DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 25, is “position unit vector P’” the same as or different from “the position unit vector P’” in line 15? For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will be treating them as the same. As claims 2-12 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 1, they are rejected for the same reason.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/278321 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application anticipate the claims of the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2019/0260024, hereinafter “Nakamura”).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches a positive electrode active material (positive electrode active material 10, see Fig. 3 and [0079] – the composition discussed in [0079] either falls within, overlaps, or is close enough to the claimed ranges of the Applicant’s material (see [0021]-[0023] of filed Specification), that a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP §2144.05) comprising
an inner region that is a region from a center of a positive electrode active material particle to R/2 (see Fig. 3 – inner region equated to region from center c2 to distance d2/4, where d2 is the particle diameter, toward the surface away from the center c2); and
an outer region that is a region from R/2 to a surface of the positive electrode active material particle (see Fig. 3 – outer region equated to the region from d2/4 from center, or halfway between the center c2 and the surface, to surface),
wherein R is a distance from the center of the positive electrode active material particle of the surface thereof (see Fig. 3 – equated to d2/2),
wherein a proportion (A1) of a plurality of crystallites A is 30% to 80% with respect to a total number of crystallites in the outer region (at least 50%, see [0090]).
Applicant is reminded that the process of determining measurements of a product fails to further limit the structure of the product itself.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura teaches wherein the proportion (A1) of the plurality of crystallites A is 30% to 60% with respect to the total number of crystallites in the outer region (at least 50%, see [0090]).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura teaches wherein the proportion (A1) of the plurality of crystallites A to the total number of crystallites in the outer region is larger than a proportion (A2) of the plurality of crystallites A to a total number of crystallites in the inner region (at least 50% is in the outer region, and it is more preferable at least 70%, see [0090]).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura teaches wherein a difference between the proportion (A1) of the plurality of crystallites A to the total number of crystallites in the outer region and the proportion (A2) of the plurality of crystallites A to the total number of crystallites in the inner region is at least 5% (at least 50% is in the outer region, and it is more preferable at least 70%, see [0090]).
Regarding claims 5-9, Applicant is reminded that the process of determining measurements of a product fails to further limit the structure of the product itself. Furthermore, as Hiratsuka teaches a material that either falls within, overlaps, or is close enough to the composition of the Applicant’s material (see [0021]-[0023] of filed Specification), it must follow that the material of Hiratsuka also has the claimed material properties of the instant invention.
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura teaches wherein the positive electrode active material is a lithium composite transition metal oxide represented by Formula 1 below:
[Formula 1]
Lix[NiaCobM1cM2d]O2-yAy
wherein,
M1 is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mn and Al,
M2 is at least one element selected from the group consisting of W, Cu, Fe, V, Cr, Ti, Zr, Zn, Al, Ta, Y, In, La, Sr, Ga, Sc, Gd, Sm, Ca, Ce, Nb, Mg, B, and Mo,
A is at least one element selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, I, At, and S, and
0.98≤x≤1.20, 0<a<1, 0<b<1, 0<c<1, 0≤d≤0.2, and 0≤y≤0.2 (see [0079] – Nakamura teaches Li1+uNixMnyMzO2+β, wherein -0.05 ≤ u ≤ 0.05, 0.1 ≤ x < 0.8, 0.1 ≤ y ≤ 0.6, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.8, x + y + z = 1.0, and 0 ≤ β ≤ 0.5, and where M is at least one additional element selected from Co, Ti, V, Cr, Zr, Nb, Mo, Hf, Ta, Fe, and W.)
The composition of the positive electrode active material of Nakamura either falls within, overlaps, or is close enough to the claimed ranges in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 11 Nakamura teaches a positive electrode (see [0079] and [0112]-[0116]) comprising the positive electrode active material of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 12, Hiratsuka teaches a lithium secondary battery (see [0111]) comprising the positive electrode of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11 above).
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 18 December 2025
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735