formed along the monolithic connection body and are…--.
Regarding claim 26, it is unclear how the first side wall (41) and the second side wall (42) abut each other when the connection elements (4) are inserted. First, figures 1-2 show the connection elements (4) inserted into each other but not abutting each other. Second, paragraph 0034 of the instant PGPub discusses a circumferential hollow space (45/46) remaining between the two interface contours of respective side walls (41 and 42) when a connection is constructed.
For the purpose of this examination, the claim has been interpreted to mean:
--the first side wall and the second side wall are constructed such that they face each other when the connection elements are inserted one into the other.--.
Regarding claims 24-25, 27-28 and 31, the claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Athanikar et al. (US 2020/0203786, herein “Athanika”).
Regarding claim 23, Athanika discloses:
a connection element (18) for a cooler (6) of a high-voltage accumulator (7) (figs. 13-17) [par. 0005 and 0040], comprising:
a monolithic connection body (18) comprising a coolant guide (12a plus 12b) that extends between a supply line interface and a discharge line interface (see annotated fig. 14-ATHANIKAR, page 4); and
a single connection interface (13a/14a) on the monolithic connection body (18) configured to connect a single heat exchange element (7) of the cooler (6) to the coolant guide (12a plus 12b) between the supply line interface and the discharge line interface (fig. 15, as it applies to annotated fig. 14-ATHANIKAR, page 4),
wherein the supply line interface and the discharge line interface have congruent interface contours (in order to be able to fit each other) (see annotated fig. 14-ATHANIKAR, page 4), and
wherein the coolant guide (12a plus 12b) comprises two coolant collection lines (12a, 12b) that are formed along the monolithic connection body (18) and are separated and directly adjacent to each other in a side-by-side arrangement (see annotated fig. 14-ATHANIKA, page 4),
one coolant collection line (12a) being a coolant supply line (12a) and the other coolant collection line (12b) being a coolant discharge line (12b) (figs. 13-17) [par. 0035, as it applies to the embodiment of fig. 13-17],
and wherein when a plurality of identical connection elements (18) are inserted one into another at the supply line interface(s) and the discharge line interface(s), each of the two coolant collection lines (12a, 12b) forms a respective common rail [par. 0040].
Regarding claim 24, Athanika discloses:
one of the supply line interface and the discharge line interface is in the form of a male plug-in element and the other is in the form of a female plug-in element (see annotated fig. 14-ATHANIKA, above).
Regarding claim 25, Athanika discloses:
a first side wall from which one from the supply line interface and the discharge line interface extends away from the connection interface (13a/14a, 13b/14b) (see annotated fig. 14-ATHANIKA, above, as it applies to fig. 15); and
a second side wall from which the other of the supply line interface and the discharge line interface extends toward the connection interface (13a/14a, 13b/14b) (see annotated fig. 14-ATHANIKA, above, as it applies to fig. 15).
Regarding claim 26, Athanika discloses:
the first side wall and the second side wall being constructed such that they face each other when the connection elements (18) are inserted one into the other (seen in fig. 13, as it applies to annotated fig. 14-ATHANIKA, above).
Regarding claim 27, Athanika discloses:
the first side wall and the second side wall being constructed such that when two connection elements (18) are inserted one into the other, a stop and seal are formed [par. 0011].
Regarding claim 31, Athanika discloses:
an outlet connection interface (13a/14a) disposed on the coolant supply line (12a), which is configured to connect a cool side of the heat exchange element (7) (figs. 15-16); and
an inlet connection interface (13b/14b) disposed on the coolant discharge line (12b), which is configured to connect a warm side of the heat exchange element (7) (figs. 15-16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-16, 19-22 and 32-34 are allowed.
Claim 28 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they do not apply to the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUSTAVO A HINCAPIE SERNA/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JENNA M MARONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763