DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/14/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show [measurement; position; rotor; stator; winding] as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Schueren (US Publication No. 20080084141).
Regarding claim 1, Schueren discloses a sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) comprising: an inductive technology position sensor (i.e., such as inductive technology position sensor 26; for instance, the magnetic field of signal transducer 26 is measured by two Hall sensors located at an angle of 90. degree. (based on the pole pitch) of the magnet. The angle of rotation may be determined using the arctan function; see for example fig. 4, para. [0049]- [0064]); and at least one temperature sensor (i.e., such as at least one temperature sensor within cover 7; for instance, cover 7, which is also preferably metallic and faces the fan, is thermally insulated from the base plate. The temperature-sensitive circuits (e.g., microprocessor, user interface, and the like) of converter unit 6 are thermally coupled internally to this cover; see for example fig. 6, para. [0049]- [0064]) for an electric machine (i.e., such as electric machine motor 1; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]), wherein the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) is arranged in a housing (i.e., such as housing 3 for the motor side and housing 8 for the converter side; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]) and a single group of connections (i.e., such as single group of connections female plug 12 in the motor side and male plug 15 in the converter side; for instance, FIG. 6 shows an inventive converter unit 6. Reference numeral 14 indicates the through hole for passage of the shaft. This through hole is located in base plate 16 of converter unit 6. Reference numeral 15 indicates the plug for the converter output, which interacts with counter-plug 12 of the electric motor shown in FIG. 4; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) emerges from the housing (i.e., such as housing 3 for the motor side and housing 8 for the converter side; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]) to connect with an inverter (i.e., such as inverter 6; for instance, the converter 6 is an inverter that is supplied with direct voltage; see for example fig. 1, para. [0039]- [0064]) of the electric machine (i.e., such as electric machine motor 1; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]), and wherein the single group of connections (i.e., such as single group of connections female plug 12 in the motor side and male plug 15 in the converter side; for instance, FIG. 6 shows an inventive converter unit 6. Reference numeral 14 indicates the through hole for passage of the shaft. This through hole is located in base plate 16 of converter unit 6. Reference numeral 15 indicates the plug for the converter output, which interacts with counter-plug 12 of the electric motor shown in FIG. 4; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) comprises one or more signal connections (i.e., such as one or more signal connections of female plug 12 and male plug 15; for instance, the temperature sensor data connections are housed by the male plug 15 in the converter side 6, similarly, the Hall sensor data connections are housed by the female plug 12 in the motor side 1; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) for sensor data (i.e., such as sensor data of the thermal/temperature sensor 7 for the converter side 6 at numeral 16 and the position/Hall sensor 26 for the motor side 1 at numeral 11; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) and a power supply connection (i.e., such as power supply connection socket 5 within plug 2; for instance, plug 2 rests on motor 1 in a space-saving manner, thereby minimizing the amount of installation space required for the converter motor. The cable outlet direction of plug 2 may be adapted to the required conditions in any manner necessary by selecting the plug sleeve accordingly; see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]- [0064]).
Regarding claim 2, Schueren discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]); in which the inductive technology position sensor (i.e., such as inductive technology position sensor 26; for instance, the magnetic field of signal transducer 26 is measured by two Hall sensors located at an angle of 90. degree. (based on the pole pitch) of the magnet. The angle of rotation may be determined using the arctan function; see for example fig. 4, para. [0049]- [0064]) is arranged in the housing (i.e., such as housing 3 for the motor side and housing 8 for the converter side; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]) and connected to a first conductive output (i.e., such as first conductive output female plug 12; for instance, Reference numeral 15 indicates the plug for the converter output, which interacts with counter-plug 12 of the electric motor shown in FIG. 4; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]), and wherein the at least one temperature sensor (i.e., such as at least one temperature sensor within cover 7; for instance, cover 7, which is also preferably metallic and faces the fan, is thermally insulated from the base plate. The temperature-sensitive circuits (e.g., microprocessor, user interface, and the like) of converter unit 6 are thermally coupled internally to this cover; see for example fig. 6, para. [0049]- [0064]) is arranged in the housing (i.e., such as housing 3 for the motor side and housing 8 for the converter side; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]) and connected to a second conductive output (i.e., such as second conductive output male plug 15; for instance, Reference numeral 15 indicates the plug for the converter output, which interacts with counter-plug 12 of the electric motor shown in FIG. 4; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]), the two conductive outputs (i.e., such as the two conductive outputs female plug 12 and male plug 15; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) being interconnected (i.e., such as female plug 12 is interconnected/mated to male plug 15; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) inside the housing (i.e., such as housing 3 for the motor side and housing 8 for the converter side; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]), to form the single group of connections (i.e., such as single group of connections female plug 12 in the motor side and male plug 15 in the converter side; for instance, FIG. 6 shows an inventive converter unit 6. Reference numeral 14 indicates the through hole for passage of the shaft. This through hole is located in base plate 16 of converter unit 6. Reference numeral 15 indicates the plug for the converter output, which interacts with counter-plug 12 of the electric motor shown in FIG. 4; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) which emerges from the housing (i.e., such as housing 3 for the motor side and housing 8 for the converter side; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]) and allows connection (i.e., such as one or more signal connections of female plug 12 and male plug 15; for instance, the temperature sensor data connections are housed by the male plug 15 in the converter side 6, similarly, the Hall sensor data connections are housed by the female plug 12 in the motor side 1; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) to the inverter (i.e., such as inverter 6; for instance, the converter 6 is an inverter that is supplied with direct voltage; see for example fig. 1, para. [0039]- [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Schueren discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]); in which the at least one temperature sensor (i.e., such as at least one temperature sensor within cover 7; for instance, cover 7, which is also preferably metallic and faces the fan, is thermally insulated from the base plate. The temperature-sensitive circuits (e.g., microprocessor, user interface, and the like) of converter unit 6 are thermally coupled internally to this cover; see for example fig. 6, para. [0049]- [0064]) is a thermocouple (i.e., such as cover 7 is thermally coupled to base plate 16; for instance, as shown in FIG. 6, the inventive converter unit is divided into two zones, which are thermally insulated from each other. The power electronics, which absorb the temperature of the motor housing (e.g., up to 100.degree. C.), are located on metallic base plate 16, which is screwed onto the motor. Cover 7, which is also preferably metallic and faces the fan, is thermally insulated from the base plate. The temperature-sensitive circuits (e.g., microprocessor, user interface, and the like) of converter unit 6 are thermally coupled internally to this cover. An intermediate piece 18 made of plastic is located between base plate 16 under cover 17; it provides the thermal insulation; see for example fig. 6, para. [0049]- [0064]).
Regarding claim 6, Schueren discloses an electric machine (i.e., such as electric machine motor 1; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]) comprising; the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]).
Regarding claim 8, Schueren discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]); wherein the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) is used in an air-cooled (i.e., such as electric machine motor 1 is air-cooled via fan 23 and ventilation 8a; for instance, converter unit is located directly in the air flow of fan wheel 23 (see FIG. 2), which, as mentioned above, is preferably designed as fan wheel 23 installed on the motor shaft. Although the effect of this fan wheel is therefore dependent on the rotational speed, it is also equally effective in cooling the motor, because the motor losses (core losses) --which depend on the rotational speed--increase as the rotational speed increases. The cooling effect, which also increases as the rotational speed increases, therefore compensates for the increasing losses. The motor still delivers a usable stall torque even though there is no air flow when the motor is at a standstill. To increase the power at lower rotational speeds, a separately driven fan may be used; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0049]- [0064]) electric machine (i.e., such as electric machine motor 1; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]).
Regarding claim 11, Schueren discloses a sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) comprising: an inductive technology position sensor (i.e., such as inductive technology position sensor 26; for instance, the magnetic field of signal transducer 26 is measured by two Hall sensors located at an angle of 90. degree. (based on the pole pitch) of the magnet. The angle of rotation may be determined using the arctan function; see for example fig. 4, para. [0049]- [0064]); and at least one temperature sensor (i.e., such as at least one temperature sensor within cover 7; for instance, cover 7, which is also preferably metallic and faces the fan, is thermally insulated from the base plate. The temperature-sensitive circuits (e.g., microprocessor, user interface, and the like) of converter unit 6 are thermally coupled internally to this cover; see for example fig. 6, para. [0049]- [0064]) for an electric machine (i.e., such as electric machine motor 1; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]), wherein the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) is arranged in a housing (i.e., such as housing 3 for the motor side and housing 8 for the converter side; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]) and a single group of connections (i.e., such as single group of connections female plug 12 in the motor side and male plug 15 in the converter side; for instance, FIG. 6 shows an inventive converter unit 6. Reference numeral 14 indicates the through hole for passage of the shaft. This through hole is located in base plate 16 of converter unit 6. Reference numeral 15 indicates the plug for the converter output, which interacts with counter-plug 12 of the electric motor shown in FIG. 4; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]) emerges from the housing (i.e., such as housing 3 for the motor side and housing 8 for the converter side; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]) to connect with an inverter (i.e., such as inverter 6; for instance, the converter 6 is an inverter that is supplied with direct voltage; see for example fig. 1, para. [0039]- [0064]) of the electric machine (i.e., such as electric machine motor 1; for instance, FIGS. 1a and 1b show an inventive converter motor 1 with a motor housing 3, on which a converter unit 6 is located. Reference numeral 8 indicates a fan hood of the converter unit, which also includes a large number of openings in its back wall 8a, for ventilation; see for example fig. 1, para. [0049]- [0064]). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 2. {See rejection of claim 2}
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schueren (US Publication No. 20080084141) in view of Sigg et al (US Publication No. 20170373555).
Regarding claim 3, Schueren discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]).
Schueren does not explicitly disclose in which the housing is made of plastic.
Sigg discloses a positioning actuator and manufacturing method (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0026]- [0035]); wherein the housing (i.e., such as housing block 1 and block 2; see for example fig. 3, para. [0026]- [0035]) is made of plastic (i.e., such as plastic; for instance, this first block (1) can also be produced in a material exhibiting a good thermal conductivity (typically greater than 1 W/m/K) such as, for example, a plastic filled with silica or aluminum particles. The second block (2) made of plastic material has a part (44) which closely matches the form of the stator, then flaring to, in a second part (45), open on the link surface with the first block (1); see for example fig. 3, para. [0026]- [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the plastic casing in Schueren, as taught by Sigg, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards providing excellent electrical insulation, preventing corrosion, and shielding components from vibration and heat.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schueren (US Publication No. 20080084141) in view of Etter et al (US Publication No. 20100218684).
Regarding claim 4, Schueren discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]).
Schueren does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one temperature sensor is an NTC.
Etter discloses a heating beverage apparatus (i.e., see for example fig. 9, para. [0053]- [0077]); wherein the at least one temperature sensor (i.e., such as at least one temperature sensor 72; see for example fig. 9, para. [0053]- [0077]) is an NTC (i.e., such as NTC; for instance, sensor element 72 may for instance be an NTC (negative temperature coefficient) resistor or a PTC (positive temperature coefficient) resistor; see for example fig. 9, para. [0053]- [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the NTC thermistor in Schueren, as taught by Etter, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards overheat protection, real-time feedback, and cost-effective reliability.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schueren (US Publication No. 20080084141) in view of Adam et al (US Publication No. 20220239188).
Regarding claim 7, Schueren discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]).
Schueren does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor assembly is used in a water-cooled electric machine.
Adam discloses an electric motor (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0027]- [0037]); wherein the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly 5; see for example fig. 1, para. [0027]- [0037]) is used in a water-cooled (i.e., such as water-cooled; for instance, the electric motor 1 can be a water-cooled motor which does not have a fan. The arrangement of the sensor wheel 5 on the coupling 4 is particularly advantageous in this case as there is no possibility of arranging the sensor wheel 5 on a fan; see for example fig. 1, para. [0027]- [0037]) electric machine (i.e., such as electric machine 1; see for example fig. 1, para. [0027]- [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included water-cooled electrical machines in Schueren, as taught by Adam, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards protecting expensive hardware, preventing costly downtime, and optimizing cooling efficiency.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schueren (US Publication No. 20080084141) in view of Sugihara (US Publication No. 20210094530).
Regarding claim 9, Schueren discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]).
Schueren does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor assembly is used in an oil-cooled electric machine.
Sugihara discloses a vehicle control device (i.e., see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0036]- [0068]); wherein the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly 29; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0036]- [0068]) is used in an oil-cooled (i.e., such as oil-cooled; for instance, the first motor-generator 112 and the second motor-generator 114 may also be oil-cooled types. In the case of oil-cooled types, the heat of the first motor-generator 112 and second motor-generator 114 is transferred through a hydraulic circuit to the cooling water of the low temperature cooling water circuit 20; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0036]- [0068]) electric machine (i.e., such as electric machine 112/114; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0036]- [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included oil-cooled electrical machines in Schueren, as taught by Sugihara, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards monitoring temperature, pressure, and fluid quality in real-time, preventing dangerous hotspots, optimizing performance, and averting catastrophic engine failure.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schueren (US Publication No. 20080084141) in view of Bouarroudj et al (US Publication No. 20180102686).
Regarding claim 10, Schueren discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]).
Schueren does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor assembly is used in a gearbox.
Bouarroudj discloses a machine connector assembly (i.e., see for example figs. 2 and 4, para. [0048]- [0084]); wherein the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly 65; for instance, the other orifices 60 are provided in a sub-connector 65, in order to permit the passage of the terminals 62 (cf. FIG. 5) which convey the low-voltage control signals, such as signals relating to the angular position of the rotor, obtained for example from a Hall-effect sensor, or temperature signals, obtained for example from a sensor which is integrated in the stator of the machine 10. The added-on sub-connector 65 is designed to be inserted inside a cavity 66 provided in the projecting part 58 of the connector. The sub-connector 65 can be secured to the part 58 for example by snapping-in or by gluing; see for example figs. 2 and 4, para. [0048]- [0084]) is used in a gearbox (i.e., such as gearbox 16; for instance, as can be seen in FIG. 2, a housing 46 of the gearbox 16 constitutes an enclosure filled at least partly with liquid, in this case oil, which is used for the lubrication of the various mechanical components of the gearbox 16, and to carry out the cooling of the electrical machine 10, as previously described. The enclosure 46 comprises an opening 49 to make the inside of the enclosure 46 communicate with the outside of the enclosure 46; see for example figs. 2 and 4, para. [0048]- [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the gearbox in Schueren, as taught by Bouarroudj, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards safety, efficiency, and longevity.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schueren (US Publication No. 20080084141) in view of Brabetz et al (US Publication No. 20180294696).
Regarding claim 12, Schueren discloses the sensor assembly (i.e., such as sensor assembly within 11 and 16; for instance, numeral 11 is the Hall sensor assembly 26 and its female plug 12 for the motor side 1 and numeral 16 is the temperature sensor assembly 7 and its male plug 15 for the converter side 6; see for example fig. 4 for the motor side and fig. 6 for the converter side, para. [0049]- [0064]).
Schueren does not explicitly disclose wherein the inductive technology position sensor is arranged to measure a position of a rotor with respect to a stator, and wherein the at least one temperature sensor is arranged to measure at least one of a temperature of air and a winding of the electric machine.
Brabetz discloses a measuring coil unit (i.e., see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]); wherein the inductive technology position sensor (i.e., such as inductive technology position sensor 30; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]) is arranged to measure (i.e., such as to measure; for instance, in addition to the primary field of application of the measuring coil unit 30 for determining the position or movement of the rotor 20 in relation to the stator 10, further operating parameters of an electric machine can be detected additionally or alternatively by means of the measuring coil unit 30; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]) a position (i.e., such as position; for instance, in addition to the primary field of application of the measuring coil unit 30 for determining the position or movement of the rotor 20 in relation to the stator 10, further operating parameters of an electric machine can be detected additionally or alternatively by means of the measuring coil unit 30; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]) of a rotor (i.e., such as rotor 20; for instance, in addition to the primary field of application of the measuring coil unit 30 for determining the position or movement of the rotor 20 in relation to the stator 10, further operating parameters of an electric machine can be detected additionally or alternatively by means of the measuring coil unit 30; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]) with respect (i.e., such as with respect as of in relation to; for instance, in addition to the primary field of application of the measuring coil unit 30 for determining the position or movement of the rotor 20 in relation to the stator 10, further operating parameters of an electric machine can be detected additionally or alternatively by means of the measuring coil unit 30; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]) to a stator (i.e., such as stator 10; for instance, in addition to the primary field of application of the measuring coil unit 30 for determining the position or movement of the rotor 20 in relation to the stator 10, further operating parameters of an electric machine can be detected additionally or alternatively by means of the measuring coil unit 30; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]), and wherein the at least one temperature sensor (i.e., such as at least one temperature sensor 35; for instance, in a further embodiment of a measuring method of operating parameters for an electric machine according to the invention, the ohmic resistances of the measuring coils 35 of a measuring coil unit 30 are determined. In the case of known resistance temperature coefficient of the measuring coils 35, conclusions can be drawn from the resistance on a temperature of the measuring coil 35. When the resistance measurement for determining the resistance of the measuring coils 35 is carried out with a low measuring current, this measuring current has no influence on the temperature of the measuring coil 35. Thus, the measured temperature reflects the temperature of the stator tooth 11, on which the measuring coil 35 is arranged. A measurement with different measuring coils 35a-35e positioned differently in the axial direction provides information about a temperature distribution along the stator tooth 11; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]) is arranged to measure (i.e., such as to measure; for instance, in a further embodiment of a measuring method of operating parameters for an electric machine according to the invention, the ohmic resistances of the measuring coils 35 of a measuring coil unit 30 are determined. In the case of known resistance temperature coefficient of the measuring coils 35, conclusions can be drawn from the resistance on a temperature of the measuring coil 35. When the resistance measurement for determining the resistance of the measuring coils 35 is carried out with a low measuring current, this measuring current has no influence on the temperature of the measuring coil 35. Thus, the measured temperature reflects the temperature of the stator tooth 11, on which the measuring coil 35 is arranged. A measurement with different measuring coils 35a-35e positioned differently in the axial direction provides information about a temperature distribution along the stator tooth 11; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]) at least one of a temperature (i.e., such as temperature; for instance, such a measurement is preferably carried out when the temperature of the rotor 20 is known. For this purpose, use can be made of the fact for example that before start-up, after a longer period of standstill of the motor, the assumption is justified that the temperature of the rotor 20 is equal to the easily measurable temperature of the stator 10 and equal to the ambient temperature. If the described measurement of the asymmetry of the magnetization is then additionally carried out during operation of the motor, changes in the magnetization can be used inversely in order to draw conclusions on a temperature of the magnets which otherwise cannot be measured or can only be measured with great effort; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]) of air (i.e., such as air as of the ambient air; for instance, such a measurement is preferably carried out when the temperature of the rotor 20 is known. For this purpose, use can be made of the fact for example that before start-up, after a longer period of standstill of the motor, the assumption is justified that the temperature of the rotor 20 is equal to the easily measurable temperature of the stator 10 and equal to the ambient temperature. If the described measurement of the asymmetry of the magnetization is then additionally carried out during operation of the motor, changes in the magnetization can be used inversely in order to draw conclusions on a temperature of the magnets which otherwise cannot be measured or can only be measured with great effort; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]) and a winding (i.e., such as winding 12; for instance, a further additional determination of operating parameters of an electric machine, in particular of an electric motor, can be carried out if during a rotation of the rotor 20 in the stator 10 the amplitudes of the currents in the rotor windings and the stator windings are constant. Such an operating state frequently occurs in the case of an electric motor when the drive and load conditions are not rapidly changing. If the amplitude of the voltage signals of the measuring coils 35 varies during such a cycle, this indicates asymmetries in the magnetization of permanent magnets of the armature 20 of the electric motor; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]) of the electric machine (i.e., such as electric machine; for instance, FIG. 1 shows a perspective view into a stator 10 of an electric machine. Of the stator 10, only a portion along its circumference is reproduced. An associated rotor is not shown in this illustration in order to allow a view of the stator 10; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0027]- [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the sensor assembly layout in Schueren, as taught by Brabetz, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards preventing costly failures and ensuring maximum efficiency. And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838