DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 4-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, line 3, “and at least one temperature sensor” should read “and the at least one temperature sensor”.
In claim 2, line 5, “to form a single group of connections” should read “to form the single group of connections”.
In claim 2, line 6, “allows connection to an inverter.” should read “allows connection to the inverter.”.
In claim 4, line 1, “in which at least one” should read “in which the at least one”.
In claim 5, line 1, “in which at least one” should read “in which the at least one”.
In claim 6, line 1, “An electric machine comprising a sensor assembly” should read “The electric machine comprising the sensor assembly”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Dubuc et al (US Publication No. 20080311763).
Regarding claim 1, Dubuc discloses a sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]) comprising; an inductive technology position sensor (i.e., contactless technics by utilizing magnetic flux to sense a mobile metal object such as the Hall-Effect sensor; the Hall effect sensors making it possible to know the rotor position; position sensors 122 for giving the position of the stator of the electrical machine; see for example fig. 5B, para. [0262]) and at least one temperature sensor (i.e., temperature sensor 118; see for example fig. 1C, para. [0180]- [0185]) for an electric machine (i.e., rotary electrical machine 604; see for example fig. 6, para. [0262]), wherein the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]) is arranged in a housing (i.e., housing 101 for temperature sensors; housing 112 for stator position sensors; see for example fig. 1A, para. [0145], and fig. 2A, para. [0173]) and a single group of connections (i.e., the signal connections 106 covered optionally by 116; see for example fig. 2D, para. [0178]) emerges from the housing (i.e., housing 101 for temperature sensors; housing 112 for stator position sensors; see for example fig. 1A, para. [0145], and fig. 2A, para. [0173]) to connect with an inverter (i.e., power modules 20; For a three-phase machine, there will preferably be three power modules serving to produce an inverter (one module per phase); for controlling the inverter arm (motor mode) and/or the arm of the bridge rectifier (generator mode); see for example figs. 1A-1C, para. [0180]- [0185]) of the electric machine (i.e., rotary electrical machine 604; see for example fig. 6, para. [0262]).
Regarding claim 2, Dubuc discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]), in which the inductive technology position sensor (i.e., contactless technics by utilizing magnetic flux to sense a mobile metal object such as the Hall-Effect sensor; the Hall effect sensors making it possible to know the rotor position; position sensors 122 for giving the position of the stator of the electrical machine; see for example fig. 5B, para. [0262]) is arranged in the housing (i.e., housing 101 for temperature sensors; housing 112 for stator position sensors; see for example fig. 1A, para. [0145], and fig. 2A, para. [0173]) and connected to a first conductive output (i.e., track 103; see for example fig. 2D, para. [0178]) and wherein at least one temperature sensor (i.e., temperature sensor 118; see for example fig. 1C, para. [0180]- [0185]) is arranged in the housing (i.e., housing 101 for temperature sensors; housing 112 for stator position sensors; see for example fig. 1A, para. [0145], and fig. 2A, para. [0173]) and connected to a second conductive output (i.e., track 104; see for example fig. 2D, para. [0178]), these two outputs (i.e., the arrangement of the tracks 103, 104; see for example fig. 2D, para. [0178]) are interconnected (i.e., with regard to the arrangement of the tracks 103, 104 and their ends forming electrical conductors inside each module and with regard to the arrangement of the signal connections 106, a standardized architecture makes it possible to use the said modules on different types of electrical machine; see for example fig. 2D, para. [0178]) inside the housing (i.e., housing 101 for temperature sensors; housing 112 for stator position sensors; see for example fig. 1A, para. [0145], and fig. 2A, para. [0173]), to form a single group of connections (i.e., the signal connections 106 covered optionally by 116; see for example fig. 2D, para. [0178]) which emerges from the housing (i.e., housing 101 for temperature sensors; housing 112 for stator position sensors; see for example fig. 1A, para. [0145], and fig. 2A, para. [0173]) and allows connection to an inverter (i.e., power modules 20; For a three-phase machine, there will preferably be three power modules serving to produce an inverter (one module per phase); for controlling the inverter arm (motor mode) and/or the arm of the bridge rectifier (generator mode); see for example figs. 1A-1C, para. [0180]- [0185]).
Regarding claim 3, Dubuc discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]), in which the housing (i.e., housing 101 for temperature sensors; housing 112 for stator position sensors; see for example fig. 1A, para. [0145], and fig. 2A, para. [0173]) is made of plastic (i.e., the housing 101 of the module and its plastic cover; the plastic of the housing 101; see for example para. [0239]).
Regarding claim 6, Dubuc discloses an electric machine (i.e., rotary electrical machine 604; see for example fig. 6, para. [0262]) comprising a sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]).
Regarding claim 7, Dubuc discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]), wherein the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]) is used in a water-cooled (i.e., As will be seen in detail below, the electronic modules are fixed to the rear bearing of the machine in several ways: Either on the bearing directly (dissipator bearing with fins or water integrating or not heat pipes), or on a non-integrated dissipator (with fins or water integrating or not heat pipes); see for example fig. 18, para. [0481]- [0493]) electric machine (i.e., rotary electrical machine 604; see for example fig. 6, para. [0262]).
Regarding claim 8, Dubuc discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]), wherein the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]) is used in an air-cooled (i.e., It should be noted that these radial FR and axial FA air flows are accelerated by the fan of the machine, which gives rise to a better cooling of the machine plus the electronics because in particular of the arrangement of the dissipator as described above; see for example the dissipator 80 in fig. 8a, para. [0282]) electric machine (i.e., rotary electrical machine 604; see for example fig. 6, para. [0262]).
Regarding claim 9, Dubuc discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]), wherein the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]) is used in an oil-cooled (i.e., It will also be noted that the fins 606 can, as known to persons skilled in the art, be replaced by a liquid cooling (such as oil) circuit for the two embodiments of the dissipator bearing described above; see for example the dissipator 80 in fig. 8a, para. [0279]- [0282]) electric machine (i.e., rotary electrical machine 604; see for example fig. 6, para. [0262]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubuc et al (US Publication No. 20080311763) in view of Etter et al (US Publication No. 20100218684).
Regarding claim 4, Dubuc discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]); at least one temperature sensor (i.e., temperature sensor 118; see for example fig. 1C, para. [0180]- [0185]).
Dubuc does not explicitly disclose; in which at least one temperature sensor is an NTC.
Etter discloses an in-line heating device for a liquid food or beverage preparation machine (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0053]); wherein at least one temperature sensor (72) is an NTC (i.e., Sensor element 72 may for instance be an NTC (negative temperature coefficient) resistor or a PTC (positive temperature coefficient) resistor; see for example fig. 9, para. [0077]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the NTC device in Dubuc, as taught by Etter, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards high sensitivity, accuracy, and low cost.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubuc et al (US Publication No. 20080311763) in view of Doty et al (US Publication No. 20080115527).
Regarding claim 5, Dubuc discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]); at least one temperature sensor (i.e., temperature sensor 118; see for example fig. 1C, para. [0180]- [0185]).
Dubuc does not explicitly disclose; in which at least one temperature sensor is a thermocouple.
Doty discloses a high efficiency, low maintenance single stage or multi-stage centrifugal compressor assembly for large cooling installations (i.e., 190; see for example fig. 18, para. [0126]); wherein at least one temperature sensor (190) is a thermocouple (i.e., A plurality of temperature sensors 190, such as thermocouples or thermistors, may be positioned to sense the temperature of the stator assembly 154 with terminations extending from the end 186 of the hollow cylinder 176; see for example fig. 18, para. [0126]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the thermocouple scheme in Dubuc, as taught by Doty, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards efficiently measuring a wider range of temperature at a minimum cost.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubuc et al (US Publication No. 20080311763) in view of Bouarroudj et al (US Publication No. 20180102686).
Regarding claim 10, Dubuc discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]), wherein the sensor assembly (i.e., modules assembly of temperature sensors 118 and position sensors 122; see for example the final assembly in fig. 21, para. [0531]- [0553]) is used.
Dubuc does not explicitly disclose; the sensor assembly is used in a gearbox.
Bouarroudj discloses an assembly of a rotary electrical machine positioned inside an enclosure (i.e., electrical machine 10; see for example fig. 1, para. [0054]- [0057]); wherein the use of the sensor assembly (i.e., a Hall-effect sensor, or temperature signals, obtained for example from a sensor which is integrated in the stator of the machine 10; see para. [0068]) is used in a gearbox (i.e., gearbox 16; The electrical machine 10 arranged inside the enclosure 46 comprises a toothed wheel (not represented) which is fitted on the shaft 13, and is designed to cooperate with a corresponding toothed wheel of the gearbox 16; see for example fig. 1, para. [0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the gearbox mechanism in Dubuc, as taught by Bouarroudj, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards protecting the sensors against stress and improving the overall control system dynamics.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838