DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Multiple periods in the claims (A. should be A); B. should be B) etc.) (See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995) [MPEP 608.01(m)]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “(iii)an” should be “(iii) an”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: “toluylene” should be “toluene”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22, 30-32 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the hexamethylene diisocyanate” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the diisocyanate (ii)" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the linear or branched alkylene part" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the sodium salts" in line 2 and line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 36-37, the phrase "as defined in claim 20" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which limitation(s) defined in claim 20 correspond to the claimed invention [see MPEP § 2173.05(f)].
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the application" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the evaporation" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the adhesive layer" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the contact bonding" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 24 recites the molar ratio -C(=O)-O- / -O-C(=O)-O- ranges from 35/65 to 75/25, which fails to further limit claim 20 having the molar ratio -C(=O)-O- / -O-C(=O)-O- ranges from 35/65 to 75/25. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakai et al. (US 2017/0350069) in view of Kraus et al. (US 2011/0217502).
Regarding claims 20, 24-25, 28-34 and 36: Nakai et al. (US ‘069) discloses polyurethane resins [abstract], wherein Production Example 1 [Prod. Ex. 1; 0217] prepares a polyester polyol by reacting polycarbonate diol (Mn 2,000) and polycaprolactone diol (polyester diol; Mn 2,000) in the presence of dibutyltin oxide to afford polyester polyol (a) having a Mn 2,000 [Prod. Ex. 1; 0217]. Nakai et al. (US ‘069) discloses aqueous dispersion A [0221-0223; Table 1, A] prepares a polyurethane resin by reacting polyester polyol (a), a polycarbonate diol (Mn 2,000), ethylene glycol, 2,2-dimethylol propionic acid, and 4,4’-MDI (4,4’-diphenylmethane diisocyanate [0072]) to produce a prepolymer, which was further reacted with triethyl amine, an aqueous solution of EO 25 mole adduct of styrenated (5 moles) cumyl phenol {emulsifier}, and 4,4’-diphenyl methane diamine to afford an aqueous dispersion of polyurethane composition A (composition containing antioxidant, UV absorber and photostabilizer) having a ratio by number (molar ratio) of ester (oxycarbonyl) to carbonate of 56:44 [0221-0223; Table 1, A]. Nakai et al. (US ‘069) discloses polyether polyols [0036; 0050-0052]
Nakai et al. (US ‘069) does not disclose an additional aqueous dispersion corresponding to instant B). However, Kraus et al. (US ‘502) discloses polyurethane dispersions [abstract], wherein Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0055-0061] prepares a polyurethane dispersion by reacting propylene oxide diol (Mn = 1000 g/mol [0010]), dimethylolpropionic acid, 1,6-hexanediol, and a mixture of 2,4- and 2,6-toluene diisocyanate. After an isocyanate content of 4.60% is reached, triethylamine is added and the resulting mixture is added to water to afford the polyurethane dispersion [Ex. 1; 0055-0061]. Nakai et al. (US ‘069) and Kraus et al. (US ‘502) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation polyurethane dispersions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the polyurethane dispersion of Ex. 1, as taught by Kraus et al. (US ‘502) in the invention of Nakai et al. (US ‘069), and would have been motivated to do so since Kraus et al. (US ‘502) discloses the polyurethane dispersion affords improved tensile shear strengths [0006].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. polyurethane A-1) has an enthalpy of fusion ranging from 15 J/g to 60 J/g [instant claim 28]; polyurethane A-1) has a glass transition temperature in the range between -100 °C and -10 °C [instant claim 29]; polyurethane B-1) is amorphous and has a glass transition temperature Tg ranging from -60 °C to 0 °C [instant claims 20 and 34], would implicitly be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claim 21: Nakai et al. (US ‘069) discloses 4,4’-MDI and hexamethylene diisocyanate (HDI) as polyisocyanates [0072-0073].
An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Regarding claims 22-23: Nakai et al. (US ‘069) discloses 4,4’-MDI and isophorone diisocyanate (IPDI) as polyisocyanates [0071-0072; 0074].
Nakai et al. (US ‘069) does not specifically disclose aqueous dispersion of polyurethane composition A containing 4,4’-MDI and IPDI. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included IPDI based on the invention of Nakai et al. (US ‘069), and would have been motivated to do so since Nakai et al. (US ‘069) suggests that the composition can contain IPDI as a polyisocyanate [0071; 0074]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Regarding claim 26: Nakai et al. (US ‘069) discloses polyester polyols prepared from dicarboxylic acid such as adipic acid [0045-0046] and aliphatic polyhydric alcohols [0039].
An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Regarding claim 27: Nakai et al. (US ‘069) discloses polycarbonate polyols prepared from diols [0041] and a low molecular weight carbonate compound [0038].
Regarding claim 35: Nakai et al. (US ‘069) and Kraus et al. (US ‘502) disclose the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 20].
The combination of Nakai et al. (US ‘069) and Kraus et al. (US ‘502) does not specifically disclose a mixture containing 50 wt% of aqueous dispersion A and 50 wt% of polyurethane dispersion of Ex. 1. However, when faced with a mixture, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by common sense to select a 1:1 ratio, a ratio that falls within the presently claimed amount, absent evidence of unexpected or surprising results. Case law holds that "[h]aving established that this knowledge was in the art, the examiner could then properly rely... on a conclusion of obviousness, 'from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art within any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference." (see In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969)) [MPEP 2143].
Regarding claim 37: Nakai et al. (US ‘069) discloses applying the polyurethane dispersion as a binder to a nonwoven fabric sheet and drying {thereby affording contact bonding of fibers within the nonwoven sheet} [0110; 0245-02474].
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767