DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the base material". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US 20050062024 to Bessette et al.
Re claims 1-7, Bessette teaches a PSA on base tape [16, 19-21], having carbon nanotubes as claimed in the amount of 0.001-50 wt% (overlapping applicant’s claimed) and the [19], Bessette teaches 0.98 mil (25 microns) overall thickness of the tape, thus it is reasonable to apply the adhesive as within the ranges.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. MPEP 2144.05.
Given the same materials, the properties not explicit are inherent.
Re claim 8, see [20-21, 25].
Re claim 9, see [21].
Re claim 10, A prima facie case of obviousness may be established even though a prior art reference does not disclose any particular range, but teaches that the claimed parameters are known to affect results or properties [19] teaches by increasing the thickness the conductivity is improved over 1 micron.
Re claim 15, see [30].
Re claim 11-12, and 16-18, Bessette teaches [21] metal and alloys but not zinc having lower potential than the listed copper, aluminum, nickel.
Choi teaches [32-33] zinc and those meals of Bessette for benefits in conduction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the metal of Bessette as suggested to include zinc for conduction benefits as taught by Choi.
Re claim 19, Bessette teaches [10-11] overlapping ranges of average diameter at less than 2000 nm. The same rationale applies as above; see MPEP 2144.05.
Re claim 20, Bessette teaches [11] overlapping ranges of 5-1000 nanotubes. same rationale applies as above; see MPEP 2144.05.
In view of the forgoing, the above claims have failed to be patently distinguishable over prior art.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant arguments are moot in view of the new references.
Conclusion
TAMRA L. DICUS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/TAMRA L. DICUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787