DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhuang et al. (US 2023/0336309).
Regarding claim 1, Zhuang et al. discloses a terminal (see Fig. 7) comprising:
a reception unit (block 701, see section 0790) configured to receive (as disclosed in sections 0090-0096 and 0435-0444) from a base station (network side device), configuration information (as disclosed in sections 0091 and 0095) on a reference signal (uplink positioning reference signal) of uplink for positioning in a non-connected state; and
a transmission unit (block 701, see section 0790) configured to transmit the reference signal (as disclosed in sections 0201, 0311, 0319, and 0435-0444) based on the configuration information in the non-connected state.
Regarding claim 2, Zhuang et al. discloses a terminal (see Fig. 7) comprising:
a control unit (block 709) configured to hold (store as disclosed in sections 0119-0131, see also sections 0494-0505) configuration information based on a provision (in second configuration information for a non-connected (idle) state) on a reference signal of uplink for positioning in a non-connected state; and
a transmission unit (block 701, see section 0790) configured to transmit the reference signal (as disclosed in sections 0201, 0311, 0319, and 0435-0444) based on the configuration information in the non-connected state.
Regarding claim 3, Zhuang et al. discloses the configuration information (second configuration information as disclosed in section 0095) includes a parameter value that is different (as disclosed in section 0095) from a parameter value (in first configuration information) to be applied when the reference signal is used in a connected state.
Regarding claim 4, Zhuang et al. discloses the configuration information is configuration information on a plurality of reference signals (as disclosed in sections 0131, 0209 and the transmission unit determines a reference signal to use (as disclosed in section 0253) from the plurality of reference signals based on a frequency or a format (trigger state as disclosed in section 0253) of each reference signal in the plurality of reference signals.
Regarding claim 5, Zhuang et al. discloses a base station (Fig. 8) comprising:
a transmission unit (block 82, see section 1060) configured to transmit (as disclosed in sections 0436-0444), to a terminal, configuration information on a reference signal of uplink used for positioning when the terminal is in a nonconnected state (idle/inactive state); and
a reception unit (block 82, see section 1060) configured to receive the reference signal transmitted from the terminal (as disclosed in sections 0319 and 0436-0444) based on the configuration information when the terminal is in the non-connected state.
Regarding claim 6, the claimed method includes features corresponding to the above rejection of claim 1, the rejection of which is applicable hereto.
Regarding claims 7-9, the claims include features corresponding to the above rejection of claims 3 and 4, the rejection of which is applicable hereto.
Conclusion
/CURTIS B ODOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 November 5, 202518/280,373